Review of Arcutis Biotherapeutics: to keep the skin clean

Обзор Arcutis Biotherapeutics: чтобы кожа была чистой

Arcutis Biotherapeutics (NASDAQ: ARQT) — a young biotechnology company from California. Founded in 2016 and is engaged in the development of medical solutions in the form of creams, foams and suspensions for use in dermatology in the treatment of skin diseases. Business went public after IPO 31 January 2020.

Обзор Arcutis Biotherapeutics: чтобы кожа была чистой

Where does the money come from

The company develops drugs for the treatment of psoriasis, Dermatitis, eczema and other skin diseases.

Business model involves the development of innovative drugs, which will most effectively and safely cover the needs of patients in the treatment and relief of symptoms of their diseases. Commercialization of major medical products is focused on a wide world market.

Portfolio of drugs under development. Arcutis Biotherapeutics has several developments:

  1. ARQ-151: flagship drug for the treatment of plaque psoriasis and atopic dermatitis. Planned for sale worldwide.
  2. ARQ-154: foam for the treatment of seborrheic dermatitis and scalp psoriasis. Planned for sale worldwide.
  3. ARQ-252: anti-eczema cream on the skin of the hands and vitiligo disease. Development is at the preclinical stage and is planned for commercialization in the United States., ES, Japan and Canada.
  4. ARQ-255: suspension for the treatment of alopecia. Also in the early stages of development and is planned for commercialization in the US., ES, Japan and Canada.

Обзор Arcutis Biotherapeutics: чтобы кожа была чистой

What's wrong

Pharmaceutical company without revenue. The situation is familiar for the biotechnology sector – however, this does not allow us to forget about the risks of investment. All positive scenarios for business here are associated with the approval of its developments and their commercialization in the wide market.. But not always the competent authorities give the green light to new drugs., and pay taxes, companies have to constantly service debt and spend a lot of money on a research asset.

The Trouble with EBITDA. Profit is still regularly below the zero mark and every year it is moving away from it more and more. Now the company has enough assets, and investors can not be afraid of its bankruptcy in the next couple of years, but without the successful launch of its drugs on the market, this phantom threat to Arcutis Biotherapeutics will become very real..

Doubts about attractiveness. Many investors choose biotech and pin their hopes on the rapid growth of selected pharmaceutical companies in a short period of time.. But if you take as a starting point benchmark in the form of iShares Biotechnology ETF, which includes all U.S. biotech companies with a listing on nasdaq, then it becomes clear, that the prospects for "rockets" and explosive growth are not so obvious. The index recently updated the historical maximum and only slightly corrected down..

  alternative energy

Обзор Arcutis Biotherapeutics: чтобы кожа была чистой

Обзор Arcutis Biotherapeutics: чтобы кожа была чистой

What good

Proximity to the approval of the first drug. 4 October 2021 The company has filed an application with the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) for registration of its non-steroidal drug ARQ-151 for the treatment of plaque psoriasis in adults.

Wide market with a large number of easily accessible customers. In the US alone, the company estimates a potential audience of 6 million people., who are now registered with dermatologists and receive prescription drugs. Many patients use short courses of steroid drugs, which creates the need for subsequent non-steroidal therapy, to meet the needs of which the main developments of Arcutis Biotherapeutics are aimed at.

Assets are increasing, liabilities are decreasing. The 2020 IPO benefited the company and helped improve its financial position: equity has moved from negative to positive and continues to grow year-on-year, and the financial dependence ratio has gone down from a frightening value. 1,6 to modest 0,04.

Обзор Arcutis Biotherapeutics: чтобы кожа была чистой

Обзор Arcutis Biotherapeutics: чтобы кожа была чистой

What is the bottom line

Arcutis Biotherapeutics successfully went public in 2020 and attracted vital investments in its business in time. The company's developments look promising and, if successfully approved, should make life easier for millions of people with skin diseases in the United States and around the world.. In the same time, if all goes wrong and the commercialization of drugs is delayed or delayed, the company's shares can lose a lot in price and bring investors significant losses.

Scroll up

Обзор Arcutis Biotherapeutics: чтобы кожа была чистой

Обзор Arcutis Biotherapeutics: чтобы кожа была чистой

Arcutis Biotherapeutics (NASDAQ: ARQT) — молодая биотехнологическая компания из Калифорнии. Основана в 2016 году и занимается разработкой медицинских решений в виде кремов, пен и суспензий для применения в сфере дерматологии при лечении кожных заболеваний. Бизнес стал публичным после IPO 31 января 2020 года.

Обзор Arcutis Biotherapeutics: чтобы кожа была чистой

Откуда деньги

Компания разрабатывает препараты для лечения псориаза, дерматита, экземы и других кожных болезней.

Бизнес-модель предполагает разработку инновационных лекарств, которые будут наиболее эффективно и безопасно закрывать потребности пациентов в лечении и купировании симптомов их заболеваний. Коммерциализация основных медицинских продуктов ориентирована на широкий мировой рынок.

Портфель разрабатываемых препаратов. У Arcutis Biotherapeutics есть несколько разработок:

  1. ARQ-151: флагманский препарат для лечения бляшковидного псориаза и атопического дерматита. Планируется к продаже по всему миру.
  2. ARQ-154: пенка для терапии себорейного дерматита и псориаза кожи головы. Планируется к продаже по всему миру.
  3. ARQ-252: крем против экземы на коже рук и болезни витилиго. Разработка находится на доклинической стадии и планируется к коммерциализации в США, ЕС, Японии и Канаде.
  4. ARQ-255: суспензия для лечения алопеции. Также находится на ранних стадиях разработки и планируется к коммерциализации в США, ЕС, Японии и Канаде.

Обзор Arcutis Biotherapeutics: чтобы кожа была чистой

Что плохого

Фармкомпания без выручки. Привычная ситуация для сектора биотехнологий — тем не менее это не позволяет забывать о рисках инвестирования. Все позитивные сценарии для бизнеса здесь связаны с одобрением его разработок и коммерциализацией их на широком рынке. Но далеко не всегда компетентные органы дают зеленый свет новым препаратам, а платить налоги, обслуживать долг и тратить большие деньги на исследовательский актив компаниям приходится постоянно.

Беда с EBITDA. Прибыль пока исправно находится ниже нулевой отметки и с каждым годом все сильнее от нее отдаляется. Сейчас у компании достаточно активов, и инвесторам можно не бояться ее банкротства в ближайшие пару лет, но без успешного вывода своих препаратов на рынок эта призрачная угроза для Arcutis Biotherapeutics станет вполне реальной.

Сомнения в привлекательности. Многие инвесторы выбирают биотех и возлагают надежды на быстрый рост выбранных фармкомпаний за короткий промежуток времени. Но если взять за точку отсчета бенчмарк в виде iShares Biotechnology ETF, который включает в себя все биотехнологические компании США с листингом на Nasdaq, то становится ясно, что перспективы «ракет» и взрывного роста не так уж очевидны. Индекс совсем недавно обновил исторический максимум и лишь слегка скорректировался вниз.

  Ark Кэти Вуд разрешает себе покупать канадские биткоин-ETF

Обзор Arcutis Biotherapeutics: чтобы кожа была чистой

Обзор Arcutis Biotherapeutics: чтобы кожа была чистой

Что хорошего

Близость к одобрению первого препарата. 4 октября 2021 компания подала заявку в Управление по санитарному надзору за качеством пищевых продуктов и медикаментов (FDA) на регистрацию своего нестероидного препарата ARQ-151 для лечения бляшковидного псориаза у взрослых.

Широкий рынок с большим количеством легкодоступных клиентов. Только в США компания оценивает потенциальную аудиторию в 6 млн человек, которые сейчас стоят на учете у дерматологов и получают рецептурные лекарства. Многие пациенты пользуются короткими курсами стероидных препаратов, что создает потребность в последующей нестероидной терапии, на удовлетворение потребности в которой нацелены основные разработки Arcutis Biotherapeutics.

Активы увеличиваются, обязательства уменьшаются. IPO 2020 года принесло компании пользу и помогло улучшить финансовое положение: собственный капитал из отрицательного значения перешел в положительное и продолжает расти год к году, а коэффициент финансовой зависимости спустился с пугающего значения 1,6 до скромных 0,04.

Обзор Arcutis Biotherapeutics: чтобы кожа была чистой

Обзор Arcutis Biotherapeutics: чтобы кожа была чистой

Что в итоге

Arcutis Biotherapeutics удачно вышла на биржу в 2020 году и вовремя привлекла жизненно важные инвестиции в свой бизнес. Разработки компании выглядят перспективно и при успешном одобрении должны облегчить жизнь миллионам людей с заболеваниями кожи в США и по всему миру. В то же время, если все пойдет не по плану и коммерциализация препаратов будет откладываться или задерживаться, акции компании могут сильно потерять в цене и принести инвесторам значительные убытки.

Пролистать наверх