Lawsuits and possible separation: investing in 3M

Судебные иски и возможное разделение: инвестируем в 3M

3M (NYSE: MMM) - American industrial conglomerate. The company is very inexpensive and gives good dividends. But litigation risks could destroy her.

When creating the material, sources were used, inaccessible to users from the Russian Federation. We hope, Do you know, what to do.

What do they earn

3M is a huge industrial conglomerate, engaged in the production of goods and the provision of services in very different industries: from the production of parts for displays and medical equipment to adhesive tape and stickers.

The company's annual report gives us a more or less complete picture of the structure of its revenue.

Security and Industry — 36,4%. Segment operating margin — 20,9% from its proceeds. By type of goods, the revenue of the entire company from this segment is divided as follows::

  1. Abrasives - 3,98%.
  2. Goods for the car market — 3,51%.
  3. Insulation and closure solutions - 2,92%.
  4. Work with power supply systems - 3,54%.
  5. Industrial coatings and films — 8,5%.
  6. Personal Security Solutions - 12,72%.
  7. Protective granules for roofs - 1,21%.
  8. Other - 0,02%.

Transport and electronics — 27,6%. Segment operating margin — 20,55% from its proceeds. By type of goods, the revenue of the entire company from this segment is divided as follows::

  1. Complex materials - 3,4%.
  2. Automotive & Aerospace — 5,25%.
  3. Commercial Solutions - 4,99%.
  4. Electronics - 11,35%.
  5. Transport Security - 2,59%.
  6. Other solutions for transport and electronics - 0,02%.

healthcare — 25,6%. Segment operating margin — 23,75% from its proceeds. By type of goods, the revenue of the entire company from this segment is divided as follows::

  1. Food Safety - 1,05%.
  2. Health Information Systems — 3,45%.
  3. Medical Solutions - 14,33%.
  4. Solutions for orthodontists and dentists - 4,03%.
  5. Solutions for chemical work in the field of medicine - 2,61%.
  6. Other - 0,13%.

Consumer segment — 16,6%. Segment operating margin — 21,31% from its proceeds. By type of goods, the revenue of the entire company from this segment is divided as follows::

  1. Consumer Health and Safety - 1,73%.
  2. Household chores - 3,1%.
  3. Home repairs - 7,42%.
  4. Goods for offices and other non-residential locations — 3,9%.
  5. Other - 0,45%.

The total amount is more 100%: from it it is necessary to subtract mutual settlements between segments.

Revenue by country and region:

  1. America - 51,2%. US share - 42,42% from the entire revenue of the company.
  2. Asian-Pacific area - 30%.
  3. Europe, Middle East and Africa - 18,8%.

Судебные иски и возможное разделение: инвестируем в 3M

Arguments in favor of the company

Strongly. Diversification and overall high level of development of 3M's business make it very stable. Don't expect crazy growth here., but different divisions of the company will balance each other - therefore, there is no need to be afraid of a strong fall either. The company as a whole survived the corona crisis with dignity. And this is a big plus in our turbulent times..

Dividends. The company pays 5,96 $ per share per year, what gives 3,99% per annum. This is a big profit, and this fact may well attract many lovers of passive income into the company's shares.

  Short-term System No. 4

Inexpensive. The company is relatively inexpensive: P / S she has 2,45, P / E — 14,8. 3M management forecasts for 2022 promise us results in terms of revenue and profit slightly higher, what was in 2021.

Combined with good dividends and the overall stability of the company's business, this could attract institutional investors into the stock.. This is an important point, because in absolute numbers 3M is not cheap: its capitalization is almost 85.1 billion.

Doesn't grow. Now 3M shares are significantly cheaper, how 5 years ago, although its operating results are much better. Understandably, that there are reasons for this - the lawsuits of the company. But, strictly speaking, their situation has been going on for years., and the company's business continues to function successfully.

In the current circumstances, an investor may appear, which will require decisive action from 3M management, aimed at improving the situation of shareholders. For example, increase in dividends - now the company spends about 58,89% from your profit. This is a lot, but, given the good business performance and the unacceptable price situation, it would be possible to achieve an increase in payments - so that 80-90% of the profits are spent on them.

Судебные иски и возможное разделение: инвестируем в 3M

And 3M could split under pressure from an activist investor. Separately, its parts can grow much more vigorously., than a single 3M, so such an outcome would be a boon for its shareholders. The company already has quite a lot of experience in selling off its divisions.: she is so big, that it has a lot of divisions, which 3M management may consider non-core. And she can spend the money received from the sale on investments in more marginal segments..

3M may well sell off some of its divisions, without splitting the company as a whole, - for the sake of increasing marginality and as part of the cajoling of an investor-activist. Such an activist, maybe, even be able to put his people on the board of directors of 3M - and they will undertake the implementation of this reform program. This is a very likely option..

There is also such an option: as a compromise, 3M will begin to pay increased attention to software development, which is very popular among industrial companies. Is considered, that this contributes to the growth of the business margin and allows you to level the risks of "physical" businesses. This option can breathe new life into the company's quotes..

Biggest 3M Deals to Sell Its Assets, million dollars

Subdivision Buying company Transaction value
1997 National Advertising Company CBS Outdoor 1000
2017 Manufacture of cables for telecommunication companies Corning 900
2006 Manufacture of branded drugs Graceway Pharmaceuticals 875
2006 European pharmaceutical business of the company Honey 857
2016 Software and devices for verification Gemalto Holding 850
2019 Solutions for drug delivery systems Altaris Capital Partners 650
2006 Pharmaceutical business of the company in Asia Ironbridge Capital and Archer Capital 349
2019 Gas and fire detection systems Teledyne Technologies 230
2017 Electronic Surveillance Systems Apax Partners 200
2012 Development and delivery of solutions for Neomend surgery CR Bard 140
1999 Division of goods in the field of cardiovascular diseases Terumo 100
  Conservative part of the portfolio: ICD-12

What can get in the way

Here is such a Caulaincourt turns out. During its work, 3M has inherited no less than MMM. U.S. Army veterans are suing the company: according to their version, 3M supplied the army with defective earplugs, the use of which over time led to hearing loss and the development of tinnitus. Last week, a US court ruled against 3M and ruled, that the company would have to pay the two veterans $58 million.

In the United States, approximately 300,000 lawsuits have been filed against the company on this topic - of this mass, the courts have so far considered only a small part.: in 8 cases ruled in favor of the plaintiffs, in 5 cases - in favor of 3M, also in 8 cases, the courts refused to consider cases.

Assuming, that approximately the same ratio will be in the future, i.e 38% cases will be completed against 3M and will be ordered to pay compensation of approximately the same amount, then she can be prescribed compensation for a total of tens and hundreds of billions of dollars.

Understandably, that 3M will sue, seeking to reduce the amount of compensation. AND, certainly, all these courts will drag on for a very long time. But the consequences of this lawsuit could be devastating for the company..

Parallel to this, another case is underway regarding the poisoning of harmful environmental chemicals around 3M manufacturing plants in Belgium.. The company plans to spend approximately 167 million to eliminate the negative consequences of its activities, but independent analysts estimate the amount of possible spending in the range from 10 up to 30 billion. For understanding: 3M's annual revenue is just under $6 billion.

Both cases pose a big threat to 3M. And the situation with earplugs in general can bury the company. The presence of such a weight on the legs of 3M is a problem for its shareholders from several sides..

Firstly, this not only limits the company's potential for dividend increases, but also greatly increases the risk of their complete abolition.

Secondly, this severely limits the success potential of a hypothetical activist investor campaign. Gigantic threats of this kind cannot be corrected by any replacement of directors.. As Epicurus said in such cases, "bad is the philosopher's argument, that does not alleviate human suffering.".

At the same time, this fact increases the likelihood that, that 3M will be divided into parts. We have before our eyes a similar example of Johnson & Johnson(J&J). She has a large number of potential liabilities in the "asbestos case", and the company plans to get out of this situation by maneuvering, known as the "Texas Two-Wayer": spin off one division into a separate company, hang on it all current and potential consumer claims liabilities and let it go bankrupt.

  Overview of the Russian power generation industry

Actually, behind that J&J and is divided into parts. It seems to me, example J.&J may follow and 3M.

The problem is, that in the event of a company split, for example, on 4 part investors will receive shares, among other things, and issuer, whose quotes are very likely to fall by 99,999%, and its shares will be delisted. Or will the company go bankrupt even sooner?, which can completely nullify all the achievements of quotes of other issuers. I highly doubt that, that the problems with Belgium and earplugs will miraculously disappear by themselves.

Well, finally, we can't even predict, when and how will the situation with these litigations be resolved, - it will take a long time. However, for 3M shareholders, this is rather a plus: lawsuits can drag on for years. I'm sure, that 3M lawyers will make the most of the American judicial system and flood the court with appeals.

Logistics. The production and business of the company are scattered around the world., even though more than half of the employees and equipment are located in the USA. Means, its business will suffer from logistical costs and the rising cost of raw materials.

Not glued. The idea of ​​dividing the company into three issuers threatens to stumble over its organizational structure: all 3M divisions are powered by its single R&D department, where new products are developed and old ones are improved.

This is a very important point.: among industrial conglomerates, 3M is known for its huge spending on new product development. This is why the company may not be divided into different issuers: different operating units have the same source of strength - laboratories and test sites of a single 3M.

Accounting. The company has $31.995 billion in debt, of which 9.035 billion must be repaid within a year. Money at the disposal of 3M is not so insanely much: 4,564 billion in accounts plus 4.66 billion debts of counterparties. But, considering all the above circumstances, as well as the company's needs for investments in the renewal of fixed assets, she suddenly needs money, And she can cut payouts, what causes stocks to fall. It's a theoretical threat, but still it should be kept in mind.

Percentage of R&D of industrial conglomerates' revenue

Roper 8,07%
3M 5,84%
Honeywell 4,09%
Deere 3,6%
Emerson 2,66%
S&P 500, industry average 1,66%

8,07%

Resume

3M would make a great investment idea, but there are a couple of caveats. For example, litigation risks for tens and hundreds of billions of dollars.

In general, the company offers investors quite a lot.: good dividend yield, stable diversified business and, finally, its stock has good upside potential due to an imminent attack from an activist investor.

Scroll up

Судебные иски и возможное разделение: инвестируем в 3M

Судебные иски и возможное разделение: инвестируем в 3M

3M (NYSE: MMM) — американский промышленный конгломерат. Компания стоит очень недорого и дает хорошие дивиденды. Но судебные риски могут уничтожить ее.

При создании материала использовались источники, недоступные пользователям из РФ. Надеемся, вы знаете, что делать.

На чем зарабатывают

3M — это огромный промышленный конгломерат, занимающийся производством товаров и оказанием услуг в очень разных отраслях: от производства деталей для дисплеев и медицинской техники до скотча и стикеров.

Годовой отчет компании дает нам более-менее полное представление о структуре ее выручки.

Безопасность и промышленность — 36,4%. Операционная маржа сегмента — 20,9% от его выручки. По видам товаров выручка всей компании с этого сегмента делится так:

  1. Абразивные материалы — 3,98%.
  2. Товары для авторынка — 3,51%.
  3. Решения для изоляции и закрытия — 2,92%.
  4. Работа с системами электроснабжения — 3,54%.
  5. Промышленные покрытия и пленки — 8,5%.
  6. Решения для личной безопасности — 12,72%.
  7. Защитные гранулы для крыш — 1,21%.
  8. Другое — 0,02%.

Транспорт и электроника — 27,6%. Операционная маржа сегмента — 20,55% от его выручки. По видам товаров выручка всей компании с этого сегмента делится так:

  1. Сложные материалы — 3,4%.
  2. Автомобилестроение и аэрокосмическая отрасль — 5,25%.
  3. Коммерческие решения — 4,99%.
  4. Электроника — 11,35%.
  5. Безопасность транспорта — 2,59%.
  6. Другие решения для транспорта и электроники — 0,02%.

Здравоохранение — 25,6%. Операционная маржа сегмента — 23,75% от его выручки. По видам товаров выручка всей компании с этого сегмента делится так:

  1. Пищевая безопасность — 1,05%.
  2. Информационные системы в сфере здравоохранения — 3,45%.
  3. Медицинские решения — 14,33%.
  4. Решения для ортодонтов и стоматологов — 4,03%.
  5. Решения для химических работ в сфере медицины — 2,61%.
  6. Другое — 0,13%.

Потребительский сегмент — 16,6%. Операционная маржа сегмента — 21,31% от его выручки. По видам товаров выручка всей компании с этого сегмента делится так:

  1. Здоровье и безопасность потребителей — 1,73%.
  2. Работа по дому — 3,1%.
  3. Ремонт дома — 7,42%.
  4. Товары для офисов и других нежилых локаций — 3,9%.
  5. Другое — 0,45%.

Итоговая сумма получается больше 100%: из нее надо вычесть взаиморасчеты между сегментами.

Выручка по странам и регионам:

  1. Америки — 51,2%. Доля США — 42,42% от всей выручки компании.
  2. Азиатско-Тихоокеанский регион — 30%.
  3. Европа, Ближний Восток и Африка — 18,8%.

Судебные иски и возможное разделение: инвестируем в 3M

Аргументы в пользу компании

Крепко. Диверсификация и в целом высокий уровень развития бизнеса 3M делают его весьма устойчивым. Безумного роста показателей тут ждать не стоит, но разные подразделения компании будут уравновешивать друг друга — потому и сильного падения тут бояться тоже не нужно. Компания в целом достойно пережила коронакризис. А это большой плюс в наши неспокойные времена.

Дивиденды. Компания платит 5,96 $ на акцию в год, что дает 3,99% годовых. Это немалая доходность, и этот факт вполне может привлечь в акции компании много любителей пассивного дохода.

  Акции Abbott и других производителей тестов на COVID-19 упали из-за снижения числа заболеваний

Недорого. Компания стоит относительно недорого: P / S у нее 2,45, P / E — 14,8. Прогнозы менеджмента 3M на 2022 обещают нам результаты по выручке и прибыли чуть выше, чем было в 2021.

В сочетании с хорошими дивидендами и общей стабильностью бизнеса компании это может привлечь в акции институциональных инвесторов. Это важный момент, поскольку в абсолютных числах 3M стоит недешево: ее капитализация составляет почти 85,1 млрд.

Не растет. Сейчас акции 3M стоят ощутимо дешевле, чем 5 лет назад, хотя ее операционные результаты стали гораздо лучше. Понятно, что тому есть причины — судебные иски компании. Но, строго говоря, ситуация с ними тянется годами, а бизнес компании продолжает успешно функционировать.

В текущих обстоятельствах может появиться инвестор, который будет требовать от менеджмента 3M решительных действий, направленных на улучшение положения акционеров. Например, увеличения дивидендов — сейчас компания тратит на эти цели около 58,89% от своей прибыли. Это немало, но, учитывая хорошие показатели бизнеса и неприемлемую ситуацию с котировками, можно было бы добиться увеличения выплат — чтобы на них тратилось 80—90% от прибыли.

Судебные иски и возможное разделение: инвестируем в 3M

А еще 3M может разделиться под давлением инвестора-активиста. По отдельности ее части могут расти гораздо бодрее, чем единая 3M, так что такой исход был бы благом для ее акционеров. У компании есть уже довольно большой опыт в части распродажи своих подразделений: она настолько большая, что у нее очень много подразделений, которые менеджмент 3M может счесть непрофильными. А полученные с продажи деньги она вполне может потратить на инвестиции в более маржинальных сегментах.

3M вполне может распродать часть своих подразделений, не дробя компанию в целом, — ради увеличения маржинальности и в рамках умасливания инвестора-активиста. Такой активист, возможно, даже сможет поставить своих людей в совете директоров 3M — и реализацию этой программы реформ предпримут именно они. Это очень вероятный вариант.

Есть и такой вариант: в качестве компромиссного варианта 3M начнет уделять повышенное внимание разработке ПО, что весьма популярно среди промышленных компаний. Считается, что это способствует росту маржи бизнеса и позволяет нивелировать риски «физических» бизнесов. Этот вариант может вдохнуть новую жизнь в котировки компании.

Самые крупные сделки 3M по продаже своих активов, млн долларов

Подразделение Компания-покупатель Стоимость сделки
1997 Национальная рекламная компания CBS Outdoor 1000
2017 Производство кабелей для телекоммуникационных компаний Corning 900
2006 Производство фирменных лекарств Graceway Pharmaceuticals 875
2006 Европейский фармацевтический бизнес компании Meda 857
2016 ПО и устройства для верификации Gemalto Holding 850
2019 Решения для систем введения лекарств Altaris Capital Partners 650
2006 Фармацевтический бизнес компании в Азии Ironbridge Capital and Archer Capital 349
2019 Системы обнаружения газа и огня Teledyne Technologies 230
2017 Системы электронного наблюдения Apax Partners 200
2012 Разработка и поставка решений для хирургии Neomend CR Bard 140
1999 Подразделение товаров в области сердечно-сосудистых заболеваний Terumo 100
  Скальпинг портфель

Что может помешать

Вот такой вот Коленкур получается. За время своей работы 3M наследила не меньше МММ. С компанией судятся ветераны армии США: по их версии, 3M поставляла армии дефектные беруши, использование которых со временем привело к потере слуха и развитию у них тиннитуса. На прошлой неделе суд в США принял решение не в пользу 3M и постановил, что компания должна будет выплатить двум ветеранам 58 млн долларов.

В США против компании подано примерно 300 тысяч исков по этой теме — из этой массы суды пока рассмотрели только небольшую часть: в 8 случаях приняли решение в пользу истцов, в 5 случаях — в пользу 3M, еще в 8 случаях суды отказали в рассмотрении дел.

Если предположить, что примерно такое же соотношение будет в дальнейшем, то есть 38% дел будет завершено не в пользу 3M и ей будет предписано платить компенсации примерно такого же размера, то ей могут предписать компенсаций в общей сложности на десятки и сотни миллиардов долларов.

Понятно, что 3M будет судиться, стремясь к снижению суммы компенсаций. И, конечно, тянуться все эти суды будут очень долго. Но последствия этого судебного процесса могут оказаться для компании разрушительными.

Параллельно идет другое разбирательство по поводу отравления вредной химией окружающей среды вокруг производственных предприятий 3M в Бельгии. Компания планирует потратить примерно 167 млн на ликвидацию негативных последствий своей деятельности, но независимые аналитики оценивают размер возможных трат в диапазоне от 10 до 30 млрд. Для понимания: итоговая прибыль 3M за год составляет чуть меньше 6 млрд.

Оба дела представляют большую опасность для 3M. А ситуация с берушами вообще может похоронить компанию. Наличие такой гирьки на ногах у 3M — проблема для ее акционеров с нескольких сторон.

Во-первых, это не просто ограничивает потенциал увеличения дивидендов компанией, но и сильно повышает риски их полной отмены.

Во-вторых, это существенно ограничивает потенциал успеха гипотетической кампании инвестора-активиста. Исполинские угрозы такого рода не сможет исправить никакая замена директоров. Как говорил в подобных случаях Эпикур, «плох тот аргумент философа, что не облегчает человеческих страданий».

В то же время этот факт увеличивает вероятность того, что 3M будет делиться на части. У нас есть перед глазами аналогичный пример Johnson & Johnson(J&J). У нее есть большое количество потенциальных обязательств по «асбестовому делу», и компания планирует выйти из этого положения путем маневра, известного как «техасская двухходовочка»: выделить одно подразделение в отдельную компанию, навесить на него все текущие и потенциальные обязательства по претензиям со стороны потребителей и позволить ему обанкротиться.

  Table brokers providing access to the Stock Exchange NYSE

Собственно, за этим J&J и делится на части. Как мне кажется, примеру J&J может последовать и 3M.

Проблема в том, что в случае разделения компании, например, на 4 части инвесторы получат акции, кроме прочего, и эмитента, котировки которого с очень высокой вероятностью упадут на 99,999%, и его акции подвергнутся делистингу. Или вообще такая компания обанкротится еще раньше, что может полностью обнулить все достижения котировок других эмитентов. Я сильно сомневаюсь в том, что проблемы с Бельгией и берушами чудесным образом исчезнут сами собой.

Ну и, наконец, мы не можем даже примерно предсказать, когда и как разрешится ситуация с этими судебными спорами, — тянуться это будет долго. Впрочем, для акционеров 3M это скорее плюс: ситуация с исками может тянуться годами. Я уверен, что юристы 3M будут по максимуму использовать возможности американской судебной системы и заваливать суд апелляциями.

Логистика. Производство и бизнес у компании раскиданы по всему миру, хоть в США находится больше половины сотрудников и оборудования. Значит, ее бизнес будет страдать от логистических издержек и роста стоимости сырья.

Не клеится. Идея разделения компании на трех эмитентов грозит споткнуться о ее организационную структуру: все подразделения 3M питаются от ее единого отдела НИОКР, где разрабатываются новые товары и совершенствуются старые.

Это очень важный момент: среди промышленных конгломератов 3M известна огромными тратами на разработку новой продукции. Уже поэтому компания может не разделиться на разных эмитентов: разные операционные подразделения имеют один и тот же источник силы — лаборатории и тестовые полигоны единой 3M.

Бухгалтерия. У компании задолженностей на 31,995 млрд долларов, из них 9,035 млрд нужно погасить в течение года. Денег в распоряжении 3M не так чтобы безумно много: 4,564 млрд на счетах плюс 4,66 млрд задолженностей контрагентов. Но, учитывая все перечисленные выше обстоятельства, а также потребности компании в инвестициях в обновление основных фондов, ей внезапно могут понадобиться деньги, и она может порезать выплаты, от чего акции могут упасть. Это теоретическая угроза, но все же ее следует иметь в виду.

Процент НИОКР от выручки промышленных конгломератов

Roper 8,07%
3M 5,84%
Honeywell 4,09%
Deere 3,6%
Emerson 2,66%
S&P 500, средний показатель по промышленности 1,66%

8,07%

Резюме

Из 3M вышла бы прекрасная инвестидея, но есть пара нюансов. Например, судебные риски на десятки и сотни миллиардов долларов.

А в общем компания предлагает инвесторам довольно многое: хорошую дивидендную доходность, стабильный диверсифицированный бизнес и, наконец, у ее акций хороший потенциал роста за счет напрашивающейся атаки со стороны инвестора-активиста.

Пролистать наверх