Urok 20 nelinejnost opciona f744b32 урок 20. Нелинейность опциона

LESSON 20. NONLINEARITY OF OPTION

The first important difference between options is non-linear nature of the instrument.

Most newbies, usually, come to the options market from the world of line instruments (stocks or futures). On these instruments, the size of the profit is equal to the size of the loss with the same increase or decrease in the price.. A rise in the share price by 10 rubles will give us 10 rubles profit from one share, reduction for the same 10 rubles will give us a similar loss. Everything is simple and obvious here.

for example, we decided to buy 100 Sberbank shares (or one futures on these shares). We have a long market position, if the share price rises, we make money, if it goes down, we lose. Observe, no matter how much the price rises or falls in price, we still have the same 100 shares (or one futures) in the long.

It's easy enough to create a position in options, equivalent purchase 100 shares, but it won't be linear. When the stock price rises or falls, it can be as large 100 shares, and less than this amount:

  1. When the stock rises (futures) the option position will be equivalent to more shares (in this case more 100) and, respectively, bring us higher profits, than a line tool (100 stocks or one futures)
  2. With a decline in stock (futures) the option position will be equivalent to a smaller number of shares (in this case less 100) and, respectively, bring us less loss, than a line tool (100 stocks or one futures).

Wherein, notice, you do not have to buy additional shares when the market rises or reduce their number when the market goes down - everything happens by itself. Just withAma option position will get longer (equivalent to more shares) with market growth and less long (equivalent to fewer shares) market position at market decline.

Let's demonstrate this idea with a real market example..

We have two traders. Both believe in further growth of the dollar against the Russian ruble.

One of them buys 10 futures per US dollar to ruble (10 000$), let's say, by 64 000 rubles. Its position is 10 000$ (1 futures - 1 000$) with any rise or fall of the currency.

Урок 20. Нелинейность опциона

The second one at the same time creates an equivalent position in options, buying 20 Call options strike 64 000by price 900 rubles. This position (20 options with this strike) at the current BA price, it will be fully equivalent to the futures position of the first trader. Why? In the next posts there will be a definite answer to this question., for now, you can take my word for it!

Currently, the positions of both traders are equivalent 10 futures or 1 000$ USA.

Let's compare the financial results for these two positions. (futures and options) with the rise and fall of the dollar.

Let's say the exchange rate against the ruble TODAY (on the day of opening a position) becomes more expensive.

Growth of the dollar against the ruble

65 000 ФЧС = +1 000 rub. (or 10 000 rub.) OPC = 1 497 – 900 = +597 rub. (or 11 940 rub.)

66 000 ФЧС = +2 000 rub. (or 20 000 rub.) OPC = 2 244 – 900 = +1 344 rub. (or 26 880 rub.)

67 000 ФЧС = +3 000 rub. (or 30 000 rub.) OPC = 3 107 – 900 = +2 207 rub. (or 44 140 rub.)

68 000 ФЧС = +4 000 rub. (or 40 000 rub.) OPC = 4 041 – 900 = +3 141 rub. (or 62 820 rub.)

The superiority of options over a linear instrument is visible. Moreover, the more the exchange rate rises, the greater the difference in profit between options and futures portfolios. You may not believe and explain this effect., themes, that there were more options initially, than futures.

In this case, with a decrease in the exchange rate, the loss on options (due to their greater number) should be higher. Let's check if it's true or not.

Now let's say the exchange rate against the ruble TODAY (on the day of opening a position) cheaper.

The depreciation of the dollar against the ruble

63 000 ФЧС = -1 000 rub. (or – 10 000 rub.) OPC = 484 – 900 = -416 rub. (or -8 320 rub.)

62 000 ФЧС = -2 000 rub. (or -20 000 rub.) OPC = 225 – 900 = -675 rub. (or -13 500 rub.)

61 000 ФЧС = -3 000 rub. (or -30 000 rub.) OPC = 89 – 900 = -811 rub. (or -16 220 rub.)

60 000 ФЧС = -4 000 rub. (or -40 000 rub.) OPC = 29 – 900 = -871 rub. (or -17 420 rub.)

As we can see, and here the advantage of options is obvious. Options portfolio loses value to a lesser extent, than futures. Despite, that there were more options initially.

Let's compare charts profit and loss on these positions.

This graph illustrates the nonlinearity of the option in terms of profit and loss.

Scroll up

Urok 20 nelinejnost opciona f744b32 урок 20. Нелинейность опциона

УРОК 20. НЕЛИНЕЙНОСТЬ ОПЦИОНА

Первым важным отличием опционов является нелинейный характер инструмента.

Большинство новичков, как правило, приходят на рынок опционов из мира линейных инструментов (акций или фьючерсов). На этих инструментах размер прибыли равен размеру убытка при одинаковом росте или снижении цены. Рост цены акции на 10 рублей даст нам 10 рублей прибыли с одной акции, снижение на эти же 10 рублей даст нам аналогичный убыток. Здесь все просто и очевидно.

Например, мы решили купить 100 акций Сбербанка (или один фьючерс на эти акции). У нас длинная рыночная позиция, если цена акции растет, мы делаем деньги, если снижается – теряем. Заметьте, как бы сильно не подорожала или подешевела акция, у нас все те же 100 акций (или один фьючерс) в лонг.

В опционах достаточно легко создать позицию, эквивалентную покупке 100 акций, но она не будет линейной. При росте или снижении цены акции она может быть как больше 100 акций, так и меньше этого количества:

  1. При росте акции (фьючерса) опционная позиция будет эквивалентна большему количеству акций (в данном случае более 100) и, соответственно, приносить нам более высокую прибыль, чем линейный инструмент (100 акций или один фьючерс)
  2. При снижении акции (фьючерса) опционная позиция будет эквивалентна меньшему количеству акций (в данном случае менее 100) и, соответственно, приносить нам меньший убыток, чем линейный инструмент (100 акций или один фьючерс).

При этом, заметьте, вам не придется докупать акции при росте рынка или уменьшать их количество при снижении – все происходит само собой. Просто сама опционная позиция будет становиться более длинной (эквивалентной большему количеству акций) при росте рынка и менее длинной (эквивалентной меньшему количеству акций) рыночной позицией при снижении рынка.

Давайте продемонстрируем эту идею на реальном примере с рынка.

У нас есть два трейдера. Оба верят в дальнейший рост курса доллара к российскому рублю.

Один из них покупает 10 фьючерсов на доллар США к рублю (10 000$), допустим, по 64 000 рублей. Его позиция равна 10 000$ (1 фьючерс – 1 000$) при любом росте или снижении валюты.

Урок 20. Нелинейность опциона

Второй в это же время создает эквивалентную позицию в опционах, покупая 20 опционов Call страйка 64 000по цене 900 рублей. Данная позиция (20 опционов с данным страйком) при текущей цене БА будет полностью равнозначна фьючерсной позиции первого трейдера. Почему? В следующих постах будет однозначный ответ на этот вопрос, а пока можете поверить мне на слово!

В настоящее время позиции обоих трейдеров эквивалентны 10 фьючерсам или 1 000$ США.

Давайте сравним финансовые результаты по двум этим позициям (фьючерсной и опционной) при росте и снижении курса доллара.

Допустим курс валюты к рублю СЕГОДНЯ (в день открытия позиции) дорожает.

Рост курса доллара к рублю

65 000 ФЧС = +1 000 руб. (или 10 000 руб.) ОПЦ = 1 497 – 900 = +597 руб. (или 11 940 руб.)

66 000 ФЧС = +2 000 руб. (или 20 000 руб.) ОПЦ = 2 244 – 900 = +1 344 руб. (или 26 880 руб.)

67 000 ФЧС = +3 000 руб. (или 30 000 руб.) ОПЦ = 3 107 – 900 = +2 207 руб. (или 44 140 руб.)

68 000 ФЧС = +4 000 руб. (или 40 000 руб.) ОПЦ = 4 041 – 900 = +3 141 руб. (или 62 820 руб.)

Видно превосходство опционов перед линейным инструментом. Причем, чем больше дорожает курс валюты, тем больше разница в прибыли между портфелями опционов и фьючерсов. Вы можете не поверить и объяснить данный эффект, тем, что опционов изначально было больше, чем фьючерсов.

В этом случае при снижении курса валюты убыток по опционам (в силу их большего количества) должен быть выше. Давайте проверим так это или не так.

Теперь допустим курс валюты к рублю СЕГОДНЯ (в день открытия позиции) дешевеет.

Снижение курса доллара к рублю

63 000 ФЧС = -1 000 руб. (или – 10 000 руб.) ОПЦ = 484 – 900 = -416 руб. (или -8 320 руб.)

62 000 ФЧС = -2 000 руб. (или -20 000 руб.) ОПЦ = 225 – 900 = -675 руб. (или -13 500 руб.)

61 000 ФЧС = -3 000 руб. (или -30 000 руб.) ОПЦ = 89 – 900 = -811 руб. (или -16 220 руб.)

60 000 ФЧС = -4 000 руб. (или -40 000 руб.) ОПЦ = 29 – 900 = -871 руб. (или -17 420 руб.)

Как видим, и здесь преимущество опционов очевидно. Портфель опционов теряет стоимость в меньшей степени, чем фьючерсный. Несмотря на то, что опционов изначально было больше.

Давайте сравним графики прибыли и убытка по данным позициям.

Данный график и иллюстрирует нелинейность опциона в части прибыли и убытков

Пролистать наверх