Чему нас учат дни паники на рынке Чему нас учат дни паники на рынке 3

What Market Panic Days Teach Us

Чему нас учат дни паники на рынке

During sales 19 and 22 November, it is difficult for an investor to remain indifferent to the situation, watching, how portfolio value is steadily declining. Instinct prompts, that you urgently need to sell everything and leave with that, what's left. However, this behavior is often the most ineffective.. The current situation once again confirms this.. Let's summarize, what panic sale days teach.

Lesson 1. Look for inefficiencies

During a panic, imbalances always appear in the market.. Individual stocks can fall very hard, despite, that their fundamental case is not in danger. And sometimes sales, on the contrary, only strengthen the positions of individual securities.

for example, during the sales, it was logical to take a closer look at the shares of the Moscow Exchange. Exchange income consists of two parts: commissions for transactions and interest from the placement of free funds. Interest rates are now actively growing, and the increase in trade turnover due to sales has a positive effect on the expected amount of commissions. In spite of this, on Monday, the stock renewed its annual low.

Another example, oil stocks. The fall of the ruble led to, that the price of oil in rubles has renewed its historical maximum. This is a strong positive signal for oil and gas stocks., which sank very much on Monday. The sector now retains an opportunity to buy strong stories with double-digit expected dividend yields.

Lesson 2. Panic rarely lasts long

A market crash is like a bottleneck. A lot of market participants are trying to sell their securities at the same time. As a result, the pressure on quotes is growing., and they quickly fly down, grabbing those, who trades with shoulders and cannot sit out the drawdown.

  How to increase your motivation to learn in trading

But this situation cannot last too long. As prices fall, interest in sales decreases, and speculators begin to look closely at possible purchases with interest. Usually, the active phase of reduction lasts no more than two to three days.

Interesting observation, which is very often repeated: if the index closes the trading day at intraday lows after a strong decline, then at the opening of the next day, the market in the first hour may continue to actively decline by inertia against the background of margin calls. And at this point, attractive shopping opportunities may arise.. This is what you could see on Tuesday 23 November.

Another technical observation. If Market Sentiment Remains Alarming, then before the weekend sale, usually, intensify. This is due to the fact, that market participants prefer to reduce risks due to possible negative news on Saturday-Sunday. It could be seen 12 and 19 November.

Lesson 3. There is no such thing as growth correction

Over the past year, the Russian market has grown almost without recoil. Newbie investors can get the wrong impression, what is the norm. But this is not at all true (unless it's about S&P 500:). The market often has ups and downs. There are periods, when the market may gradually decline over several months, how it was at the beginning 2017 r.

To feel comfortable during times like these, it is important to closely monitor the securities in your portfolio. If the investor is confident, that in his portfolio there are papers of high-quality promising companies, then it is much easier for him to stay cool and not only not to sell good papers for cheap, but also find new profitable opportunities.

More useful information for investors you will find on BCS Express.

Scroll up

Чему нас учат дни паники на рынке

Чему нас учат дни паники на рынке

Во время распродаж 19 и 22 ноября инвестору сложно оставаться безразличным к ситуации, наблюдая, как стоимость портфеля неуклонно снижается. Инстинкт подсказывает, что нужно срочно все продать и уходить с тем, что осталось. Однако такое поведение зачастую оказывается самым неэффективным. Нынешняя ситуация в очередной раз это подтверждает. Подытожим, чему учат дни панических распродаж.

Урок 1. Ищите неэффективности

Во время паники на рынке всегда появляются дисбалансы. Отдельные акции могут падать очень сильно, несмотря на то, что их фундаментальному кейсу ничего не угрожает. А иногда распродажи, наоборот, только укрепляют позиции отдельных бумаг.

Например, во время распродаж логично было присмотреться к акциям Московской биржи. Доходы биржи состоят из двух частей: комиссии за сделки и проценты от размещения свободных денежных средств. Процентные ставки сейчас активно растут, а рост торговых оборотов из-за распродаж позитивно влияет на ожидаемую сумму комиссий. Несмотря на это, в понедельник акция обновляла годовой минимум.

Другой пример, акции нефтяных компаний. Падение рубля привело к тому, что стоимость нефти в рублях обновила исторический максимум. Это яркий позитивный сигнал для акций нефтегазового сектора, которые очень сильно просели в понедельник. Сейчас в секторе сохраняется возможность купить сильные истории с двузначной ожидаемой дивидендной доходностью.

Урок 2. Паника редко затягивается надолго

Обвал рынка можно сравнить с узким горлышком. Очень много участников рынка одновременно пытаются продать свои бумаги. В результате давление на котировки растет, и они стремительно летят вниз, прихватывая за собой тех, кто торгует с плечами и не может пересиживать просадку.

  Упустил шанс заработать. Что такое FOMO: теория и практика

Но такая ситуация не может продолжаться слишком долго. По мере падения цен интерес к продажам снижается, а спекулянты начинают с интересом присматриваться к возможным покупкам. Как правило, активная фаза снижения длится не более двух–трех дней.

Интересное наблюдение, которое очень часто повторяется: если индекс закрывает торговый день на внутридневных минимумах после сильного снижения, то на открытии следующего дня рынок в первый час может по инерции продолжать активно снижаться на фоне маржинколлов. И в этот момент могут появиться привлекательные возможности для покупок. Именно это можно было видеть во вторник 23 ноября.

Еще одно техническое наблюдение. Если настроения на рынке остаются тревожными, то перед выходными распродажи, как правило, усиливаются. Это связано с тем, что участники рынка предпочитают сократить риски из-за возможных негативных новостей в субботу-воскресенье. Это можно было видеть 12 и 19 ноября.

Урок 3. Без коррекции роста не бывает

На протяжении последнего года российский рынок рос практически безоткатно. У начинающих инвесторов может сложиться ложное впечатление, что это норма. Но это совсем не так (если только речь не об S&P 500:). На рынке часто происходят взлеты и падения. Бывают периоды, когда рынок может постепенно снижаться по несколько месяцев, как это было в начале 2017 г.

Чтобы чувствовать себя комфортно в такие периоды, важно внимательно следить за бумагами в своем портфеле. Если инвестор уверен, что в его портфеле бумаги качественных перспективных компаний, то ему гораздо проще сохранять хладнокровие и не только не продавать хорошие бумаги задешево, но и находить новые выгодные возможности.

Больше полезной информации для инвесторов вы найдете на BCS Express.

Пролистать наверх