Total Energies SE Review: invest in oil and gas

Обзор Total Energies SE: инвестируем в нефть и газ

Total Energies SE Review: invest in oil and gas

Total Energies SE Review: invest in oil and gas

TotalEnergies SETTE51.17 $BuyService in partnership with Tinkoff Investments. Quotes are updated every 15 minutes

Scope of the company

Total Energies SE (NYSE: TTE) is a global multi-energy company, which is engaged in reconnaissance, Prey, processing and sale of oil and gas, and also produces petrochemical products. Total Energies also operates in the renewable energy sector, VIE.

Basic facts about the company:

  • Total has offices in 130 countries, and is currently the fourth largest multi-energy company in the world;
  • it is one of the ten largest oil refining companies in the world;
  • Total and its subsidiaries employ more than 98,000 people.

Total supplies raw materials to refineries, charters ships and trades in various derivatives markets. The company serves consumers in transport, automotive, Aerospace, energy, housing and manufacturing industries.

Total Energies conducts its main operations in Europe, Asia and the Pacific, Africa, in the Middle East, and in North and Central America. Total is headquartered in Courbevoie, in France.

TTE sales for 2021 by region

Europe, except France42%
France21%
North America11%
Africa10%
The rest of the world16%

42%

history of the company

Total was created in 1924 under the name Compagnie Française des Pétroles on the initiative of Raymond Poincaré, then President of the Council of France. Poincaré appointed Ernest Mercier as the head of the company, entrusting it with the mission of making Total one of the largest players in the French oil market.

The activities of the Compagnie Française des Pétroles have developed rapidly, and in 1929 the company was listed on the stock exchange. It wasn't until 1954 that the Total brand appeared.. Since the mid-1980s, the company has opened its first gas stations in France.. At the same time, the company develops patronage and sponsorship activities., especially in motorsport and Formula 1.

Since 1999, the Total Group has continued its development after the acquisition of the Belgian company Petrofina, which gave rise to the Total Fina brand. A year later, the band acquired Elf Aquitaine., and in 2003 was renamed Total SA. Thanks to this merger, the company has established itself as one of the leading French groups in terms of turnover..

  Best Dividend Company in the Stock Market

In 2021, the company showed impressive financial results and achieved significant efficiency gains in key segments..

Revenue segments

2021 vs 2020Percentage of adjusted EBITDA for 2021
Oil refining and chemistry×3,348%
Marketing & Services44%6,5%
Gas and renewable energy sources×10,937%
Exploration and production×3,38,5%

Rates of growth, billion dollars

2018201920202021
Revenue184176119184
Revenue growth rate23,49%−4,35%−32,39%54,62%
Net profit11,411,2−7,216
Operating profit18,316,64,123,3

The company's financial flows remained stable all the time, except for the 2020 oil crisis. But thanks to the lifting of coronavirus restrictions and the recovery of the market, the increase in net and operating profit in 2021 amounted to 43 and 40%, respectively.. The difference is all in 3% between these indicators means, that Total Energies does not incur additional transaction costs.

Valuation of the company by multipliers

CapitalizationP / EP / SP / BTotal debt / capitalTotal margin
Total Energies132,63 billion8,600,71,230,588,72%
Industry average13,31,511,520,522,49%
Average company performance in history13,230,751,220,485,36%

Current Total Energies multiples are below or well below industry average, as the company heavily increased debts as a result of falling oil prices in 2020, Besides, it has a considerable stake in Russian hydrocarbon production projects.

For example, Total Energies belongs to the order 19,4% shares of the Russian producer of liquefied natural gas "Novatek". At the moment, investors are looking at this negatively., as a company, maybe, will have to face a loss when withdrawing from these projects.

Financial Health, billion dollars

201920202021
Cash and cash equivalents313634
Total liabilities627764

Despite rising debts in 2020, Total Energies' financial position is stable. It coped with the difficulties and already in 2021 the obligations were reduced.. Now the debt multiplier / Total Energies' EBITDA is 1,59 against 2,43 by industry. Debts are confidently covered even with an increase in current costs for their servicing due to higher rates FED.

Market size and forecasts

Is planned, that the size of the global oil and gas exploration and production market in 2022 will be 5 trillion US dollars, it's on 27,5% more compared to 2021. The growth is mainly due to the fact that, that companies are rebuilding their operations and recovering from exposure to COVID-19.

  IPO SPB Exchange

Prospects and strengths of Total Energies

LNG market. Total Energies produces about 18 million tons of LNG per year. By 2026, the company plans to increase this figure to almost 30 million tons annually, and by 2030 it expects it to be at the level of 40 million tons. The company's forecast for the price of JKM was approximately 432 $ per ton of LNG.

But at the end of 2021, LNG prices soared to $ 2.5 thousand per ton.. Given that, that European consumers are in a hurry to get away from the supply of natural gas through pipes from the Russian Federation, LNG supplies from the United States and its own sources, such as Total Energies, will only increase. Assuming, that the company sells all of its annual products at these prices, this will result in a huge additional cash flow of over $30 billion..

Research and development in terms of business diversification. Total Energies improves its technology, to reduce carbon footprint and greenhouse gas emissions, and improve the efficiency of mining. The company increases capital expenditures to 14-15 billion dollars, wherein 50% costs will be used to increase capacities in terms of renewable energy sources to 16 gigawatt of total capacity.

Right now, this value is 10 Gigawatt, and by 2025, the company sets a goal to achieve already 35 Gigawatt. This will allow it to enter the top five largest producers of renewable energy sources..

Share buybacks and dividends. If average oil prices in 2022 do not fall below 80 $, which is almost guaranteed, taking into account the increase in demand and the fall in production in the Russian Federation, then operating cash flow will be approximately $27.5 billion. After deducting capital expenditures, $13 billion will remain. Now the company's dividends, taking into account the growth on 5% will make up 2,77 € per share and cost €8.3 billion a year.

After all the payments, Total Energies has almost 5 billion left. It means, that in the coming years, the company will have a lot of cash leverage to grow its dividend payments., increasing the share repurchase program or reducing debt. You don't need triple-digit oil prices to do that..

According to the company's statement, every increase in oil prices by 10 $ per barrel increases operating cash flow by $3.2 billion.

Risks of Total Energies

Large share of participation in Russian hydrocarbon production projects. As mentioned above, The French company is one of the largest oil investors in Russia. It owns the following assets:

  1. Investments in 19,4% shares of the Russian company "Novatek". In the past, Total Energies has consolidated Novatek at market value.
  2. share 20,02% in the joint venture "Yamal LNG".
  3. 10% Arctic LNG-2 shares, production of which was planned to increase next year.
  4. 58,89% shares of JV Terneftegaz, engaged in onshore gas production in Siberia.
  5. 20% participation in the onshore Kharyaga oil field.
  6 best trading recommendations on 2014 year from Goldman Sachs

Total Energies also has other various stakes in renewable energy projects and chemical companies in Russia.. This is the main reason, for which the company's quotes refuse to grow at a faster pace in the current favorable conditions. Abroad, it now carries image risks., Besides, it is possible, that in the event of the sale of its assets in these projects, Total Energies will have to make a good discount to new buyers.

Sector cyclicality. Worth remembering, that companies like Total Energies operate in a cyclical sector. This means, that oil and LNG prices will not always be at such high levels. It is necessary to conduct a predictive assessment of the company.

Investments in a new business for the production of renewable energy sources will not pay off until 2030. Another risk of Total Energies is that, that the company invests significant sums in new business. From 2021 to 2026, the planned amount of such investments is $ 15 billion. At the same time, the company does not expect positive free cash flow from them until 2030., demonstrating a long-term business plan, which may not be justified.

What's the bottom line?

Total Energies operates in five segments, income-generating. It's exploration and production.; gas, renewable energy and energy; oil refining and chemistry; Marketing & Services; corporate sector. The refining and chemicals segment is consistently the most profitable.

Given the trend towards the transition to renewable energy sources, current oil prices are unlikely to stay with us for a long time., despite the very long payback of green energy. But the company understands everything perfectly well and should take this into account - Total Energies seeks to diversify the business taking into account this trend..

Besides, Total Energies is also able to make the most of the current market conditions in the oil and LNG market., while having an attractive score on multipliers.

News, which concern investors, - in our telegram channel. Subscribe, to keep abreast of what's happening: @investnique.

Scroll to Top

Обзор Total Energies SE: инвестируем в нефть и газ

Обзор Total Energies SE: инвестируем в нефть и газ

Обзор Total Energies SE: инвестируем в нефть и газ

Обзор Total Energies SE: инвестируем в нефть и газ

TotalEnergies SETTE51,17 $КупитьСервис в партнерстве с Тинькофф Инвестициями. Котировки обновляются раз в 15 минут

Сфера деятельности компании

Total Energies SE (NYSE: TTE) — это глобальная мультиэнергетическая компания, которая занимается разведкой, добычей, переработкой и продажей нефти и газа, а также производит нефтехимические продукты. Total Energies работает и в секторе возобновляемых источников энергии, ВИЭ.

Основные факты о компании:

  • у Total есть представительства в 130 странах, и в настоящее время это четвертая по величине мультиэнергетическая компания в мире;
  • она входит в десятку крупнейших нефтеперерабатывающих компаний мира;
  • в Total и ее дочерних компаниях работает более 98 тысяч человек.

Total поставляет сырье на нефтеперерабатывающие заводы, фрахтует суда и занимается торговлей на различных рынках деривативов. Компания обслуживает потребителей в транспортной, автомобильной, аэрокосмической, энергетической, жилищной и производственной отраслях.

Основные операции Total Energies проводит в Европе, Азиатско-Тихоокеанском регионе, Африке, на Ближнем Востоке, а также в Северной и Центральной Америке. Штаб-квартира Total находится в городе Курбевуа, во Франции.

Продажи TTE за 2021 год по регионам

Европа, кроме Франции42%
Франция21%
Северная Америка11%
Африка10%
Остальной мир16%

42%

История компании

Total была создана в 1924 году под названием Compagnie Française des Pétroles по инициативе Раймона Пуанкаре, тогдашнего председателя Совета Франции. Главой компании Пуанкаре назначил Эрнеста Мерсье, возложив на него миссию сделать Total одним из крупнейших игроков на нефтяном рынке Франции.

Деятельность Compagnie Française des Pétroles развивалась быстрыми темпами, и в 1929 году компания была зарегистрирована на фондовой бирже. Только в 1954 году появился бренд Total. С середины 1980-х годов компания открыла свои первые заправочные станции во Франции. В то же время фирма развивает меценатскую и спонсорскую деятельность, особенно в автоспорте и «Формуле-1».

С 1999 года группа Total продолжает свое развитие после приобретения бельгийской компании Petrofina, что дало начало бренду Total Fina. Год спустя группа приобрела Elf Aquitaine, а в 2003 году была переименована в Total SA. Благодаря этому слиянию компания зарекомендовала себя как одна из ведущих французских групп по обороту.

  Отчет Alibaba: выручка растет, но инвесторы недовольны

В 2021 году компания показала впечатляющие финансовые результаты и добилась значительного прироста эффективности в ключевых сегментах.

Сегменты выручки

2021 vs 2020Процент от скорректированной EBITDA за 2021
Нефтепереработка и химия×3,348%
Маркетинг и услуги44%6,5%
Газ и возобновляемые источники энергии×10,937%
Разведка и добыча×3,38,5%

Темпы роста, млрд долларов

2018201920202021
Выручка184176119184
Темп роста выручки23,49%−4,35%−32,39%54,62%
Чистая прибыль11,411,2−7,216
Операционная прибыль18,316,64,123,3

Финансовые потоки компании все время оставались стабильными, за исключением нефтяного кризиса 2020 года. Зато благодаря снятию коронавирусных ограничений и восстановлению рынка прирост чистой и операционной прибыли в 2021 году составил 43 и 40% соответственно. Разница всего в 3% между этими показателями означает, что Total Energies не несет дополнительных операционных издержек.

Оценка компании по мультипликаторам

КапитализацияP / EP / SP / BОбщий долг / капиталИтоговая маржа
Total Energies132,63 млрд8,600,71,230,588,72%
Средний показатель по отрасли13,31,511,520,522,49%
Средний показатель компании в истории13,230,751,220,485,36%

Текущие мультипликаторы Total Energies ниже или значительно ниже среднеотраслевых, поскольку компания сильно нарастила долги в результате падения нефтяных цен в 2020 году, кроме того, у нее есть немалая доля в российских проектах по добыче углеводородов.

Например, Total Energies принадлежит порядка 19,4% акций российского производителя сжиженного природного газа «Новатэк». В настоящий момент инвесторы смотрят на это негативно, так как компании, возможно, придется столкнуться с убытком при выходе из этих проектов.

Финансовое здоровье, млрд долларов

201920202021
Денежные средства и их эквиваленты313634
Всего обязательств627764

Несмотря на рост долгов в 2020 году, финансовое положение Total Energies устойчиво. Она справилась с трудностями и уже в 2021 году обязательства были сокращены. Сейчас мультипликатор debt / EBITDA у Total Energies составляет 1,59 против 2,43 по отрасли. Долги уверенно покрыты даже с ростом текущих расходов на их обслуживание из-за повышения ставок ФРС.

Размер и прогнозы рынка

Планируется, что размер мирового рынка разведки и добычи нефти и газа в 2022 году составит 5 трлн долларов США, это на 27,5% больше по сравнению с 2021 годом. Рост в основном связан с тем, что компании перестраивают свою деятельность и восстанавливаются после воздействия COVID-19.

  Обзор Российского Рынка На 29 Апреля: В Фокусе Отчетность Mail.ru

Перспективы и сильные стороны Total Energies

Рынок СПГ. Total Energies производит около 18 миллионов тонн СПГ в год. К 2026 году компания планирует увеличить этот показатель почти до 30 миллионов тонн ежегодно, а к 2030 году ожидает его на уровне 40 миллионов тонн. Прогноз компании по цене JKM составлял примерно 432 $ за тонну СПГ.

Но в конце 2021 года цены на СПГ взлетели до 2,5 тысячи долларов за тонну. С учетом того, что европейские потребители спешат уйти от поставок природного газа по трубам из РФ, поставки СПГ из США и собственных источников, таких как Total Energies, будут только нарастать. Если предположить, что компания продает всю свою годовую продукцию по этим ценам, это приведет к огромному дополнительному денежному потоку в размере более 30 млрд долларов.

Исследования и разработки в части диверсификации бизнеса. Total Energies совершенствует свои технологии, чтобы уменьшить углеродный след и выбросы парниковых газов, а также повысить эффективность добычи ископаемых. Компания увеличивает капитальные затраты до 14—15 млрд долларов, при этом 50% затрат будут направлены на рост мощностей в части ВИЭ до 16 гигаватт общей мощности.

Сейчас это значение составляет 10 гигаватт, а к 2025 году компания ставит цель достигнуть уже 35 гигаватт. Это позволит ей войти в пятерку крупнейших производителей возобновляемых источников энергии.

Выкуп акций и дивиденды. Если средние цены на нефть в 2022 году не упадут ниже 80 $, что почти гарантировано с учетом повышения спроса и падения добычи в РФ, то операционный денежный поток составит около 27,5 млрд долларов. После вычета капитальных затрат останется 13 млрд долларов. Сейчас дивиденды компании с учетом роста на 5% будут составлять 2,77 € на акцию и обходиться в 8,3 млрд долларов в год.

После всех выплат у Total Energies остается почти 5 млрд. Это означает, что в ближайшие годы у компании будет большое денежное плечо для роста выплаты дивидендов, увеличения программы выкупа акций либо сокращения долга. Для этого совсем не нужны трехзначные цены на нефть.

Согласно заявлению компании каждое повышение цен на нефть на 10 $ за баррель увеличивает операционный денежный поток на 3,2 млрд долларов.

Риски Total Energies

Большая доля участия в российских проектах по добыче углеводородов. Как уже было сказано выше, французская компания — один из крупнейших нефтяных инвесторов в России. Она владеет следующими активами:

  1. Инвестиции в 19,4% акций российской компании «Новатэк». В прошлом Total Energies консолидировала «Новатэк» по рыночной стоимости.
  2. Доля 20,02% в совместном предприятии «Ямал СПГ».
  3. 10% акций «Арктик СПГ-2», производство которого планировалось увеличить в следующем году.
  4. 58,89% акций СП «Тернефтегаз», занимающегося добычей газа на суше в Сибири.
  5. 20% участия в сухопутном Харьягинском нефтяном месторождении.
  Ведущая Российская Компания Из Сектора Технологий «Яндекс» (Yndx Rx) Сегодня Опубликовала Финансовую Отчетность За 1 Квартал 2021 Г.

У Total Energies также есть и другие различные доли участия в проектах возобновляемых источников энергии и химических компаниях в России. Это и есть основная причина, по которой котировки компании отказываются расти опережающими темпами в текущих благоприятных условиях. За рубежом сейчас это несет имиджевые риски, кроме того, не исключено, что в случае продажи своих активов в этих проектах Total Energies придется делать хорошую скидку новым покупателям.

Цикличность сектора. Стоит помнить, что компании вроде Total Energies работают в цикличном секторе. Это значит, что цены на нефть и СПГ не всегда будут на столь высоких уровнях. Необходимо проводить прогнозную оценку компании.

Инвестиции в новый бизнес по выработке ВИЭ не окупятся до 2030 года. Еще один риск Total Energies заключается в том, что компания инвестирует значительные суммы в новый бизнес. С 2021 по 2026 год планируемая сумма таких инвестиций составляет 15 млрд долларов. При этом компания не ожидает положительного свободного денежного потока от них до 2030 года, демонстрируя долгосрочный бизнес-план, который может не оправдаться.

Что в итоге

Total Energies работает в пяти сегментах, приносящих доход. Это разведка и добыча; газ, возобновляемые источники энергии и энергетика; нефтепереработка и химия; маркетинг и услуги; корпоративный сектор. Сегмент «нефтепереработка и химия» неизменно самый прибыльный.

С учетом тренда на переход к ВИЭ нынешние цены на нефть вряд ли останутся с нами надолго, несмотря на очень длинную окупаемость зеленой энергии. Но компания все прекрасно понимает и должна учитывать это — Total Energies стремится диверсифицировать бизнес с учетом такого тренда.

Кроме этого, Total Energies также способна максимально извлечь прибыль из текущих рыночных условий на рынке нефти и СПГ, имея при этом привлекательную оценку по мультипликаторам.

Новости, которые касаются инвесторов, — в нашем телеграм-канале. Подписывайтесь, чтобы быть в курсе происходящего: @investnique.

Пролистать наверх