Netflix lost subscribers and decided to make money on advertising: what can come of it

Netflix потерял подписчиков и решил заработать на рекламе: что из этого может получиться

Netflix lost subscribers and decided to make money on advertising: what can come of it

NetflixNFLX214.50 $Buy

Netflix lost subscribers and decided to make money on advertising: what can come of it

Microsoft CorporationMSFT252.94 $BuyService in partnership with Tinkoff Investments. Quotes are updated every 15 minutes

Why Netflix needs a version with ads

In the spring, Netflix for the first time in the 7 years faced with the outflow of subscribers. The company lost 2 million subscribers compared to the previous quarter. But if you subtract new subscribers from the losses, then the final losses will be significantly lower - almost 200 thousand people. Although it's still embarrassing.

Financial performance compared to the same period a year earlier was also disappointing.: revenue growth slowed to 9,84%, and the profit fell by 6,44%.

Netflix lost subscribers and decided to make money on advertising: what can come of it

Operating results at the end of the first quarter, million dollars

UsersNet inflowRevenue per user
USA and Canada74,6−0,614,9 $
Europe, Middle East and Africa73,7−0,311,6 $
Latin America39,6−0,48,4 $
Asian-Pacific area33,7+1,19,2 $

One of the key reasons is the price. There are now many streaming services in the US, and Netflix is the most expensive of them. Due to the outflow of subscribers, the management of Netflix decided to, what is worth experimenting with the cheaper version, in which there will be advertising. Maybe, this will allow us to return to the growth of indicators.

Often talk about account sharing as a major factor, disturbing netflix, but I must say, that this factor for many years did not particularly hinder the company.

Furthermore, Netflix's experiment with bans on account sharing in Spanish-speaking countries - Costa Rica, Chile, Peru - leads to a wave of unsubscribes and the departure of users to competitors. So it's unlikely, that a campaign with passwords will lead to significant successes: they, who shares passwords, rather refuse the service, than they will pay more.

The company's management also talks about the prioritization of the quality of products over the quantity.

Subscription price in the US for a month

Disney+8$
Apple TV+5$
Hulu13$
HBO Max15$
Amazon Prime Video9$
Paramount Plus10$
Netflix20$

8

Is Microsoft right as a partner for Netflix?

Became known, that Netflix is discussing the introduction of an "advertising version" of its service by cooperating with telecom giant Comcast (NASDAQ: CMCSA) and parent company Google Alphabet (NASDAQ: GOOGL).

  For fourteen years.

In cooperation with these companies there was a reason: both have vast experience in the field of digital advertising.

Facts against agreement: they compete with Netflix in the streaming field. Comcast aggressively develops its own streaming service Peacock, and YouTube, owned by Alphabet, - Indirect competitor to Netflix, and it also has its own paid subscription.

Microsoft has no streaming services and is not yet foreseen.. So there is no conflict of interest..

What Microsoft will get out of it

Microsoft itself bought the platform for online advertising Xandr more than six months ago from the telecom holding AT&T (NYSE: T) — just the type of service, suitable for Netflix, with online connection.

Most likely, Microsoft wants to experiment with the platform and increase its advertising revenue. Now they give 5% from the entire revenue of the company: advertising on the Bing search platform, on LinkedIn and on the Xbox gaming platform.

At all, Microsoft and with the growth of revenue and profits everything is very good, but from the point of view of business diversification, experiments with advertising will be quite justified..

What Netflix Shareholders Can Expect

This is a massive experiment., so results may vary..

Probably, Microsoft is determined to work out all possible technological solutions for Netflix and, perchance, she will be able to find a suitable Netflix option, which will create a well-optimized advertising version of the subscription and retain the company's audience. But there are no details yet., how will it work.

The problem here may be in the licensed content. Licensed content is 56,1% from all items, available on the Netflix platform.

In its content, Netflix can put any kind of advertising and in any way, but for other people's series you need to get permission, and for this you will have to communicate with the management of companies, movies and series that Netflix licenses.

As a result, the cost of licensed content for it may increase by 15-30%. And that's just really bad.: to license other people's content, Netflix spent $ 13.79 billion in 2021. Respectively, a 15-30% revision of the value of contracts will mean an increase in costs for the company in the range of 2-4 billion per year or even more, that risks devouring from 1/3 up to 2/3 its operating profit. Not a fact, that the increase in subscribers sufficiently compensates for this loss.

  Not everything is lime, what glitters

The market reacted positively to this news.: Netflix shares even rose by 8%, and Microsoft has 1%. But what will come of the cooperation between the two companies?, It's not clear yet. Expected, that advertising Netflix will appear in 4 quarter of this year, so somewhere in the first 3 2023 we will be able to evaluate the first results.

News, which concern investors, - in our telegram channel. Subscribe, to keep abreast of what's happening: @investnique.

Scroll to Top

Netflix потерял подписчиков и решил заработать на рекламе: что из этого может получиться

Netflix потерял подписчиков и решил заработать на рекламе: что из этого может получиться

NetflixNFLX214,50 $Купить

Netflix потерял подписчиков и решил заработать на рекламе: что из этого может получиться

Microsoft CorporationMSFT252,94 $

Зачем Netflix нужна версия с рекламой

Весной Netflix впервые за 7 лет столкнулась с оттоком подписчиков. Компания потеряла 2 млн подписчиков по сравнению с кварталом ранее. Но если из потерь вычесть новоприбывших подписчиков, то итоговые потери будут существенно ниже — почти 200 тысяч человек. Хотя все равно обидно.

Финансовые показатели по сравнению с аналогичным периодом годом ранее тоже разочаровали: рост выручки замедлился до 9,84%, а прибыль упала на 6,44%.

Netflix потерял подписчиков и решил заработать на рекламе: что из этого может получиться

Операционные показатели на конец первого квартала, млн долларов

Пользователи Чистый приток Выручка на пользователя
США и Канада 74,6 −0,6 14,9 $
Европа, Ближний Восток и Африка 73,7 −0,3 11,6 $
Латинская Америка 39,6 −0,4 8,4 $
Азиатско-Тихоокеанский регион 33,7 +1,1 9,2 $

Одна из ключевых причин — цена. В США теперь есть много стриминговых сервисов, и Netflix — самый дорогой из них. Из-за оттока подписчиков руководство Netflix решило, что стоит поэкспериментировать с более дешевой версией, в которой будет реклама. Возможно, это позволит вернуться к росту показателей.

Часто говорят про совместное пользование аккаунтами как основной фактор, мешающий Netflix, но надо сказать, что этот фактор много лет не особо мешал компании.

Более того, эксперимент Netflix с запретами на совместное использование аккаунта в испаноязычных странах — Коста-Рика, Чили, Перу — приводит к волне отписок и уходу пользователей к конкурентам. Так что маловероятно, что кампания с паролями приведет к значительным успехам: те, кто делится паролями, скорее откажутся от сервиса, чем будут платить больше.

Еще менеджмент компании говорит о приоритизации качества выпускаемой продукции над количеством.

Стоимость подписки в США на месяц

Disney+ 8$
Apple TV+ 5$
Hulu 13$
HBO Max 15$
Amazon Prime Video 9$
Paramount Plus 10$
Netflix 20$

8

Подходит ли Microsoft в качестве партнера для Netflix

Стало известно, что Netflix обсуждает внедрение «рекламной версии» своего сервиса путем сотрудничества с телеком-гигантом Comcast (NASDAQ: CMCSA) и материнской компанией Google Alphabet (NASDAQ: GOOGL).

  Инвестидея: Olin, потому что пули летят

В сотрудничестве с этими компаниями был свой резон: у обеих колоссальный опыт в сфере цифровой рекламы.

Факты против соглашения: они выступают конкурентами Netflix на поле стриминга. Comcast агрессивно развивает собственный стриминг-сервис Peacock, а YouTube, принадлежащий Alphabet, — непрямой конкурент Netflix, и там тоже есть своя платная подписка.

У Microsoft же стриминговых сервисов нет и пока не предвидится. Так что нет и конфликта интересов.

Что от этого получит Microsoft

Сама Microsoft купила платформу для онлайн-рекламы Xandr более полугода назад у телеком-холдинга AT&T (NYSE: T) — как раз вид сервиса, подходящий для Netflix, с онлайн-подключением.

Вероятнее всего, Microsoft хочет поэкспериментировать с платформой и увеличить свои доходы от рекламы. Сейчас они дают 5% от всей выручки компании: реклама на платформе поиска Bing, в соцсети LinkedIn и на игровой платформе Xbox.

Вообще, у Microsoft и с ростом выручки и прибыли все очень хорошо, но с точки зрения диверсификации бизнеса эксперименты с рекламой будут вполне оправданными.

Чего ждать акционерам Netflix

Это масштабный эксперимент, поэтому результаты тут могут быть разные.

Вероятно, Microsoft настроена отработать для Netflix все возможные технологические решения и, быть может, у нее получится найти устраивающий Netflix вариант, который позволит создать хорошо оптимизированную рекламную версию подписки и удержать аудиторию компании. Но пока нет никаких подробностей, как это будет работать.

Проблема тут может быть в лицензионном контенте. Лицензированный контент — это 56,1% от всех наименований, доступных на платформе Netflix.

В своем контенте Netflix может ставить какую угодно рекламу и как угодно, а вот для чужих сериалов нужно получать разрешение, и для этого придется общаться с руководством компаний, фильмы и сериалы которых Netflix лицензирует.

В результате стоимость лицензированного контента для нее может возрасти на 15—30%. И вот это как раз очень плохо: на лицензирование чужого контента Netflix потратила в 2021 году 13,79 млрд долларов. Соответственно, пересмотр стоимости контрактов на 15—30% будет означать для компании рост расходов в диапазоне 2—4 млрд в год или даже больше, что рискует сожрать от 1/3 до 2/3 ее операционной прибыли. Не факт, что прирост подписчиков в достаточной мере компенсирует эту потерю.

  Инвестидея: Varta, потому что надо заменить батарейку

Рынок на эти новости отреагировал позитивно: акции Netflix даже выросли на 8%, а у Microsoft — на 1%. Но что там получится из сотрудничества двух компаний, пока неясно. Ожидается, что рекламный Netflix появится в 4 квартале этого года, так что где-то в первые 3 месяца 2023 мы сможем оценить первые результаты.

Пролистать наверх