“The power of gold”, Peter Bernstein

The Power of Gold: The History of an Obsession.
Power of gold. History of obsession.

"The power of gold", Peter Bernstein

When you read a review, then it seems, what a book about gold prospecting, dramatic stories of fanatical desire for gold, gold manias and gold beetles.

In my mind, this is a book about monetary history. Yes, in the book and myths, and how where who and why was looking for gold, how did you get it. About Newton as the Head of the Mint, finally. But all this is more likely through the prism, structured trends and economic details. Yet again, для меня, this is a tutorial, not artistic, business or some other literature.

All in all, if you are afraid that you will be in the American style 30 pages on examples from the life of animals to explain, what is the gold standard, then it's not here. Serious, солидная, structured book prompting many interesting and useful thoughts.

Complete credit.

___________________________________________________________________________________________

Summary:

1. Gold at the start of the journey – accumulation of wealth, although at first, rather, even just a beautiful toy. Gold becomes money when the need for money begins at all, ie. then when it is no longer a children's business starts.  History takes us to Lydia (there is also Midas who, with a touch, turned everything into gold) in 643 – 630 BC, to the king Croesus, who created the first real gold coin and mint. It was then that gold became a retail commodity., ie. appeared in ordinary people. This is where the skyrocketing demand for gold begins.. Then Persians and Romans appear on the horizon. The Romans have their first coin devaluation.

2. No fun comes to the Roman Empire and we go to Byzantium, where does the Middle Ages dollar appear" Solid. A little later, Arabs and gold mining in Africa appear on the map of globalization. All in all, while life is quiet in the west, trade developed in the east and, what's important, международная торговля. The demand for gold is on the rise, loot too Many interesting details but no more. well, certainly, Italians are making progress, progress in banking and international settlements.

  One graph -- one major player.

3. IN 14 the century, the fun is suspended due to a series of crop failures and the plague. Say, that the population has decreased by a third, but after adapting to the spike in food prices, survivors feel richer by sharing the wealth of the dead. Subsequently, prices remained stable so, how the decline in food demand offset the decline in production due to the decline in population (and the rural population in particular).  But the subsequent recovery leads to `` The great bullion famen 15 century" – an acute shortage of gold pushing for adventurous projects to find it (well and on finding a road to India).

4. Discovered America and beyond. Gold flows to Europe, the famous 'price revolution' takes place. There are three interesting things here..

* first from me. it was not such a rise in prices. you actually need to ask nickolay_myagky, but I will venture to rummage through the data in a hurry. despite the revolution, the rise in prices itself was not terrible, it was terrible, that people have not seen this before. modern Ukrainians their 'revolution" as a routine.

"The power of gold", Peter Bernstein

schedule from here

* Монетаризм 16 century. Полагать, that people used to be stupid very naive. People tried to explain the rise in prices. And rising demand and supply shocks, and monetary phenomenon. Meet – Jean Bodin, the person who talked about, that the problem is the flow of gold. But! The idea was perceived as follows: prices are rising, that's why we are looking for gold so actively and so actively we are bringing it to Europe. Basically, modern primitive monetarists have a lot to learn from this mistake. Prices are rising – because the money supply is growing! OK, why is the money supply growing? well, because they print! Why do they print? well, because, that state is evil! Down with! Burn! Disperse! Give anarchism! well,Do you understand me..
Spain in 16 century.

  Buy Oil

* Spain, as an example of failure. To the question, what happened to spain, why did she bent, there is a simple answer. Nothing happened, it was she who accidentally rose due to the influx of gold without any special reason. While the dynasty rode a roof from the influx of gold, progress (commercial and economic) passed by.

5. The fight between gold and silver. Many funny stories about trying to establish a stable exchange relationship between two currencies. The story about, how Newton got interested in economics and finance, gave recommendations for changing the ratio, but he was let down by the eternal: the future is not equal to the past.

6. Золотой стандарт. He established himself only in 19 century, and how talented people of the end of the same century celebrated: was not the cause of stability, and its consequence. Далее следует самая замечательная мысль Books (about the gold standard): during booming economic growth, economic success masks all the mistakes of regulators, and the very imperfection of the standard. Next is the story about, how different countries at different times struggled with the outflow of gold by increasing rates and how this did not always lead to something useful.

Scroll to Top

The power of gold, Peter Bernstein

 

The Power of Gold: The History of an Obsession.
Власть золота. История наваждения.

Когда вы читаете отзыв, то складывается впечатление, что книга о поисках золота, драматических историях фанатичного желания золота, золотых маниях и золотых жуках.

В моем понимании, это книга о монетарной истории. Да, в книге и мифы, и то как где кто и зачем искал золото, как добывал. Про Ньютона как про главу Монетного двора, наконец. Но все это скорее сквозь призму, структурированных тенденций и экономических подробностей. Опять же, для меня, это учебник, а не художественная, деловая или какая-то там еще литература.

Вобщем, если вы опасаетесь что вам в американском стиле будут 30 страниц на примерах из жизни зверюшек объяснять, что такое золотой стандарт, то это не тут. Серьезная, солидная, структурированная книга наталкивающая на много интересных и полезных мыслей.

Полнейший зачет.

___________________________________________________________________________________________

Краткое содержание:

1. Золото в начале пути — накопление богатства, хотя сначала, скорее даже просто красивая игрушка. Золото становится деньгами тогда когда вообще начинается потребность в деньгах, т.е. тогда когда начинается уже не детский бизнес.  История уводит нас в Лидию (там же встречается и Мидас который касанием превращал все в золото) в 643 — 630 BC, к царю Croesus, который создал первую настоящую золотую монету и монетный двор. Тогда же золото и стало ритейловым товаром, т.е. появилось у обычных людей. Отсюда начинается стремительный рост спроса на золото. Потом на горизонте появляются персы и римляне. У римлян появляется первая девальвация монет.

2. Римской империи наступает невеселье и мы отправляемся в Византию, где и появляется «доллар средневековья» Солид. Чуть позже возникают на карте глобализации возникают арабы и добыча золота в Африке. Вобщем, пока жизнь затихла на западе, на востоке развивалась торговля и, что важно, международная торговля. Спрос на золото растет, добыча тоже Много интересных деталей но не более. Ну, конечно, в прогресс вступают итальянцы, прогресс в банковском деле и международных расчетах.

  Чудеса на премаркете с HAR : Harman International Industries Inc

3. В 14 веке веселье приостанавливается из-за серии неурожаев и чумы. Говорят, что население сократилось на треть, зато после адаптации к спайку цен на продовольствие, выжившие почувствовали себя богаче разделив богатство умерших. В последствии цены остались стабильными так, как сокращение спроса на продовольствие перекрыло сокращение производства из-за снижения населения (и сельского населения в особенности).  А вот последующее восстановление приводит к «The great bullion famen 15 века» — острому дефициту золота толкающего на авантюрные проекты по его поиску (ну и по поиску дороги в Индию).

4. Открыли Америку и не только. Золото течет в Европу, происходит знаменитая «революция цен». Вот тут вот есть три интересности.

* первая от меня. не такой уж это был и рост цен. спрашивать вообще-то нужно у nickolay_myagky, но я рискну покопаться в данных на скорую руку. несмотря на революцию, сам по себе рост цен не был ужасным, ужасно было то, что люди этого ранее не видели. современным украинцам их «революция» как рутина.

 

график отсюда

* Монетаризм 16 века. Полагать, что раньше люди были глупые очень наивно. Пытались люди объяснить рост цен. И ростом спроса и шоками предложения, и монетарным феноменом. Знакомитесь — Jean Bodin, человек говоривший о том, что проблема в притоке золота. Но! Идею восприняли так: цены растут, поэтому мы ищем золото так активно и так активно его везем в Европу. В принципе, современным примитивным монетаристам есть чему поучиться на этой ошибке. Цены растут — потому что растет предложение денег! Ок, а почему предложение денег растет? Ну, потому что печатают! А почему печатают? Ну, потому, что гос-во это зло! Долой! Сжечь! Разогнать! Даешь анархизм! Ну,вы меня поняли..
Испания в 16 веке.

  Книга об инвестициях и управлении капиталом

* Испания, как пример провала. На вопрос, что случилось с Испанией, отчего она загнулась, есть простой ответ. Ничего не случилось, это она случайно поднялась из-за притока золота не имея к тому никаких особых поводов. Пока у династии ехала крыша от притока золота, прогресс (коммерческий и экономический) прошел мимо.

5. Борьба между золотом и серебром. Много забавных историй о попытке установить стойкое отношение обмена между двумя валютами. Рассказ о том, как Ньютон увлекся экономикой и финансами, выдавал рекомендации по изменению соотношения, но его подводило вечное: будущее не равно прошлое.

6. Золотой стандарт. Утвердился он только в 19 веке, и как талантливые люди конца того же века отмечали: был не причиной стабильности, а ее следствием. Далее следует самая замечательная мысль книги (про золотой стандарт): во время бурного экономического роста, экономический успех маскирует все ошибки регуляторов, и само несовершенство стандарта. Далее рассказ о том, как разные страны в разные времена боролись с оттоком золота ростом ставок и как это не всегда к чему-то полезному приводило.

Пролистать наверх