Urok 19 vnutrennjaja i vremennaja stoimost opciona 9834824 урок 19. Внутренняя и временная стоимость опциона

LESSON 19. INTERNAL AND TIME COST OF OPTION

Prize (price) an option on the market consists of two components:

1. Intrinsic value option.

This is the amount, which we get, if a now we are experimenting option and close the position in the underlying asset at the current market price.

Example. Futures on an ordinary share of Sberbank costs 14 000 rub. и Long Call 13 500 (Bonus = 830 rub.). Intrinsic value = 500 rub.

In fact, this is difference between the current BA price and the option strike.

2. Time value option.

This is a kind of premium to the option price., due to the, that there is still some time before the expiration date, and the option does not expire today. Actually, some price of opportunity, which the option provides.

Time value = 330 rub. (830 – 500).

this is the difference between option premium (the price of the option on the market) and its intrinsic value.

Some Western traders have a concept volatile value, but we will not introduce it and will focus on the classic version.

It is important to understand two main points:

  • When the option expires, we get only intrinsic value (as in the example above - 500 rubles). If there is liquidity, it is profitable to close options in the order book.
  • The time value of an option decreases nonlinearly as the expiration date approaches. In this way, even if the intrinsic value of the option does not change (BA - const), then the option is still cheaper by the amount of the time component

Урок 19. Внутренняя и временная стоимость опциона

These concepts will help us in choosing the right strike and explain different liquidity for certain strikes of a specific option series.

In options trading intrinsic value matters. Since. intrinsic value is linear with an increase and decrease in BA, then, in fact, exactly the presence of time value in the option price and gives this instrument special properties.

Hence the conclusions:

1. ITM options have little time value (light weight) in the total option price. In fact, the deeper the option is in the money, the less its temporary cost and the more like a linear underlying asset (i.e. the corresponding futures). For this reason, there is practically no liquidity for these options. (or very low), because. easier to buy and sell futures (more liquid instrument).

There is no point in using these options in the overwhelming majority of cases..

2. OTM options have no intrinsic value (which is understandable - it is unprofitable to perform them). The entire value of a non-monetary option is intrinsic value.. It is important to understand, what, if the market does not overcome the strike of this option, then the final price of the expiration option will be equal to zero.

Can be used in trading if there is sufficient liquidity in the order book.

3. ATM options have maximum weight of time value in the option price and maximum nonlinearity. For this reason, they are the most liquid on the market. When the BA moves up or down from the current levels, the liquidity of these options will decrease.

Scroll up

Urok 19 vnutrennjaja i vremennaja stoimost opciona 9834824 урок 19. Внутренняя и временная стоимость опциона

УРОК 19. ВНУТРЕННЯЯ И ВРЕМЕННАЯ СТОИМОСТЬ ОПЦИОНА

Премия (цена) опциона на рынке состоит из двух составляющих:

1. Внутренней стоимости опциона.

Это сумма, которую мы получим, если сейчас экспирируем опцион и закроем позицию в базовом активе по текущей рыночной цене.

Пример. Фьючерс на обыкновенную акцию Сбербанка стоит 14 000 руб. и Long Call 13 500 (Премия = 830 руб.). Внутренняя стоимость = 500 руб.

По сути, это разница между текущей ценой БА и страйком опциона.

2. Временной стоимости опциона.

Это некая надбавка к цене опциона, обусловленная тем, что до даты экспирации еще есть какое-то время, и опцион не истекает сегодня. На самом деле, некая цена возможности, которую предоставляет опцион.

Временная стоимость = 330 руб. (830 – 500).

это разница между премией опциона (ценой опциона на рынке) и его внутренней стоимостью.

У некоторых западных трейдеров есть понятие волатильной стоимости, но мы не будем его вводить и остановимся на классическом варианте.

Важно понять два основных момента:

  • При экспирации опциона мы получаем только внутреннюю стоимость (как в примере выше – 500 рублей). При наличии ликвидности выгодно закрывать опционы в стакане.
  • Временная стоимость опциона нелинейно уменьшается при приближении даты экспирации. Таким образом, даже если внутренняя стоимость опциона не изменяется (БА – const), то опцион все равно дешевеет на величину временной составляющей

Урок 19. Внутренняя и временная стоимость опциона

Данные понятия помогут нам в правильном выборе страйка и объясняют разную ликвидность по тем или иным страйкам конкретной опционной серии.

В торговле опционами понятие внутренней стоимости имеет большое значение. Т.к. внутренняя стоимость линейно изменяется при росте и снижении БА, то, по сути, именно наличие временной стоимости в цене опциона и придает данному инструменту особые свойства.

Отсюда выводы:

1. Опционы ITM имеют малую величину временной стоимости (малый вес) в общей цене опциона. По сути, чем глубже опцион в деньгах, тем меньше его временная стоимость и тем больше он походит на линейный базовый актив (т.е соответствующий фьючерс). По этой причине ликвидность данных опционов практически отсутствует (или очень низка), т.к. проще купить-продать фьючерс (более ликвидный инструмент).

Данные опционы в подавляющем большинстве случаев использовать нет смысла.

2. Опционы OTM не имеют внутренней стоимости (что понятно – их невыгодно исполнять). Вся стоимость внеденежного опциона – это внутренняя стоимость. Важно понимать, что, если рынок не преодолеет страйк этого опциона, то итоговая цена опциона на экспирацию будет равна нулю.

Могут использоваться в торговле при наличии достаточной ликвидности в стакане.

3. Опционы ATM имеют максимальный вес временной стоимости в цене опциона и максимальную нелинейность. По этой причине являются наиболее ликвидными на рынке. При движении БА вверх или вниз от текущих уровней ликвидность данных опционов будет снижаться.

Пролистать наверх