Parsing Roku Results: why sales are growing, while stocks are falling

Разбор результатов Roku: почему продажи растут, а акции падают

Year (NASDAQ: YEAR) - American company, which, using its devices, connects home TVs to the Internet. Its streaming platform is the largest in the three major North American markets.: in USA, Canada and Mexico.

In mid-February, Roku released financial results for 4 Quarter 2021, which American investors did not like very much: shares after the publication of the report fell by 23%. Basic moments:

  • revenue increased by 33%, up to $0.865 billion, — vs market consensus of $0.893 billion;
  • Adjusted EBITDA decreased by -24% from $0.113 billion to $0.087 billion on the back of lower net income;
  • net earnings per share fell from 0,53 to 0,18 $ due to strong growth in operating costs. The adjusted figure was 0,17 $ when forecasting in 0,04 $;
  • management announced its forecast for financial results for 1 quarter of 2022, which turned out to be worse than market expectations.

Sales structure

Roku management divides its activities into two business divisions: Platform и Player. Core segment revenue, Platform, generated through the sale of digital advertising and related services, including OneView advertising platform, third party content distribution services and more. Second direction, Player, earns mainly on the implementation of streaming devices.

Roku sales structure:

  1. Platform — 87%.
  2. Player — 13%.

IN 4 quarter of 2021, the American company recorded excellent sales: Roku's total revenue increased by 33%, up to $0.865 billion, thanks to the strong growth of the Platform division, which year by year added 49% and rose to $0.703 billion. Second segment, Player, showed moderately negative results amid weak demand: sales fell by 9% - up to 0.162 billion dollars.

Sales structure of the company, billion dollars

4к2020 4к2021 The change
Platform 0,471 0,704 40%
Player 0,179 0,162 −9%
total revenues 0,650 0,865 33%

Key operational metrics

Let's break down the three most important Roku operational metrics. The first is the number of active accounts, or the general audience of the company. The second is streaming hours - how many hours the audience spends on the Roku streaming platform. And the last indicator is ARPU.

  Recruitment for learning to trade American stocks is open (NYSE, NASDAQ, Amex, ETF)

ARPU, или average revenue per user, is the average revenue per user. It is also called the average income per unit.. Calculated by dividing total revenue by the number of users. This indicator helps to see the degree of monetization of the service..

In 2021, ARPU demonstrated the strongest growth rates — 43%, it grew by increasing the monetization of the service. The number of active accounts has increased 17% against the backdrop of a weak third quarter. The streaming hours increased by 15% because of the terrible results 2 quarter.

Разбор результатов Roku: почему продажи растут, а акции падают

EBITDA and net income

The main negative point in Roku's results for 4 quarter should be considered a strong increase in operating costs, which have increased by 49% and led to a decrease in Adjusted EBITDA by 24%: from $0.113 to $0.087 billion. The largest increase in expenses was recorded under the item “Sales and Marketing”, it immediately increased 70%.

Besides, rising operating costs also led to a drop in Roku's net profit, in 4 quarter, it decreased by 64%: from $0.067 to $0.024 billion. The adjusted indicator showed similar dynamics, falling by 65%.

Key financial results of the company, billion dollars

4к2020 4к2021 The change
Revenue 0,650 0,865 33%
Operating expenses 0,240 0,358 49%
Adjusted EBITDA 0,113 0,087 −24%
EBITDA margin 17% 10% −7 p. P.
Net profit 0,067 0,024 −64%
net debt −0,998 −2,056 −106%

Management forecasts and comparison with competitors

Following the publication of financial results for 4 quarter 2021 management presented its forecast for the next quarter. Basic moments:

  1. Roku's total revenue 1 quarter of 2022 will increase by 25%: from $0.574 to $0.72 billion.
  2. Gross profit will increase by 10%: from $0.327 to $0.36 billion.
  3. The net loss will be -0.03 billion dollars - against a profit in 1 quarter of 2021 in the amount of $0.076 billion.
  4. Adjusted EBITDA for the first 3 months of 2022 will decrease by 56%: from $0.126 to $0.055 billion.

Comparison with major market benchmarks

2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021
Year 100 $ 370 $ 219 $ 956 $ 2371 $ 1630 $
Nasdaq 100 $ 107 $ 104 $ 142 $ 206 $ 252 $
Peer Group 100 $ 107 $ 98 $ 134 $ 193 $ 270 $

Comparison with competitors

EV / EBITDA P / E net debt / EBITDA
Year 25,68 57,85 −4,42
Walt disney 26,50 78,95 3,72
Comcast 8,53 14,77 2,49
Netflix 26,34 31,14 1,46
Charter Communications 9,43 20,70 4,58
  George Soros - The great speculator of his time

What's the bottom line?

Roku is an American fast growing company, dynamics of which began to decline: if for the last 3,5 year, the company's financial results increased by an average of 55%, then in 4 quarter of 2021, this figure was 33%, and in 1 quarter of 2022, it will decrease even more - to 25%.

As a result, this slowdown in growth has resulted in, that the market took a fresh look at the company: Roku quotes fell from 490 $ up to practically 110 $, and the assessment was equal to another American competitor, Netflix. For example, companies have identical values ​​of the multiplier P / S — 5. But how fair is that?, Considering, that Roku's current growth rate is 33%, а Netflix — 16%?

Scroll up

Разбор результатов Roku: почему продажи растут, а акции падают

Разбор результатов Roku: почему продажи растут, а акции падают

Roku (NASDAQ: ROKU) — американская компания, которая с помощью своих устройств подключает домашние телевизоры к интернету. Ее стриминговая платформа самая крупная на трех основных рынках Северной Америки: в США, Канаде и Мексике.

В середине февраля Roku представила финансовые результаты за 4 квартал 2021 года, которые очень не понравились американским инвесторам: акции после публикации отчета упали на 23%. Основные моменты:

  • выручка выросла на 33%, до 0,865 млрд долларов, — против рыночного консенсус-прогноза 0,893 млрд долларов;
  • скорректированная EBITDA уменьшилась на −24% — с 0,113 до 0,087 млрд долларов — на фоне снижения чистой прибыли;
  • чистая прибыль на акцию упала с 0,53 до 0,18 $ ввиду сильного роста операционных расходов. Скорректированный показатель составил 0,17 $ при прогнозе в 0,04 $;
  • менеджмент анонсировал свой прогноз финансовых результатов на 1 квартал 2022 года, который оказался хуже рыночных ожиданий.

Структура продаж

Свою деятельность менеджмент Roku делит на два бизнес-подразделения: Platform и Player. Доход основного сегмента, Platform, формируется за счет продажи цифровой рекламы и сопутствующих услуг, включая рекламную платформу OneView, услуги распространения стороннего контента и многое другое. Второе направление, Player, зарабатывает в основном на реализации потоковых устройств.

Структура продаж Roku:

  1. Platform — 87%.
  2. Player — 13%.

В 4 квартале 2021 года американская компания зафиксировала отличные продажи: общая выручка Roku увеличилась на 33%, до 0,865 млрд долларов, благодаря сильному росту подразделения Platform, которое год к году прибавило 49% и выросло до 0,703 млрд долларов. Второй сегмент, Player, показал умеренно негативные результаты на фоне слабого спроса: продажи снизились на 9% — до 0,162 млрд долларов.

Структура продаж компании, млрд долларов

4к2020 4к2021 Изменение
Platform 0,471 0,704 40%
Player 0,179 0,162 −9%
Общая выручка 0,650 0,865 33%

Ключевые операционные метрики

Разберем три наиболее важные операционные метрики Roku. Первая — количество активных аккаунтов, или общая аудитория компании. Вторая — streaming hours — сколько часов аудитория проводит на стриминговой платформе Roku. И последний показатель — ARPU.

  Apple сокращает производство новых iPhone из-за дефицита чипов

ARPU, или average revenue per user, — это средний доход на одного пользователя. Еще его называют средним доходом на единицу. Рассчитывается путем деления общей выручки на количество пользователей. Данный показатель помогает увидеть степень монетизации сервиса.

В 2021 году самые сильные темпы роста продемонстрировал ARPU — 43%, он вырос за счет увеличения монетизации сервиса. Количество активных аккаунтов прибавило 17% на фоне слабого третьего квартала. Показатель streaming hours вырос на 15% ввиду ужасного результата в 2 квартале.

Разбор результатов Roku: почему продажи растут, а акции падают

EBITDA и чистая прибыль

Главным негативным моментом в результатах Roku за 4 квартал стоит считать сильный рост операционных расходов, которые увеличились на 49% и привели к снижению скорректированной EBITDA на 24%: с 0,113 до 0,087 млрд долларов. Наибольший рост расходов был зафиксирован по статье «Продажи и маркетинг», она увеличилась сразу на 70%.

Кроме этого, рост операционных расходов также привел к падению чистой прибыли Roku, в 4 квартале она уменьшилась на 64%: с 0,067 до 0,024 млрд долларов. Скорректированный показатель продемонстрировал схожую динамику, снизившись на 65%.

Основные финансовые результаты компании, млрд долларов

4к2020 4к2021 Изменение
Выручка 0,650 0,865 33%
Операционные расходы 0,240 0,358 49%
Скорректированная EBITDA 0,113 0,087 −24%
Рентабельность по EBITDA 17% 10% −7 п. п.
Чистая прибыль 0,067 0,024 −64%
Чистый долг −0,998 −2,056 −106%

Прогнозы менеджмента и сравнение с конкурентами

После публикации финансовых результатов за 4 квартал 2021 года менеджмент представил свой прогноз на следующий квартал. Основные моменты:

  1. Общая выручка Roku в 1 квартале 2022 года увеличится на 25%: с 0,574 до 0,72 млрд долларов.
  2. Валовая прибыль вырастет на 10%: с 0,327 до 0,36 млрд долларов.
  3. Чистый убыток составит −0,03 млрд долларов — против прибыли в 1 квартале 2021 года в размере 0,076 млрд долларов.
  4. Скорректированная EBITDA за первые 3 месяца 2022 года уменьшится на 56%: с 0,126 до 0,055 млрд долларов.

Сравнение с основными рыночными бенчмарками

2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021
Roku 100 $ 370 $ 219 $ 956 $ 2371 $ 1630 $
Nasdaq 100 $ 107 $ 104 $ 142 $ 206 $ 252 $
Peer Group 100 $ 107 $ 98 $ 134 $ 193 $ 270 $

Сравнение с конкурентами

EV / EBITDA P / E Чистый долг / EBITDA
Roku 25,68 57,85 −4,42
Walt Disney 26,50 78,95 3,72
Comcast 8,53 14,77 2,49
Netflix 26,34 31,14 1,46
Charter Communications 9,43 20,70 4,58
  Волк с Уолл Стрит – Как все было на самом деле (Видео)

Что в итоге

Roku — это американская быстрорастущая компания, динамика которой стала снижаться: если за последние 3,5 года финансовые результаты компании увеличивались в среднем на 55%, то в 4 квартале 2021 года этот показатель составил 33%, а в 1 квартале 2022 года он еще сильнее уменьшится — до 25%.

В итоге данное снижение темпов роста привело к тому, что рынок по-новому взглянул на компанию: котировки Roku за полгода упали с 490 $ до практически 110 $, а оценка сравнялась с другим американским конкурентом, Netflix. Например, у компаний идентичные значения мультипликатора P / S — 5. Но насколько это справедливо, учитывая, что текущие темпы роста Roku — 33%, а Netflix — 16%?

Пролистать наверх