Examining the results of McDonald's for 2021 year

Изучаем результаты McDonald’s за 2021 год

McDonald’s (NYSE: MCD) - the world's largest chain of fast food restaurants. At the end of 2021, the American company operated in 119 countries and had more than 40 000 restaurants.

At the end of January, McDonald's presented a report for the fourth quarter of 2021, within which the company managed to maintain double-digit growth rates. Basic moments:

  • revenue increased by 13%, to $6.009 billion, against the consensus forecast of $6.03 billion;
  • global like-for-like sales increased by 12,3%, which is much better than market expectations — 10,7%;
  • operating profit in the fourth quarter added 12%, to $2.397 billion, and if you do not take into account one-time factors, which were in the fourth quarter of 2020, to na 23%;
  • net income per share increased by 18%, c 1,84 to 2,18 $. Looking at the adjusted figure, then he grew even stronger - on 31%, to 2,23 $, when forecasting 2,34 $.

Let's figure it out, why, with such controversial results, McDonald's shares rose after the publication of the report.

Sales structure of the company

The company's business is divided into two divisions. The first deals with the direct management of McDonald's fast food restaurants.. The second receives commission income from the sale of franchises.

Sales geography. In addition to the business division, there is also a geographical: McDonald's operates in three markets and serves customers from 119 countries. In the first place - the local, American market, in this country the company has the largest number of franchise restaurants.

In second place are international markets, which includes France, Canada, Germany, United Kingdom, Australia, Russia – until March 2022, Italy, Spain and others. This segment brings the chain the maximum income due to the largest number of restaurants under its own management.. Developing countries round out the top three, in which partner companies operate under a license or are affiliated enterprises. The current division includes China, Japan, Brazil, Philippines, South Korea and other countries.

McDonald's revenue by business division:

  • direct control — 42%;
  • franchises — 57%;
  • other proceeds — 1%.

McDonald's revenues by geographical division:

  • USA - 37%;
  • international markets — 53%;
  • developing countries — 9%;
  • other proceeds — 1%.
  How to become more ambitious

Moving on to Q4 2021 results, it is worth noting, that the company's revenue increased year-on-year by 13% thanks to strong results in international markets, who grew by 19%. The weakest indicators are growth by 6% - American restaurants showed the chain amid the new wave of COVID-19.

Изучаем результаты McDonald’s за 2021 год

Sales structure of the company, billion dollars

Business division 4к2020 4к2021 The change
Direct control 2,233 2,539 14%
Franchises 2,985 3,392 14%
Other revenue 0,095 0,079 −17%

The company's sales structure by business division, billion dollars

By sales geography 4к2020 4к2021 The change
USA 2,057 2,217 8%
International Markets 2,676 3,184 19%
Developing countries 0,485 0,529 9%
Other revenue 0,095 0,079 −17%

Sales structure of the company by geography, billion dollars

Profit

McDonald's net profit in the fourth quarter of 2021 increased by 19%, to $1.639 billion, or 2,18 $ per share. The adjusted figure increased by 31%, to 2,23 $, due to one-time factors: in the current quarter, a loss was recorded 0,05 $ per share after the sale of McD Tech Labs, and in the fourth quarter of 2020, vice versa, profit in the amount of 0,14 $, mainly related to the sale of shares in McDonald's Japan.

Like-for-like sales, a key performance indicator in retail, rose from −1.3 to −1.3 12,3% thanks to the shock results of the "international markets" segment: This division has grown more than any other, from −7.4 to 16,8%, against the background of a low base of the previous period.

Key financial results of the company, billion dollars

4к2020 4к2021 The change
Revenue 5,314 6,009 13%
Operating profit 2,143 2,397 12%
Net profit 1,377 1,639 19%
Comparable sales −1,3% 12,3% 13,6 P. P.
net debt 33,991 30,914 −9%

Management forecasts

After the publication of financial results for the fourth quarter of 2021, management announced its forecast for 2022.

Restaurant chain growth: McDonald's this year plans to open more than 1800 establishments around the world, 500 — under its own management, 1300 — by franchise. This will result in an increase in total sales in constant currency by 1,5%, and to, that commercial, general and administrative expenses will be at the level of 2.2-2.3% of revenue.

The company expects, that its operating profitability will be 40%, general interest expenses, based on current interest rates and foreign exchange rates, will not change in comparison with 2021, and the effective income tax rate for the whole of 2022 will be in the range of 20 to 22%.

  ALCHI, week eight.

Management plans, that in 2022, McDonald's capital expenditures will be between $2.2 billion and $2.4 billion., out of which 50% will be aimed at opening new restaurants in the U.S. and international markets, and about 40% – for the modernization of old ones.

Market analysts' view

This section presents the opinions of analysts of three investment houses about McDonald's.

BTIG, McDonald's recommendation is "buy", target price - 295 $. Company analysts believe, that investors should be encouraged by the planned increase in the network in 2022, which could be a record in the last six years, as well as a forecast of management's operating profitability: McDonald's plans to survive the labor and product crisis, only marginally reduced profitability..

Cowen, recommendation – "above the market", target price - 275 $. The company's analysts like McDonald's plan of action to maintain a high level of sales in the United States, based on last year's success, while personnel problems presumably peaked in December 2021..

Bank of America, recommendation - "neutral", target price - 270 $. Company analysts believe, that McDonald's fourth-quarter results were strong, but showed less growth potential compared to previous quarters, Management plans and Bank of America's own forecast. The main reason is the stabilization of the results: revenue and profitability.

What's the bottom line?

McDonald's published moderately negative financial indicators for the fourth quarter of 2021: The company's revenue increased by 13% against the market forecast 13,5%, adjusted net profit — on 31% against 37%. But the management managed to completely neutralize the negative effect of these results due to a strong forecast for 2022.: the company plans to open more than 1800 restaurants against 876 last year, operating profitability against the background of problems with personnel will fall slightly, to 40% against 45% in 2021.

Are McDonald's shares interesting at the current price?? Investors better wait for the correction and buy at the price 200 $ and below, this corresponds to the value of the EV multiplier / EBITDA = 16. According to this assessment, the company's shares could be bought in 2016-2020.. Current EV / EBITDA = 17.

Scroll up

Изучаем результаты McDonald’s за 2021 год

Изучаем результаты McDonald’s за 2021 год

McDonald’s (NYSE: MCD) — крупнейшая в мире сеть ресторанов быстрого питания. На конец 2021 года американская компания работала в 119 странах мира и имела более 40 000 ресторанов.

В конце января McDonald’s представил отчет за четвертый квартал 2021 года, в рамках которого компании удалось сохранить двузначные темпы роста. Основные моменты:

  • выручка выросла на 13%, до 6,009 млрд долларов, против консенсус-прогноза в размере 6,03 млрд долларов;
  • глобальные сопоставимые продажи увеличились на 12,3%, что намного лучше рыночных ожиданий — 10,7%;
  • операционная прибыль в четвертом квартале прибавила 12%, до 2,397 млрд долларов, а если не учитывать разовые факторы, которые были в четвертом квартале 2020 года, то на 23%;
  • чистая прибыль на акцию увеличилась на 18%, c 1,84 до 2,18 $. Если смотреть скорректированный показатель, то он вырос еще сильнее — на 31%, до 2,23 $, при прогнозе 2,34 $.

Давайте разберемся, почему при таких спорных результатах акции McDonald’s выросли после публикации отчета.

Структура продаж компании

Бизнес компании делится на два подразделения. Первое занимается прямым управлением ресторанами быстрого питания McDonald’s. Второе получает комиссионный доход от продажи франшиз.

География продаж. Кроме бизнес-деления еще есть географическое: McDonald’s работает на трех рынках и обслуживает клиентов из 119 стран. На первом месте — местный, американский рынок, в этой стране компания имеет наибольшее количество франшизных ресторанов.

На втором месте — международные рынки, куда входят Франция, Канада, Германия, Великобритания, Австралия, Россия — до марта 2022 года, Италия, Испания и другие. Этот сегмент приносит сети максимальный доход ввиду наибольшего количества ресторанов под собственным управлением. Замыкают тройку развивающиеся страны, в которых компании-партнеры работают по лицензии или являются аффилированными предприятиями. К текущему подразделению относят Китай, Японию, Бразилию, Филиппины, Южную Корею и другие страны.

Доходы McDonald’s по бизнес-делению:

  • прямое управление — 42%;
  • франшизы — 57%;
  • прочая выручка — 1%.

Доходы McDonald’s по географическому делению:

  • США — 37%;
  • международные рынки — 53%;
  • развивающиеся страны — 9%;
  • прочая выручка — 1%.
  Первый день на ММВБ (Московская межбанковская валютная биржа)

Переходя к результатам четвертого квартала 2021 года, стоит отметить, что выручка компании год к году увеличилась на 13% благодаря сильным результатам на международных рынках, которые выросли на 19%. Самые слабые показатели — рост на 6% — продемонстрировали американские рестораны сети на фоне новой волны COVID-19.

Изучаем результаты McDonald’s за 2021 год

Структура продаж компании, млрд долларов

Бизнес-деление 4к2020 4к2021 Изменение
Прямое управление 2,233 2,539 14%
Франшизы 2,985 3,392 14%
Прочая выручка 0,095 0,079 −17%

Структура продаж компании по делению бизнеса, млрд долларов

По географии продаж 4к2020 4к2021 Изменение
США 2,057 2,217 8%
Международные рынки 2,676 3,184 19%
Развивающиеся страны 0,485 0,529 9%
Прочая выручка 0,095 0,079 −17%

Структура продаж компании по географии, млрд долларов

Прибыль

Чистая прибыль McDonald’s в четвертом квартале 2021 года увеличилась на 19%, до 1,639 млрд долларов, или 2,18 $ на акцию. Скорректированный показатель вырос на 31%, до 2,23 $, за счет разовых факторов: в текущем квартале был зафиксирован убыток 0,05 $ на акцию после продажи McD Tech Labs, а в четвертом квартале 2020 года, наоборот, прибыль в размере 0,14 $, в основном связанная с продажей акций McDonald’s Japan.

Сопоставимые продажи — ключевой показатель эффективности в розничной торговле — выросли с −1,3 до 12,3% благодаря ударным результатам сегмента «международные рынки»: показатели этого подразделения увеличились сильнее остальных, с −7,4 до 16,8%, на фоне низкой базы прошлого периода.

Основные финансовые результаты компании, млрд долларов

4к2020 4к2021 Изменение
Выручка 5,314 6,009 13%
Операционная прибыль 2,143 2,397 12%
Чистая прибыль 1,377 1,639 19%
Сопоставимые продажи −1,3% 12,3% 13,6 п. п.
Чистый долг 33,991 30,914 −9%

Прогнозы менеджмента

После публикации финансовых результатов за четвертый квартал 2021 года менеджмент анонсировал свой прогноз на 2022 год.

Рост сети ресторанов: McDonald’s в текущем году планирует открыть более 1800 заведений по всему миру, 500 — под собственным управлением, 1300 — по франшизе. Это приведет к увеличению общих продаж в постоянной валюте на 1,5%, а также к тому, что коммерческие, общие и административные расходы будут на уровне 2,2—2,3% от выручки.

Компания ожидает, что ее операционная рентабельность составит 40%, общие процентные расходы, исходя из текущих процентных ставок и обменных курсов иностранной валюты, не изменятся в сравнении с 2021 годом, а эффективная ставка налога на прибыль за весь 2022 год будет находиться в диапазоне от 20 до 22%.

  ставки...

Менеджмент планирует, что в 2022 году капитальные затраты McDonald’s составят от 2,2 млрд до 2,4 млрд долларов, из которых 50% будет направлено на открытие новых ресторанов в США и на международных рынках, а около 40% — на модернизацию старых.

Взгляд рыночных аналитиков

В этом разделе представлены мнения аналитиков трех инвестдомов о McDonald’s.

BTIG, рекомендация по McDonald’s — «покупать», целевая цена — 295 $. Аналитики компании полагают, что инвесторов должно воодушевить запланированное на 2022 год увеличение сети, которое может стать рекордным за последние шесть лет, а также прогноз операционной рентабельности руководства: McDonald’s планирует пережить трудовой и товарный кризис, лишь незначительно уменьшив свою рентабельность.

Cowen, рекомендация — «выше рынка», целевая цена — 275 $. Аналитикам компании нравится план действий McDonald’s по поддержанию высокого уровня продаж в США, основанный на прошлогоднем успехе, в то время как кадровые проблемы предположительно достигли своего пика в декабре 2021 года.

Bank of America, рекомендация — «нейтрально», целевая цена — 270 $. Аналитики компании полагают, что результаты McDonald’s за четвертый квартал были сильными, но продемонстрировали меньший потенциал роста в сравнении с предыдущими кварталами, планами менеджмента и собственным прогнозом Bank of America. Основная причина — стабилизация результатов: выручки и рентабельности.

Что в итоге

McDonald’s опубликовал умеренно негативные финансовые показатели за четвертый квартал 2021 года: выручка компании выросла на 13% против рыночного прогноза 13,5%, скорректированная чистая прибыль — на 31% против 37%. Но отрицательный эффект от этих результатов менеджменту удалось полностью нивелировать за счет сильного прогноза на 2022 год: компания планирует открыть более 1800 ресторанов против 876 в прошлом году, операционная рентабельность на фоне проблем с персоналом упадет незначительно, до 40% против 45% в 2021 году.

Интересны ли акции McDonald’s по текущей цене? Инвесторам лучше дождаться коррекции и покупать по цене 200 $ и ниже, это соответствует значению мультипликатора EV / EBITDA = 16. По этой оценке акции компании можно было купить в 2016—2020 годах. Текущий показатель EV / EBITDA = 17.

Пролистать наверх