IN 2021 year due to vulnerabilities, DeFi projects lost $680 million

According to The Block Research, in 2021 year, the total amount of funds stolen as a result of attacks on DeFi projects amounted to $680 million

IN 2021 year due to vulnerabilities, DeFi projects lost $680 million

DeFi protocols lost due to exploits and bugs $1,4 billion, but $760 million were returned. During the year, there was 70 DeFi exploits on four blockchain platforms. Projects based on Ethereum – 34 Attack, next are projects based on Binance Smart Chain – 25 Attacks. Polygon and Avalanche projects suffered from 3 And 2 attacks respectively.

34 attacks applied the flash credits option (these loans are taken and used for some activities, and are repaid in one transaction block, that is, the lender is confident in the return of his funds). As a result, flash loan amounts can be huge at low cost., which gives hackers the ability to borrow large amounts and maximize the damage from such attacks.

DeFi protocol xToken was hacked in May. Hacker used flash credit to obtain 61 800 ETH ($270 million) and as a result of system vulnerability got $24,5 million.

3 from 5 the biggest hacks are related to Poly Network, which in total lost $611 million (although then the funds were returned). Another major loss related to the Compound project, which, due to a bug, issued COMP tokens in the amount of $114 million (returned only half). At the end of last month, Cream Finance lost $130 million also due to a large flash loan.

The above data does not include exit scams and other types of fraud, but only the exploits of the DeFi protocols are taken into account.

  The cryptanalyst thinks, that December will be a bullish month
Scroll to Top

В 2021 году из-за уязвимостей DeFi-проекты потеряли $680 миллионов

Согласно данным The Block Research, в 2021 году общая сумма украденных в результате атак на DeFi-проекты средств составила $680 миллионов

В 2021 году из-за уязвимостей DeFi-проекты потеряли $680 миллионов

Из-за эксплойтов и багов DeFi-протоколы потеряли $1,4 миллиарда, но $760 миллионов были возвращены. В течение года произошло 70 эксплойтов DeFi на четырех блокчейн-платформах. Больше всего пострадали проекты на базе Ethereum — 34 атаки, далее идут проекты на основе Binance Smart Chain — 25 атак. Проекты на базе Polygon и Avalanche пострадали от 3 и 2 атак соответственно.

34 атаки применили вариант с флэш-кредитами (эти кредиты берутся и используются для некоторых действий, причем погашаются в одном транзакционном блоке, то есть кредитор уверен в возврате своих средств). В результате суммы флэш-кредитов могут достигать огромных размеров при невысоких затратах, что дает хакерам возможность занимать большие суммы и максимизировать ущерб от таких атак.

В мае был взломан DeFi-протокол xToken. Хакер использовал флэш-кредит для получения 61 800 ETH ($270 миллионов) и в результате уязвимости системы заполучил $24,5 миллиона.

3 из 5 крупнейших взломов связаны с Poly Network, которая в общей сложности потеряла $611 миллионов (хотя затем средства были возвращены). Еще одна крупная потеря связана с проектом Compound, который из-за бага выпустил токены COMP на сумму $114 миллионов (вернули только половину). В конце прошлого месяца Cream Finance потерял $130 миллионов также из-за крупного флэш-кредита.

Вышеуказанные данные не включают в себя экзит-скамы и другие виды мошенничества, а учитывают только эксплойты DeFi-протоколов.

  Смотрим на Ethereum (ETH) и Ripple (XRP)
Пролистать наверх