Analysis of Norilsk Nickel's results and forecast of annual dividends

Разбор результатов «Норникеля» и прогноз годовых дивидендов

Norilsk Nickel (MOEX: GMKN) — leader of the mining and metallurgical industry in Russia, the world's largest producer of palladium and high-grade nickel, as well as a major producer of platinum and copper.

At the end of January, the company published production results for the fourth quarter of 2021.. They recorded the output of the Oktyabrsky and Taymyrsky mines at full capacity, which were previously partially closed due to groundwater flooding, as well as the Norilsk concentrating plant: in February 2021, an accident also occurred at the facility - the building of the ore reloading point and the gallery of the crushing shop collapsed. Key indicators of Norilsk Nickel:

  • nickel production in the fourth quarter of 2021 increased by 25% compared to the previous quarter to 63 thousand tons;
  • copper production remained virtually unchanged and amounted to 119 thousand tons;
  • production of palladium and platinum increased by 18 And 23% compared to the third quarter to 704 thousand ounces and up to 178 thousand ounces;
  • activity at the South African asset of Norilsk Nickel - Nkomati - was not carried out: in the second quarter, it was put into conservation mode due to the cessation of production.

results

The main activity of Norilsk Nickel is the production of a large number of non-ferrous and precious metals, of which palladium is considered key, nickel, copper and platinum. The company extracts them with the help of its three business divisions: Norilsk, Kola and Transbaikal.

Palladium and platinum. The most profitable segment of the company, which brings the company more 40% income. Norilsk Nickel mines platinum group metals in the Norilsk and Kola divisions. Against the backdrop of accidents, that happened in the first quarter at the Oktyabrsky and Taimyrsky mines, as well as at the Norilsk enrichment plant, the company in 2021 reduced its production by 8%, but was able to overfulfill my plan: for palladium 10%, after platinum on 1%.

Palladium and Platinum 4Q 2021 Results Still Slightly Lower than Last Year. Palladium production was 704 koz, up from 773 koz in Q4 2020, platinum - 178 thousand ounces vs. 182 thousand ounces.

The lag is explained by the longer production cycle from mining to the final product of platinum group metals compared to other non-ferrous metals, that is why the company could not 100% quickly restore the operation of their production chains after accidents at mines.

  SMB Capital Day Trading Course Review

Nickel. Norilsk Nickel's second most profitable metal, which the company produces in the Norilsk and Kola divisions. 2021 the year for this segment was very difficult.

Nickel production decreased by 18% compared to 2020 amid a temporary suspension of production at the Oktyabrsky and Taymyrsky mines, they returned to design indicators in May and December, as well as the temporary suspension of the work of the Norilsk concentrator due to an accident - the factory only started working at full capacity in December 2021.

Moving on to Q4 2021 results, it is worth noting, what are they on 25% outperformed the third quarter, because the company managed to fully restore work at three emergency facilities. Nickel production increased quarter-on-quarter from 50,575 to 63,148 thousand tons.

Copper. Third segment of Norilsk Nickel, which mines copper in all three divisions: Norilsk, Kola and Transbaikal. In 2021, the company's copper division showed the weakest results due to the previously described accidents - total annual production decreased by 20% from 442 to 337.12 thousand tons.

In the fourth quarter of 2021, copper production, vice versa, grew by 3% compared to the third quarter to 119 thousand tons. Weaker growth rates in comparison with other metals are explained by the fact, that the Oktyabrsky mine, with a higher grade of copper in ores, recovered after the second quarter, therefore, the increase in metal production in the fourth quarter was small.

Annual indicators of Norilsk Nickel

2017 2018 2019 2020 2021
Palladium, thousand ounces 2780 2729 2922 2826 2616
Nickel, thousand tons 217,112 218,770 228,687 235,709 193,006
Copper, thousand tons 401,081 473,654 499,119 487,186 406,841
Platinum, thousand ounces 670 653 702 695 641

Dynamics of production results of the fourth quarter

4к2020 3к2021 4к2021
Palladium, thousand ounces 773 598 704
Nickel, thousand tons 67,956 50,575 63,148
Copper, thousand tons 128,598 115,617 118,531
Platinum, thousand ounces 182 145 178

Management Forecast

Following the publication of the fourth quarter operating results, management summed up the results: in 2021, the company achieved adjusted forecasts for nickel and copper and exceeded the target for the production of platinum group metals. As for the results of 2022, then management confirms its past production forecast, presented at Strategy Day in November 2021.

  three bond videos

Management Forecast

Forecast of 2021 year Actual result 2021 of the year Forecast of 2022 year
Palladium, thousand ounces 2350— 2410 2616 2451—2708
Nickel, thousand tons 190—200 190 205—215
Copper, thousand tons 400—425 407 429—453
Platinum, thousand ounces 580—640 641 604—667

Dividends and comparison with competitors

The current dividend policy of Norilsk Nickel is valid until the end of 2022 and provides for the following payout ratios:

  • the company distributes 60% EBITDA, if the ratio is "net debt" / EBITDA" will be less 1,8;
  • from 30 to 60% EBITDA, if this multiplier will be from 1,8 to 2,2;
  • 30% EBITDA, if "net debt" / EBITDA" will be more than 2,2.

If management does not violate this principle, then the total dividend for 2021 can reach 41,05 $, or 3071 R at the current rate, given the fact, that Norilsk Nickel's annual EBITDA is $10.512 billion. But also shareholders should not forget, that the Russian company had already distributed the payment for the first nine months of 2021 in the amount of 1523 R per ordinary share, which means, what is the remaining dividend from last year, according to calculations, will be about 1548 R.

Comparison with competitors

EV / EBITDA P / E net debt / EBITDA
Norilsk Nickel 4,64 5,80 0,67
VSMPO-AVISMA 18,08 39,90 1,32
Vale 2,78 4,66 0,07
Freeport-McMoRan 6,21 14,80 0,21
Southern Copper 8,63 16,23 0,62

What's the bottom line?

Norilsk Nickel reported generally neutral operating results for the fourth quarter of 2021, which were on average 18% better than last quarter and 5-10% worse than Q4 2020.

The nearest short-term growth driver of the company will be the second dividend payment for 2021: even taking into account all the difficulties and problems, management can distribute a dividend yield to its shareholders 6,8%. The predicted total dividend yield for 2021 in this case will be 13,6%.

Scroll up

Разбор результатов «Норникеля» и прогноз годовых дивидендов

Разбор результатов «Норникеля» и прогноз годовых дивидендов

«Норникель» (MOEX: GMKN) — лидер горно-металлургической промышленности России, крупнейший мировой производитель палладия и высокосортного никеля, а также крупный производитель платины и меди.

В конце января компания опубликовала производственные результаты за четвертый квартал 2021 года. Они зафиксировали выход на полную мощность рудников Октябрьский и Таймырский, которые ранее были частично закрыты из-за подтопления грунтовыми водами, а также Норильской обогатительной фабрики: в феврале 2021 года на объекте тоже произошла авария — обрушилось здание пункта перегрузки руды и галереи дробильного цеха. Ключевые показатели «Норникеля»:

  • производство никеля в четвертом квартале 2021 года выросло на 25% относительно прошлого квартала до 63 тысяч тонн;
  • производство меди практически не изменилось и составило 119 тысяч тонн;
  • производство палладия и платины увеличилось на 18 и 23% по сравнению с третьим кварталом до 704 тысяч унций и до 178 тысяч унций;
  • деятельность на южноафриканском активе «Норникеля» — Nkomati — не велась: во втором квартале он был переведен в режим консервации в связи с прекращением производства.

Результаты

Основная деятельность «Норникеля» — производство большого количества цветных и драгоценных металлов, из которых ключевыми считаются палладий, никель, медь и платина. Добывает их компания с помощью трех своих бизнес-дивизионов: Норильский, Кольский и Забайкальский.

Палладий и платина. Самый прибыльный сегмент компании, который приносит предприятию более 40% доходов. Добыча металлов платиновой группы у «Норникеля» ведется в Норильском и Кольском дивизионах. На фоне аварий, которые случились в первом квартале на рудниках Октябрьский и Таймырский, а также на Норильской обогатительной фабрике, компания в 2021 году снизила свое производство на 8%, но смогла перевыполнить свой план: по палладию на 10%, по платине на 1%.

Результаты по палладию и платине в четвертом квартале 2021 года все еще немного уступают показателям прошлого года. Производство палладия составило 704 тысяч унций против 773 тысяч унций в четвертом квартале 2020 года, платины — 178 тысяч унций против 182 тысяч унций.

Отставание объясняется более длинным циклом производства от добычи до конечной продукции металлов платиновой группы по сравнению с другими цветными металлами, именно поэтому компания не смогла на 100% быстро восстановить работу своих производственных цепочек после аварий на рудниках.

  MBT : Mobile TeleSystems OJSC

Никель. Второй по доходам металл «Норникеля», который компания добывает в Норильском и Кольском дивизионах. 2021 год для данного сегмента был очень сложным.

Производство никеля уменьшилось на 18% в сравнении с 2020 годом на фоне временной приостановки добычи на рудниках Октябрьский и Таймырский — обратно они вышли на проектные показатели в мае и декабре, а также временной приостановки работы Норильской обогатительной фабрики из-за аварии — на полную мощность фабрика заработала только в декабре 2021 года.

Переходя к результатам четвертого квартала 2021 года, стоит отметить, что они на 25% оказались лучше показателей третьего квартала, потому что компании удалось полностью восстановить работу на трех аварийных объектах. Производство никеля квартал к кварталу выросло с 50,575 до 63,148 тысячи тонн.

Медь. Третий сегмент «Норникеля», который ведет добычу меди во всех трех дивизионах: Норильском, Кольском и Забайкальском. В 2021 году медное направление компании показало самые слабые результаты по причине ранее описанных аварий — общее годовое производство снизилось на 20% с 442 до 337,12 тысячи тонн.

В четвертом квартале 2021 года производство меди, наоборот, выросло на 3% относительно третьего квартала до 119 тысяч тонн. Более слабые темпы роста в сравнении с другими металлами объясняются тем, что рудник Октябрьский с более высоким содержанием меди в рудах восстановился уже после второго квартала, поэтому прирост производства металла в четвертом квартале был небольшим.

Годовые показатели «Норникеля»

2017 2018 2019 2020 2021
Палладий, тысяч унций 2780 2729 2922 2826 2616
Никель, тысяч тонн 217,112 218,770 228,687 235,709 193,006
Медь, тысяч тонн 401,081 473,654 499,119 487,186 406,841
Платина, тысяч унций 670 653 702 695 641

Динамика производственных результатов четвертого квартала

4к2020 3к2021 4к2021
Палладий, тысяч унций 773 598 704
Никель, тысяч тонн 67,956 50,575 63,148
Медь, тысяч тонн 128,598 115,617 118,531
Платина, тысяч унций 182 145 178

Прогноз менеджмента

После публикации производственных результатов за четвертый квартал менеджмент подвел краткие итоги: в 2021 году компания достигла скорректированных прогнозных показателей по никелю и меди и перевыполнила план по производству металлов платиновой группы. Что касается результатов 2022 года, то руководство подтверждает свой прошлый производственный прогноз, представленный на Дне стратегии в ноябре 2021 года.

  Обзор Atea Pharmaceuticals: противовирусный биотех

Прогноз менеджмента

Прогноз на 2021 год Фактический результат 2021 года Прогноз на 2022 год
Палладий, тысяч унций 2350— 2410 2616 2451—2708
Никель, тысяч тонн 190—200 190 205—215
Медь, тысяч тонн 400—425 407 429—453
Платина, тысяч унций 580—640 641 604—667

Дивиденды и сравнение с конкурентами

Текущая дивидендная политика «Норникеля» действует до конца 2022 года и предусматривает следующие коэффициенты выплат:

  • компания распределяет 60% EBITDA, если соотношение «чистый долг / EBITDA» будет менее 1,8;
  • от 30 до 60% EBITDA, если этот мультипликатор будет от 1,8 до 2,2;
  • 30% EBITDA, если «чистый долг / EBITDA» будет более 2,2.

Если менеджмент не нарушит данный принцип, то суммарный дивиденд за 2021 год может достигнуть 41,05 $, или 3071 Р по текущему курсу, с учетом того факта, что годовая EBITDA «Норникеля» равняется 10,512 млрд долларов. Но также акционерам не стоит забывать, что ранее российская компания уже распределила выплату по итогам девяти месяцев 2021 года в размере 1523 Р на одну обыкновенную акцию, а это значит, что оставшийся дивиденд за прошлый год, согласно расчетам, будет около 1548 Р.

Сравнение с конкурентами

EV / EBITDA P / E Чистый долг / EBITDA
«Норникель» 4,64 5,80 0,67
ВСМПО-АВИСМА 18,08 39,90 1,32
Vale 2,78 4,66 0,07
Freeport-McMoRan 6,21 14,80 0,21
Southern Copper 8,63 16,23 0,62

Что в итоге

«Норникель» в целом представил нейтральные производственные результаты за четвертый квартал 2021 года, которые оказались в среднем на 18% лучше данных прошлого квартала и на 5—10% хуже показателей четвертого квартала 2020 года.

Ближайшим краткосрочным драйвером роста компании будет вторая дивидендная выплата за 2021 год: даже с учетом всех трудностей и проблем менеджмент может распределить своим акционерам дивдоходность 6,8%. Прогнозная общая дивдоходность за 2021 год в этом случае составит 13,6%.

Пролистать наверх