Amazon operating profit halved, clean – doubled. How did that come about?

Операционная прибыль Amazon упала вдвое, чистая — вдвое выросла. Как так вышло

Company Amazon published results for the fourth quarter of 2021. The retailer once again announced rising operating costs, and also about successful investments in one of the manufacturers of electric cars.

Compared to Q4 2020:

  • total revenue — $137.4 billion (+9%);
  • operating profit — $3.5 billion (−50%);
  • net profit — 14.3 billion dollars (+98%).

Here's what impacted each of these financial numbers.

total revenues

Amazon's quarterly revenue for the first time in many years grew by less than 10%. And one of the reasons is the high base effect.. In 2020, the retailer made good money on the pandemic: then quarterly revenues grew by about 40%.

And here is how revenues in operating segments have changed:

  • North America - marketplace commissions, Amazon Prime subscriptions, advertising and other in North America - $82.4 billion (+9%);
  • International - all the same, but in other countries - 37.3 billion dollars (−1%);
  • Amazon Web Services - cloud service - $17.8 billion (+40%).

As before, the main driver of sales growth was the AWS cloud business. The company also saw an increase in advertising revenue., which have increased by 32%, up to $9.7 billion. It's at the level of Google — 33% — and much better, than Meta 20%. Both companies also reported this week.

According to Amazon, in the first quarter of 2022, total revenue will grow by about 6%, up to 112-117 billion dollars. This is below analysts' expectations of $120 billion..

Operating profit

Due to supply disruptions and rising labor and logistics costs, Amazon's operating profit has halved, with 7 to $3.5 billion. The company warned about this last quarter..

Operating profit of each segment:

  • North America - $0.2 billion;
  • International - $1.6 billion;
  • Amazon Web Services - $5.3 billion.

Same as last quarter, the main business of the company showed a loss, and all operating profit came from cloud AWS. According to Amazon, in the first quarter of 2022, operating profit will be from 3 up to $ 6 billion - against $ 9 billion a year earlier.

Net profit

Like the operating room, Amazon net profit should have decreased by several tens of percent. But profits have risen, and twice, because the company sold Rivian papers at a profit. This automaker with investments from Amazon and Ford held an IPO 10 November 2021. It was the non-operating component that accounted for a large share of Amazon's profit - approximately 11.5 of $ 14.3 billion.

  Investidea: Vuzix, because it complements reality

What about stocks

At the postmarket, Amazon securities have grown by 14%, to 3172 $. Such dynamics are difficult to explain., as the company's revenue growth continued to slow, retail business in a pandemic also shows a loss, and the profit from the sale of shares is only a one-time item. apparently, investors decided to close their eyes to all this and focus on AWS, which still pulls the whole company.

Операционная прибыль Amazon упала вдвое, чистая — вдвое выросла. Как так вышло

Scroll up

Операционная прибыль Amazon упала вдвое, чистая — вдвое выросла. Как так вышло

Операционная прибыль Amazon упала вдвое, чистая — вдвое выросла. Как так вышло

Компания Amazon опубликовала результаты за четвертый квартал 2021 года. Ретейлер в очередной раз заявил о растущих операционных затратах, а еще — об успешных инвестициях в одного из производителей электрокаров.

По сравнению с четвертым кварталом 2020 года:

  • общая выручка — 137,4 млрд долларов (+9%);
  • операционная прибыль — 3,5 млрд долларов (−50%);
  • чистая прибыль — 14,3 млрд долларов (+98%).

Вот что повлияло на каждый из этих финансовых показателей.

Общая выручка

Квартальная выручка Amazon впервые за много лет выросла меньше чем на 10%. И одна из причин — эффект высокой базы. В 2020 году ретейлер хорошо заработал на пандемии: тогда квартальные доходы росли примерно на 40%.

А вот как изменились доходы в операционных сегментах:

  • North America — комиссии маркетплейса, подписки Amazon Prime, реклама и прочее в Северной Америке — 82,4 млрд долларов (+9%);
  • International — все то же самое, но в остальных странах — 37,3 млрд долларов (−1%);
  • Amazon Web Services — облачный сервис — 17,8 млрд долларов (+40%).

Как и прежде, главным драйвером роста продаж стал облачный бизнес AWS. А еще компания отметила рост доходов от рекламы, которые увеличились на 32%, до 9,7 млрд долларов. Это на уровне Google — 33% — и намного лучше, чем у Meta — 20%. Обе компании также отчитались на этой неделе.

По прогнозам Amazon, в первом квартале 2022 года общая выручка вырастет примерно на 6%, до 112—117 млрд долларов. Это ниже ожиданий аналитиков в 120 млрд долларов.

Операционная прибыль

Из-за сбоев в поставках и растущих расходов на рабочую силу и логистику операционная прибыль Amazon упала в два раза, с 7 до 3,5 млрд долларов. Об этом компания предупреждала еще в прошлом квартале.

Операционная прибыль каждого из сегментов:

  • North America — −0,2 млрд долларов;
  • International — −1,6 млрд долларов;
  • Amazon Web Services — 5,3 млрд долларов.

Как и в прошлом квартале, основной бизнес компании показал убыток, а вся операционная прибыль пришлась на облачный AWS. По прогнозам Amazon, в первом квартале 2022 года операционная прибыль составит от 3 до 6 млрд долларов — против 9 млрд долларов годом ранее.

Чистая прибыль

Как и операционная, чистая прибыль Amazon должна была уменьшиться на несколько десятков процентов. Но прибыль выросла, причем вдвое, потому что компания продала с прибылью бумаги Rivian. Этот автопроизводитель с инвестициями от Amazon и Ford провел IPO 10 ноября 2021 года. Именно на неоперационную составляющую пришлась большая доля прибыли Amazon — примерно 11,5 из 14,3 млрд долларов.

  Финансовые результаты «Ростелекома» за 9 месяцев: рекорд по выручке и прибыли

Что с акциями

На постмаркете бумаги Amazon подросли на 14%, до 3172 $. Такую динамику сложно объяснить, так как рост выручки компании продолжил замедляться, ретейл-бизнес в условиях пандемии также показывает убыток, а прибыль от продажи акций — лишь разовая статья. Видимо, инвесторы решили закрыть на все это глаза и сосредоточиться на AWS, который по-прежнему тянет всю компанию.

Операционная прибыль Amazon упала вдвое, чистая — вдвое выросла. Как так вышло

Пролистать наверх