Royal Bank of Canada Review: new issuer from Canada on the St. Petersburg Stock Exchange

Royal Bank of Canada Review: new issuer from Canada on the St. Petersburg Stock Exchange

Royal Bank of Canada (NYSE: RY) is the largest Canadian bank with a market capitalization of more than 140 billion US dollars. The company operates in 34 countries, in addition to Canada and the United States, and serves more than 17 million customers.

About company

The Royal Bank of Canada is traded in US dollars on the St. Petersburg stock exchange, and the bank discloses its financial results in Canadian currency. To eliminate confusion, all data, presented in this review, were also converted at the average rate for the reporting periods into US dollars.

The company's activities are divided into five business segments:

  1. Personal and commercial banking in the total income of the bank takes 36%.
  2. Wealth Management - 27%.
  3. Capital Markets - 19%.
  4. Insurance - 14%.
  5. Investor and Treasury Services - 4%.

Personal and commercial banking. Provides a wide range of financial products and services to individuals and businesses to solve everyday banking, investment and financial tasks. Main products: deposit accounts for individuals, enterprises and other organizations, various forms of lending, certificates of deposit and all kinds of monetary transactions, such as withdrawing funds, replenishment of the account and others. Key segment data:

— total base — more than 14 million customers;

- for the last 90 days more than 7 million active users used Royal Bank of Canada digital communication channels;

– the activities of the current direction are carried out in Canada and in the USA together with the countries of the Caribbean.

In Canada, the bank occupies a leading position in terms of market share, and it also has the largest network of branches and the largest number of ATMs. In the total revenue of this segment, this country accounts for 95%: personal banking 72%, and commercial 23%. USA and Caribbean countries 5% in total income.

Royal Bank of Canada Review: new issuer from Canada on the St. Petersburg Stock Exchange

Wealth management. This is a global business, serving individual and institutional clients in key financial centers. The company offers a full range of investment, trust, banking, credit and other wealth management solutions.

Over 650 billion US dollars are managed by the bank, of which $215 billion is owned by institutional investors, more than 245 billion dollars - to wealthy individuals, and $190 billion to mutual funds.

Geographically, this division is divided into three parts. The first is the American office, occupies a share 51% in overall results. The second is the Canadian office, his share of everything 27%. And the third is an international office with 22% in overall results.

  Areas, warehouses and dividends: invest in Terreno Realty

Royal Bank of Canada Review: new issuer from Canada on the St. Petersburg Stock Exchange

Capital Markets. This segment offers investment products to corporations, institutional investors, asset managers, governments and central banks around the world. The company provides secured/unsecured lending services, municipal finance, fixed income, currencies and commodities, actions with shares and many other operations. Key segment data:

  • the total number of clients is more than 15.5 thousand, who are served in 14 countries;
  • lowest ROE = 11,7% compared to all other segments. Royal Bank of Canada Total ROE for 2020 - 14,2%;
  • Geographically, the business is divided into four parts: USA since 53% share in overall results, Canada - 27%, Europe - 15%, Australia and Asia — 6%.

Royal Bank of Canada Review: new issuer from Canada on the St. Petersburg Stock Exchange

Insurance. This division offers clients a wide range of life insurance advice and solutions., health, housing, cars, travel, welfare, as well as business insurance services. In addition to the Canadian branch, there is also an international, which mainly operates in the reinsurance and retrocession markets. Key segment data:

  • serves over 5 million clients;
  • the highest profitability 21,7% compared to all other segments. Royal Bank of Canada Total ROE for 2020 - 14,2%;
  • life and health insurance 51% in overall results, long-term investment funds with insurance (annuity and segregated fund deposits) — 47%, real estate insurance 2%.

Royal Bank of Canada Review: new issuer from Canada on the St. Petersburg Stock Exchange

Investor and Treasury Services. The current business provides various services to protect clients' assets, maximizing liquidity and risk management across jurisdictions. Key data:

  • smallest segment, which manages assets totaling USD 3.6 billion;
  • the division's revenues are geographically divided into four parts: North America - 38%, Europe without the UK 33%, United Kingdom — 16%, Asia - 13%.

Royal Bank of Canada Review: new issuer from Canada on the St. Petersburg Stock Exchange

Dividends

Royal Bank of Canada distributes about 40-50% of net profit to dividends, making payments four times a year - in each quarter. The Bank has been increasing its dividend payments in Canadian currency since 2011, but when viewed in US dollars, not everything is so beautiful. For example, payment for 2015 decreased compared to 2014 against the background of strong growth of the US currency.

Royal Bank of Canada Review: new issuer from Canada on the St. Petersburg Stock Exchange

Management view

About third quarter results 2021. “Royal Bank of Canada continued to deliver on its commitment to deliver long-term stability to our clients and shareholders this quarter.. Thanks to a diversified business and a disciplined approach to risk management, we managed to show strong results, which allowed the bank to make significant investments in its technological development. We remain cautiously optimistic about the macro outlook and are focused on supporting clients as the economy continues to recover.”, — Dave McKay, President Royal Bank of Canada.

  Bundle of investment news: Unilever, Kohl’s, Peloton and activists

ABOUT 2022. “We still see short-term global growth challenges, related to the coronavirus, inconsistent global vaccine introduction, disruption to supply chains, growing geopolitical risks and ongoing global travel restrictions. However, we are encouraged by the data, that we see on credit cards. And that means, that we are well positioned to leverage our scale and built-in business model across our core segments, to significantly increase profits in a more favorable economic scenario, which will include raising interest rates, higher credit card rates and growth in business lending", — Dave McKay, President Royal Bank of Canada.

On rising interest rates. "We expect, that the rise in short-term interest rates on 25 basis points would increase our net interest income from Canadian banks by 90 million, and income from asset management in the United States will add even more 80 million dollars in this scenario", — Rod Bolger, financial director.

About reserves. “The current increase in cases of the delta strain could affect the timing and pace of economic recovery and lead to, that outstanding loans will exceed our long-term average in 2022. However, we maintain sufficient reserves for the expected increase in delinquencies in 2022 and remain very positive about further progress in the economic recovery over the next 12-24 months.”, — Graham Hepworth, risk director.

Financial results

Royal Bank of Canada demonstrates strong financial performance, since 2016, they have been increasing annually by more than 6%. In 2020, the pandemic and quarantine restrictions could not stop growth for a long time, which, after a quarter of a fall, immediately returned to its previous pace.

Financial results for the last 6 years, billion dollars

Revenue Net profit Capital ROE
2016 28,448 7,707 52,605 16,3%
2017 31,284 8,791 56,792 17%
2018 32,751 9,538 61,432 17,6%
2019 34,850 9,742 63,275 16,8%
2020 36,293 8,794 66,665 14,2%
9м2021 29,238 9,527 76,975 19,6%

Comparison with competitors

P / E P / BV ROE
Royal Bank of Canada 11,72 1,87 19,6%
J. P. Morgan Chase 10,66 1,73 18%
Bank of America 13,89 1,31 14,3%
Morgan Stanley 14,03 1,74 13,8%
Wells Fargo & Company 12,94 0,98 13,6%
Citigroup 6,80 0,72 13%
  debt market EM

Arguments for

System-forming bank. Due to its size and large number of customers, Royal Bank of Canada has become an important bank for the Canadian financial system., which included it in a special list - Schedule I Bank. The list is used to classify only Canadian banks, that are not associated with foreign organizations. This classification should protect consumers and lead to the growth of the entire financial sector in Canada..

Strong business. Since 2016, Royal Bank of Canada has been profitable for its shareholders every quarter., on average, earning for the reporting period about 2.4 billion US dollars.

High profitability. Royal Bank of Canada outperforms leading US banks in terms of ROE. Over the past six years, the average return on equity for a Canadian company has been 17% versus 14-15% for American competitors.

Great dividend yield. Due to double-digit profitability and 50% distribution of Royal Bank of Canada net profit shows a high, as for a growing company, dividend yield in 3,4%.

Argument against

Appreciation. Historically, Royal Bank of Canada multiples are higher than those of leading US companies: P Morgan Chase, Bank of America, Morgan Stanley, Wells Fargo & Company and Citigroup.

What's the bottom line?

Royal Bank of Canada is a leading Canadian bank with high margins, strong business model and good dividend yield. The company may appeal to long-term investors, who need country-specific diversification of their portfolio.

The ideal moment to buy Royal Bank of Canada is the valuation at 1,5 capital or current 81,05 $. Why in 1,5, not in 1, as it was in the review about J. P. Morgan Chase? Because a Canadian bank hasn't been cheaper in a single quarter since 2016. 1 Capital, its minimum value P / BV = 1,11 was achieved in the first quarter of 2020.

Scroll to Top

Обзор Royal Bank of Canada: новый эмитент из Канады на СПб-бирже

Обзор Royal Bank of Canada: новый эмитент из Канады на СПб-бирже

Royal Bank of Canada (NYSE: RY) — это крупнейший канадский банк с рыночной капитализацией более 140 млрд американских долларов. Компания работает в 34 странах, помимо Канады и США, и обслуживает более 17 млн клиентов.

О компании

На СПб-бирже Royal Bank of Canada торгуется в американских долларах, а банк раскрывает свои финансовые результаты в канадской валюте. Для устранения путаницы все данные, представленные в этом обзоре, тоже были конвертированы по среднему курсу за отчетные периоды в доллары США.

Деятельность компании разбита на пять бизнес-сегментов:

  1. Личный и коммерческий банкинг в общем доходе банка занимает 36%.
  2. Управление благосостоянием — 27%.
  3. Рынки капитала — 19%.
  4. Страхование — 14%.
  5. Услуги для инвесторов и казначейства — 4%.

Личный и коммерческий банкинг. Предоставляет широкий набор финансовых продуктов и услуг частным лицам и предприятиям для решения повседневных банковских, инвестиционных и финансовых задач. Основные продукты: депозитные счета для физлиц, предприятий и других организаций, различные формы кредитования, депозитные сертификаты и всевозможные денежные операции, например снятие средств, пополнение счета и другие. Ключевые данные сегмента:

— общая база — более 14 млн клиентов;

— за последние 90 дней более 7 млн активных пользователей воспользовались цифровыми каналами связи Royal Bank of Canada;

— деятельность текущего направления осуществляется в Канаде и в США вместе со странами Карибского бассейна.

В Канаде банк занимает лидирующее место по доле рынка, а также у него самая большая сеть отделений и наибольшее количество банкоматов. В общей выручке данного сегмента на эту страну приходится 95%: личный банкинг — 72%, а коммерческий — 23%. США и страны Карибского бассейна занимают 5% в общем доходе.

Обзор Royal Bank of Canada: новый эмитент из Канады на СПб-бирже

Управление благосостоянием. Это глобальный бизнес, обслуживающий индивидуальных и институциональных клиентов в ключевых финансовых центрах. Компания предлагает полный набор инвестиционных, трастовых, банковских, кредитных и других решений для управления капиталом.

Более 650 млрд долларов США находятся под управлением банка, из которых 215 млрд долларов принадлежат институциональным инвесторам, более 245 млрд долларов — состоятельным физлицам, а 190 млрд долларов — взаимным фондам.

Географически данное подразделение делится на три части. Первая — американский офис, занимает долю 51% в общих результатах. Вторая — канадский офис, его доля всего 27%. И третья — международный офис с 22% в общих результатах.

  Дэвид Теппер - крупнейший удачливый инвестор

Обзор Royal Bank of Canada: новый эмитент из Канады на СПб-бирже

Рынки капитала. Данный сегмент предлагает инвестиционные продукты корпорациям, институциональным инвесторам, управляющим активами, правительствам и центральным банкам по всему миру. Компания оказывает услуги в области обеспеченного/необеспеченного кредитования, муниципальных финансов, фиксированных доходов, валют и сырьевых товаров, действий с акциями и многих других операций. Ключевые данные сегмента:

  • общее количество клиентов — более 15,5 тысячи, которых обслуживают в 14 странах;
  • самый низкий ROE = 11,7% в сравнении со всеми остальными сегментами. Общий ROE Royal Bank of Canada за 2020 год — 14,2%;
  • географически бизнес делится на четыре части: США с 53% долей в общих результатах, Канада — 27%, Европа — 15%, Австралия и Азия — 6%.

Обзор Royal Bank of Canada: новый эмитент из Канады на СПб-бирже

Страхование. Это подразделение предлагает клиентам широкий спектр консультаций и решений по вопросам страхования жизни, здоровья, жилья, автомобилей, путешествий, благосостояния, а также услуги по страхованию бизнеса. Помимо канадского отделения, существует еще международное, которое в основном работает на рынках перестрахования и ретроцессии. Ключевые данные сегмента:

  • обслуживает более 5 млн клиентов;
  • самая высокая рентабельность — 21,7% в сравнении со всеми остальными сегментами. Общий ROE Royal Bank of Canada за 2020 год — 14,2%;
  • страхование жизни и здоровья занимает 51% в общих результатах, долгосрочные инвестиционные фонды со страхованием (annuity and segregated fund deposits) — 47%, страхование недвижимости — 2%.

Обзор Royal Bank of Canada: новый эмитент из Канады на СПб-бирже

Услуги для инвесторов и казначейства. Текущее направление предоставляет различные услуги для защиты активов клиентов, максимального увеличения ликвидности и управления рисками в различных юрисдикциях. Ключевые данные:

  • самый небольшой сегмент, под управлением которого находятся активы на общую сумму 3,6 млрд долларов США;
  • доходы данного подразделения географически делятся на четыре части: Северная Америка — 38%, Европа без Великобритании — 33%, Великобритания — 16%, Азия — 13%.

Обзор Royal Bank of Canada: новый эмитент из Канады на СПб-бирже

Дивиденды

Royal Bank of Canada распределяет порядка 40—50% чистой прибыли на дивиденды, производя выплаты четыре раза в год — в каждом квартале. Банк с 2011 года увеличивает свои дивидендные выплаты в канадской валюте, но если смотреть в американских долларах, то не все так прекрасно. Например, выплата за 2015 год снизилась в сравнении с 2014 годом на фоне сильного роста американской валюты.

Обзор Royal Bank of Canada: новый эмитент из Канады на СПб-бирже

Взгляд менеджмента

О результатах за третий квартал 2021. «Royal Bank of Canada в текущем квартале продолжил выполнять свои обязательства по обеспечению долгосрочной стабильности для наших клиентов и акционеров. Благодаря диверсифицированному бизнесу и дисциплинированному подходу к управлению рисками нам удалось показать сильные результаты, которые позволили банку сделать значительные инвестиции в свое технологическое развитие. Мы сохраняем осторожный оптимизм в отношении макроэкономических перспектив и сосредоточены на поддержке клиентов на фоне продолжающегося восстановления экономики», — Дейв Маккей, президент Royal Bank of Canada.

  Обзор американского банка J. P. Morgan Chase

О 2022. «Мы по-прежнему видим краткосрочные проблемы глобального роста, связанные с коронавирусом, непоследовательным глобальным внедрением вакцин, нарушением цепочек поставок, растущими геополитическими рисками и продолжающимися глобальными ограничениями на поездки. Тем не менее нас обнадеживают данные, которые мы наблюдаем по кредитным картам. А это значит, что у нас есть все возможности для использования своего масштаба и встроенной бизнес-модели в наших основных сегментах, чтобы значительно увеличить прибыль при более благоприятном экономическом сценарии, который будет включать повышение процентных ставок, более высокие ставки по кредитным картам и рост кредитования бизнеса», — Дейв Маккей, президент Royal Bank of Canada.

О росте процентных ставок. «Мы ожидаем, что рост краткосрочных процентных ставок на 25 базисных пунктов приведет к увеличению нашего чистого процентного дохода в канадских банках на 90 миллионов, а доходы от управления активами в США добавят еще 80 миллионов долларов в этом сценарии», — Род Болджер, финансовый директор.

О резервах. «Текущий рост случаев штамма дельта может повлиять на сроки и темпы экономического восстановления и привести к тому, что в 2022 году объем непогашенных кредитов превысит наш долгосрочный средний показатель. Тем не менее мы сохраняем достаточные резервы для ожидаемого увеличения числа просрочек в 2022 году и по-прежнему очень позитивно оцениваем дальнейший прогресс в восстановлении экономики в течение следующих 12—24 месяцев», — Грем Хепворт, директор по рискам.

Финансовые результаты

Royal Bank of Canada демонстрирует устойчивые финансовые показатели, с 2016 года они ежегодно увеличиваются более чем на 6%. В 2020 году пандемия и карантинные ограничения не смогли надолго остановить рост, который после квартала падения сразу вернулся в прежний темп.

Финансовые результаты за последние 6 лет, млрд долларов

Выручка Чистая прибыль Капитал ROE
2016 28,448 7,707 52,605 16,3%
2017 31,284 8,791 56,792 17%
2018 32,751 9,538 61,432 17,6%
2019 34,850 9,742 63,275 16,8%
2020 36,293 8,794 66,665 14,2%
9м2021 29,238 9,527 76,975 19,6%

Сравнение с конкурентами

P / E P / BV ROE
Royal Bank of Canada 11,72 1,87 19,6%
J. P. Morgan Chase 10,66 1,73 18%
Bank of America 13,89 1,31 14,3%
Morgan Stanley 14,03 1,74 13,8%
Wells Fargo & Company 12,94 0,98 13,6%
Citigroup 6,80 0,72 13%
  Квартальный отчет Facebook: слабый прогноз и байбэк на 50 млрд долларов

Аргументы за

Системообразующий банк. Благодаря своему размеру и большому количеству клиентов Royal Bank of Canada стал важным банком для канадской финансовой системы, которая включила его в специальный список — Schedule I Bank. Список используется для классификации только канадских банков, которые не связаны с иностранными организациями. Такая классификация должна защитить потребителей и привести к росту всего финансового сектора в Канаде.

Сильный бизнес. С 2016 года Royal Bank of Canada в каждом квартале приносил прибыль своим акционерам, в среднем зарабатывая за отчетный период около 2,4 млрд американских долларов.

Высокая рентабельность. По показателю ROE Royal Bank of Canada опережает ведущие американские банки. За последние шесть лет среднее значение рентабельности капитала канадской компании равнялось 17% против 14—15% у американских конкурентов.

Большая дивидендная доходность. За счет двузначной рентабельности и 50% распределения чистой прибыли Royal Bank of Canada показывает высокую, как для растущей компании, дивидендную доходность в 3,4%.

Аргумент против

Высокая оценка. Исторически мультипликаторы Royal Bank of Canada выше показателей ведущих американских компаний: P Morgan Chase, Bank of America, Morgan Stanley, Wells Fargo & Company и Citigroup.

Что в итоге

Royal Bank of Canada — это ведущий канадский банк с высокой рентабельностью, сильной бизнес-моделью и неплохой дивдоходностью. Компания может понравиться долгосрочным инвесторам, которым нужна страновая диверсификация своего портфеля.

Идеальным моментом для покупок Royal Bank of Canada является оценка в 1,5 капитала или на текущий момент 81,05 $. Почему именно в 1,5, а не в 1, как это было в обзоре про J. P. Morgan Chase? Потому что канадский банк ни одного квартала с 2016 года не стоил дешевле 1 капитала, минимальное его значение P / BV = 1,11 было достигнуто в первом квартале 2020 года.

Пролистать наверх