Xiaomi review: how the company's business works and why it is worth investing in it

Обзор Xiaomi: как устроен бизнес компании и почему в нее стоит инвестировать

Xiaomi review: how the company's business works and why it is worth investing in it

Xiaomi review: how the company's business works and why it is worth investing in it

Xiaomi181012.88 HKDBuyService in partnership with Tinkoff Investments. Quotes are updated every 15 minutes

history of the company

Xiaomi Corporation was founded in April 2010 by Lei Jun and his partners, and 9 July 2018 became public, by listing its shares on the Hong Kong Stock Exchange under the ticker 1810.

At first, the company was engaged in the development of an operating system based on Android - MIUI. The production of the first smartphone of the company was announced a year and a half after its foundation - in August 2011. It was Xiaomi Phone Mi-One, sales launch of which was successful: for the first day of sales, the company collected 300 thousand pre-orders.

In 2013, Smart-TV appeared in the product line. In 2014, humidifiers appeared, tablets, routers, Xiaomi set-top boxes and the legendary Mi Band fitness bracelets. To count products across the device and accessory lineup, you and your pet will not have enough fingers, but the main market for the company is still the smartphone market.

According to the results of the first quarter of 2022, Xiaomi remains in the top three in the global smartphone market with a share 12,6%. In China, Xiaomi ranks fifth in the market with a share 13,9%.

Xiaomi review: how the company's business works and why it is worth investing in it

The company has also created the world's leading consumer AIoT platform – artificial intelligence plus the Internet of Things., — to which according to the results 1 in the quarter of 2022, 478 million smart devices were connected, except smartphones, tablets and laptops. Xiaomi products are presented in more than 100 countries.

In August 2021, the company was included in the Fortune Global list for the third time. 500, taking 338th place and rising to 84 places compared to 2020.

What do they earn

According to the company's annual report, the business consists of four main divisions:

  1. Smartphones — 63,6% proceeds. In this segment, the company produces and sells smartphones under the brands Xiaomi and Redmi. Segment margin — 9,9%.
  2. Internet of Things and Products for Life — 25,9% proceeds. In this segment, the company produces and sells TVs, air conditioners, washing machines, humidifiers, vacuum cleaners and other household appliances, as well as tablets, laptops and wearables: headphones and fitness bracelets. Segment margin — 15,6%.
  3. Internet services — 8,6% proceeds. In this segment, the company earns on advertising, sale of shell for SmartTV, games and content creation with partners in streaming. Segment margin — 70,8%.
  4. Other - 1,9% proceeds. What exactly falls on this segment, the company does not disclose. Segment margin — 22%.
  What is CanSlim

Revenue by region:

  1. China - 50,2%.
  2. The rest of the world - 49,8%. As the company says, the main share in this part falls on India and Europe, but it does not give a more detailed distribution..

Xiaomi review: how the company's business works and why it is worth investing in it

Arguments in favor of companies

Ecosystem and 5G. Smartphones account for 63,6% company revenue. The share of 5G devices among new smartphones sold will grow from the current one 53 to 78% by 2026 and will exceed a billion devices per year. This will help maintain high sales growth rates..

Xiaomi review: how the company's business works and why it is worth investing in it

Xiaomi implements smartphone × AIoT strategy, which is built on the basis of the ecosystem of a smart home and interconnected devices. The launch of 5G networks will improve the quality and speed of interaction between devices, what should spur sales.

The number of Internet-connected devices will double by 2025 from the current 12.3 to 27 billion devices. The number of devices in the Xiaomi ecosystem for 2021 increased by 36,2% — up to 478 million.

Xiaomi review: how the company's business works and why it is worth investing in it

There is room for growth. The level of penetration of smartphones in developed countries exceeds 75%, but Xiaomi's main markets are China and India, where smartphones are used 63 And 32% population respectively. Sales growth in these regions will outpace global growth.

In 2021, Xiaomi sold 190 million smartphones, and it's on 30% more, than a year earlier. At the same time, the global smartphone market is growing at a pace 6% in year, and in India, faster — 10,5% in year.

Smartphone penetration rate, million people

Smartphone usersPercentage of population
China91263%
India43932%
USA27082%
Indonesia16059%
Brazil10951%
Russia10069%
Japan7660%
Mexico7054%
Germany6578%
Vietnam6163%
United Kingdom5479%
Bangladesh5332%
Iran5363%
Turkey5262%
France5178%
Italy4676%
Philippines4138%
Pakistan4118%
South Korea3977%
Thailand3854%

Electric cars. In March 2021, Xiaomi announced the launch of a division for the production of electric vehicles and plans to spend $ 10 billion on its development in the following 10 years. In November, the company went further and announced the construction of a plant in Beijing.. The plant is due to open in 2024 and will produce 300,000 cars a year..

The electric car market is huge, and it will grow into 10 over again 15 years, and China will lead in this growth.. According to Bloomberg Electric Vehicles Outlook, in China, electric vehicles will account for 19% all sales of passenger cars - against 14% in Europe and 11% in USA.

  Gazprom's dividends for 2021 year will not be paid: shareholders did not approve them at the annual meeting

If Xiaomi will be able to gain a foothold in this market, this will have a positive impact on financial results.

Xiaomi review: how the company's business works and why it is worth investing in it

What can get in the way

Slowing growth in the smartphone market. 63,6% the company's revenue falls on the smartphone market. Xiaomi is moving towards business diversification. From 2019 to 2021, the share of revenue in the smartphone market fell from 86 to 78,9%, but it's still very much, and problems in the sector will affect the company's business.

According to the Worldwide Quarterly Mobile Phone Tracker forecast, smartphone shipments will be reduced by 3,5% — to 1.31 billion units — in 2022. But in 2023, the market will return to growth and will grow by 1,9% annual until 2026. The driver of growth in this case will be smartphones with support for 5G technologies, and if the company manages to maintain market share and adapt to this transition, then the change of technologies will be painless for the business.

R&D & Marketing. Xiaomi spends a lot on research and development. In 2021, the R&D budget grew by 42,3% — up to 13.2 billion yuan — 4% annual revenue. In the following 5 the company plans to spend 100 billion on research and development.

Marketing spending for 2021 increased by 44% — up to 20.9 billion yuan, or 6,3% annual revenue.

The problem with such expenses is, that their effectiveness is not immediately apparent, and the bottom line results can disappoint shareholders. But hope is inspired by the fact that, how quickly Xiaomi has grown from the creator of the operating system into one of the largest manufacturers of smartphones and consumer electronics in the world.

Problems in India. In April 2022, India confiscated the assets of the Xiaomi division for $ 725 million for violating the country's currency legislation. Xiaomi representatives deny the allegations, because the confiscated payment was intended for the parent company Xiaomi in China and did not violate any prohibitions.

Previously, India banned the use of applications of Chinese companies due to concerns, that they threaten the national security and defense of the country. Among the banned applications were Xiaomi applications. Xiaomi's share in the Indian smartphone market — 23%.

If India continues to nightmare Chinese business, this will have a bad effect on Xiaomi's business in this country, and India is one of Xiaomi's main markets with the highest growth potential.

Resume

In comparison with the main competitors in the smartphone market, Xiaomi has no advantageous differences. Assessment of the future P / E slightly lower compared to Apple, revenue growth rates for 2021 are the same, but the margins of the business are noticeably lagging behind.

  BS

Comparison with competitors

AppleSamsungXiaomi
Capitalization, billion dollars301,142313,1941,72
Market share24%18,2%12,6%
Forecast P / E823,318,1
Total margin14%25,7%3,37%
Debt / EBITDA0,20,81,5
Revenue growth for 2021 year18%33%33%

Overall, I like Xiaomi's business and its development strategy., so I would buy shares in a portfolio. The company focuses on promising sectors, and if it can implement a strategy to reduce the share of smartphones in the business structure, then it will make it more stable and efficient.

The immediate target in Xiaomi shares is the level of 17.5 HKD, which corresponds to the growth on 30% from current levels. Long-term goal – level 30 HKD, or growth potential on 120% from the current price of 13.4 HKD.

News, which concern investors, - in our telegram channel. Subscribe, to keep abreast of what's happening: @investnique.

Scroll to Top

Обзор Xiaomi: как устроен бизнес компании и почему в нее стоит инвестировать

Обзор Xiaomi: как устроен бизнес компании и почему в нее стоит инвестировать

Обзор Xiaomi: как устроен бизнес компании и почему в нее стоит инвестировать

Обзор Xiaomi: как устроен бизнес компании и почему в нее стоит инвестировать

Xiaomi181012,88 HKDКупитьСервис в партнерстве с Тинькофф Инвестициями. Котировки обновляются раз в 15 минут

История компании

Корпорация Xiaomi была основана в апреле 2010 года Лей Цзюнем и его партнерами, а 9 июля 2018 стала публичной, разместив свои акции на бирже Гонконга под тикером 1810.

Сначала компания занималась разработкой операционной системы на базе Android — MIUI. Производство первого смартфона компании анонсировали спустя полтора года после основания — в августе 2011. Им стал Xiaomi Phone Mi-One, запуск продаж которого оказался успешным: за первые сутки продаж компания собрала 300 тысяч предзаказов.

В 2013 в линейке продуктов появился Smart-TV. В 2014 появились увлажнители, планшеты, роутеры, ТВ-приставки Xiaomi и легендарные фитнес-браслеты Mi Band. Чтобы подсчитать продукты в линейке устройств и аксессуаров, не хватит пальцев у вас и вашего питомца, но главным рынком для компании по-прежнему остается рынок смартфонов.

По итогам первого квартала 2022 года Xiaomi остается в тройке лидеров на мировом рынке смартфонов с долей 12,6%. В Китае Xiaomi занимает пятое место на рынке с долей 13,9%.

Обзор Xiaomi: как устроен бизнес компании и почему в нее стоит инвестировать

Компания также создала ведущую в мире потребительскую платформу AIoT — искусственный интеллект плюс интернет вещей, — к которой по итогам 1 квартала 2022 года подключено 478 млн интеллектуальных устройств, за исключением смартфонов, планшетов и ноутбуков. Продукты Xiaomi представлены более чем в 100 странах.

В августе 2021 года компания в третий раз вошла в список Fortune Global 500, заняв 338-е место и поднявшись на 84 места по сравнению с 2020 годом.

На чем зарабатывают

Согласно годовому отчету компании, бизнес состоит из четырех основных подразделений:

  1. Смартфоны — 63,6% выручки. В этом сегменте компания производит и продает смартфоны под брендами Xiaomi и Redmi. Маржа сегмента — 9,9%.
  2. Интернет вещей и продукты для жизни — 25,9% выручки. В этом сегменте компания производит и продает телевизоры, кондиционеры, стиральные машины, увлажнители, пылесосы и другую бытовую технику, а также планшеты, ноутбуки и носимые устройства: наушники и фитнес-браслеты. Маржа сегмента — 15,6%.
  3. Интернет-услуги — 8,6% выручки. В этом сегменте компания зарабатывает на рекламе, продаже оболочки для SmartTV, играх и создании контента с партнерами в стриминге. Маржа сегмента — 70,8%.
  4. Другое — 1,9% выручки. Что именно приходится на этот сегмент, компания не раскрывает. Маржа сегмента — 22%.
  Инвестидея: TuSimple, так как довольно сложно

Выручка по регионам:

  1. Китай — 50,2%.
  2. Остальной мир — 49,8%. Как говорит компания, основная доля в этой части приходится на Индию и Европу, но более детального распределения она не дает.

Обзор Xiaomi: как устроен бизнес компании и почему в нее стоит инвестировать

Аргументы в пользу компаний

Экосистема и 5G. На долю смартфонов приходится 63,6% выручки компании. Доля 5G-устройств среди новых продаваемых смартфонов вырастет с текущих 53 до 78% к 2026 году и превысит миллиард устройств в год. Это поможет сохранить высокие темпы роста продаж.

Обзор Xiaomi: как устроен бизнес компании и почему в нее стоит инвестировать

В Xiaomi реализуют стратегию Smartphone × AIoT, которая строится на основе экосистемы умного дома и взаимосвязанных устройств. Запуск 5G-сетей улучшит качество и скорость взаимодействия между устройствами, что должно будет подстегнуть продажи.

Количество подключенных к интернету устройств удвоится к 2025 с текущих 12,3 до 27 млрд устройств. Количество устройств в экосистеме Xiaomi за 2021 год выросло на 36,2% — до 478 млн.

Обзор Xiaomi: как устроен бизнес компании и почему в нее стоит инвестировать

Есть простор для роста. Уровень проникновения смартфонов в развитых странах превышает 75%, но у Xiaomi главные рынки — Китай и Индия, где смартфонами пользуются 63 и 32% населения соответственно. Рост продаж в этих регионах будет опережать мировые темпы роста.

За 2021 год Xiaomi продала 190 млн смартфонов, и это на 30% больше, чем годом ранее. При этом глобальный рынок смартфонов растет темпами 6% в год, а в Индии быстрее — 10,5% в год.

Уровень проникновения смартфонов, млн человек

Пользователи смартфоновПроцент от населения
Китай91263%
Индия43932%
США27082%
Индонезия16059%
Бразилия10951%
Россия10069%
Япония7660%
Мексика7054%
Германия6578%
Вьетнам6163%
Великобритания5479%
Бангладеш5332%
Иран5363%
Турция5262%
Франция5178%
Италия4676%
Филиппины4138%
Пакистан4118%
Южная Корея3977%
Таиланд3854%

Электрокары. В марте 2021 года Xiaomi анонсировала запуск подразделения по производству электромобилей и планирует потратить на его развитие 10 млрд долларов в следующие 10 лет. В ноябре компания пошла дальше и сообщила о строительстве завода в Пекине. Завод должен открыться в 2024 году и будет производить 300 тысяч автомобилей в год.

Рынок электрокаров огромен, и он вырастет в 10 раз за следующие 15 лет, а Китай будет лидировать в этом росте. ​​Согласно отчету Bloomberg Electric Vehicles Outlook, в Китае на электромобили будет приходиться 19% всех продаж легковых автомобилей — против 14% в Европе и 11% в США.

  Баффетт купил акции Activision Blizzard на миллиард долларов незадолго до ее сделки с Microsoft

Если Xiaomi сможет закрепиться на этом рынке, это позитивно скажется на финансовых результатах.

Обзор Xiaomi: как устроен бизнес компании и почему в нее стоит инвестировать

Что может помешать

Замедление роста на рынке смартфонов. 63,6% выручки компании приходится на рынок смартфонов. Xiaomi движется к диверсификации бизнеса. С 2019 по 2021 доля выручки на рынке смартфонов упала с 86 до 78,9%, но это по-прежнему очень много, и проблемы в секторе будут влиять на бизнес компании.

Согласно прогнозу Worldwide Quarterly Mobile Phone Tracker, поставки смартфонов сократятся на 3,5% — до 1,31 млрд единиц — в 2022 году. Но в 2023 году рынок вернется к росту и будет расти на 1,9% годовых до 2026 года. Драйвером роста при этом станут смартфоны с поддержкой технологий 5G, и если компании удастся удержать долю рынка и адаптироваться под этот переход, то смена технологий пройдет для бизнеса безболезненно.

НИОКР и маркетинг. Xiaomi много тратит на исследования и разработки. В 2021 бюджет НИОКР вырос на 42,3% — до 13,2 млрд юаней — 4% годовой выручки. В следующие 5 лет компания планирует потратить 100 млрд на исследования и разработки.

Расходы на маркетинг за 2021 выросли на 44% — до 20,9 млрд юаней, или 6,3% годовой выручки.

Проблема подобных расходов в том, что их результативность проявляется не сразу, а итоговые результаты могут разочаровать акционеров. Но надежду вселяет то, как быстро Xiaomi выросла из создателя операционной системы в одного из крупнейших производителей смартфонов и потребительской электроники в мире.

Проблемы в Индии. В апреле 2022 Индия конфисковала активы подразделения Xiaomi на 725 млн долларов за нарушение валютного законодательства страны. Представители Xiaomi отрицают обвинения, потому что конфискованный платеж предназначался материнской компании Xiaomi в Китае и никаких запретов не нарушал.

Ранее Индия запретила использование приложений китайских компаний из-за опасений, что они угрожают национальной безопасности и обороне страны. В числе запрещенных приложений оказались и приложения Xiaomi. Доля Xiaomi на индийском рынке смартфонов — 23%.

Если Индия продолжит кошмарить китайский бизнес, это плохо скажется на бизнесе Xiaomi в этой стране, а Индия — один из главных рынков Xiaomi с самым высоким потенциалом роста.

Резюме

В сравнении с главными конкурентами по рынку смартфонов Xiaomi не имеет выгодных отличий. Оценка по будущему P / E немного ниже в сравнении с Apple, темпы роста выручки за 2021 год одинаковые, а вот маржинальность бизнеса заметно отстает.

  Пачка инвестновостей: вечная пандемия, кредиты по ESG, расширение Genuine Parts

Сравнение с конкурентами

AppleSamsungXiaomi
Капитализация, млрд долларов301,142313,1941,72
Доля рынка24%18,2%12,6%
Прогноз P / E823,318,1
Итоговая маржа14%25,7%3,37%
Debt / EBITDA0,20,81,5
Рост выручки за 2021 год18%33%33%

В целом мне нравится бизнес Xiaomi и стратегия ее развития, поэтому я бы купил акции в портфель. У компании фокус на перспективные секторы, и если она сможет реализовать стратегию по снижению доли смартфонов в структуре бизнеса, то это сделает его стабильнее и эффективнее.

Ближайшая цель в акциях Xiaomi — уровень 17,5 HKD, что соответствует росту на 30% от текущих уровней. Долгосрочная цель — уровень 30 HKD, или потенциал роста на 120% от текущей цены в 13,4 HKD.

Новости, которые касаются инвесторов, — в нашем телеграм-канале. Подписывайтесь, чтобы быть в курсе происходящего: @investnique.

Пролистать наверх