Investidea: Teradyne, because they are stronger than ever

Investidea: Teradyne, because they are stronger than ever

Teradyne IncTER$104.98BuyService in partnership with Tinkoff Investments. Quotes are updated every 15 minutes

Today we have an idea at the intersection of speculation and conservatism: take shares in semiconductor manufacturing equipment manufacturer Teradyne (NASDAQ: TO HAVE), to capitalize on the rebound of these stocks after a strong fall.

Growth potential and validity: 21% behind 18 months excluding dividends; 56,5% behind 5 years excluding dividends; 12% per annum during 14 years including dividends. All options take into account the effect of separating part of the company's business into separate issuers.

Why stocks can go up: because they are cheap, and the sector of the company is extremely promising.

How do we act: we take shares now by 106,99 $.

When creating the material, sources were used, inaccessible to users from the Russian Federation. We hope, Do you know, what to do.

No guarantees

Our reflections are based on the analysis of the company's business and the personal experience of our investors, but remember: not a fact, that the investment idea will work like this, as we expect. Everything, what we write, are forecasts and hypotheses, not a call to action. To rely on our reflections or not – it's up to you.

And what is there with the author's forecasts

Research, like this and this, talk about, that the accuracy of target price predictions is low. And that's ok: there are always too many surprises on the stock exchange and accurate forecasts are rarely realized. If the situation were reversed, then funds based on computer algorithms would show results better than people, but alas, they work worse.

So we're not trying to build complex models.. The profitability forecast in the article is the author's expectations. We specify this forecast for the landmark. As with the investment idea in general, readers decide for themselves, it is worth trusting the author and focusing on the forecast or not.

We love, appreciate,
Investment editorial office

What the company makes money on

TER makes test equipment for complex electronics. Most of the revenue 71% - it gives the sector of semiconductors, the rest is provided by industrial automation solutions, aerospace and consumer wireless electronics — 10, 13 and 6% respectively.

A year ago we published an investment idea for this company, and it details her business.

  Who lives at the bottom of the ocean?!

Investidea: Teradyne, because they are stronger than ever

Arguments in favor of the company

Fell down. The company's recent report was better than expected., but showed some decline in revenue and profit due to logistical problems, exacerbated in the light of events in Eastern Europe. As a result, the shares fell sharply over these six months - from 168 to 106,99 $, - essentially approaching the level of the end 2020. But now Teradyne is still in better financial shape, than in December 2020, - so the degree of the stock's decline is excessive.

All the same perspective. Teradyne's outlook looks positive as semiconductor companies ramp up investment in capital renewal. Yes, and I would also expect growth from its “non-chip” segments.

Situation in the semiconductor industry, billion dollars

201820192020Forecast of 2021Forecast of 2022Forecast of 2023
Market size470,3412,8435,52514,90551,46590,61
Growth16,1%−12,2%5,5%18,2%7,10%7,10%
Expenses for the renewal of fixed assets, percent of revenue22,6%24,8%25,1%24,01%24,01%24,01%
Upgrade costs106,1102,5109,1123,6132,4141,8
Growth in spending on the renewal of fixed assets11%−3,4%6,4%13,3%7,1%7,1%

Against the background. Comparing Teradyne to its competitors, then the words come to mind, spoken by our great contemporary poet Kanye West: "stronger, better, Faster, stronger". Teradyne looks more marginal compared to peers, and already this will allow us to hope for attracting the attention of investors to its shares.

Comparison of Teradyne with other companies, indicators for 5 years as a percentage of revenue

R&D spendingGeneral and administrative expensesFinal profit margin
Teradyne14,08%17,64%17,27%
Advantest16,68%24,43%15,32%
Cohu12,93%20,38%−0,89%
Chroma8,46%20,21%15,06%
National Instrument19,43%43,35%9,30%

Activate. I think, that a strong drop in the stock could lead to the emergence of an activist investor among the shareholders of Teradyne, which may move its management towards one of the following options.

Option one. Increase dividends. The company is now paying 0,44 $ less per share per year 10% from her profit. Teradyne's annual dividend yield is 0,41%, that is very little. Given the profitability of this business, the amount of payments may well increase five times.

  Why am I bullish on Intel

Option two. Split the company into different issuers. At a minimum, it can be divided into semiconductor and non-semiconductor divisions., and as a maximum, each of the divisions can be turned into a separate issuer. Not a fact, that it is feasible from the point of view of Teradyne as an enterprise, but such conversations will affect the quotes positively.

Option three. Sell ​​the company. Its capitalization is 17.2 billion dollars - quite a feasible amount for any large manufacturer of integrated devices..

The most likely option is with dividends.: the company decides to throw a bone to investors, who are satisfied with "passive income", and they will temporarily unhook from the enterprise as a whole.

Clean accounting. More than enough money at the disposal of the company, to close all her debts - as long-term, as well as short term. In a time of rising rates and rising prices for loans, this is a big plus.

Trump up your sleeve. I'm very bad at the concept of buybacks by companies, but Teradyne made a ransom on not the worst terms. Over the past 7 years, she spent 2.859 billion dollars for these purposes, and the average price of a purchased share was about 42 $. So if she decides to expand and pays for most of the deal with her own shares, then in terms of the sustainability of her business, this will be a good deal.

What can get in the way

Concentration. In company 33% revenue comes from 5 unnamed largest customers, one of which gives 19%. A change in relationship with one of them can hit her accountability hard..

“Asia-s!» The main revenue of the company comes from the countries of Asia, which are closely integrated with each other economically.: Taiwan - 30%, China - 17%, South Korea - 11%. New strict quarantines in China could disrupt the company's operations in the region.

There are also risks of, that the Americans will ban the company from delivering to China or will put obstacles in this direction.

Price. P / S at the company 5, a P / E — 20,07. It's not crazy much., but the company does not look criminally undervalued.

What's the bottom line?

Shares can be taken now by 106,99 $. And then there are three options for the development of events:

  1. wait for stocks to return to level 129 $. Think, here it would be reasonable to count on 18 months of waiting;
  2. wait for quotes to return to the level 168 $. Here it is better to rely on 5 years of waiting;
  3. if the last time you took stocks with an eye on the long term, then you can buy them now.
  What is GMV like and why pay attention to it

Considering, that the rates are now rising and, respectively, investor expectations for passive income, it makes no sense to watch the news about the reduction in company payments. I do not think, that stocks will fall sharply, even if dividends are canceled completely.

Also, in all cases, we take into account the possibility of spinning off some divisions of Teradyne into separate issuers. If their stock goes up a lot, while the shares of the main Teradyne will tread the water, we will consider it a victory.

Scroll to Top

Инвестидея: Teradyne, потому что сильны как никогда

Инвестидея: Teradyne, потому что сильны как никогда

Teradyne IncTER104,98 $КупитьСервис в партнерстве с Тинькофф Инвестициями. Котировки обновляются раз в 15 минут

Сегодня у нас идея на стыке спекулятивности и консерватизма: взять акции производителя оборудования для производства полупроводников Teradyne (NASDAQ: TER), чтобы заработать на отскоке этих акций после сильного падения.

Потенциал роста и срок действия: 21% за 18 месяцев без учета дивидендов; 56,5% за 5 лет без учета дивидендов; 12% годовых в течение 14 лет с учетом дивидендов. Во всех вариантах учитывается эффект от выделения части бизнеса компании в отдельных эмитентов.

Почему акции могут вырасти: потому что они стоят дешево, а сектор у компании крайне перспективный.

Как действуем: берем акции сейчас по 106,99 $.

При создании материала использовались источники, недоступные пользователям из РФ. Надеемся, вы знаете, что делать.

Без гарантий

Наши размышления основаны на анализе бизнеса компании и личном опыте наших инвесторов, но помните: не факт, что инвестидея сработает так, как мы ожидаем. Все, что мы пишем, — это прогнозы и гипотезы, а не призыв к действию. Полагаться на наши размышления или нет — решать вам.

И что там с прогнозами автора

Исследования, например вот это и вот это, говорят о том, что точность предсказаний целевых цен невелика. И это нормально: на бирже всегда слишком много неожиданностей и точные прогнозы реализовываются редко. Если бы ситуация была обратная, то фонды на основе компьютерных алгоритмов показывали бы результаты лучше людей, но увы, работают они хуже.

Поэтому мы не пытаемся строить сложные модели. Прогноз доходности в статье — это ожидания автора. Этот прогноз мы указываем для ориентира. Как и с инвестидеей в целом, читатели решают сами, стоит доверять автору и ориентироваться на прогноз или нет.

Любим, ценим,
Инвестредакция

На чем компания зарабатывает

TER делает оборудование для тестирования сложной электроники. Большую часть выручки — 71% — ей дает сектор полупроводников, остальное дают решения для автоматизации промышленности, аэрокосмической отрасли и потребительской беспроводной электроники — 10, 13 и 6% соответственно.

Год назад мы публиковали инвестидею по этой компании, и в ней подробно описан ее бизнес.

  Новости фондового рынка США — NYSE, NASDAQ на 14.12.2016

Инвестидея: Teradyne, потому что сильны как никогда

Аргументы в пользу компании

Упало. Недавний отчет компании оказался лучше ожиданий, но показал некоторое снижение выручки и прибыли из-за логистических проблем, которые усугубились в свете событий в Восточной Европе. В итоге акции сильно упали за эти полгода — с 168 до 106,99 $, — по сути приблизившись к уровню конца 2020. Но сейчас Teradyne все равно в лучшей финансовой форме, чем в декабре 2020, — так что степень падения акций чрезмерна.

Все так же перспективно. Перспективы Teradyne видятся позитивными в свете наращивания полупроводниковыми компаниями инвестиций в обновление основных фондов. Да и от ее «нечиповых» сегментов я бы тоже ждал роста.

Ситуация в отрасли полупроводников, млрд долларов

201820192020Прогноз на 2021Прогноз на 2022Прогноз на 2023
Размер рынка470,3412,8435,52514,90551,46590,61
Рост16,1%−12,2%5,5%18,2%7,10%7,10%
Траты на обновление основных фондов, процентов от выручки22,6%24,8%25,1%24,01%24,01%24,01%
Траты на обновление106,1102,5109,1123,6132,4141,8
Рост трат на обновление основных фондов11%−3,4%6,4%13,3%7,1%7,1%

На общем фоне. Если сравнивать Teradyne с ее конкурентами, то на ум приходят слова, сказанные нашим великим поэтом-современником Канье Уэстом: «крепче, лучше, быстрее, сильнее». Teradyne выглядит более маржинальной при сравнении с похожими компаниями, и уже это позволит нам надеяться на привлечение внимания инвесторов к ее акциям.

Сравнение Teradyne с другими компаниями, показатели за 5 лет в процентах от выручки

Траты на НИОКРТраты на общие и административные расходыМаржа итоговой прибыли
Teradyne14,08%17,64%17,27%
Advantest16,68%24,43%15,32%
Cohu12,93%20,38%−0,89%
Chroma8,46%20,21%15,06%
National Instrument19,43%43,35%9,30%

Поактивируй. Я думаю, что сильное падение акций может привести к появлению среди акционеров Teradyne инвестора-активиста, который может сподвигнуть ее менеджмент к одному из следующих вариантов действий.

Вариант первый. Увеличить дивиденды. Сейчас компания платит 0,44 $ на акцию в год — меньше 10% от ее прибыли. Годовая дивидендная доходность Teradyne составляет 0,41%, что очень мало. Учитывая прибыльность этого бизнеса, размер выплат вполне могут увеличить раз в пять.

  Кое-что об октябре.....

Вариант второй. Разделить компанию на разных эмитентов. Как минимум ее можно разделить на полупроводниковое и неполупроводниковое подразделения, а как максимум каждое из подразделений можно превратить в отдельного эмитента. Не факт, что это осуществимо с точки зрения Teradyne как предприятия, но на котировки такие разговоры повлияют позитивно.

Вариант третий. Продать компанию. Ее капитализация составляет 17,2 млрд долларов — вполне посильная сумма для какого-нибудь крупного производителя интегрированных устройств.

Наиболее вероятным видится вариант с дивидендами: компания решит кинуть кость инвесторам, которых устроит «пассивная доходность», и они на время отцепятся от предприятия в целом.

Чистая бухгалтерия. Денег в распоряжении компании с лихвой хватит, чтобы закрыть все ее задолженности — как долгосрочные, так и краткосрочные. В годину роста ставок и подорожания кредитов это большой плюс.

Козырь в рукаве. Я очень плохо отношусь к концепции выкупа акций компаниями, но Teradyne совершила выкуп на не самых плохих условиях. За минувшие 7 лет она потратила на эти цели 2,859 млрд долларов, и средняя цена купленной акции составила около 42 $. Так что если она решит расширяться и оплатит большую часть сделки собственными акциями, то с точки зрения устойчивости ее бизнеса это будет хорошей сделкой.

Что может помешать

Концентрация. В компании 33% выручки приходится на 5 неназванных крупнейших клиентов, один из которых дает 19%. Изменение отношений с кем-то из них может сильно ударить по ее отчетности.

«Азия-с!» Основная выручка у компании приходится на тесно интегрированные друг с другом в экономическом плане страны Азии: Тайвань — 30%, Китай — 17%, Южную Корею — 11%. Новые жесткие карантины в КНР могут привести к нарушению операций компании в регионе.

Также есть риски того, что американцы запретят компании осуществлять поставки в КНР или будут ставить препятствия на этом направлении.

Цена. P / S у компании 5, а P / E — 20,07. Это не безумно много, но компания не выглядит преступно недооцененной.

Что в итоге

Акции можно взять сейчас по 106,99 $. А дальше есть три варианта развития событий:

  1. ждать возвращения акций к уровню 129 $. Думаю, здесь будет разумно рассчитывать на 18 месяцев ожидания;
  2. ждать возвращения котировок к уровню 168 $. Здесь лучше рассчитывать на 5 лет ожидания;
  3. если в прошлый раз вы брали акции с прицелом на долгосрочную перспективу, то можно сейчас их докупить.
  Трейды 23 июля

Учитывая, что сейчас растут ставки и, соответственно, ожидания инвесторов по пассивной доходности, нет смысла караулить известия о снижении выплат компании. Я не думаю, что акции сильно упадут, даже если дивиденды отменят полностью.

Также во всех случаях мы учитываем возможность выделения Teradyne каких-то подразделений в отдельных эмитентов. Если их акции сильно вырастут, в то время как акции основной Teradyne будут топтаться на месте, мы будем считать это победой.

Пролистать наверх