Moscow exchange will allow certain non-residents to trade

So far, only investors from countries will be able to sell shares, which Russia considers friendly

Moscow exchange will allow certain non-residents to trade

Who will be allowed to bid and under what conditions

Clients from countries will be able to make transactions, which were not included in the list of unfriendly states. The authorities of the Russian Federation approved such a list in March 2022 - countries, who imposed or supported sanctions against Russia: USA, EU countries, Japan, Australia and others. Investors from these countries are still unable to trade on the exchange.

Non-residents from other countries will have the same access to the stock and derivatives markets, like the residents. But they will be subject to additional control.. Professional market participants - banks, Brokers and management companies are required to identify non-resident clients and persons, who control them.

There is an algorithm, by which professional participants check clients, and then transfer the information to the Moscow Exchange. The organization will add a new field to it, which, together with the customer's country code, defines, can a non-resident make transactions or not.

By default, all clients will receive an indeterminate status.. For customers from Russia and Belarus, this will not change anything: they will be able to trade as before, explained Mosbirzha in the FAQ for professional participants. For a non-resident to gain access to trading, his bank, broker or manager must set the appropriate value. Information is updated on the next trading day.

If the status of the client changes over time, then the professional participant will have to update the information - for example, if the "unfriendly" non-resident goes into the category of "friendly", and vice versa, written in the FAQ of the Moscow Exchange.

When will trading open for all non-residents

The Central Bank plans to open trading for all foreign investors, but on special terms. For non-residents from countries, recognized as unfriendly, as well as for "friendly" non-residents, controlled by "unfriendly", launch a separate market, indicated in the presentation of the Moscow Exchange. But the organization has not yet disclosed the start date of the auction..

From the materials of the trading platform follows, that “unfriendly” non-residents will not be able to conduct transactions with residents on the stock and derivatives markets - only among themselves.

  Magnitsky law

The first reaction of the market

What is the share of non-residents in Russian shares, it is not known exactly. According to RBC, all non-residents keep about 80% Papers, which are in free circulation. How many accounts for "friendly", hard to say, but BCS Express indicates, that the majority of non-residents in Russian public companies are US investors, UK and EU countries, for which trading remains blocked.

Therefore it is difficult to predict, How will the market behave after 8 august. There is a risk: not to fall under secondary sanctions, "friendly" non-residents will sell shares and they may fall. But the market does not lay such a scenario yet.. According to data on 12:35, Moscow exchange index grew by 0,3%, up to 2199 points.

News, which concern investors, - in our telegram channel. Subscribe, to keep abreast of what's happening: @investnique.

Scroll to Top

Мосбиржа допустит к торгам отдельных нерезидентов

Пока продавать акции смогут только инвесторы из стран, которые Россия считает дружественными

Мосбиржа допустит к торгам отдельных нерезидентов

Кого допустят к торгам и на каких условиях

Совершать сделки смогут клиенты из стран, которые не попали в список недружественных государств. Власти РФ утвердили такой перечень в марте 2022 года — в него попали страны, которые ввели или поддержали санкции против России: США, страны Евросоюза, Япония, Австралия и другие. Инвесторы из этих стран по-прежнему не могут проводить сделки на бирже.

Нерезиденты из других стран получат такой же доступ к фондовому и срочному рынкам, как и резиденты. Но за ними установят дополнительный контроль. Профессиональные участники рынка — банки, брокеры и управляющие компании — обязаны провести идентификацию клиентов-нерезидентов и лиц, которые их контролируют.

Есть алгоритм, по которому профучастники проверяют клиентов, а затем передают сведения Московской бирже. Организация добавит в него новое поле, которое вместе с кодом страны клиента определяет, может нерезидент совершать сделки или нет.

По умолчанию все клиенты получат неопределенный статус. Для клиентов из России и Беларуси это ничего не изменит: они смогут торговать как раньше, объяснила Мосбиржа в FAQ для профучастников. Чтобы нерезидент получил доступ к торгам, его банк, брокер или управляющий должен выставить соответствующее значение. Информация обновляется на следующий торговый день.

Если со временем статус клиента поменяется, то профучастник должен будет обновить информацию — например, если «недружественный» нерезидент перейдет в категорию «дружественных», и наоборот, написано в FAQ Московской биржи.

Когда откроют торги для всех нерезидентов

ЦБ планирует открыть торги для всех иностранных инвесторов, но на особых условиях. Для нерезидентов из стран, признанных недружественными, а также для «дружественных» нерезидентов, подконтрольных «недружественным», запустят отдельный рынок, указано в презентации Мосбиржи. Но дату начала торгов организация пока не раскрыла.

Из материалов торговой площадки следует, что проводить сделки с резидентами на фондовом и срочном рынках «недружественные» нерезиденты не смогут — только между собой.

  Джон Боллинджер / John Bollinger

Первая реакция рынка

Какую долю занимают нерезиденты в российских акциях, точно неизвестно. По данным РБК, все нерезиденты держат примерно 80% бумаг, которые находятся в свободном обращении. Сколько приходится на «дружественных», сказать сложно, но BCS Express указывает, что большая часть нерезидентов в российских публичных компаниях — это инвесторы из США, Великобритании и стран Евросоюза, для которых торги остаются заблокированными.

Поэтому сложно прогнозировать, как поведет себя рынок после 8 августа. Есть риск: чтобы не подпасть под вторичные санкции, «дружественные» нерезиденты будут продавать акции и они могут упасть. Но рынок пока не закладывает такой сценарий. По данным на 12:35, индекс Мосбиржи подрос на 0,3%, до 2199 пунктов.

Новости, которые касаются инвесторов, — в нашем телеграм-канале. Подписывайтесь, чтобы быть в курсе происходящего: @investnique.

Пролистать наверх