Netflix shares fell on 25% due to the outflow of subscribers

Акции Netflix обвалились на 25% из-за оттока подписчиков

NetflixNFLX259.90 $BuyService in partnership with Tinkoff Investments. Quotes are updated every 15 minutes

19 April Netflix reported for the first quarter of 2022. For the first time in 10 For the years, the company reported a reduction in the audience. According to her forecasts, in the current quarter, another 2 million people will unsubscribe from the service.

Further without Russia

500,000 new users signed up for Netflix in the first quarter. But in March, the company left Russia and lost 700 thousand subscribers on this.. As a result, the net outflow for the quarter amounted to 200 thousand people.. The last time Netflix lost subscribers was in 2011..

The company previously expected 2.5 million first-quarter user growth., and analysts - by 2.7 million people.

Net subscriber churn occurred in almost all regions, that is, it is not only in Russia. Most in the US and Canada. This is an important region for Netflix, because this is where the service gets the most revenue per user - about 15 $.

Netflix predicts, net churn of subscribers in the current, the second quarter will be 2 million, and the total audience will be reduced from 222 to 220 million.

Акции Netflix обвалились на 25% из-за оттока подписчиков

Operating results at the end of the first quarter

Users Net inflow Revenue per user
USA and Canada 74,6 million −0.6 million 14,9 $
Europe, Middle East and Africa 73,7 million −0.3 million 11,6 $
Latin America 39,6 million −0.4 million 8,4 $
Asian-Pacific area 33,7 million +1,1 million 9,2 $

Sales growth slowed

Here's how Netflix's financial results have changed compared to the first quarter of 2021, and here's what analysts expected:

  • revenue — 7.87 billion dollars (+9,8%), expectations - 7.93 billion dollars;
  • earnings per share - 3,53 $ (−5,9%), expectations - 2,89 $.

Due to the outflow of subscribers, Netflix's quarterly revenue fell short of experts' expectations and grew weakly. According to company forecasts, in the second quarter, sales will increase by about the same 9,7%. The last time Netflix's revenue grew by less than 10% was in 2012..

Акции Netflix обвалились на 25% из-за оттока подписчиков

Salvation in advertising

According to Netflix, The audience of the service is declining for several reasons.. Here are the key ones.

Wide penetration. The company has passed the stage of active growth, and now she has nowhere to expand. Pandemic delays stagnation, but now people are returning to having fun outside the home.

  Overview of the Russian power generation industry

Many competitors. The company has to fight for the viewer's attention not only with traditional cable TV, but also with other streaming platforms. While Netflix's share of total viewing volume is on the rise, It just doesn't lead to audience growth..

Expensive Subscription. Rising prices around the world have not bypassed the entertainment industry. To reduce the cost of producing new content, Netflix is forced to raise prices. So, in January, a subscription to each of the tariffs is basic, standard and premium - in the USA and Canada it has risen in price by 1-2 $. It is for this reason that 600,000 net users unsubscribed from the service in the first quarter..

Unscrupulous subscribers. The company has about 220 million users, but, according to Netflix, 100 million more people use the service. This means, that about one in three watches movies and series for free. Previously, the audience of the service grew rapidly, and Netflix remained loyal to users, who share accounts with relatives and friends. Now the company has to fight this type of piracy..

For a long time, Netflix has been against ads on its platform.. But during the report, the head of the company said, that the service is "open" to advertisers. Cheaper tariff with ads may be launched within two years.

Theoretically affordable subscription will help Netflix solve each of the key problems. For example, entice some of the subscribers from other sites and stop the outflow of their own. It will also help monetize users, who take an account from a friend, because they'll watch the ads anyway.

But whether this approach will work in practice is unknown.. Possible recession, product shortages due to supply disruptions and similar reasons are already forcing advertisers to cut budgets. In this case, Netflix will be able to return to double-digit sales growth only in a few years..

Promotions: worse, than in 2020

After the post-market report, NFLX shares fell by 25%, to 260 $. Shares of other streaming services have also fallen in price.: Warner Bros. Discovery — на 3%, Disney - on 4%, Of the year - на 6%.

Back in February, Netflix shares lost their two-year gains., that happened due to quarantine. From its maximum 700 $ they have already fallen 60%. Now papers are even cheaper, than during the crash in March 2020. They were the cheapest back then. 16 March - around 300 $.

  Fitch changes Evergrande's rating to default

Акции Netflix обвалились на 25% из-за оттока подписчиков

News, which concern investors, - in our telegram channel. Subscribe, to keep abreast of what's happening: @investnique.

Scroll up

Акции Netflix обвалились на 25% из-за оттока подписчиков

Акции Netflix обвалились на 25% из-за оттока подписчиков

NetflixNFLX259,90 $КупитьСервис в партнерстве с Тинькофф Инвестициями. Котировки обновляются раз в 15 минут

19 апреля Netflix отчиталась за первый квартал 2022 года. Впервые за 10 лет компания сообщила о сокращении аудитории. По ее прогнозам, в текущем квартале от сервиса отпишутся еще 2 млн человек.

Дальше без России

В первом квартале на сервис Netflix подписались 500 тысяч новых пользователей. Но в марте компания ушла из России и потеряла на этом 700 тысяч подписчиков. В итоге чистый отток за квартал составил 200 тысяч человек. В последний раз Netflix теряла подписчиков в 2011 году.

Ранее компания ожидала роста числа пользователей в первом квартале на 2,5 млн, а аналитики — на 2,7 млн человек.

Чистый отток подписчиков случился почти во всех регионах, то есть дело не только в России. Больше всего — в США и Канаде. Это важный для Netflix регион, потому что именно здесь сервис получает наибольшую выручку на одного пользователя — около 15 $.

По прогнозам Netflix, чистый отток подписчиков в текущем, втором квартале составит 2 млн, а общая аудитория сократится с 222 до 220 млн.

Акции Netflix обвалились на 25% из-за оттока подписчиков

Операционные показатели на конец первого квартала

Пользователи Чистый приток Выручка на пользователя
США и Канада 74,6 млн −0,6 млн 14,9 $
Европа, Ближний Восток и Африка 73,7 млн −0,3 млн 11,6 $
Латинская Америка 39,6 млн −0,4 млн 8,4 $
Азиатско-Тихоокеанский регион 33,7 млн +1,1 млн 9,2 $

Рост продаж замедлился

Вот как изменились финансовые результаты Netflix по сравнению с первым кварталом 2021 года, и вот чего ожидали аналитики:

  • выручка — 7,87 млрд долларов (+9,8%), ожидания — 7,93 млрд долларов;
  • прибыль на акцию — 3,53 $ (−5,9%), ожидания — 2,89 $.

Из-за оттока подписчиков квартальная выручка Netflix недотянула до ожиданий экспертов и выросла слабо. По прогнозам компании, во втором квартале продажи увеличатся примерно так же — на 9,7%. В последний раз выручка Netflix росла менее чем на 10% в 2012 году.

Акции Netflix обвалились на 25% из-за оттока подписчиков

Спасение в рекламе

По мнению Netflix, аудитория сервиса сокращается по нескольким причинам. Вот ключевые из них.

Широкое проникновение. Компания прошла стадию активного роста, и теперь ей уже некуда расширяться. Пандемия отсрочила стагнацию, но теперь люди возвращаются к развлечениям вне дома.

  Календарь макростатистики. За какими показателями следить в первую очередь

Много конкурентов. Компании приходится бороться за внимание зрителя не только с традиционным кабельным ТВ, но и с другими стриминговыми площадками. Пока доля Netflix от общего объема просмотров увеличивается, только вот к росту аудитории это не приводит.

Дорогая подписка. Рост цен по всему миру не обошел и индустрию развлечений. Чтобы сократить издержки на производство нового контента, Netflix вынуждена поднимать цены. Так, в январе подписка на каждый из тарифов — базовый, стандартный и премиум — в США и Канаде подорожала на 1—2 $. Именно по этой причине в первом квартале 600 тысяч чистых пользователей отписались от сервиса.

Недобросовестные подписчики. У компании около 220 млн пользователей, но, по данным Netflix, сервисом пользуются на 100 млн человек больше. Это значит, что примерно каждый третий смотрит фильмы и сериалы бесплатно. Раньше аудитория сервиса быстро росла, и Netflix оставалась лояльной к пользователям, которые делятся аккаунтами с родственниками и друзьями. Теперь же компании приходится бороться с таким видом пиратства.

Долгое время Netflix выступала против рекламы на своей платформе. Но во время отчета глава компании сказал, что сервис «открыт» для рекламодателей. Более дешевый тариф с рекламой могут запустить в течение двух лет.

Теоретически доступная подписка поможет Netflix решить каждую из ключевых проблем. Например, переманить часть подписчиков у других площадок и остановить отток собственных. Также она поможет монетизировать пользователей, которые берут аккаунт у друга, поскольку они все равно посмотрят рекламу.

Только вот сработает ли такой подход на практике — неизвестно. Возможная рецессия, дефицит товаров из-за сбоев в поставках и подобные причины уже заставляют рекламодателей сокращать бюджеты. В таком случае Netflix сможет вернуться к двузначному росту продаж только через несколько лет.

Акции: хуже, чем в 2020

После отчета на постмаркете акции NFLX упали на 25%, до 260 $. Акции других стриминговых сервисов тоже сильно подешевели: Warner Bros. Discovery — на 3%, Disney — на 4%, Roku — на 6%.

Еще в феврале акции Netflix растеряли свой двухгодичный рост, который случился за счет карантина. Со своего максимума в 700 $ они упали уже на 60%. Теперь бумаги стоят даже дешевле, чем во время обвала в марте 2020 года. Тогда они дешевле всего стоили 16 марта — около 300 $.

  ThinkOrSwim (TOS) - Описание

Акции Netflix обвалились на 25% из-за оттока подписчиков

Новости, которые касаются инвесторов, — в нашем телеграм-канале. Подписывайтесь, чтобы быть в курсе происходящего: @investnique.

Пролистать наверх