Urok 22 profil pribyliubytka po kuplennomu opcionu call 9c8764f урок 22. Профиль прибыли/убытка по купленному опциону call

LESSON 22. PROFILE OF PROFIT / LOSS FOR PURCHASED CALL OPTION

Risk / reward ratio

As we already know, risk option buyers limited by premium, and potential no profit.

When buying a Call option, our profit is not limited in the event of an increase in the price of the underlying asset (futures).

When buying a Put option, our profit is not limited in the event of a decrease in the price of the underlying asset (futures).

For this reason most newbies start their work on the market with the purchase of options - the risk is limited, potential profit no.

Why, at all, sell options? We will return to this question later., but for now, same, like most novice traders, let's start by buying options.

Why is it needed?

Actually i don't use purchase (as, however, and sale) individual options in their trade. I use separate option strategies, which include both purchased, and sold options.

In fact, individual options are elements (elementary cubes) for more complex option strategies. No matter how complex strategy we trade, it is always a combination of purchased and (or) sold options.

Therefore, interpret the profit / loss profile of these positions, understand the risks of buying options and be able to manage a position from purchased Call or Put options – an extremely important preparation stage for the implementation of more complex strategies in the market.

Buying a Call Option

Let's take a look at schedule exchange rate of the US dollar to the Russian ruble. Let's admit, it's the end of summer 2016 of the year, the last couple of years, from autumn to the end of the year, the US dollar has strengthened strongly against the Russian ruble.

for example, we expect this trend in the current 2016 year. Let's admit, current futures price - 66 948 rubles. In anticipation of the growth of the underlying asset, we decided buy option Call the most liquid center strike 67 000 by price 2 197 rubles.

Урок 22. Профиль прибыли/убытка по купленному опциону call

LESSON 22. PROFILE OF PROFIT / LOSS FOR PURCHASED CALL OPTION

Let's draw the risk profile of this position now..

Remembering, what on the axis X (who forgot the school mathematics course is the horizontal axis) - BA price change, along the Y axis (vertical axis) - our financial result (profit or loss) by current position.

Vertical line - current price of the US dollar futures.

If BA decreases (below the current price), it will be unprofitable for us to exercise the option (ie. buy futures by 67 000), and our maximum loss at the expiration date is the premium of this option, ie. 2 197 rubles for any decrease in the BA price.

At the growth of BA the cost of the option will rise in price, and we will make a profit. But not for any height, and with growth above the so-called break-even points (point, where the graph crosses the horizontal line). The break-even point is that BA price, at which the cost of acquiring the option will pay off. Obviously, what we need, for futures to rise, at least by the amount of the strike + option premium (ie to 69 197 rubles).

Above this price we will have unlimited profit, which for expiration will linearly depend on, how much futures will rise.

As you can see, It is quite easy to build a Long Call position profile on your own. In fact, in practice, you will not do this., because. there is a specialized analytical toolkit (we'll talk about him later). He will do the job for you.. All these programs and services plot position charts for further analysis..

And what, if we buy a Call option of another strike, eg, 70 000?

Let the price of this option for today be 1 185 rubles.

LESSON 22. PROFILE OF PROFIT / LOSS FOR PURCHASED CALL OPTION

When finding a futures below 70 000 rubles at the expiration date we will not exercise the option and will lose the premium in the amount of 1 185 rubles. Breakeven point this position will be equal to the strike + premium = 71 185 rubles. With an increase in BA for expiration above 71 185 rubles we, as in the previous example, will have unlimited potential profit.

As we can see, when buying the second option, we have less risk(less premium paid), but also more distant from the current market break-even point.

The further we remove the strike of the purchased Call from the current BA price, the less our option costs and, respectively, lesion, but also less likely to cash outon the purchased option.

Scroll up

Urok 22 profil pribyliubytka po kuplennomu opcionu call 9c8764f урок 22. Профиль прибыли/убытка по купленному опциону call

УРОК 22. ПРОФИЛЬ ПРИБЫЛИ/УБЫТКА ПО КУПЛЕННОМУ ОПЦИОНУ CALL

Соотношение риск/прибыль

Как мы уже знаем, риск покупателей опционов ограничен размером премии, а потенциальная прибыль нет.

При покупке опциона Call наша прибыль не ограничена в случае повышения цены базового актива (фьючерса).

При покупке опциона Put наша прибыль не ограничена в случае снижения цены базового актива (фьючерса).

По этой причине большинство новичков начинают свою работу на рынке именно с покупки опционов – риск ограничен, потенциальная прибыль нет.

Зачем, вообще, продавать опционы? К этому вопросу мы еще вернемся, а пока, также, как и большинство начинающих трейдеров, начнем с покупки опционов.

Зачем это нужно?

На самом деле я не использую покупку (как, впрочем, и продажу) отдельных опционов в своей торговле. Я применяю отдельные опционные стратегии, которые включают в себя как купленные, так и проданные опционы.

По сути, отдельные опционы являются элементами (элементарными кубиками) для более сложных опционных стратегий. Какую бы сложную стратегию мы не торговали, она всегда является комбинацией купленных и (или) проданных опционов.

Поэтому интерпретировать профиль прибыли/убытка данных позиций, понимать риски покупки опционов и уметь управлять позицией из купленных Call или Putопционов – чрезвычайно важный этап подготовки для реализации более сложных стратегий на рынке.

Покупка опциона Call

Давайте посмотрим на график курса доллара США к российскому рублю. Допустим, сейчас конец лета 2016 года, последние пару лет с осени и до конца года доллар США сильно укреплялся к российскому рублю.

Например, мы ожидаем данной тенденции в текущем 2016 году. Допустим, текущая цена фьючерса – 66 948 рублей. В ожидании роста базового актива мы решили купить опцион Call самого ликвидного центрального страйка 67 000 по цене 2 197 рублей.

Урок 22. Профиль прибыли/убытка по купленному опциону call

УРОК 22. ПРОФИЛЬ ПРИБЫЛИ/УБЫТКА ПО КУПЛЕННОМУ ОПЦИОНУ CALL

Давайте сейчас нарисуем профиль риска данной позиции.

Вспоминаем, что по оси X (кто забыл школьный курс математики – это горизонтальная ось) – изменение цены БА, по оси Y (вертикальная ось) – наш финансовый результат (прибыль или убыток) по текущей позиции.

Вертикальная линия – текущая цена фьючерса на доллар США.

Если БА будет снижаться (ниже текущей цены), нам невыгодно будет исполнять опцион (т.е. покупать фьючерс по 67 000), и наш максимальный убыток на дату экспирации – это премия данного опциона, т.е. 2 197 рублей при любом снижении цены БА.

При росте БА стоимость опциона будет дорожать, и мы получим прибыль. Но не при любом росте, а при росте выше так называемой точки безубыточности (точке, где график пересекает горизонтальную линию). Точка безубыточности – это та цена БА, при которой затраты на приобретение опциона окупятся. Очевидно, что нам нужно, чтобы фьючерс вырос, как минимум на величину страйк + премия опциона (т.е до 69 197 рублей).

Выше этой цены мы будем иметь неограниченную прибыль, которая на экспирацию будет линейно зависеть от того, насколько сильно вырастет фьючерс.

Как видите, самостоятельно построить профиль позиции Long Call достаточно просто. На самом деле на практике вы не будете это делать, т.к. есть специализированный аналитический инструментарий (о нем мы поговорим позже). Он сделает эту работу за вас. Все эти программы и сервисы строят графики позиций для дальнейшего их анализа.

А что, если мы купим опцион Call другого страйка, например, 70 000?

Пусть цена данного опциона на сегодня составляет 1 185 рублей.

УРОК 22. ПРОФИЛЬ ПРИБЫЛИ/УБЫТКА ПО КУПЛЕННОМУ ОПЦИОНУ CALL

При нахождении фьючерса ниже 70 000 рублей на дату экспирации мы не будем исполнять опцион и потеряем премию в размере 1 185 рублей. Точка безубытка данной позиции будет равна страйк + премия = 71 185 рублей. При росте БА на экспирацию выше 71 185 рублей мы, как и в предыдущем примере, будем иметь неограниченную потенциальную прибыль.

Как видим, при покупке второго опциона мы имеем меньший риск(меньше уплаченная премия), но и более далекую от текущего рынка точку безубыточности.

Чем дальше мы будем удалять страйк купленного Call от текущей цены БА, чем меньше наши затраты на опцион и, соответственно, убыток, но и менее высокая вероятность выхода в деньгипо купленному опциону.

Пролистать наверх