Great financial scandals

The case of Bernard Madoff was a real bombshell for the media. The biggest financial scandal in recent years. Person, who was fully trusted, in fact, turned out to be an ordinary fraudster. Truth, the word "ordinary" is not quite right here. Though, Madoff's scams amount to about 65 billion dollars.

However, Madoff is not alone. There are many examples of financial fraud in history. How large, talked about all over the world, and very small, which have not even outgrown the local level. Today we will talk about the largest financial fraud in history..

Charles Ponzi

Year, when it became known to the public: about 1920

Примерные потери: 20 million dollars (adjust for time, then it was a lot)

Charles Ponzi is the author of the famous "Ponzi scheme" and, one might say, the founder of pyramid schemes. He was a financial fraud all his life.. And after his death, his capital amounted to only 45 Dollars, which was only enough for the funeral. For his scam, Ponzi established the Securities and Exchange Company. The essence of the fraud was simple enough. Ponzi took advantage of society's lack of awareness. As a matter of fact, all information about, how was he going to earn, was in the public domain, and if at least someone wanted to check it, then Charles would not be good. But people are gullible - and no one checked this information from the very beginning. (all came to their senses later).

Началось все с того, that Ponzi noticed the difference between the ratio of post-war exchange rates in different European countries. Он понял, that most of the international response coupons, bought in Europe can be sold in the USA. Charles's company was founded with the aim of obtaining investment from ordinary people, who received a bill for this, promising to bring them 50% profit for 45 days. Truth, the public did not know the fact, that international coupons can only be exchanged for postage stamps, not real cash. And Ponzi knew, and was not going to invest the money received anywhere.

  Investidea: AppHarvest, because the harvest is ripe

Пирамида первое время приносила очень хорошие деньги. Ponzi bought several paid articles from popular publications, who only fueled interest in his event. And then there was an unexpected publication in Post Magazine, which explained, that it is simply impossible to cover the invested money physically. Ponzi was arrested for fraud. This is a short and not very successful retelling of the whole scam.. In the near future we will present a separate detailed article on this topic.. In the meantime, it's just worth knowing, that Ponzi is the biggest swindler in history (of those, what are known).

Bernard Madoff

Year, when it became known to the public: 2008

Примерные потери: 65 billion dollars

Madoff, who has already pleaded guilty, lured a huge number of investors into his networks and has been engaged in fraud for more than a dozen years. And nobody suspected, that this person may not be clean on hand. Bernard Madoff promised to outperform the market through steady and slow growth. But with the onset of the financial crisis, many investors wanted to withdraw their funds. And then it turned out, that the Madoff institution is an ordinary pyramid scheme.

Allen Stanford

Year, when it became known to the public: 2009

Примерные потери: 8 billion dollars

Stanford is the founder of Stanford Financial Group and Antigua-based Stanford International Bank. Investors trusted both institutions with almost unlimited trust.. But for many years this company has become seriously interested in the SEC., ФБР и IRS. In particular, было интересно, why Stanford promises investors such a high return on investment. Recently, there have been messages, that the US Securities and Exchange Commission accuses the founder of the company and several other members of fraudulent transactions. The case is now being handled by the FBI. Who else will emerge during the current crisis?

  Bundle of investment news: Google, futures and reporting season

Jerome Kerviel

Year: 2008

Примерные потери: 8 billion dollars

Trader Société Générale has been trading without the supervision of its superiors since 2005 of the year. During this time, according to the bank, he caused him damage in the amount of approximately 8 billion dollars. Kerviel himself claimed, that he started illegal trade with that, to achieve good results, present them to the bosses and get bonuses. According to the bank, this citizen just wanted to appropriate the money for himself.. In total, the trader was charged under four articles, which included breach of trust and fraud. Gerard Kerviel managed the amount of 50 миллиардов евро. Naturally, it was all illegal.

Ralph Tsioffe and Matthew Tannin

Year: 2008

Примерные потери: 1,6 billion dollars

Bear Stearns hedge fund managers Tsioffi and Tannin lied to investors about the fund's current health, which was heavily focused on mortgage-backed securities (to put it mildly, not the most reliable at that time). At the same time, people continued to invest in the fund., trusting information, conveyed to the audience by the managers of Bear Stearns. At the moment, both managers are accused of conspiracy and fraud.. The damage from their actions is estimated at 1,6 billion dollars. Again, this fraud took place to be exposed during the current crisis..

(C)www.biztimes.ru

Scroll to Top

Великие финансовые скандалы

Дело Бернарда Мэдоффа стало настоящей бомбой для СМИ. Крупнейший финансовый скандал за последние годы. Человек, которому всецело доверяли, на самом деле оказался обычным мошенником. Правда, слово «обычный» здесь не совсем верно. Все-таки, мошенничества Мэдоффа исчисляются суммой примерно в 65 миллиардов долларов.

Впрочем, Мэдофф не один такой. В истории есть множество примеров финансового мошенничества. Как крупных, о которых говорили во всем мире, так и совсем маленьких, которые не переросли даже локальный уровень. Мы сегодня поговорим про самые крупные в истории финансовые махинации.

Чарльз Понци

Год, когда стал известен общественности: примерно 1920

Примерные потери: 20 миллионов долларов (делайте поправку на время, тогда это было очень много)

Чарльз Понци является автором знаменитой «схемы Понци» и, можно сказать, родоначальником финансовых пирамид. Он всю свою жизнь был финансовым мошенником. А после смерти его капитали составил всего лишь 45 долларов, которых хватило только на похороны. Для своей аферы Понци учредил компанию Securities and Exchange Company. Суть махинации была достаточно простой. Понци воспользовался неосведомленностью общества. По сути, вся информация о том, как он собирался зарабатывать, была в открытом доступе, и если бы хоть кто-то захотел ее проверить, то Чарльзу не поздоровилось бы. Но люди доверчивы – и никто не стал проверять эту информацию с самого начала (опомнились все потом).

Началось все с того, что Понци заметил разницу между соотношением послевоенных обменных курсов валют в разных странах Европы. Он понял, что большую часть международных ответных купонов, купленных в Европе можно продавать в США. Компания Чарльза была учреждена с целью получения инвестиций от простых людей, которые получали за это вексель, обещающий принести им 50%-ую прибыль за 45 дней. Правда, общественность не знала того факта, что международные купоны можно обменять только на почтовые марки, а не на реальную наличность. А Понци знал, и никуда инвестировать полученные деньги не собирался.

  Вебинары о трейдинге на биржах США от Анатолия Радченко

Пирамида первое время приносила очень хорошие деньги. Понци скупил несколько платных статей в популярных изданиях, которые только подогревали интерес к его мероприятию. А потом появилась неожиданная публикация в журнале «Post Magazine», в которой разъяснялось, что покрыть вложенные деньги просто невозможно физически. Понци был арестован за мошенничество. Это краткий и не очень удачный пересказ всей аферы. В ближайшее время мы представим отдельную подробную статью по этой теме. А пока лишь стоит знать, что Понци является самым крупным аферистом в истории (из тех, что известны).

Бернард Мэдофф

Год, когда стал известен общественности: 2008

Примерные потери: 65 миллиардов долларов

Мэдофф, который уже признал себя виновным, заманил в свои сети огромное количество инвесторов и уже не один десяток лет занимался махинациями. И никто не подозревал, что этот человек может быть не чист на руку. Бернард Мэдофф обещал превзойти рынок через стабильный и медленный рост. Но с наступлением финансового кризиса многие инвесторы захотели вывести свои средства. И тут-то и оказалось, что учреждение Мэдоффа представляет собой обычную финансовую пирамиду.

Аллен Стэнфорд

Год, когда стал известен общественности: 2009

Примерные потери: 8 миллиардов долларов

Стэнфорд является основателем Stanford Financial Group и находящегося в Антигуа Stanford International Bank. Обоим учреждениям практически безгранично доверяли инвесторы. Но уже многие годы данная компания стала серьезно интересовать SEC, ФБР и IRS. В частности, было интересно, почему Стэнфорд обещает инвесторам столь высокий возврат на вложенный капитал. С недавних пор появились сообщения, что Комиссия по ценным бумагам и биржам США обвиняет основателя компании и еще нескольких ее членов в проведении мошеннических операций. Делом сейчас занимается ФБР. Кто еще всплывет во время текущего кризиса?

  Акции Robinhood упали на 9% после провального отчета

Жером Кервьель

Год: 2008

Примерные потери: 8 миллиардов долларов

Трейдер банка Société Générale стал торговать без ведомства своего начальства еще с 2005 года. За это время по сообщениям банка он нанес ему ущерб в размере примерно 8 миллиардов долларов. Сам Кервьель утверждал, что начал незаконную торговлю с тем, чтобы добиться хороших результатов, представить их начальству и получить бонусы. По версии банка этот гражданин просто хотел присвоить деньги себе. Всего трейдеру было предъявлено обвинение по четырем статьям, среди которых было злоупотребление доверием и мошенничество. Жерар Кервьель управлял суммой в 50 миллиардов евро. Естественно, все это было незаконно.

Ральф Циоффи и Мэтью Таннин

Год: 2008

Примерные потери: 1,6 миллиарда долларов

Управляющие хедж-фондом Bear Stearns Циоффи и Таннин лгали инвесторам по поводу текущего состояния фонда, который в значительной степени ориентировался на ипотечные ценные бумаги (мягко говоря, не самые надежные на тот момент). При этом люди продолжали инвестировать в фонд, доверяя сведениям, которые доносили до аудитории управляющие Bear Stearns. На данный момент оба менеджеры обвиняются в сговоре и мошенничестве. Урон от их действий оценивается в 1,6 миллиарда долларов. И опять это мошенничеством имело место быть разоблаченным во время текущего кризиса.

(C)www.biztimes.ru

Пролистать наверх