History of the appearance of options

History of the appearance of options

Option – это договор, which is between the seller and the buyer of the option. This agreement grants the right, but not a duty, the buyer to sell or buy the underlying asset at a specified price and within a specified period of time. Person, selling option, is obliged to buy or sell the selected asset at a price, specified in the option. Actually, option is a very complex instrument. Person, whoever buys it must hit three targets at once: make the right choice of the underlying asset, predict which direction the price will go and how fast this movement will be. As for the underlying asset, then it can be a regular share, индексом, фьючерсном. Option type can be buy and sell (call and put respectively). Buying a call option, trader expects the underlying asset to rise. Buying a put option, the trader expects the price to fall.

History of the appearance of options.

Of course, it is impossible to name the exact date of the appearance of the first option.. However, there are references to the use of options from ancient times.. The Romans and Phoenicians used special contracts in shipping. This type of contract is similar to modern freight options., which allow its owner to exchange one cargo for another.

Ancient Greek philosopher and mathematician Thales also used options, he bought them before the harvest, thereby securing the agreed price for raw materials for olive oil.

In the 1600s, options were popular in Holland among tulip growers and traders.. Manufacturers bought an optional way, guaranteeing ourselves an acceptable selling price. Buyers, in turn, purchased a call option, thus having the opportunity to buy tulips at a better price, not overpriced by manufacturers. Later on in Holland, options were used for speculative purposes.. When the panic sale started in the tulip market, speculators could not fulfill option obligations. Because of this, in addition to the devastating collapse of the Dutch economy, a ban was introduced on options trading in England.

  Business newspaper Financial Times

IN 1872 year the financier Russell Sage introduced options to the American market. Traded on the OTC options market. However, options were not effective at the time., since there were no specific standards for volumes and timing. After the Great Depression 1929 of the year, strict controls were introduced in the American options market. Already in 1934 year option contracts were legalized. And the Securities and Exchange Commission was obliged to monitor options trading.

Modern history of options.

Чикагская биржа опционовA strong impetus to the development of options was the creation of the Chicago Options Exchange (СВОЕ) in 1973 year. The creation of this exchange made it possible to standardize options, and also define a pricing model. Before the creation of OWN, options trading did not have large volumes, since any information, касающаяся опционов, was either hard to reach, or not available at all. Transactions were made by phone, dealers brought buyers and sellers together to conclude contracts.

Chicago Stock Exchange Allows Traders to Purchase Call Options on Stocks. The number of quoted options was actively growing, the number of members of the exchange also increased, to 1974 year there were 600. American law also helped the development of options, banks and insurance companies were allowed to exercise options. IN 1975 year, the volume of daily transactions exceeded 100 option contracts.

Later, the popularity of options gained momentum., option sections began to open on other American exchanges. The press also became interested., among them is The Wall Street Journal. The press gave an additional impetus to the development of the popularity of option contracts around the world.

Options are very popular among investors today.. One of the most popular exchanges is Chicago. Options are used by both beginners in trading and professionals. Think, no need to answer the question, which one is using them correctly.

Scroll to Top

История появления опционов

Опцион – это договор, который заключается между продавцом и покупателем опциона. Данный договор предоставляет право, но не обязанность, покупателю произвести продажу или покупку базового актива по определенной цене и в течение оговоренного отрезка времени. Человек, продающий опцион, обязан произвести покупку или продажу выбранного актива по цене, оговоренной в опционе. Фактически, опцион очень сложный инструмент. Человек, покупающий его должен попасть в три мишени разом: сделать правильный выбор базового актива, предсказать в какую сторону пойдет цена и как быстро будет это движение. Что касается базового актива, то он может быть обычной акцией, индексом, фьючерсном. По типу опцион может быть на покупку и продажу (колл и пут соответственно). Покупая опцион колл, трейдер рассчитывает на рост базового актива. Покупая опцион пут, трейдер ожидает падения цены.

История появления опционов.

Конечно же назвать точную дату появления первого опциона невозможно. Однако есть упоминания об использовании опционов еще древних временах. Римляне и финикийцы использовали специальные контракты в морских грузоперевозках. Данный вид контрактов похож на современные грузовые опционы, которые позволяют его владельцу менять один груз на другой.

Древнегреческий философ и математик Фалес тоже пользовался опционами, он покупал их перед урожаем, тем самым обеспечивал себе оговоренную цену на сырье для оливкового масла.

В 1600-х годах опционы были популярны в Голландии среди производителей и торговцев тюльпанами. Производители покупали опцион пут, гарантируя себе приемлемую цену продажи. Покупатели в свою очередь приобретали опцион колл, тем самым имея возможность купить тюльпаны по более выгодной цене, а не завышенной производителями. Использовать опционы в спекулятивных целях в Голландии стали позже. Когда на рынке тюльпанов началась паническая распродажа, спекулянты не могли выполнить обязательства по опционам. Из-за этого кроме разрушительного краха экономики Голландии, был введен запрет на операции опционами в Англии.

  УРОК 32. РИСКИ ПРОДАЖИ ОПЦИОНОВ. ЧАСТЬ 1

В 1872 году финансист Russell Sage ввел опционы на американский рынок. Торговля велась на внебиржевом рынке опционов. Однако в то время опционы не были эффективны, так как не существовали определенные стандарты по объемам и срокам. После Великой депрессии 1929 года, на американском рынке опционов ввели строгий контроль. Уже в 1934 году опционные контракты были узаконены. А Комиссию по ценным бумагам и биржам обязали вести контроль торговли опционами.

Современная история опционов.

Чикагская биржа опционовСильным толчком к развитию опционов стало создание Чикагской биржи опционов (СВОЕ) в 1973 году. Создание данной биржи позволило стандартизовать опционы, а также определить модель ценообразования. До создания СВОЕ торги опционами не имели больших объемов, так как любая информация, касающаяся опционов, была либо труднодоступна, либо недоступна вообще. Сделки заключались по телефону, дилеры сводили покупателей и продавцов для заключения контрактов.

Чикагская биржа позволила трейдерам приобретать опционы колл на акции. Число котируемых опционов активно росло, также увеличивалось количество членов биржи, к 1974 году их насчитывалось 600. Американское законодательство также помогало развитию опционов, банкам и страховым компаниям было разрешено использовать опционы. В 1975 году объем ежедневных операций превышал 100 опционных контрактов.

Позже популярность опционов набирала обороты, на других биржах Америки стали открываться опционные секции. Также возник интерес и у прессы, среди них можно отметить The Wall Street Journal. Пресса дала дополнительный толчок развитию популярности опционных контрактов по всему миру.

Сегодня опционы имеют огромную популярность среди инвесторов. Одной из самых популярных бирж является Чикагская. Опционами пользуются и новички в трейдинге и профессионалы. Думаю, не нужно отвечать на вопрос, кто из них использует их правильно.

Пролистать наверх