Overview of Polymetal's operating results for 4 neighborhood 2021 of the year

Обзор операционных результатов «Полиметалла» за 4 квартал 2021 года

"Polymetal" (MOEX: POLY) — one of the leaders in the extraction of precious metals with assets in Russia and Kazakhstan, one of the ten largest gold mining companies in the world.

At the end of January, Polymetal published operating results for the fourth quarter of 2021, which investors did not like very much. The company's shares were strongly corrected that day - by more than 5%.

Polymetal's production in 2021 grew by 2% compared to 2020, up to 1.677 million gold equivalent ounces, and on 5% exceeded the company's original production target of 1.6 million ounces.

The gold miner's revenue in 2021 remained unchanged compared to the previous year and amounted to $2.9 billion. General level of cash costs (TCC) for the full year 2021 will correspond to the forecast of 700-750 $ per ounce of gold equivalent, and total cash costs (AISC) exceed by 5% initial target range 925-975 $ per ounce of gold equivalent. Net debt of Polymetal at the end of 2021 decreased to $1.65 billion.

Operational results

The main activity of Polymetal is the production and sale of gold, and a small amount of silver. The company mines gold and silver at nine active deposits: Kyzyl, Ducate, Albazine, Omolone, Varvara, Maiskoe, Light, Vorontsovsky, Nezhda.

In the fourth quarter of 2021, the company's total gold and silver production increased by 20 And 48% due to that, that the strongest results were shown by the Kyzyl field, Ducat, Varvara and Nezhda. The latter has already reached its full design capacity.. Kyzyl in the last quarter showed convincing results - the gap between production and sales narrowed, and Dukat and Varvarinskoye performed well due to increased production and processing.

The remaining four assets did not show such impressive results.. Albazino and Omolon are close to last year's figures, but the data of the Mayskoye and Svetloye fields fell by 10% against the backdrop of a decrease in gold grades in ores due to geotechnical difficulties.

In November 2021, Polymetal management approved a $471 million investment in a new field — Veduga. The average annual production of the deposit during the next 20 years will be 200 thousand ounces of gold. The first work on the site will begin in the third quarter of 2022, start of production is scheduled for the second quarter of 2025.

  The Grail of Tim Sykes

Key performance indicators

4к2020 4к2021 The change
Ore mining, million tons 3,4 4,1 20%
Ore processing, million tons 3,7 4,1 12%
Gold production, thousand ounces 322 385 20%
Silver production, Moz 4,4 6,5 48%
Gold equivalent production, thousand ounces 377 467 24%
Realization of gold, thousand ounces 386 384 −1%
Sale of silver, Moz 5,2 4,9 −7%

Gold equivalent production by deposits in the fourth quarter, thousand ounces

4к2020 4к2021 The change
Red 67 85 26%
Ducat 66 96 46%
Albazino 56 59 5%
Omolon 58 55 −4%
Varvara 28 42 42%
Mayskoe 61 54 −11%
Light 28 26 −10%
Vorontsovskoye 12 30 153%
Nezhda 21 21 P. P.

Financial results

Revenue in the fourth quarter of 2021 decreased by 6% against the backdrop of declining metal prices. The gap between the production and sale of silver, which was formed due to high volumes of metal output at Dukat in December, to be eliminated in the first half of 2022.

Back in the fourth quarter, Polymetal managed to generate significant free cash flow, which allowed the gold miner to reduce 13% its net debt to $1.647 billion. The value of the multiplier "net debt" / EBITDA" decreased from 1,37 to 1,1 compared to 2020 results.

Financial indicators, billion dollars

4к2020 4к2021 The change 2020 2021 The change
Revenue 0,846 0,798 −6% 2,865 2,890 1%
net debt 1,897 1,647 −13% 1,897 1,647 −13%
net debt / EBITDA 1,37 1,1 −20% 1,37 1,1 −20%
Gold Price, $ 1864 1796 −4% 1748 1791 2%

Management forecasts

Polymetal management announced its forecast for 2022 for the production, cash and capital costs.

Production. In the next two years, it will be at the level of 2021: in 2022 Polymetal plans to produce 1.7 million ounces of gold equivalent, and 1.75 Moz in 2023. Recent events in Kazakhstan did not affect the operation of the Kyzyl and Varvarinskoye fields in any way.

Cash cost of production. The TCC indicator will increase in 2022 relative to 2021 by 20%, from 700-750 $ up to 850-900 $ per ounce of gold equivalent, and AISC - on 18%, to 1100-1200 $. The company explains the increase in costs by increasing labor costs in Russia and Kazakhstan, rising prices for commodities, including diesel fuel, gas and steel, as well as problems with maritime freight transport.

  Bed Bath Promotions & Beyond rose by 90%

Capital expenditures. The company expects, that this figure will increase by $90 million, up to 700 million dollars, compared to previous forecast. The main reasons for this are the growth of investments in Veduga and Albazino, as well as in the accelerated construction of factories in Kutyn and the Urals.

Forecast for 2022

2021 Forecast 2022
Production, Moz 1,677 1,7
TCC 700—750 $ 850—900 $
AISC 925—975 $ 1100—1200 $
Capital expenditures, million dollars 675—725 700

Dividends

26 August 2020, Polymetal's management adopted a new dividend policy to increase transparency in the issue of profit distribution. Company, as before, will make two payments per year - for the first and second half of the year. Dividend rate of the gold miner:

  1. In the first half of the year, the company distributes 50% adjusted net income, if the indicator "net debt / EBITDA" less than 2,5.
  2. In the second half of the year, Polymetal can pay from 50% adjusted net income before 100% free cash flow - depending on macroeconomic forecasts, the level of debt burden and future capital investments.

Against the backdrop of a weak outlook for 2022, management believes, that additional payments for the second half of 2021 to the regular dividend should not be expected. Polymetal will distribute only 50% adjusted net income, but not 100% free cash flow, as it was done a year ago. Ultimately, this will lead to, that the total dividend for 2021 will not exceed the payment for 2020 - the dividend for the second half of the year will be less than 0,83 $.

What's the bottom line?

Polymetal reports neutral operating results for the fourth quarter of 2021, but gave a disappointing forecast for 2022, at which the company's production costs will increase immediately by 20%.

Investors reacted negatively to this information., because the growth of TCC and AISC will lead to a decrease in financial results and dividends this year. Shares rightly fell by almost 6%.

Scroll up

Обзор операционных результатов «Полиметалла» за 4 квартал 2021 года

Обзор операционных результатов «Полиметалла» за 4 квартал 2021 года

«Полиметалл» (MOEX: POLY) — один из лидеров по добыче драгоценных металлов с активами в России и Казахстане, входящий в десятку крупнейших золотодобывающих компаний мира.

В конце января «Полиметалл» опубликовал операционные результаты за четвертый квартал 2021 года, которые очень не понравились инвесторам. Акции компании в этот день сильно скорректировались — более чем на 5%.

Производство «Полиметалла» в 2021 году выросло на 2% в сравнении с 2020 годом, до 1,677 млн унций в золотом эквиваленте, и на 5% превысило первоначальный производственный план компании — 1,6 млн унций.

Выручка золотодобытчика в 2021 году осталась неизменной относительно прошлого года и составила 2,9 млрд долларов. Общий уровень денежных затрат (TCC) за полный 2021 год будет соответствовать прогнозу 700—750 $ на унцию золотого эквивалента, а совокупные денежные затраты (AISC) превысят на 5% первоначальный плановый диапазон 925—975 $ на унцию золотого эквивалента. Чистый долг «Полиметалла» на конец 2021 года сократился до 1,65 млрд долларов.

Операционные результаты

Основная деятельность «Полиметалла» — это производство и продажа золота, а также небольшого количества серебра. Компания добывает золото и серебро на девяти действующих месторождениях: Кызыле, Дукате, Албазине, Омолоне, Варваринском, Майском, Светлом, Воронцовском, Нежданинском.

В четвертом квартале 2021 года общее производство золота и серебра у компании выросло на 20 и 48% за счет того, что наиболее сильные результаты показали месторождения Кызыл, Дукат, Варваринское и Нежданинское. Последнее уже вышло на полную проектную мощность. Кызыл в последнем квартале продемонстрировал убедительные показатели — сократился разрыв между производством и реализацией, а Дукат и Варваринское показали хорошие результаты благодаря росту добычи и переработки.

Оставшихся четыре актива таких впечатляющих результатов не показали. Албазино и Омолон близки к прошлогодним показателям, а вот данные месторождений Майское и Светлое упали на 10% на фоне снижения содержаний золота в рудах из-за геотехнических сложностей.

Менеджмент «Полиметалла» в ноябре 2021 года одобрил инвестиции в размере 471 млн долларов в новое месторождение — Ведугу. Среднее годовое производство месторождения в течение следующих 20 лет составит 200 тысяч унций золота. Первые работы на объекте начнутся в третьем квартале 2022 года, начало производства запланировано на второй квартал 2025 года.

  Инвестидея: PayPal, потому что ну это же PayPal

Ключевые производственные показатели

4к2020 4к2021 Изменение
Добыча руды, млн тонн 3,4 4,1 20%
Переработка руды, млн тонн 3,7 4,1 12%
Производство золота, тысяч унций 322 385 20%
Производство серебра, млн унций 4,4 6,5 48%
Производство золотого эквивалента, тысяч унций 377 467 24%
Реализация золота, тысяч унций 386 384 −1%
Реализация серебра, млн унций 5,2 4,9 −7%

Производство золотого эквивалента по месторождениям в четвертом квартале, тысяч унций

4к2020 4к2021 Изменение
Кызыл 67 85 26%
Дукат 66 96 46%
Албазино 56 59 5%
Омолон 58 55 −4%
Варваринское 28 42 42%
Майское 61 54 −11%
Светлое 28 26 −10%
Воронцовское 12 30 153%
Нежданинское 21 21 п. п.

Финансовые результаты

Выручка в четвертом квартале 2021 года уменьшилась на 6% на фоне снижения цен на металлы. Разрыв между производством и реализацией серебра, который образовался из-за высоких объемов выпуска металла на Дукате в декабре, будет устранен в первой половине 2022 года.

Еще в четвертом квартале «Полиметаллу» удалось сгенерировать значительный свободный денежный поток, который позволил золотодобытчику снизить на 13% свой чистый долг — до 1,647 млрд долларов. Значение мультипликатора «чистый долг / EBITDA» уменьшилось с 1,37 до 1,1 в сравнении с результатами 2020 года.

Финансовые показатели, млрд долларов

4к2020 4к2021 Изменение 2020 2021 Изменение
Выручка 0,846 0,798 −6% 2,865 2,890 1%
Чистый долг 1,897 1,647 −13% 1,897 1,647 −13%
Чистый долг / EBITDA 1,37 1,1 −20% 1,37 1,1 −20%
Цена золота, $ 1864 1796 −4% 1748 1791 2%

Прогнозы менеджмента

Менеджмент «Полиметалла» анонсировал свой прогноз на 2022 год по производству, денежным и капитальным затратам.

Производство. В следующие два года оно будет на уровне 2021 года: в 2022 «Полиметалл» планирует произвести 1,7 млн унций золотого эквивалента, а в 2023 году — 1,75 млн унций. Недавние события в Казахстане никак не повлияли на работу месторождений Кызыл и Варваринское.

Денежные затраты на производство. Показатель TCC вырастет в 2022 году относительно 2021 на 20%, с 700—750 $ до 850—900 $ на унцию золотого эквивалента, а AISC — на 18%, до 1100—1200 $. Увеличение затрат компания объясняет ростом расходов на оплату труда в России и Казахстане, подорожанием цен на сырьевые товары, включая дизельное топливо, газ и сталь, а также проблемами с морскими грузовыми перевозками.

  Инвестидея: Cognyte, потому что война и ИТ

Капитальные затраты. Компания ожидает, что этот показатель увеличится на 90 млн долларов, до 700 млн долларов, в сравнении с предыдущим прогнозом. Основные причины этого — рост инвестиций в Ведугу и Албазино, а также в ускоренное строительство фабрик на Кутыне и Урале.

Прогноз на 2022 год

2021 Прогноз 2022
Производство, млн унций 1,677 1,7
TCC 700—750 $ 850—900 $
AISC 925—975 $ 1100—1200 $
Капитальные затраты, млн долларов 675—725 700

Дивиденды

26 августа 2020 года менеджмент «Полиметалла» принял новую дивидендную политику для увеличения прозрачности в вопросе распределения прибыли. Компания, как и прежде, будет совершать две выплаты в год — за первое и второе полугодие. Дивидендная норма золотодобытчика:

  1. В первом полугодии компания распределяет 50% скорректированной чистой прибыли, если показатель «чистый долг / EBITDA» менее 2,5.
  2. Во втором полугодии «Полиметалл» может выплатить от 50% скорректированной чистой прибыли до 100% свободного денежного потока — в зависимости от макроэкономических прогнозов, уровня долговой нагрузки и будущих капитальных вложений.

На фоне слабого прогноза на 2022 год менеджмент считает, что дополнительных выплат за второе полугодие 2021 года к регулярному дивиденду ждать не стоит. «Полиметалл» распределит только 50% скорректированной чистой прибыли, а не 100% свободного денежного потока, как это было сделано годом ранее. В итоге это приведет к тому, что общий размер дивидендов за 2021 год не превысит выплаты 2020 года — дивиденд за второе полугодие будет менее 0,83 $.

Что в итоге

«Полиметалл» представил нейтральные операционные результаты за четвертый квартал 2021 года, но дал разочаровывающий прогноз на 2022 год, по которому производственные затраты компании увеличатся сразу на 20%.

Инвесторы негативно восприняли эту информацию, ведь рост TCC и AISC приведет к снижению финансовых результатов и дивидендов в текущем году. Акции справедливо упали почти на 6%.

Пролистать наверх