Explore Delta Air Lines' fourth quarter financial results 2021 of the year

Изучаем финансовые результаты Delta Air Lines за четвертый квартал 2021 года

Delta Air Lines (NYSE: FROM THE) - American carrier, which works except for the USA in 50 countries. Before the coronavirus pandemic, the company served almost 200 million people annually, making daily air passenger and cargo flights.

In mid-January, Delta Air Lines presented a report for the fourth quarter of 2021, which was better than market expectations:

  • revenue increased by 138% compared to 2020 and fell by 17% compared to 2019, up to $9.470 billion, exceeding market consensus of $9.29 billion;
  • adjusted net earnings per share in the current quarter increased to 0,22 $ when forecasting 0,14 $. The main reason is the gradual recovery of passenger traffic.;
  • CASM, one of the main indicators of the efficiency of air transportation, practically did not change year-on-year and amounted to 12,56 $;
  • the company's flight congestion has fallen from 86 to 78% compared to pre-pandemic levels;
  • adjusted net debt rose to $20.581 billion.

Sales structure of the company

Delta Air Lines business consists of three segments: transportation of passengers, freight transportation of goods and non-core activities. The first direction operates in two markets: American and international. Management still divides the international segment into three parts: Atlantic, Latin America and the Pacific.

The second division is closely related to the first.: the goods are transported by using the cargo space on regular passenger flights. And the third business of Delta Air Lines includes income from subsidiaries, loyalty programs and other activities.

2021 the year was very difficult, but the company still managed to turn a profit in the second half of the year, mainly due to strong demand and high prices during the holiday period, as well as through excellent sales of premium products, income from which recovered at an accelerated pace.

Delta Air Lines' core business is still far behind 2019: passenger traffic revenue in the fourth quarter fell by 29%, up to $7.241 billion, against the background of weak results of two directions: Atlantic and Pacific. Wherein, if you look at the December data, can be seen, that performance continues to improve: the fall compared to the same period in 2019 amounted to only 20%.

  Oil inventories with dilettante positions

Company sales structure for 4 neighborhood, billion dollars

2019 2020 2021
Transportation of passengers in the USA 7,612 2,229 5,951
Transportation of passengers to countries, having access to the Atlantic Ocean 1,338 0,157 0,617
Transportation of passengers to Latin American countries 0,703 0,234 0,560
Transportation of passengers to countries, having access to the Pacific Ocean 0,591 0,078 0,113
Cargo transportation 0,187 0,204 0,304
Non-core activities 1,007 1,071 1,925

Net income and debt

Delta Air Lines Q4 2021 Net Profit Falls From $1.099 Billion To -0.408 Billion Compared To 2019 Amid A One-Time Loss Of $0.564 Billion, which is connected with the investment activity of the company. The adjusted figure was higher for the second quarter in a row 0 and amounted to 0.143 billion dollars.

During the pandemic, the company's debt burden has doubled, that is why its reduction for the air carrier is now the main financial priority. By the end of 2024, management aims to achieve the following levels by restoring its balance sheet and generating strong operating cash flow:: adjusted net debt should fall from $20.6 billion to $15 billion, and the “adjusted net debt” multiplier / EBITDAR" - decrease from 4 up to 2-3.

The main financial results of the company for 4 neighborhood, billion dollars

2019 2020 2021
Revenue 11,439 3,973 9,470
EBITDA 2,020 −0,360 0,767
Net profit 1,099 −0,755 −0,408
CASM 11,59 $ 12,57 $ 12,56 $
FCF 0,141 −1,615 −0,441
Adjusted Net Debt 10,489 18,823 20,581

Market

After a strong recovery in the aviation market in early 2021, growth slowed significantly towards the end of 2021 amid reduced mobility of citizens due to restrictive measures in Europe and an outbreak of infections with a new strain of coronavirus in South Africa, which led to a significant increase in the incidence. 10 January 2022, an anti-record was even set: more than 3.2 million people have been diagnosed with COVID-19, past result - 1.9 million people.

Nevertheless, analysts of large banks do not see big problems in the current increase in the incidence and are already beginning to recommend their customers to return to the American air transportation sector due to the gradual recovery of passenger traffic.. For example, Bank of America recently upgraded Delta Air Lines to Buy from Neutral, target price - 48 $. This event can be considered a landmark, for BofA, this is the first recommendation in the air travel sector since the start of the COVID-19 pandemic.

  Review of EQT Corporation , a natural gas producer from the USA

Morgan Stanley, as well as Bank of America, also optimistic about US airline stocks. The Bank counts, that further market recovery in the second half of 2022 will allow companies in this sector to show strong results in 2023, which will turn out to be higher in terms of EBIT - earnings before interest and taxes - than in 2019.

Изучаем финансовые результаты Delta Air Lines за четвертый квартал 2021 года

Изучаем финансовые результаты Delta Air Lines за четвертый квартал 2021 года

Management forecasts

Now let's go directly to the forecast of the company itself.. Let's start with the short term: in the first quarter of 2022, management expects weak results due to omicron, which will have a moderately negative impact on the entire aviation industry only at the beginning of the year. This will lead to, that Delta Air Lines will receive a loss in January and February, but in March it can return to profit.

The situation should improve dramatically in the future., which will allow the US carrier to demonstrate excellent performance in the spring-summer tourist season and finish the remaining three quarters of 2022 with a profit.

Management Forecast

2019 Forecast for 1k2022
Flight congestion, Percent 83 69—71
Revenue, billion dollars 10,472 7,540—7,958
Fuel price for 1 gallon, Dollars 2,06 2,35—2,50
CASM, Dollars 11,06 12,72
Capital expenditures, billion dollars 1,259 1,6
Adjusted Net Debt, billion dollars 10 22

What's the bottom line?

Even with the reduced activity of citizens due to COVID-19, Delta Air Lines showed good financial results in the last three months of 2021, which continued to recover quarter by quarter. If in the third quarter of 2021 the company's revenue was 73% from pre-pandemic levels, then in the current period, this figure increased to 83%. Achievements 100% shareholders should wait no earlier than 2023, and then if the air carrier manages to reach its target levels of flight congestion.

Scroll up

Изучаем финансовые результаты Delta Air Lines за четвертый квартал 2021 года

Изучаем финансовые результаты Delta Air Lines за четвертый квартал 2021 года

Delta Air Lines (NYSE: DAL) — американский авиаперевозчик, который работает кроме США еще в 50 странах. До пандемии коронавирусной инфекции компания ежегодно обслуживала почти 200 миллионов человек, совершая ежедневные воздушные пассажирские и грузовые рейсы.

В середине января Delta Air Lines представила отчет за четвертый квартал 2021 года, который оказался лучше рыночных ожиданий:

  • выручка выросла на 138% в сравнении с 2020 годом и упала на 17% в сравнении с 2019 годом, до 9,470 млрд долларов, превысив рыночный консенсус-прогноз в размере 9,29 млрд долларов;
  • скорректированная чистая прибыль на акцию в текущем квартале увеличилась до 0,22 $ при прогнозе 0,14 $. Основная причина — постепенное восстановление пассажирского трафика;
  • CASM — один из главных показателей эффективности авиаперевозок — год к году практически не изменился и составил 12,56 $;
  • загруженность авиарейсов компании упала с 86 до 78% в сравнении с допандемийными уровнями;
  • скорректированный чистый долг вырос до 20,581 млрд долларов.

Структура продаж компании

Бизнес Delta Air Lines состоит из трех сегментов: перевозки пассажиров, грузовой транспортировки грузов и неосновной деятельности. Первое направление работает на двух рынках: американском и международном. Международный сегмент менеджмент еще делит на три части: Атлантику, Латинскую Америку и тихоокеанское направление.

Второе подразделение тесно взаимосвязано с первым: товар перевозят за счет использования грузового пространства на регулярных пассажирских рейсах. А к третьему бизнесу Delta Air Lines относится доход от дочерних предприятий, программы лояльности и прочей деятельности.

2021 год был очень сложным, но компании во второй половине года все же удалось выйти в прибыль, главным образом благодаря сильному спросу и высоким ценам в праздничный период, а также за счет отличных продаж продуктов премиум-класса, доходы от которых восстанавливались ударными темпами.

Основной бизнес Delta Air Lines все еще сильно уступает показателям 2019 года: выручка от пассажирских перевозок в четвертом квартале упала на 29%, до 7,241 млрд долларов, на фоне слабых результатов двух направлений: атлантического и тихоокеанского. При этом, если взглянуть на декабрьские данные, можно заметить, что показатели продолжают улучшаться: падение к аналогичному периоду 2019 года составило всего 20%.

  Инвестидея: Lancaster Colony, так как не запамятовывайте о калориях

Структура продаж компании за 4 квартал, млрд долларов

2019 2020 2021
Перевозка пассажиров в США 7,612 2,229 5,951
Перевозка пассажиров в страны, имеющие выход к Атлантическому океану 1,338 0,157 0,617
Перевозка пассажиров в страны Латинской Америки 0,703 0,234 0,560
Перевозка пассажиров в страны, имеющие выход к Тихому океану 0,591 0,078 0,113
Грузовая перевозка 0,187 0,204 0,304
Неосновная деятельность 1,007 1,071 1,925

Чистая прибыль и долг

Чистая прибыль Delta Air Lines в четвертом квартале 2021 года в сравнении с данными 2019 года уменьшилась с 1,099 до −0,408 млрд долларов на фоне разового убытка в размере 0,564 млрд долларов, который связан с инвестиционной деятельностью компании. Скорректированный показатель второй квартал подряд оказался больше 0 и составил 0,143 млрд долларов.

За время пандемии у компании долговая нагрузка выросла в два раза, именно поэтому ее сокращение для авиаперевозчика сейчас — главный финансовый приоритет. К концу 2024 года руководство за счет восстановления своего баланса и генерации сильного операционного денежного потока хочет выйти на следующие показатели: скорректированный чистый долг должен опуститься с 20,6 млрд до 15 млрд долларов, а мультипликатор «скорректированный чистый долг / EBITDAR» — уменьшиться с 4 до 2—3.

Основные финансовые результаты компании за 4 квартал, млрд долларов

2019 2020 2021
Выручка 11,439 3,973 9,470
EBITDA 2,020 −0,360 0,767
Чистая прибыль 1,099 −0,755 −0,408
CASM 11,59 $ 12,57 $ 12,56 $
FCF 0,141 −1,615 −0,441
Скорректированный чистый долг 10,489 18,823 20,581

Рынок

После сильного восстановления авиационного рынка в начале 2021 года ближе к его концу темпы роста значительно снизились на фоне уменьшения мобильности граждан из-за ограничительных мер в Европе и вспышки заражений новым штаммом коронавируса в ЮАР, который привел к значительному росту заболеваемости. 10 января 2022 года был даже поставлен антирекорд: более чем у 3,2 млн человек был выявлен COVID-19, прошлый результат — 1,9 млн человек.

Тем не менее в текущем росте заболеваемости аналитики крупных банков не видят больших проблем и уже сейчас начинают рекомендовать своим клиентам возвращаться в американский сектор авиаперевозок ввиду постепенного восстановления пассажиропотока. Например, недавно Bank of America повысил рейтинг бумаг Delta Air Lines с «нейтрального» до «покупать», целевая цена — 48 $. Это событие можно считать знаковым, для BofA это первая рекомендация в секторе авиаперевозок с начала пандемии COVID-19.

  Разбор результатов «Норникеля» и прогноз годовых дивидендов

Morgan Stanley, как и Bank of America, тоже оптимистично настроен по поводу акций авиакомпаний США. Банк считает, что дальнейшее восстановление рынка во второй половине 2022 года позволит компаниям этого сектора показать сильные результаты в 2023 году, которые окажутся по EBIT — прибыли до вычета процентов и налогов — выше данных 2019 года.

Изучаем финансовые результаты Delta Air Lines за четвертый квартал 2021 года

Изучаем финансовые результаты Delta Air Lines за четвертый квартал 2021 года

Прогнозы менеджмента

Теперь перейдем непосредственно к прогнозу самой компании. Начнем с краткосрочного: в первом квартале 2022 года руководство ожидает слабых результатов из-за омикрона, который будет оказывать умеренно негативное воздействие на всю авиационную отрасль только в начале года. Это приведет к тому, что Delta Air Lines в январе и феврале получит убыток, но уже в марте может вернуться к прибыли.

В дальнейшем ситуация должна кардинально улучшиться, что позволит американскому авиаперевозчику продемонстрировать отличные показатели в весенне-летнем туристическом сезоне и закончить три оставшихся квартала 2022 года с прибылью.

Прогноз менеджмента

2019 Прогноз на 1к2022
Загруженность рейсов, процентов 83 69—71
Выручка, млрд долларов 10,472 7,540—7,958
Цена топлива за 1 галлон, долларов 2,06 2,35—2,50
CASM, долларов 11,06 12,72
Капитальные затраты, млрд долларов 1,259 1,6
Скорректированный чистый долг, млрд долларов 10 22

Что в итоге

Даже с учетом сниженной активности граждан из-за COVID-19 Delta Air Lines продемонстрировал неплохие финансовые результаты за последние три месяца 2021 года, которые квартал к кварталу продолжили восстанавливаться. Если в третьем квартале 2021 года выручка компании составила 73% от значений допандемийного уровня, то в текущем периоде этот показатель вырос до 83%. Достижения 100% акционерам стоит ждать не ранее 2023 года, и то если авиаперевозчику удастся выйти на свои целевые уровни загруженности рейсов.

Пролистать наверх