Robots, vacuum cleaners and robot vacuum cleaners: invest in iRobot

Роботы, пылесосы и роботы-пылесосы: инвестируем в iRobot

iRobot CorpIRBT57.90 $BuyService in partnership with Tinkoff Investments. Quotes are updated every 15 minutes

iRobot (NASDAQ: IRBT) is an American manufacturer of robots for the consumer sector. The company's shares fell sharply, but it has prospects. Although problems with production in China may adversely affect its reporting.

When creating the material, sources were used, inaccessible to users from the Russian Federation. We hope, Do you know, what to do.

What do they earn

iRobot designs and sells cleaning robots, as well as accessories for them, but third-party companies in China and Malaysia are engaged in production. iRobot also has Root robots to teach kids how to code, but their share in the revenue is so insignificant, what the company does not say, how much they occupy in the total sales structure.

According to the annual report, 89,39% the company's revenue comes from robotic vacuum cleaners, and 10,61% – robots for wet cleaning.

Revenue by country and region:

  • USA - 48,18%;
  • Europe, Middle East and Africa - 30,06%;
  • Japan - 14,23%;
  • other unnamed countries and regions — 7,53%.

Through direct sales, the company receives 12%, and 88% sales are made through retail chains.

Роботы, пылесосы и роботы-пылесосы: инвестируем в iRobot

Arguments in favor of the company

Something there about the uprising of the machines. The current situation in the US labor market in low-skilled areas may lead to a large-scale reception of the company's robots in America.

iRobots mainly do house cleaning. But, Firstly, no reason to count, that the corporate sector will not be able to take advantage of these robots. And secondly, the rise in the cost of labor in the United States, in principle, leads to an increase in the cost of the work of housekeepers, so the upper middle class may well start moving to robots en masse.

Роботы, пылесосы и роботы-пылесосы: инвестируем в iRobot

Position. The company has a huge market share in its niche of robotic vacuum cleaners.. At the same time, in absolute terms, it is very inexpensive.: capitalization of only 1.5 billion. Together, these circumstances make the company very attractive for a takeover by some consumer electronics manufacturer..

Logistics. Most of the company's manufacturing contractors are located in China and Malaysia. It has its own problems., but tactically there are positive moments: in these countries, the cost of production is still growing significantly more slowly, than in developed.

  my_trade @ 2010-12-16T15:37:00

This does not mean, that iRobot management can relax, - it’s just that the company’s costs may turn out to be somewhat lighter compared to those, whose production is located mainly in the USA and Europe.

Роботы, пылесосы и роботы-пылесосы: инвестируем в iRobot

Market share of sales of robot vacuum cleaners, as a percentage of the total

iRobot Other companies
North America 69% 31%
Europe, Middle East and Africa 43% 57%
Japan 66% 34%
A world without Taking Into Account China 53% 47%

What can get in the way

Concentration. According to company report, 21,8% all of its revenue comes from one unnamed retail chain. A review of the relationship with this customer could adversely affect its reporting.

Hello from Trump. Chinese-made robots subject to Trump-era tariffs 25%, which somewhat restrains the development of iRobot.

Not that. A significant part of the company's revenue comes from the premium segment - robots are more expensive 500 $. It's not good for the situation., when US consumer sentiment worsens, and therefore the sale of such equipment, as in iRobot, may start to fall.

Still, the logistics. Another outbreak of covid in China, combined with rising cost of raw materials in the world, threatens to spoil the company's reporting this half of the year.

Suffice it to say, that logistical problems and costs led iRobot to an operating loss in 2021: operating margin was −0.1% of revenue, Profit was generated only through non-core operations.. It is possible that these problems will worsen in the near future..

Роботы, пылесосы и роботы-пылесосы: инвестируем в iRobot

Роботы, пылесосы и роботы-пылесосы: инвестируем в iRobot

Resume

18 October 2021 I have already taken these shares for 83 $ for the purpose of selling 95 $ over the next 14 Months. However, everything turned out a little earlier.: share target price reached 16 days.

Rising costs and falling profitability of the company led to a strong drop in shares after that.: now they cost a little more 55 $. After the fall, the company is relatively inexpensive: P / S she has about 0,93.

But I'm afraid, that iRobot's logistical problems could negatively affect its reporting and lead to an even greater drop in quotes, and worsening consumer sentiment in the US looms over sales growth prospects. At the same time, in the long term, this company looks like a very interesting investment..

Scroll up

Роботы, пылесосы и роботы-пылесосы: инвестируем в iRobot

Роботы, пылесосы и роботы-пылесосы: инвестируем в iRobot

iRobot CorpIRBT57,90 $КупитьСервис в партнерстве с Тинькофф Инвестициями. Котировки обновляются раз в 15 минут

iRobot (NASDAQ: IRBT) — американский производитель роботов для потребительского сектора. Акции компании сильно упали, но у нее есть перспективы. Хотя проблемы с производством в Китае могут негативно сказаться на ее отчетности.

При создании материала использовались источники, недоступные пользователям из РФ. Надеемся, вы знаете, что делать.

На чем зарабатывают

iRobot проектирует и продает роботов для уборки, а также комплектующие для них, но производством занимаются сторонние компании в Китае и Малайзии. Еще у iRobot есть роботы Root для обучения детей кодированию, но их доля в выручке столь незначительна, что компания не говорит о том, сколько они занимают в общей структуре продаж.

Согласно годовому отчету, 89,39% выручки компании дают роботы-пылесосы, а 10,61% — роботы для влажной уборки.

Выручка компании по странам и регионам:

  • США — 48,18%;
  • Европа, Ближний Восток и Африка — 30,06%;
  • Япония — 14,23%;
  • другие неназванные страны и регионы — 7,53%.

Через прямые продажи компания получает 12%, а 88% продаж делается через розничные сети.

Роботы, пылесосы и роботы-пылесосы: инвестируем в iRobot

Аргументы в пользу компании

Что-то там про восстание машин. Текущая ситуация на рынке труда в США в низкоквалифицированных областях может привести к масштабной рецепции роботов компании в Америке.

Роботы iRobot в основном занимаются домашней уборкой. Но, во-первых, нет причин считать, что корпоративный сектор не сможет воспользоваться этими роботами. А во-вторых, рост стоимости труда в США в принципе приводит и к росту стоимости труда домработниц, так что верхушка среднего класса вполне может начать переход на роботов в массовом порядке.

Роботы, пылесосы и роботы-пылесосы: инвестируем в iRobot

Позиция. Компания занимает огромную долю рынка в своей нише роботов-пылесосов. При этом в абсолютных цифрах она стоит очень недорого: капитализация всего 1,5 млрд. В сумме эти обстоятельства делают компанию весьма привлекательной для поглощения каким-нибудь производителем потребительской электроники.

Логистика. Большая часть производственных подрядчиков компании находится в КНР и Малайзии. Тут есть свои проблемы, но в тактическом плане есть позитивные моменты: в этих странах себестоимость производства пока растет ощутимо медленнее, чем в развитых.

  N-able: как устроен бизнес компании, стоит ли инвестировать в акции

Это не значит, что менеджмент iRobot может расслабиться, — просто издержки компании могут оказаться несколько легче по сравнению с теми, у которых производство расположено в основном в США и Европе.

Роботы, пылесосы и роботы-пылесосы: инвестируем в iRobot

Доля рынка продаж роботов-пылесосов, в процентах от общего

iRobot Другие компании
Северная Америка 69% 31%
Европа, Ближний Восток и Африка 43% 57%
Япония 66% 34%
Мир без учета Китая 53% 47%

Что может помешать

Концентрация. Согласно отчету компании, 21,8% всей ее выручки приходится на одну неназванную розничную сеть. Пересмотр отношений с этим покупателем может негативно сказаться на ее отчетности.

Привет от Трампа. На произведенных в КНР роботов распространяются тарифы трамповской эпохи 25%, что несколько сдерживает развитие iRobot.

Не то. Значительная часть выручки компании приходится на премиумный сегмент — роботов дороже 500 $. Это не очень хорошо в ситуации, когда настроение потребителей в США ухудшается, и потому продажи такой техники, как у iRobot, могут начать падать.

И все-таки логистика. Очередная вспышка ковида в КНР в сочетании с ростом стоимости сырья в мире грозит попортить компании отчетность в этом полугодии.

Достаточно сказать, что логистические проблемы и издержки привели iRobot к операционному убытку по итогам 2021 года: операционная маржа составила −0,1% от выручки, прибыль же получилась только за счет непрофильных операций. Вполне возможно усугубление этих проблем в ближайшее время.

Роботы, пылесосы и роботы-пылесосы: инвестируем в iRobot

Роботы, пылесосы и роботы-пылесосы: инвестируем в iRobot

Резюме

18 октября 2021 года я уже брал эти акции за 83 $ c целью продать по 95 $ за следующие 14 месяцев. Однако все получилось несколько раньше: целевой цены акции достигли за 16 дней.

Рост издержек и падение прибыльности компании привели к сильному падению акций после этого: сейчас они стоят чуть больше 55 $. После падения компания стоит относительно недорого: P / S у нее около 0,93.

Но я боюсь, что логистические проблемы у iRobot могут негативно повлиять на ее отчетность и привести к еще большему падению котировок, а над перспективами роста продаж нависает ухудшение потребительских настроений в США. В то же время на долгосрочную перспективу эта компания выглядит как очень интересное вложение.

Пролистать наверх