Eurobond payments: why Russia paid in rubles, whether the payment will pass and whether it threatens with a default

Until the payment went through, there is a threat of a formal default

Выплаты по евробондам: почему Россия заплатила в рублях, пройдет ли платеж и грозит ли это дефолтом

The Ministry of Finance of Russia announced, that fulfilled obligations under Eurobonds for 649.2 million dollars. The Ministry for the first time made payments in rubles.

Russia transferred money to holders of Eurobonds of issue No. 12840060V Russia-2022 and No. 12840061V Russia-2042.

Why paid in rubles

Due to sanctions, the Ministry of Finance of the Russian Federation cannot use gold and foreign exchange reserves and pay debts in foreign currency. But several times Russia paid its external debt in dollars: money was debited from the frozen accounts of the Central Bank of the Russian Federation in the USA. Payments were made after the issuance of individual permits by the authorities to the US Treasury Department correspondent bank J. P. Morgan and its payment agent Citibank or Bank of New York Mellon.

Eurobond holders have been paid interest on five bond issues since the freeze on reserves. A US Treasury license allows investors to receive payments on Russian sovereign Eurobonds up to 25 May 2022.

4 April, the Ministry of Finance of the Russian Federation was supposed to pay a coupon for $84 million on Eurobonds maturing in 2042 and redeem bonds with the payment of the last coupon for $552.4 million. But on the same day, the United States banned Russia from making payments in cash from frozen reserves..

Russia failed to pay in dollars for these two Eurobonds. Foreign correspondent bank refused to execute payment orders, sent in accordance with the issuing documentation 30 And 31 Martha. The Ministry of Finance of the Russian Federation could try to transfer rubles to the bank and ask to buy currency. Not yet known, Has the ministry made such a request?.

The Ministry of Finance of the Russian Federation attracted a Russian financial institution to pay. The money was transferred to the National Settlement Depository in rubles at the rate of the Central Bank for 4 April.

Will Eurobond holders be able to convert money into dollars?

Investors from countries, included by Russia in the list of "unfriendly", can receive payments to type C accounts. You can withdraw money from such accounts only on several grounds., including for paying taxes and commissions within Russia. It is possible to transfer rubles to another currency only with the permission of a special subcommittee of the Ministry of Finance.

The Ministry stated, that the restoration of Russia's access to foreign currency accounts will create the preconditions for, that the authorities allow foreign investors to convert rubles into another currency.

  Backpack protection in times of crisis

What threatens Russia with the payment of these Eurobonds in rubles

In terms of Eurobond issues, it is said, that their denomination is dollars. There are also events, which will be considered default. For example, non-payment by Russia of any amount within 30 days after the deadline. In this way, default on sovereign debt may already occur 4 May.

The international rating agency Fitch warned, that the payment of interest by Russia on dollar bonds in rubles will mean a default at the expiration of 30 days. Rating to be downgraded to RD (Restricted Default).

The Bank of Russia considers, that payment on Eurobonds in rubles “cannot be recognized as a default event”. The regulator warned, that Russian creditors will not be able to present the debt for repayment, if foreigners consider payment in rubles a default.

For ordinary citizens of the Russian Federation, a default on sovereign debt will not result in a sharp deterioration in living standards. Consequences may come in the future, because Russia, Most likely, will no longer be considered a reliable partner, which means, and reduce foreign investment. We took apart, what is a default and how it can affect ordinary Russians.

News, that concern everyone, - in our telegram channel. Subscribe, to keep abreast of what's happening: @tinkoffjournal.

Scroll up

Выплаты по евробондам: почему Россия заплатила в рублях, пройдет ли платеж и грозит ли это дефолтом

Пока платеж не прошел, есть угроза формального дефолта

Выплаты по евробондам: почему Россия заплатила в рублях, пройдет ли платеж и грозит ли это дефолтом

Минфин России заявил, что исполнил обязательства по еврооблигациям на 649,2 млн долларов. Министерство впервые провело оплату в рублях.

Россия перечислила деньги держателями еврооблигаций выпуска № 12840060V «Россия-2022» и № 12840061V «Россия-2042».

Почему заплатили в рублях

Из-за санкций Минфин РФ не может пользоваться золотовалютными резервами и платить по долгам в валюте. Но несколько раз Россия платила по внешнему долгу в долларах: деньги списывались с замороженных счетов ЦБ РФ в США. Платежи проходили после выдачи индивидуальных разрешений властями американскому банку-корреспонденту Минфина J. P. Morgan и его платежному агенту Citibank или Bank of New York Mellon.

С момента заморозки резервов держателям еврооблигаций выплатили проценты по пяти выпускам облигаций. Лицензия Минфина США разрешает инвесторам получать платежи по суверенным еврооблигациям России до 25 мая 2022 года.

4 апреля Минфин РФ должен был выплатить купон на 84 млн долларов по еврооблигациям с погашением в 2042 году и погасить облигации с выплатой последнего купона на 552,4 млн долларов. Но в этот же день США запретили России производить оплату деньгами из замороженных резервов.

Россия не смогла провести оплату в долларах по этим двум еврооблигациям. Иностранный банк-корреспондент отказался исполнять платежные поручения, отправленные в соответствии с эмиссионной документацией 30 и 31 марта. Минфин РФ мог бы попробовать перечислить банку рубли и попросить купить валюту. Пока неизвестно, обращалось ли министерство с такой просьбой.

Для выплаты Минфин РФ привлек российский финансовый институт. Деньги перечислили в Национальный расчетный депозитарий в рублях по курсу Центробанка на 4 апреля.

Смогут ли держатели евробондов перевести деньги в доллары

Инвесторы из стран, включенных Россией в список «недружественных», могут получить выплаты на счета типа С. Вывести деньги с таких счетов можно только на нескольких основаниях, в том числе для уплаты налогов и комиссий внутри России. Перевести рубли в другую валюту можно только с разрешения специальной подкомиссии Минфина.

Министерство заявило, что восстановление доступа России к валютным счетам создаст предпосылки для того, чтобы власти разрешили иностранным инвесторам конвертировать рубли в другую валюту.

  Инвестидея: Jabil, потому что Apple

Чем России грозит выплата по этим евробондам в рублях

В условиях еврооблигационных выпусков сказано, что их номинал — доллары. Там также указаны события, которые будут считаться дефолтом. Например, невыплата Россией какой-либо суммы в течение 30 дней после установленного срока. Таким образом, дефолт по суверенному долгу может наступить уже 4 мая.

Международное рейтинговое агентство Fitch предупреждало, что выплата Россией процентов по долларовым облигациям в рублях будет означать дефолт по истечении 30 дней. Рейтинг понизят до уровня RD — «ограниченный дефолт».

Банк России считает, что выплата по евробондам в рублях «не может признаваться событием дефолта». Регулятор предупредил, что российские кредиторы не смогут предъявить долг к погашению, если иностранные сочтут расплату в рублях дефолтом.

Для обычных граждан РФ дефолт по суверенному долгу не обернется резким ухудшением уровня жизни. Последствия могут наступить в перспективе, так как Россию, вероятнее всего, больше не будут считать надежным партнером, а значит, и сократятся иностранные инвестиции. Мы разбирали, что такое дефолт и как он может влиять на простых россиян.

Новости, которые касаются всех, — в нашем телеграм-канале. Подписывайтесь, чтобы быть в курсе происходящего: @tinkoffjournal.

Пролистать наверх