Urok 30 profil pribyliubytka po prodannomu opcionu call 737525b урок 30. Профиль прибыли/убытка по проданному опциону call

LESSON 30. PROFILE OF PROFIT / LOSS FOR SOLD OPTION CALL

When selling a Call option, our maximum profit is limited by the amount of the premium option, and our the risk is not limited in the event of an increase in the price of the underlying asset</b>.

Remembering, that the buyer of the Call option earns on the growth of the market, respectively, продавая option Call мы, in fact, we bet, that the growth of the underlying asset (futures) will not. This is an important note.!

Let's illustrate it, looking at the profile of our position.

Turning to the October Options Board for the RTS Index Futures. Let's admit, current futures price 99 920 points. for example, we're deciding sell Call option strike 105 000. The price of our option is 1 180 points.

Урок 30. Профиль прибыли/убытка по проданному опциону call

Let's draw the risk profile of this position now..

Obviously, what, if the BA at the expiration date does not overcome the strike of our option, ie. futures will not rise above the 105 000 points, then the buyer of this option (who has the right to buy futures at a price 105 000) it will be unprofitable to perform it, because. on the market he will be able to buy BA cheaper. In this case, our profit will be equal to the option premium, ie. 1 180 points.

When BA growth above the mark 105 000 points the option will be exercised, because. gives the right to buy futures cheaper, than its market price. But due to the fact, that we sold the option at the price 1 180 points, not free, then our loss will not arise immediately from the strike price, and above break-even points (strike + prize received), ie. above level in 106 180 points.

When BA growth above this mark we will have a loss, which the expiration linearly increases with further growth of the futures.

Conclusions on the position profile

1. As seen from the picture, when selling an option, we get a profit in the amount of a premium not only if, when:

BA price changes in our direction (in this case, with a decline in futures);

while maintaining the BA price at the current level(sideways movement of the market);

– when selling an OTM option when the futures move against our position(sale strike + prize gained).

In fact, we only lose money when there is a strong trend against us. Therefore, I made the remark earlier, what, selling the Call option we place a bet, that the BA price will not rise. (ie strike Call + prize received).

Obviously, what with from a mathematical point of view, the probability of making a profit when selling options is higher, than when buying options. Let me remind you, that when buying options, we get profit on expiration only in one variant - the movement of the BA in our direction above the break-even point. Yes, profit on selling options is limited, but it's still profit.

What's better - to receive most of the time limited and pre-known profits in the market or wait for your chance in an attempt to get much rarer, but also, possibly, a much greater return on option trading?

2. The main reason, according to which traders bypass the sale of options by the side, is an unlimited position risk. Некоторые российские brokers (especially banks) even prohibit the sale of options to their clients for this reason. But it should be understood, that when selling an option our expiration risk is equal to that of the underlying asset (i.e. futures). From that, how much the expiration futures price will rise, our total loss on a position when selling Call also depends.

But in theory, almost any transaction in the financial market is associated with unlimited loss. - for example, buying shares, currency, futures you have the same unlimited loss, if the market begins to decline after opening a position. Yes, this risk on a line instrument can be limited (eg, set stop orders), but when selling options, we can also control and neutralize our theoretical unlimited risk on the position.

I have repeatedly asked the representatives of these brokers - why do you prohibit clients from selling options?, but do not prohibit futures trading, despite having the same unlimited risk, but I never got a clear answer. I repeat again – the risk of selling an expiration option is equal to the risk of a futures.

clear, what if you don't know, how to manage the risks of these positions, it's too early for you to sell options in the market, but, if you are prepared, understand the risks and know how to neutralize them, I don't see any special problems here.

And what, if in this example we sell an option of another strike, eg, 115 000?

The price of this option of the same period for the same BA is 120 points.

When finding a futures below 115 000 points at the expiration date, the option buyer will not exercise it and will lose the premium, and our profit will be 120 rubles from one option. Breakeven point this position will be equal to the strike + premium = 115 120 points. With an increase in BA for expiration above 115 120 items we, as in the previous example, we will have a loss, which for expiration will increase linearly as the futures grows.

It is seen, which in the second case probability its failure (and, respectively, receiving us arrived) significantly higher, because. BA needs to grow much stronger. But also the amount of our remuneration (prize received) significantly less (120 points against 1 180).

The further we remove the sell strike of the Call option from the current BA price, the less will be our profit from the transaction, but also higher likelihood of getting it.

We will talk about selling very distant OTM options in the next lessons., when will we consider the issues of creating a position.

Scroll up

Urok 30 profil pribyliubytka po prodannomu opcionu call 737525b урок 30. Профиль прибыли/убытка по проданному опциону call

УРОК 30. ПРОФИЛЬ ПРИБЫЛИ/УБЫТКА ПО ПРОДАННОМУ ОПЦИОНУ CALL

При продаже опциона Call наша максимальная прибыль ограничена размером премии опциона, а наш риск не ограничен в случае повышения цены базового актива</b>.

Вспоминаем, что покупатель опциона Call зарабатывает на росте рынка, соответственно, продавая опцион Call мы, по сути, делаем ставку, что роста базового актива (фьючерса) не будет. Это важное замечание!

Давайте проиллюстрируем его, глядя на профиль нашей позиции.

Обратимся к доске октябрьских опционов на фьючерс на индекс РТС. Допустим, текущая цена фьючерса 99 920 пунктов. Например, мы решаем продать опцион Call страйка 105 000. Цена нашего опциона – 1 180 пунктов.

Урок 30. Профиль прибыли/убытка по проданному опциону call

Давайте сейчас нарисуем профиль риска данной позиции.

Очевидно, что, если БА на дату экспирации не преодолеет страйк нашего опциона, т.е. фьючерс не вырастет выше отметки в 105 000 пунктов, то покупателю данного опциона (имеющему право купить фьючерс по цене 105 000) невыгодно будет его исполнять, т.к. на рынке он сможет купить БА дешевле. В данном случае наша прибыль будет равна премии опциона, т.е. 1 180 пунктов.

При росте БА выше отметки 105 000 пунктов опцион будет исполнен, т.к. дает право купить фьючерс дешевле, чем его цена на рынке. Но в силу того, что мы продали опцион по цене 1 180 пунктов, а не бесплатно, то наш убыток возникнет не сразу от цены страйк, а выше точки безубыточности (страйк + полученная премия), т.е. выше уровня в 106 180 пунктов.

При росте БА выше данной отметки мы будем иметь убыток, который на экспирацию линейно увеличивается при дальнейшем росте фьючерса.

Выводы по профилю позиции

1. Как видно из рисунка, при продаже опциона мы получаем прибыль в размере премии не только в случае, когда:

цена БА изменяется в нашу сторону (в данном случае при снижении фьючерса);

при сохранении цены БА на текущем уровне(боковом движении рынка);

– при продаже опциона OTM при движении фьючерса против нашей позиции(страйк продажи + вырученная премия).

По сути, мы теряем деньги только при сильном тренде против нас. Поэтому я ранее и сделал замечание, что, продавая опцион Call мы делаем ставку, что цена БА не вырастет. (т.е страйк Call + полученная премия).

Очевидно, что с математической точки зрения вероятность получения прибыли при продаже опционов выше, чем при покупке опционов. Напомню, что при покупке опционов мы получаем прибыль на экспирацию только в одном варианте – движении БА в нашу сторону выше точки безубыточности. Да, прибыль при продаже опционов ограничена, но это все-таки прибыль.

Что лучше – получать большую часть времени ограниченную и заранее известную прибыль на рынке или ждать своего шанса в попытках получить гораздо более редкую, но и, возможно, гораздо большую отдачу от опционного трейдинга?

2. Основной причиной, по которой трейдеры обходят продажу опционов стороной, является неограниченный риск по позиции. Некоторые российские брокеры (особенно банки) даже запрещают продажу опционов своим клиентам по этой причине. Но следует понимать, что при продаже опциона наш риск на экспирацию равен риску по базовому активу (т.е фьючерсу). От того, как сильно вырастет цена фьючерса на экспирацию, зависит и наш совокупный убыток по позиции при продаже Call.

Но с неограниченным убытком в теории связана почти любая сделка на финансовом рынке – например, покупая акции, валюту, фьючерсы у вас тот же неограниченный убыток, если рынок после открытия позиции стал снижаться. Да, это риск на линейном инструменте можно ограничивать (например, устанавливать стоп-заявки), но и при продаже опционов мы также можем контролировать и нейтрализовывать наш теоретический неограниченный риск по позиции.

Я не раз задавал вопрос представителям этих брокеров – почему вы запрещаете клиентам продавать опционы, но не запрещаете торговать фьючерсами, несмотря на наличие такого же неограниченного риска, но внятного ответа так и не получил. Еще раз повторяю – риск при продаже опциона на экспирацию равен риску по фьючерсу.

Понятно, что если вы не знаете, как управлять рисками данных позиций, вам рано продавать опционы на рынке, но, если вы подготовлены, понимаете риски и умеете их нейтрализовывать, то не вижу здесь особых проблем.

А что, если в данном примере мы продадим опцион другого страйка, например, 115 000?

Цена данного опциона того же срока на тот же БА составляет 120 пунктов.

При нахождении фьючерса ниже 115 000 пунктов на дату экспирации покупатель опциона не будет его исполнять и потеряет премию, а наша прибыль составит 120 рублей с одного опциона. Точка безубытка данной позиции будет равна страйк + премия = 115 120 пунктов. При росте БА на экспирацию выше 115 120 пунктов мы, как и в предыдущем примере, будем иметь убыток, который на экспирацию будет линейно увеличиваться по мере роста фьючерса.

Видно, что во втором случае вероятность его неисполнения (и, соответственно, получения нами прибыли) существенно выше, т.к. БА нужно вырасти намного сильнее. Но и размер нашего вознаграждения (полученная премия) существенно меньше (120 пунктов против 1 180).

Чем дальше мы будем удалять страйк продажи опциона Call от текущей цены БА, чем меньше будет наша прибыль от сделки, но и более высокая вероятность ее получения.

Про продажу сильно далеких OTM опционов мы поговорим в следующих уроках, когда будем рассматривать вопросы создания позиции.

Пролистать наверх