We study the financial statements of Alrosa for 3 neighborhood

Изучаем финансовую отчетность «Алросы» за 3 квартал

Alrosa (MCX: ALRS) - state diamond mining holding, world leader in diamond production.

11 November, the company published consolidated financial statements based on the results of the first 9 months of 2021. According to the report, revenue increased by more than 2 times, and the net profit in 7,2 times exceeded the results of the same period last year. I propose to take a closer look at the key financial indicators, to understand, how did the business manage to provide such a strong momentum.

Disclaimer: if we write, that something has risen or fallen by X%, then by default we mean comparison with the report data for the same period last year, unless otherwise stated.

Industry position

The multiple growth of financial indicators is associated with the recovery in sales after the crisis and the low base of 2020. Let me remind you, that in the previous two years the diamond mining industry faced two serious crises at once.

Customs crisis. Diamond demand and prices collapse in 2019 due to customs problems in India, where the world's largest diamond cutting and polishing facilities are located. The introduction of additional customs restrictions made it difficult to import raw materials into the country. As a result, Indian manufacturers reduced their cutting volumes by 20%, what affected the business of Alrosa.

Coronavirus pandemic. 2020 year has prepared new challenges for the diamond industry. Coronavirus and restrictive measures have led to a drop in demand for diamonds around the world and disrupted supply chains. From April to July, sales of Alrosa dropped to almost zero, and the management suspended production at several enterprises, to prevent a crisis of overproduction. Since August, market demand began to recover, and in December the company recorded a monthly sales record. But total sales in 2020 turned out to be a failure, updating the lows of recent years.

After two difficult years, 2021 turned out to be a truly breakthrough year for Alrosa. Against the backdrop of a recovery in global demand for rough diamonds, sales in the first 9 months grew in 2,4 times - up to 36.1 billion carats, which allowed the holding to break the 2017 record.

  Big Lots analysis ( NYSE : BIG ) | Investment

It is worth noting, that production does not keep up with demand, despite the resumption of production at previously closed fields. As a result, Alrosa sells out its stocks, which decreased by 72% and are based on 3 quarter near multiyear lows. Against the background of a shortage of rough diamonds, the company's management purchased diamonds from the state at the Gokhran of Russia auction for resale. This solution allows the company to meet customer demand., but reduces the overall ROI.

Изучаем финансовую отчетность «Алросы» за 3 квартал

Diamond sales per 9 months, million carats

2016 30
2017 31,8
2018 29,1
2019 25,3
2020 15,1
2021 36,1

30

Revenue and profit

Against the backdrop of growing rough diamond sales, Alrosa's revenue from sales for 9 months of 2021 grew by more than 2 times - up to 257.4 billion rubles. This result not only exceeded the levels of the pre-crisis years, but also allowed to update the historical maximum. Moreover, more 91% sales of diamond products were exported.

Structure of proceeds from the sale of rough and polished diamonds

Export 91,2%
Domestic sales 5,1%
Revenue from the resale of diamonds 3,7%

91,2%

Along with the income, the cost of sales also increased in 2,4 times - up to 134 billion rubles, - which is mainly due to the increase in taxes on mining, increase in the cost of diamonds for resale, and also with the reduction of own stocks.

General and administrative expenses increased by 31% - up to 13.1 billion rubles - due to an increase in salaries and other payments to employees. Moreover, the costs, commercial activities, increased by 26% - up to 2.5 billion rubles. Other operating income decreased by 2,4 times - up to 6 billion rubles - against the background of a decrease in income from exchange rate differences. As a result, operating profit increased by 2 times and reached 97.1 billion rubles.

Finance income fell by almost 3 times - up to 10.7 billion rubles, and financial expenses fell to 4,4 times - up to 15 billion rubles. This is due to the revaluation of exchange rate differences. At the same time, profit from participation in joint ventures against the background of a favorable market environment increased from 1,3 up to RUB 7.1 bln thanks to an increase in the profit of a joint diamond mining enterprise in Angola. Income tax expense increased from 3,8 up to 20.8 billion rubles.

As a result, the net profit of the holding for 9 months of this year increased by 7,3 times - up to 79.2 billion rubles.

Financial performance of Alrosa for 9 months, billion rubles

Revenue Operating profit Net profit
2016 255,6 127,8 116,9
2017 211,1 75,9 61,9
2018 234,2 112,7 82,5
2019 169,9 60,8 51,1
2020 119,5 48 10,9
2021 257,4 97,1 79,2
  Investidea: Dropbox, так как Elliott Management

Dividends and Debts

10 March 2021 the company approved a new edition of the dividend policy, in which the management clarified the methods for determining the amount of dividend payments.

Free cash flow for the reporting period - the basis for calculating dividends, the share of payments depends on the current level of debt burden, which is calculated using the ratio "net debt / EBITDA".

The total amount of payments must be at least 50% from the consolidated net profit for the reporting year. Moreover, the total amount of dividends must not be less 50% of the amount of net profit under IFRS for the corresponding year.

Net debt of Alrosa according to the results 1 half of 2021 was in the negative area, it means, that the total amount of loans and borrowings of the company was less, than the amount of money and their equivalents in the accounts. Based on the results of 3 quarter, after payment of dividends for 2 half year 2021, net debt returned to positive territory and amounted to 8.9 billion rubles. At the same time, the net debt / EBITDA ratio has decreased since the beginning of the year from 0,4 up to 0.1 ×, which indicates a low level of debt burden and high financial stability of the holding, which means, dividend payments are not in danger.

Free cash flow of the company following the results of the first 9 months grew in 6,3 times and reached a record 89.2 billion rubles. Thanks to this, the company announced interim dividends based on the 1 half of this year in the amount of 64.7 billion rubles, or 100% free cash flow.

Debt dynamics at the end of the period, billion rubles

Net debt Net debt / 12mEBITDA
2017 86,0 0,7×
2018 67,4 0,4×
2019 79,6 0,7×
2020 31,2 0,4×
9м2021 8,9 0,1×

Free cash flow for 9 months, billion rubles

2017 61,8
2018 62,0
2019 30,8
2020 14,3
2021 89,2

61,8

History of dividend payments, billion rubles

2016 65,8
2017 38,6
2018 73,9
2019 47,7
2020 70,3
1п2021 64,7

65,8

What is the bottom line

After two crisis years in a row, the situation on the diamond market has finally turned out to be favorable. Against the background of a low base in 2020, the growth of operating and financial indicators of Alrosa following the results of the first 9 months of 2021 looks impressive. The company managed to earn record revenue, significantly increased profit and free cash flow. At the same time, the debt load is at an all-time low. Against this background, shareholders received generous dividends for the first half of the year and can look forward to continuing in the second.

  Investidea: Parker-Hannifin as everyone is automated

But due to the rapid recovery of the market, new problems have emerged.. Global production is not keeping up with demand. Diamond miners cannot ramp up diamond production as quickly, and this leads to a reduction in raw materials reserves not only in Russia, but all over the world. We see this problem in the results of Alrosa., which not only removed record volumes of diamonds from its vaults and reduced reserves to a multi-year low, but she herself bought additional volumes from the state.

Management predicts, that by the end of 2021, production volumes will amount to about 32.5 million carats, which is on average below the pre-crisis level. In the coming years, the company expects to return to the average production level in the region of 35-36 million carats.. At the same time, the diamond mining industry has a rather long investment cycle and more than 10 years. It means, what, even if demand grows even stronger, the company is unlikely to be able to significantly increase production volumes.

Against the backdrop of declining stocks of rough diamonds and the industry's limited capacity to rapidly ramp up production, the global market may face a shortage of rough and polished diamonds in the coming years.. it, in turn, could lead to a sharp rise in prices for rough diamonds and have a positive effect on the revenues of diamond mining companies.

Scroll up

Изучаем финансовую отчетность «Алросы» за 3 квартал

Изучаем финансовую отчетность «Алросы» за 3 квартал

«Алроса» (MCX: ALRS) — государственный алмазодобывающий холдинг, мировой лидер по объемам производства алмазной продукции.

11 ноября компания опубликовала консолидированную финансовую отчетность по итогам первых 9 месяцев 2021 года. Согласно отчету выручка выросла более чем в 2 раза, а чистая прибыль в 7,2 раза превзошла результаты аналогичного периода прошлого года. Предлагаю подробнее рассмотреть ключевые финансовые показатели, чтобы понять, как бизнесу удалось обеспечить такую сильную динамику.

Дисклеймер: если мы пишем, что что-то выросло или упало на X%, то по умолчанию подразумеваем сравнение с данными отчета за аналогичный период прошлого года, если не указано другое.

Положение в отрасли

Кратный рост финансовых показателей связан с восстановлением продаж после кризиса и низкой базы 2020 года. Напомню, что в предыдущие два года алмазодобывающая отрасль столкнулась сразу с двумя серьезными кризисами.

Таможенный кризис. В 2019 году спрос и цены на алмазы рухнули из-за таможенных проблем в Индии, где расположены крупнейшие в мире мощности по огранке алмазов и производству бриллиантов. Введение дополнительных таможенных ограничений усложнило ввоз сырья в страну. В результате индийские производители сократили объемы огранки на 20%, что отразилось на бизнесе «Алросы».

Пандемия коронавируса. 2020 год приготовил новые вызовы для алмазной отрасли. Коронавирус и введение ограничительных мер привели к падению спроса на алмазы во всем мире и нарушили логистические цепочки. С апреля по июль продажи «Алросы» сократились практически до нуля, а менеджмент приостановил производство на нескольких предприятиях, чтобы не допустить кризиса перепроизводства. С августа спрос на рынке начал восстанавливаться, а в декабре компания зафиксировала месячный рекорд продаж. Но общие продажи по итогам 2020 оказались провальными, обновив минимумы последних лет.

После двух тяжелых лет 2021 год оказался для «Алросы» по-настоящему прорывным. На фоне восстановления мирового спроса на алмазное сырье объем продаж по итогам первых 9 месяцев вырос в 2,4 раза — до 36,1 млрд карат, что позволило холдингу перебить рекорд 2017 года.

  Пачка инвестновостей: WeWork, Deloitte и Zillow

Стоит отметить, что производство не успевает за спросом, несмотря на возобновление добычи на ранее закрытых месторождениях. В результате «Алроса» распродает запасы продукции, которые сократились за год на 72% и находятся по итогам 3 квартала вблизи многолетних минимумов. На фоне дефицита алмазного сырья менеджмент компании приобрел алмазы у государства на аукционе Гохрана России для перепродажи. Такое решение позволяет компании удовлетворить спрос покупателей, но снижает общую рентабельность продаж.

Изучаем финансовую отчетность «Алросы» за 3 квартал

Объем продажи алмазов за 9 месяцев, млн карат

2016 30
2017 31,8
2018 29,1
2019 25,3
2020 15,1
2021 36,1

30

Выручка и прибыль

На фоне роста объемов продаж алмазного сырья выручка от продаж «Алросы» за 9 месяцев 2021 года выросла более чем в 2 раза — до 257,4 млрд рублей. Этот результат не только превысил уровни докризисных лет, но и позволил обновить исторический максимум. При этом более 91% продаж алмазной продукции пришлось на экспорт.

Структура выручки от продажи алмазов и бриллиантов

Экспорт 91,2%
Продажи на внутреннем рынке 5,1%
Выручка от перепродажи алмазов 3,7%

91,2%

Вместе с доходами выросла и себестоимость продаж в 2,4 раза — до 134 млрд рублей, — что в основном связано с ростом налогов на добычу полезных ископаемых, увеличением себестоимости алмазов для перепродажи, а также с сокращением собственных запасов.

Общие и административные расходы выросли на 31% — до 13,1 млрд рублей — из-за роста зарплат и других выплат работникам. При этом расходы, связанные с коммерческой деятельностью, увеличились на 26% — до 2,5 млрд рублей. Прочие операционные доходы сократились в 2,4 раза — до 6 млрд рублей — на фоне сокращения доходов от курсовых разниц. В результате операционная прибыль увеличилась в 2 раза и достигла 97,1 млрд рублей.

Финансовые доходы сократились почти в 3 раза — до 10,7 млрд рублей, а финансовые расходы упали в 4,4 раза — до 15 млрд рублей. Это связано с переоценкой курсовых разниц. При этом прибыль от участия в совместных предприятиях на фоне благоприятной рыночной конъюнктуры выросла с 1,3 до 7,1 млрд рублей благодаря росту прибыли совместного алмазодобывающего предприятия в Анголе. Расходы по налогу на прибыль выросли с 3,8 до 20,8 млрд рублей.

В итоге чистая прибыль холдинга за 9 месяцев текущего года увеличилась в 7,3 раза — до 79,2 млрд рублей.

Финансовые показатели «Алросы» за 9 месяцев, млрд рублей

Выручка Операционная прибыль Чистая прибыль
2016 255,6 127,8 116,9
2017 211,1 75,9 61,9
2018 234,2 112,7 82,5
2019 169,9 60,8 51,1
2020 119,5 48 10,9
2021 257,4 97,1 79,2
  ИИ в противоборстве с неврологией и раком: чем занимается BioXcel Therapeutics

Дивиденды и долги

10 марта 2021 года компания утвердила новую редакцию дивидендной политики, в которой менеджмент уточнил методики определения размера дивидендных платежей.

Свободный денежный поток за отчетный период — база для расчета дивидендов, при этом доля выплат зависит от текущего уровня долговой нагрузки, который рассчитывается по коэффициенту «чистый долг / EBITDA».

Общий размер выплат должен быть не менее 50% от консолидированной чистой прибыли по итогам отчетного года. Кроме того, общий размер дивидендов не должен быть менее 50% от суммы чистой прибыли по МСФО за соответствующий год.

Чистый долг «Алросы» по итогам 1 полугодия 2021 года находился в отрицательной области, это значит, что общая сумма кредитов и займов компании была меньше, чем объем денег и их эквивалентов на счетах. По итогам 3 квартала, после выплаты дивидендов за 2 полугодие 2021 года, чистый долг вернулся в положительную область и составил 8,9 млрд рублей. При этом коэффициент «чистый долг / EBITDA» с начала года сократился с 0,4 до 0,1×, что говорит о низком уровне долговой нагрузки и высокой финансовой устойчивости холдинга, а значит, дивидендным выплатам ничто не угрожает.

Свободный денежный поток компании по итогам первых 9 месяцев вырос в 6,3 раза и достиг рекордных 89,2 млрд рублей. Благодаря этому компания объявила промежуточные дивиденды по итогам 1 половины текущего года в размере 64,7 млрд рублей, или 100% свободного денежного потока.

Динамика долговой нагрузки на конец периода, млрд рублей

Чистый долг Чистый долг / 12мEBITDA
2017 86,0 0,7×
2018 67,4 0,4×
2019 79,6 0,7×
2020 31,2 0,4×
9м2021 8,9 0,1×

Свободный денежный поток за 9 месяцев, млрд рублей

2017 61,8
2018 62,0
2019 30,8
2020 14,3
2021 89,2

61,8

История дивидендных выплат, млрд рублей

2016 65,8
2017 38,6
2018 73,9
2019 47,7
2020 70,3
1п2021 64,7

65,8

Что в итоге

После двух кризисных лет подряд ситуация на рынке алмазов наконец-то оказалась благоприятной. На фоне низкой базы 2020 года рост операционных и финансовых показателей «Алросы» по итогам первых 9 месяцев 2021 года выглядит впечатляющим. Компания сумела заработать рекордную выручку, в разы увеличила прибыль и свободный денежный поток. При этом долговая нагрузка находится на рекордно низкой отметке. На этом фоне акционеры получили щедрые дивиденды по итогам первого полугодия и могут рассчитывать на продолжение во втором.

  Джей Пи, он же барон-разбойник. Чем известен основоположник JP Morgan

Но из-за быстрого восстановления рынка вскрылись новые проблемы. Мировое производство не поспевает за спросом. Алмазодобывающие компании не могут столь же быстро нарастить добычу алмазов, и это приводит к сокращению запасов сырья не только в России, но и во всем мире. Эту проблему мы видим и в результатах «Алросы», которая не только изъяла рекордные объемы алмазов из своих хранилищ и снизила запасы до многолетнего минимума, но и сама закупала дополнительные объемы у государства.

Менеджмент прогнозирует, что по итогам всего 2021 года объемы производства составят около 32,5 млн карат, что в среднем ниже докризисного уровня. В ближайшие годы компания рассчитывает вернуться на средний уровень добычи в районе 35—36 млн карат. При этом в алмазодобывающей отрасли достаточно долгий инвестиционный цикл и от проекта до запуска нового месторождения может пройти более 10 лет. Это значит, что, даже если спрос вырастет еще сильней, у компании вряд ли получится значительно увеличить объемы производства.

На фоне снижения запасов алмазного сырья и ограниченных возможностей отрасли быстро нарастить производство мировой рынок может столкнуться с дефицитом алмазно-бриллиантовой продукции в ближайшие годы. Это, в свою очередь, может привести к резкому росту цен на алмазное сырье и положительно отразиться на выручке алмазодобывающих компаний.

Пролистать наверх