Reddit applied for an initial public offering

Reddit подал заявку на первичное размещение акций

Last week, 15 December, online forum Reddit has applied for an IPO. The company did not disclose the number of shares to be offered and the price range. Here's what is known about Reddit today.

Accelerates "memorial" actions

Forum was founded in 2005 by Steve Huffman and Alexis Ohanian. The following year, Reddit joined Conde Nast Publications, the publisher of magazines like GQ and Vogue.. Reddit became an independent subsidiary in 2011.

media, dedicated to the stock market, began to frequently mention the forum since the beginning of 2021. Then Reddit users began to jointly buy shares of distressed companies like GameStop and AMC.. As a result, a short squeeze has occurred in stocks with a large number of short positions. In January, GameStop and AMC rose 1900 and 900%, but about traders from Reddit started talking on Wall Street.

Worth $ 10 billion

In recent years, the forum has attracted venture capital investments. In August 2021, the company invested $ 700 million, and her estimate was 10 billion. And this score is growing rapidly. Back in February, Reddit was estimated at just 6 billion, and at the beginning of 2019 - $ 3 billion.

Reddit VCs are Fidelity and Sequoia, Tencent and rapper Snoop Dogg.

Earns on advertising

Like other online sites, most of the money Reddit makes from advertising. Reddit is not a public company yet, and she doesn't publish her financial statements. According to her, in the second quarter, revenue increased by 192% and for the first time amounted to $ 100 million. By the end of this year, sales may double, up to 350 million dollars.

An approximate estimate of Reddit revenue was published by the Business of Apps project, who deals with application analytics. According to the site, Reddit is a loss-making company, which could report the first profit in 2022.

Reddit revenue estimate, million dollars

2014 8
2015 15
2016 25
2017 50
2018 80
2019 120
2020 170

8

Keeps growing

In 2020, when, due to quarantine, people began to spend more time online, activity on the forum has greatly increased. Compared to 2019, the number of daily active users increased by 44%, up to 52 million people. The number of posts and comments also grew by double digits.

  US Federal Reserve Policy: reasons for high inflation and CPI growth in 4,2%

Number of posts, million

2019 199 (+30%)
2020 303 (+52%)
2021 366 (+19%)

199 (+30%)

Number of comments, billion

2019 1,7 (+42%)
2020 2,0 (+19%)
2021 2,3 (+12%)

1,7 (+42%)

Scroll up

Reddit подал заявку на первичное размещение акций

Reddit подал заявку на первичное размещение акций

На прошлой неделе, 15 декабря, онлайн-форум Reddit подал заявку на IPO. Количество размещаемых акций и диапазон цен компания не назвала. Вот что известно о Reddit сегодня.

Разгоняет «мемные» акции

Форум в 2005 году основали Стив Хаффман и Алексис Оганян. В следующем году Reddit присоединился к Conde Nast Publications — издателю журналов вроде GQ и Vogue. В 2011 году Reddit стал независимой дочерней компанией.

СМИ, посвященные рынку акций, стали часто упоминать форум с начала 2021 года. Тогда пользователи Reddit начали сообща покупать акции проблемных компаний вроде GameStop и AMC. Как итог, в акциях с большим количеством коротких позиций произошел шорт-сквиз. В январе бумаги GameStop и AMC выросли на 1900 и 900%, а про трейдеров с Reddit заговорили на Уолл-стрит.

Стоит 10 млрд долларов

В последние годы форум привлекал венчурные инвестиции. В августе 2021 года в компанию вложили 700 млн долларов, а ее оценка составила 10 млрд. И эта оценка быстро растет. Еще в феврале Reddit оценивали всего в 6 млрд, а в начале 2019 года — в 3 млрд долларов.

Одни из венчурных инвесторов Reddit — фонды Fidelity и Sequoia, компания Tencent и рэпер Снуп Догг.

Зарабатывает на рекламе

Как и прочие онлайн-площадки, большую часть денег Reddit зарабатывает на рекламе. Reddit — пока непубличная компания, и она не публикует свои финансовые отчеты. По ее словам, во втором квартале выручка выросла на 192% и впервые составила 100 млн долларов. По итогам этого года продажи могут увеличиться вдвое, до 350 млн долларов.

Примерную оценку выручки Reddit опубликовал проект Business of Apps, который занимается аналитикой приложений. По данным сайта, Reddit — это убыточная компания, которая может сообщить о первой прибыли в 2022 году.

Оценка выручки Reddit, млн долларов

2014 8
2015 15
2016 25
2017 50
2018 80
2019 120
2020 170

8

Продолжает расти

В 2020 году, когда из-за карантина люди начали проводить больше времени в сети, активность на форуме сильно выросла. Относительно 2019 года число ежедневно активных пользователей увеличилось на 44%, до 52 млн человек. Количество постов и комментариев также выросло двузначно.

  Пачка инвестновостей: китайские технологии, облачные сервисы и AT&T

Количество постов, млн

2019 199 (+30%)
2020 303 (+52%)
2021 366 (+19%)

199 (+30%)

Количество комментариев, млрд

2019 1,7 (+42%)
2020 2,0 (+19%)
2021 2,3 (+12%)

1,7 (+42%)

Пролистать наверх