Tesla Review: whether to invest in another electric vehicle manufacturer

Tesla Review: whether to invest in another electric vehicle manufacturer

In 2020, the company's share price rose by almost 7 once: with 95 $ in January 2020 until 643 $ in December 2020.

Many investors believe, that this is a huge financial bubble and the company is waiting for a collapse. In this article I will tell, what risks and advantages Tesla has for investors and whether it is worth investing in the company after such growth.

I collected information from different sources – figures, charts, opinions of analysts and investors. And at the same time, she tried not to draw direct conclusions and take a neutral position..

Why electric cars are good for the environment

Internal combustion engines emit 90% all CO2 emissions. Electric vehicles do not directly emit CO2. When creating and operating electric vehicles there are harmful emissions, but about 55% less, than from gasoline cars. And if you actively use renewable energy sources in the production and charging, then emissions can be reduced to 70% compared to conventional cars. And the more renewable energy sources to use, the less exhaust will be.

Tesla Review: whether to invest in another electric vehicle manufacturer

Electric vehicles need powerful batteries. To date, such batteries consist of nickel, cobalt, aluminum, graphite. More 50% world production of lithium and cobalt goes to the production of batteries.

Mining can harm people and the environment. In order not to increase the production of these components, need to recycle them. If you recycle 95% batteries and optimize their chemical composition, The United States can provide 30-40% of the necessary materials by 2035. Now most of the batteries are produced in the Asia-Pacific region. USA exports raw materials for batteries or batteries themselves.

Precise battery composition affects durability, cost and power. As in all devices, car batteries have a limited lifespan. Over time, their performance decreases and the car can not go on a single charge for a long time..

Due to the development of technology for the production of batteries over the past 10 years, their average cost has decreased, a distance, which motorist can drive on a single charge, increased. Analysts predict, that the cost of batteries will continue to decline and electric cars will become more affordable. According to Wright's Law, when production is doubled, costs decrease. Therefore, the more electric vehicles, the cheaper their production.

  Folk fortune-telling according to the schedule based on folk signs.

Lithium, million metric tons

Chile51%
Australia16%
Argentina10%
China6%
USA4%
The rest of the world13%

51%

Cobalt, million metric tons

Democratic Republic of the Congo51%
Australia17%
Cuba7%
USA 50% in China and > 50% in the U.S. by 2030Volkswagen accelerates!
General MotorsAnnual sales1 million by 2025Corporate news
StellantisAnnual sales> 400 thousands in 2021Address from CEO Carlos Tavares (Presentation)
HondaShare of sales40% sales by 2030Honda Global CEO Inaugural Press Conference
Ford MotorsAnnual sales800 thousands by 2030Delivering Ford+ presentation
NissanAnnual sales> 1 million by 2023Corporate news
HyundaiAnnual sales1 million by 2025Hyundai Motor Group Chairman Calls Year 2021
RenaultAnnual sales30% sales by 2025Renaulution plan
DaimlerShare of sales25% sales by 2025
> 50% sales by 2030
Daimler Annual Report 2020
ThatAnnual sales560 thousands by 2026
880 thousands by 2030
2021 Kia CEO Investor Day
BMWCumulative sales2 million by the end of 2025

7 million by the end of 2030
2021 investor presentation
TeslaAnnual sales20 million by 2030Tesla Battery Day

Prices and battery power of existing electric vehicles

Number of miles on a single charge0—30 000 $30 000—40 000 $40 00—70 000 $70 000 $+
0—150Kandi K27, Kandi K23, Mini Cooper SE
150—250Nissan LeafHyundai IONIQ, Kia Niro EV, Chevrolet Bolt EUV, WORLD E6, Volkswagen ID 4, Fisker Ocean, Tesla CybertruckBMW I3, Jaguar I-Pace, Volvo XC 40, Volvo Polestar 2, Audi e-tron, Mercedes EQC, Tesla Model Y, Ford Mach-e, Lordstown Endurance, Volvo c40 Recharge
250+Chevrolet Bolt, Hyundai Kona, Tesla Model 3Nissan Ariya, Rivian RIT, Tesla Model S, Cadillac LYRIQ, Lucid Air, Atlis XTTesla Model X,
Rivian RIS, Hummer SUV, Audi e-tron GT

The number of premium electric vehicles sold in China in the first 6 months of 2021

Tesla Model 385 194
Tesla Model Y46 570
XPENG P719 366
NIO ES617 561
NIO EC614 740
NIO ES88802
BMW IX37330
Porshe Taycan3463
Mercedes EQC3149
Audi e-tron1475
  It all starts with a smile!

85 194

Key growth drivers for Tesla

New or increased tax breaks and incentives for buyers of electric vehicles in the United States - until the end of 2021.

Increase in production capacity up to 2 million vehicles after the start of the plant in Germany - the fourth quarter of 2021.

New models. Release of the new model of the electric car Cybertruck in the third and fourth quarter of 2023 – there are already more than 1.2 million pre-orders for this car. Release of the Tesla Semi electric truck before the end of 2022 – there are already more than 2,000 corporate pre-orders from Walmart for this car, Pepsi, FedEx, Sysco and others. Release of the budget Tesla Model 2 / A for 25 000 $ until the end of 2023. The appearance of the new Roadster model in 2022.

FSD. Increase sales and profitability by deploying FSD and providing FSDs to other car manufacturers.

Optimize batteries and infrastructure – increasing the range and reducing the price after the launch of its own electric battery plant. Providing Tesla charging stations to other EV brands could generate $ 25 billion in annual revenue.

Share capital increased from 10 billion to 25 billion, and the debt decreased from 8.5 billion to 4 billion. Operating lever means, that Tesla on existing production lines was able to increase production and thus reduce costs.

Stock Price Forecasts and Risks

Katie Wood predicts, that Tesla shares will be worth by 2025 4000 $ under the best of circumstances, 3000 $ with a neutral course of events and 1500 $ in the worst case scenario. Last time, even before the split, Katie was right in her predictions..

Analysts disagree. As of September 2021, after the release of the report for the second quarter, the average target price for the next six months to a year is 690 $. At the same time, twelve analysts advise buying, seven to sell and seven to hold stocks in the portfolio. Highest target price for analysts - 1200 $, the smallest - 150 $.

Main risks for shareholders:

  • growing competition from other automakers;
  • State Regulation in China – Restrictions, rule changes;
  • inflated expectations of investors and analysts;
  • investments in bitcoin – if it depreciates, the company is losing money;
  • Elon Musk's departure from the company;
  • violation of the terms and conditions of release;
  • FUD - media misrepresentation of Tesla, because the company does not have a PR department.
  US stock market news - NYSE, NASDAQ on 012.04.2017

Tesla capitalization significantly exceeds the number of cars sold.

What's the bottom line?

Tesla is not a bubble, a real and profitable company. It's not a pure car manufacturer — Tesla makes software and develops AI., therefore, comparing it only with automakers is inefficient.. Such a comparison may lead to false conclusions..

Except Tesla, there are other interesting manufacturers of electric vehicles. This industry will grow and expand in the coming 10 years. Also, investors may be interested in related industries., e.g. production and recycling of batteries or robotaxis.

Scroll to Top

Обзор Tesla: стоит ли инвестировать в другого производителя электромобилей

Обзор Tesla: стоит ли инвестировать в другого производителя электромобилей

В 2020 году цена акций компании выросла почти в 7 раз: с 95 $ в январе 2020 до 643 $ в декабре 2020 года.

Многие инвесторы считают, что это огромный финансовый пузырь и компанию ждет крах. В этой статье расскажу, какие риски и преимущества есть у Tesla для инвесторов и стоит ли вкладывать в компанию после такого роста.

Я собрала информацию из разных источников — цифры, графики, мнения аналитиков и инвесторов. И при этом постаралась не делать прямых выводов и занять нейтральную позицию.

Почему электромобили — это хорошо для экологии

Машины с двигателями внутреннего сгорания выделяют 90% всех выбросов CO2. Электромобили напрямую не выделяют CO2. При создании и эксплуатации электромобилей есть вредные выбросы, но примерно на 55% меньше, чем от бензиновых машин. А если активно использовать возобновляемые источники энергии при производстве и зарядке, то выбросы можно снизить до 70% по сравнению с обычными автомобилями. И чем больше возобновляемых источников энергии использовать, тем меньше будут выхлопы.

Обзор Tesla: стоит ли инвестировать в другого производителя электромобилей

Для работы электромобилей нужны мощные аккумуляторы. На сегодняшний день такие аккумуляторы состоят из никеля, кобальта, алюминия, графита. Более 50% мирового производства лития и кобальта уходит на производство аккумуляторов.

Добыча полезных ископаемых может вредить людям и окружающей среде. Чтобы не увеличивать добычу этих компонентов, нужна их переработка. Если перерабатывать 95% аккумуляторов и оптимизировать их химический состав, США может обеспечить 30—40% необходимых материалов к 2035 году. Сейчас большинство аккумуляторов производят в Азиатско-тихоокеанском регионе. США экспортируют сырье для аккумуляторов или сами аккумуляторы.

Точный состав батареи влияет на долговечность, стоимость и мощность. Как и во всех приборах, аккумуляторы автомобиля имеют ограниченный срок службы. Со временем их производительность снижается и автомобиль не может долго ехать на одной зарядке.

В связи с развитием технологий производства аккумуляторов за последние 10 лет их средняя стоимость уменьшилась, а расстояние, которое автомобилист может проехать на одной зарядке, увеличилось. Аналитики прогнозируют, что стоимость аккумуляторов будет снижаться и дальше и электромобили будут становиться доступнее. Согласно закону Райта, при удвоении производства издержки уменьшаются. Поэтому чем больше электромобилей, тем дешевле их производство.

  Обзор консолидированной финансовой отчетности НЛМК за 2021 год

Литий, млн метрических тонн

Чили51%
Австралия16%
Аргентина10%
Китай6%
США4%
Остальной мир13%

51%

Кобальт, млн метрических тонн

Демократическая Республика Конго51%
Австралия17%
Куба7%
США 50% в Китае и > 50% в США к 2030 годуVolkswagen accelerates!
General MotorsЕжегодные продажи1 млн к 2025 годуКорпоративные новости
StellantisЕжегодные продажи> 400 тысяч в 2021 годуAddress from CEO Carlos Tavares (Presentation)
HondaДоля продаж40% продаж к 2030 годуHonda Global CEO Inaugural Press Conference
Ford MotorsЕжегодные продажи800 тысяч к 2030 годуDelivering Ford+ presentation
NissanЕжегодные продажи> 1 млн к 2023 годуКорпоративные новости
HyundaiЕжегодные продажи1 млн к 2025 годуHyundai Motor Group Chairman Calls Year 2021
RenaultЕжегодные продажи30% продаж к 2025 годуRenaulution plan
DaimlerДоля продаж25% продаж к 2025 году
> 50% продаж к 2030 году
Daimler Annual Report 2020
KiaЕжегодные продажи560 тысяч к 2026 году
880 тысяч к 2030 году
2021 Kia CEO Investor Day
BMWСовокупные продажи2 млн к концу 2025 года

7 млн к концу 2030 года
2021 investor presentation
TeslaЕжегодные продажи20 млн к 2030 годуTesla Battery Day

Цены и мощность аккумулятора существующих электромобилей

Количество миль на одной зарядке0—30 000 $30 000—40 000 $40 00—70 000 $70 000 $+
0—150Kandi K27, Kandi K23, Mini Cooper SE
150—250Nissan LeafHyundai IONIQ, Kia Niro EV, Chevrolet Bolt EUV, BYD E6, Volkswagen ID 4, Fisker Ocean, Tesla CybertruckBMW I3, Jaguar I-Pace, Volvo XC 40, Volvo Polestar 2, Audi e-tron, Mercedes EQC, Tesla Model Y, Ford Mach-e, Lordstown Endurance, Volvo c40 Recharge
250+Chevrolet Bolt, Hyundai Kona, Tesla Model 3Nissan Ariya, Rivian RIT, Tesla Model S, Cadillac LYRIQ, Lucid Air, Atlis XTTesla Model X,
Rivian RIS, Hummer SUV, Audi e-tron GT

Количество проданных в Китае электроавтомобилей премиум-сегмента за первые 6 месяцев 2021 года

Tesla Model 385 194
Tesla Model Y46 570
XPENG P719 366
NIO ES617 561
NIO EC614 740
NIO ES88802
BMW IX37330
Porshe Taycan3463
Mercedes EQC3149
Audi e-tron1475
  ЧТО ТАКОЕ FDA APPROVAL?

85 194

Основные драйверы роста для Tesla

Новые или увеличенные налоговые льготы и поощрения для покупателей электромобилей в США — до конца 2021 года.

Увеличение производственной мощности до 2 млн автомобилей после начала работы завода в Германии — четвертый квартал 2021 года.

Новые модели. Выпуск новой модели электромобиля Cybertruck в третьем-четвертом квартале 2023 года — на этот автомобиль уже есть более 1,2 млн предзаказов. Выпуск электрогрузовика Tesla Semi до конца 2022 года — на этот автомобиль уже есть более 2000 корпоративных предзаказов от Walmart, Pepsi, FedEx, Sysco и других. Выпуск бюджетной Tesla Model 2/A за 25 000 $ до конца 2023 года. Появление новой модели Roadster в 2022 году.

FSD. Увеличение продаж и прибыльности за счет развертывания FSD и предоставления FSD другим производителям автомобилей.

Оптимизация аккумуляторных батарей и инфраструктуры — увеличение дальности и уменьшение цены после запуска собственного завода электробатарей. Предоставление зарядных станций Tesla другим маркам электромобилей может принести 25 млрд долларов годового дохода.

Акционерный капитал увеличился с 10 млрд до 25 млрд, а долг уменьшился с 8,5 млрд до 4 млрд. Операционный рычаг означает, что Tesla на существующих производственных линиях смогла увеличить производство и таким образом снизить себестоимость.

Прогнозы стоимости акций и риски

Кэти Вуд прогнозирует, что акции Tesla к 2025 году будут стоить 4000 $ при самом удачном стечении обстоятельств, 3000 $ при нейтральном развитии событий и 1500 $ при самом плохом раскладе. В прошлый раз еще до сплита Кэти была права в своих прогнозах.

Аналитики расходятся во мнениях. На сентябрь 2021 года, после выхода отчета за второй квартал, средняя целевая цена на ближайшие полгода-год составляет 690 $. При этом двенадцать аналитиков советуют покупать, семь — продавать и семь — держать акции в портфеле. Наибольшая целевая цена аналитиков — 1200 $, наименьшая — 150 $.

Основные риски для акционеров:

  • растущая конкуренция со стороны других автопроизводителей;
  • государственное регулирование в Китае — ограничения, изменения правил;
  • завышенные ожидания инвесторов и аналитиков;
  • вложения в биткоин — если он обесценивается, компания теряет деньги;
  • уход Илона Маска из компании;
  • нарушение сроков и условий выпуска;
  • FUD — искажение фактов о Tesla в СМИ, потому что в компании нет отдела PR.
  “whatever it takes”

Капитализация Tesla существенно превышает количество проданных автомобилей.

Что в итоге

Tesla не пузырь, а реально существующая и прибыльная компания. Это не чистый производитель автомобилей — Tesla производит ПО и занимается разработками в сфере ИИ, поэтому сравнивать ее только с автопроизводителями неэффективно. Такое сравнение может привести к ложным выводам.

Кроме Tesla, есть и другие интересные производители электромобилей. Эта отрасль будет расти и расширяться в ближайшие 10 лет. Также инвесторам могут быть интересны смежные отрасли, например производство и переработка аккумуляторов или роботакси.

Пролистать наверх