"Sell in May and leave": what is this exchange proverb about and is it possible to make money on it

«Sell ​​in May and go»: what is this exchange proverb about and is it possible to make money on it

Every year in May, investors and financial media repeat the proverb, which recommends selling all shares. We understand, does the saying work on the Russian market and is it worth following such a strategy.

How it all started

The famous proverb was invented in England. The original sounded like this: «Sell in May and go away, come back on St. Leger’s Day». That is, "Sell in May and come back on St. Ledger's Day".

St. Leger's Day is a reference to the popular St. Leger Stakes. They have been held every September since 1776.. The proverb advised English investors and bankers to sell shares in May, take a summer vacation and return to the market after the races in September.

The authors of Stock Trader's Almanac examine the historical performance of US stocks. In 1986 they discovered: stocks grow worse in May-October, than in November - April. So the phrase “Sell in May and go away” began to be repeated on Wall Street.

«Sell ​​in May and go»: what is this exchange proverb about and is it possible to make money on it

What about the yield in the US

Data since 1950, in November - April S&P 500 grew by 6.9% on average. This period includes the best months in terms of profitability: April, November and December. But in May - October, the yield of the index was almost four times lower - 1,8%. This semester includes September, the worst month for S&P 500.

Experts explain this seasonal anomaly in different ways.: bonuses for managers at the end of the year, santa rally in december, tax payment in April, etc.. But none of these hypotheses have yet been proven..

«Sell ​​in May and go»: what is this exchange proverb about and is it possible to make money on it

And how is it with Russian shares

The iMOEX index of the Moscow Exchange has been calculated since the fall of 1997, so the observation period is shorter here. And the seasonal effect is much greater. In November-April, iMOEX added on average 22,8%. In May - October, an order of magnitude less - only 1,9%. May and summer are the worst months of the year for iMOEX.

A possible reason for this anomaly is dividends. Russian companies often pay them in summer and early autumn. Usually, after the payment, the price of the shares falls by the amount of dividends., so the yield in the summer is so low. At the same time, speculators can sell shares in May, when companies announce and approve the amount of payments.

  Exploring the robotic surgery market: specialists expect growth on 17,6% in year

«Sell ​​in May and go»: what is this exchange proverb about and is it possible to make money on it

Is it worth following the strategy?

The authors of Stock Trader's Almanac advise investors to hold stocks in "good" months, and in the "bad" - transfer money to cash or to a deposit. But this strategy has at least two drawbacks..

The first is broker commissions and taxes. Frequent buying and selling can "eat" a significant share of profits, and deprive some of the tax benefits.

The second is the investment horizon.. Seasonal anomaly in returns can be seen over a long distance of decades. But in a short period of time, everything can happen differently..

For example, like now. In recent months, American investors fear a possible recession, so index S&P 500 from November 2021 to the end of April 2022 fell by 10%. There is no doubt about the recession in the Russian economy, so the Moscow exchange index lost even more over the same period - 42%. This is how the “good” months went this time.

News, which concern investors, - in our telegram channel. Subscribe, to keep abreast of what's happening: @investnique.

Scroll to Top

«Продавай в мае и уходи»: о чем эта биржевая пословица и можно ли на этом заработать

«Продавай в мае и уходи»: о чем эта биржевая пословица и можно ли на этом заработать

Каждый год в мае инвесторы и финансовые СМИ повторяют пословицу, которая рекомендует продать все акции. Разбираемся, работает ли поговорка на российском рынке и стоит ли следовать такой стратегии.

С чего все началось

Знаменитую пословицу придумали в Англии. Оригинал звучал так: «Sell in May and go away, come back on St. Leger’s Day». То есть «Продавай в мае и возвращайся в День святого Леджера».

St. Leger’s Day — это отсылка к популярным в Англии скачкам St. Leger Stakes. Их проводят каждый сентябрь с 1776 года. Пословица рекомендовала английским инвесторам и банкирам продать акции в мае, провести летний отпуск и вернуться на рынок после скачек в сентябре.

Авторы издания Stock Trader’s Almanac изучают историческую доходность акций США. В 1986 году они обнаружили: в мае — октябре акции растут хуже, чем в ноябре — апреле. Так фразу «Sell in May and go away» начали повторять и на Уолл-стрит.

«Продавай в мае и уходи»: о чем эта биржевая пословица и можно ли на этом заработать

Что с доходностью в США

По данным с 1950 года, в ноябре — апреле S&P 500 в среднем рос на 6,9%. Этот период включает лучшие по доходности месяцы: апрель, ноябрь и декабрь. А вот в мае — октябре доходность индекса была почти в четыре раза ниже — 1,8%. В это полугодие входит сентябрь — худший месяц для S&P 500.

Такую сезонную аномалию эксперты объясняют по-разному: бонусы менеджерам в конце года, ралли Санта-Клауса в декабре, выплата налогов в апреле и прочее. Но ни одну из этих гипотез пока не доказали.

«Продавай в мае и уходи»: о чем эта биржевая пословица и можно ли на этом заработать

И как там с российскими акциями

Индекс Мосбиржи iMOEX рассчитывают с осени 1997 года, поэтому период наблюдений здесь меньше. А сезонный эффект заметно больше. В ноябре — апреле iMOEX в среднем прибавлял по 22,8%. В мае — октябре на порядок меньше — только 1,9%. Май и лето — это худшие месяцы в году для iMOEX.

Возможная причина такой аномалии — дивиденды. Российские компании часто выплачивают их летом и в начале осени. Обычно после выплаты цена акций падает на размер дивидендов, поэтому доходность в летний период такая низкая. При этом спекулянты могут продавать акции уже в мае, когда компании объявляют и утверждают размер выплат.

  Amazon проведет сплит: инвесторам дадут 20 акций вместо одной

«Продавай в мае и уходи»: о чем эта биржевая пословица и можно ли на этом заработать

Стоит ли следовать стратегии

Авторы Stock Trader’s Almanac советуют инвесторам в «хорошие» месяцы держать акции, а в «плохие» — переводить деньги в наличные или на депозит. Но у такой стратегии есть как минимум два недостатка.

Первый — это комиссии брокера и налоги. Частые покупки и продажи могут «съесть» существенную долю прибыли, а еще лишить некоторых налоговых льгот.

Второй — это горизонт инвестиций. Сезонную аномалию в доходности можно увидеть на длинной дистанции в десятки лет. Но вот на коротком промежутке времени все может случиться иначе.

Например, как сейчас. В последние месяцы американские инвесторы опасаются возможной рецессии, поэтому индекс S&P 500 с ноября 2021 года и до конца апреля 2022 года упал на 10%. По поводу рецессии в российской экономике уже не сомневаются, так что индекс Мосбиржи за тот же период потерял еще больше — 42%. Вот так прошли «хорошие» месяцы в этот раз.

Пролистать наверх