Overview of Phosagro's results for 2021 year

Обзор результатов «Фосагро» за 2021 год

Phosagro (MCX: PHOR) — the largest producer of phosphate fertilizers in Russia and Europe and the world leader in terms of production of high-grade phosphate raw materials. The company controls the entire production process - from the extraction of raw materials to processing and release of finished products.

27 January, the company released a press release on the results of 2021. Annual volumes of production and sales of fertilizers for the first time exceeded 10 million tons of products, although year-on-year growth was only 3%.

10 February the company summed up the financial results of the year, where it reflected the growth in revenue 65,6% and net profit 666,3%. Besides, The board of directors announced a record final dividend — followed by a rise in quotations.

I propose to evaluate the dynamics of the main indicators, to understand, how businesses managed to break records in 2021.

Disclaimer: if we write, that something went up or down by X%, then by default we mean a comparison with the report data for the same period last year, unless otherwise stated.

Market position

Against the backdrop of rising inflation, disruption of supply chains, rise in prices of raw materials and other, less significant factors in 2021, fertilizer prices rose strongly. Prices for phosphate and nitrogen fertilizers almost doubled compared to 2020. This had a positive impact on the income of fertilizer producers., but hit the pockets of agricultural producers and end consumers.

The main growth came from 2 semester due to several factors:

  1. Increased demand from agricultural producers against the background of the purchase of fertilizers for spring sowing.
  2. Energy crisis in Europe, which led to higher prices for natural gas and electricity.
  3. Decrease in exports of fertilizers from China after the introduction in mid-October of restrictions in favor of the domestic market.

Against the backdrop of rising prices for fertilizers, the Russian government introduced a number of restrictions, to protect the domestic market. Producers of mineral fertilizers were obliged to freeze the cost of production at the level of the average values ​​of May-July 2021, as well as prepare a supply plan for the domestic market, so that Russian consumers can receive the necessary volumes of fertilizers for the upcoming sowing season.

Production

In recent 10 For years, the business has been actively investing in expanding production capacity and strengthening vertical integration. As can be seen from operational reports, it bears fruit. At the end of 2021, the holding updated historical highs in terms of fertilizer production, adding 3%, – volumes increased to 10.31 million tons.

PhosAgro produces two main types of fertilizers: phosphorus and nitrogen, which are used in agriculture to increase productivity.

  Galaxy assets grow amid growth of Canadian ETF on Ethereum

Nitrogen fertilizer output increased by less than 1% — up to 2.41 million tons — due to a decrease in urea production due to scheduled equipment repairs in 3 quarter of 2021. The volume of production of phosphorus-containing fertilizers and feed phosphates increased by 4% — to a record 7.89 million tons — thanks to an increase in the production of basic phosphate fertilizers: DAP, MAP and NPK.

The launch of the first stage of a new plant in Volkhov with a design capacity of 300 thousand tons per year also contributed to the growth in production..

PhosAgro independently provides itself with all the necessary raw materials during the production. The company produces apatite and nepheline concentrates at its own mining and processing plant "Apatit", which are used in the production of fertilizers and feed additives.

The output of raw materials increased by 6% — up to 12.49 million tons due to the growth of phosphoric acid production by 9% and sulfuric 8% against the backdrop of equipment upgrades. The total volume of output of apatite and nepheline concentrates has renewed its historical maximum by an increase of 1% - up to 11.8 million tons, despite the weak momentum.

Fertilizer production volume, million tons

Phosphoric Nitrogen Total
2017 6,61 1,73 8,34
2018 6,85 2,12 8,98
2019 7,26 2,25 9,51
2020 7,58 2,40 9,98
2021 7,89 2,41 10,31

Volume of production of raw materials and concentrates, million tons

Raw materials concentrates
2017 9,36 10,53
2018 10,14 11,05
2019 10,75 11,69
2020 11,8 11,7
2021 12,49 11,8

Sales

Phosagro's sales also kept pace with production records.

Due to strong demand in key markets, total fertilizer sales increased by 3% - up to 10.26 million tons.

Phosphate fertilizers. Sales grew by only 1% — up to 7.76 million tons — against the backdrop of stable demand in Russia and Latin America.

Nitrogen fertilizers. Sales growth amounted to 9% — they increased to 2.49 million tons. The main reason is the gas crisis in Europe amid rising prices. Natural gas is a key component in the cost of nitrogen fertilizer production. Thanks to this, Phosagro managed to increase its presence in European markets.

Fertilizer sales volumes, million tons

Phosphoric Nitrogen Total
2017 6,49 1,62 8,11
2018 6,63 2,2 8,83
2019 7,26 2,2 9,45
2020 7,67 2,29 9,95
2021 7,76 2,49 10,26

Revenue and profit

Revenue. Phosagro in 2021 increased revenue by 66% — up to 420.5 billion rubles. Of these, 110.5 billion rubles fell on the domestic market, and 310 billion rubles - for export sales. Revenue growth was mainly driven by record sales of fertilizers on the back of a recovery in demand and prices in key markets.

Fertilizer export remains a key business in terms of revenue. Main sales regions:

  1. Europe: +76%, up to 116.8 billion rubles.
  2. South America: +148%, up to 103.9 billion rubles.
  3. North America: +159%, up to 31.8 billion rubles.
  4. Asia: +114%, up to 7.7 billion rubles.
  Investidea: IDEX, since turn the valve

Asian growth boosted by export restrictions in China, which forced agricultural producers to look for alternative sources of fertilizer supplies in 4 quarter of this year.

Structure of export revenue by geographic regions in 2021

Europe 37,7%
South America 33,5%
North America 10,2%
India 6,4%
Africa 5,8%
CIS 3,9%
Asia 2,5%

Cost price. The growth in cost of goods sold amounted to 31%, or 206.1 billion rubles. Main causes: rising prices for raw materials, Work, port and freight services amid rising inflation. Besides, business increased commercial, business and administrative expenses, and also paid almost 4 times more taxes on the extraction of minerals due to the initiative of the Ministry of Finance to increase budget revenues by increasing the severance tax rate, among other things also for fertilizer producers.

Operating profit. The company increased its operating profit by almost 3 times last year to RUB 164.1 billion thanks to record sales on the back of high fertilizer prices.

With a stable ruble exchange rate, PhosAgro reduced its foreign exchange loss on financial activities from 26.4 to 0.5 billion rubles. Besides, The company cut coronavirus spending 1,4 up to 0.5 billion rubles due to the completion of the most acute phase of the epidemiological crisis.

Net profit. As a result, the company's net unadjusted income increased by 7,7 times - up to 129.7 billion rubles. In the press release, the adjusted net income data, to offset the effect of the revaluation of various non-monetary items in the financial statements. Adjusted net income growth is much more modest, but still impressive: the company has earned 3 times more, than a year earlier, and updated the historical maximum - 130.2 billion rubles.

PhosAgro's Financial Results, billion rubles

Revenue Operating profit Net income before adjustments Net income after adjustments
2017 181,4 36 25,3 21,2
2018 233,3 54 22,1 41,7
2019 248,1 51,7 49,4 37,1
2020 253,9 59 16,9 43,4
2021 420,5 164,1 129,7 130,2

Dividends and debt

Dividends. Phosagro has been paying dividends in recent years 4 times a year at the end of each reporting quarter. Free cash flow is taken as the basis for calculating dividend payments.

In 2021, free cash flow increased by 80% — up to a record 77.9 billion rubles. Totally agree 4 quarter, the business generated 22.9 billion rubles of free cash flow - that is, the base for dividend payments is more than impressive.

The rate of payments depends on the level of debt load, which is determined by the ratio "net debt / EBITDA». At the same time, the document contains a condition, that the company's dividend cannot be less 50% from adjusted net profit.

Dynamics of free cash flow, billion rubles

2017 −5,9
2018 20,5
2019 28,3
2020 42,5
2021 77,9
  IBM ramps up revenue 2nd quarter in a row

−5,9

Debts. Despite the investment program in the amount of 50 billion rubles, Phosagro's net debt for 12 months decreased slightly to RUB 153.7 billion due to a reduction in the volume of short-term loans and an increase in the volume of cash and cash equivalents in accounts.

At the same time, EBITDA increased over the year by 2,2 times - up to a record 191.8 billion rubles, - and the ratio "net debt / EBITDA" decreased from 1,9 up to 0.8 ×. This indicates good financial stability of the business and reduces the risks for dividends..

As a result, the Board of Directors of PhosAgro recommended to allocate for payments based on the results 4 quarter 390 R per ordinary share, among other things, and from undistributed net profit of previous years. The dividend yield as of the news release date was almost 6% to the share price on the stock exchange, which led to an increase in the issuer's quotes at a certain moment by 6%.

Debt dynamics, billion rubles

net debt 12mEBITDA net debt / 12mEBITDA
2017 120,0 50,8 2,4×
2018 135,3 74,9 1,8×
2019 131,6 75,6 1,7×
2020 156,9 85,7 1,9×
2021 153,7 191,8 0,8×

The amount of dividend payments per share

2016 165 R
2017 81 R
2018 192 R
2019 192 R
2020 297 R
2021 885 R

165 R

What's the bottom line?

Thanks to a competent investment strategy, PhosAgro's business demonstrates outstanding results. Let me remind you, that for many years there was a crisis of overproduction on the world fertilizer market, which put pressure on demand and prices. But the company, contrary to the short-term trend, all these years, has been implementing a large-scale investment program to increase fertilizer production and increase vertical business integration.

Now, when the trend in the cyclical market has changed, PhosAgro took full advantage of the favorable price situation and achieved record output volumes at the time of the highest prices. Particularly shocking for the company was 4 neighborhood, when strong demand from farmers overlapped with export restrictions from producers in China and Europe.

Don't forget, that Phosagro was in an advantageous position in the conditions of the European energy crisis. In Russia, electricity and natural gas prices are pegged to tariffs, which are regulated by the State. Consequently, prices have risen much less, than in European countries. This allowed domestic producers to gain a competitive advantage due to the low cost of fertilizer production under conditions, when many foreign players are forced to close production due to low profitability.

Such an imbalance in the global fertilizer market forces the Russian authorities to intervene in the situation., to prevent further price increases and supply shortages in the domestic market. Probably, in 1 half of 2022, the market will see a correction in prices for fertilizers - a decrease from peak values 4 quarter of 2021 as the market situation stabilizes, but so far there are no prerequisites, that prices will return to pre-crisis levels.

Scroll up

Обзор результатов «Фосагро» за 2021 год

Обзор результатов «Фосагро» за 2021 год

«Фосагро» (MCX: PHOR) — крупнейший в России и странах Европы производитель фосфорных удобрений и мировой лидер по объемам производства высокосортного фосфатного сырья. Компания контролирует весь производственный процесс — от добычи сырья до переработки и выпуска готовой продукции.

27 января вышел пресс-релиз компании по итогам 2021 года. Годовые объемы производства и продаж удобрений впервые превысили 10 млн тонн продукции, хотя рост год к году составил лишь 3%.

10 февраля компания подвела финансовые итоги года, где отразила рост выручки на 65,6% и чистой прибыли на 666,3%. Кроме того, совет директоров объявил рекордный размер финальных дивидендов — за которым последовал рост котировок.

Предлагаю оценить динамику основных показателей, чтобы понять, за счет чего бизнесу удалось побить рекорды в 2021 году.

Дисклеймер: если мы пишем, что что-то выросло или упало на X%, то по умолчанию подразумеваем сравнение с данными отчета за аналогичный период прошлого года, если не указано другое.

Положение на рынке

На фоне разгона инфляции, нарушения логистических цепочек, удорожания сырья и других, менее значимых факторов в 2021 году цены на удобрения сильно выросли. Цены на фосфорные и азотные удобрения практически удвоились относительно 2020 года. Это позитивно отразилось на доходах производителей удобрений, но ударило по карманам сельхозпроизводителей и конечных потребителей.

Основной рост пришелся на 2 полугодие из-за нескольких факторов:

  1. Повышенный спрос со стороны сельхозпроизводителей на фоне закупки удобрений под весенний посев.
  2. Энергетический кризис в Европе, который привел к росту цен на природный газ и электроэнергию.
  3. Снижение экспорта удобрений из Китая после введения в середине октября ограничений в пользу внутреннего рынка.

На фоне роста цен на удобрения правительство РФ ввело ряд ограничений, чтобы защитить внутренний рынок. Производителей минеральных удобрений обязали заморозить стоимость продукции на уровне средних значений мая — июля 2021 года, а также подготовить план поставок на внутреннем рынке, чтобы российские потребители могли получить нужные объемы удобрений к предстоящему посевному сезону.

Производство

В последние 10 лет бизнес активно инвестирует в расширение производственных мощностей и усиление вертикальной интеграции. Как видно из операционных отчетов, это дает плоды. По итогам 2021 года холдинг обновил исторические максимумы по объемам производства удобрений, прибавив 3%, — объемы выросли до 10,31 млн тонн.

«Фосагро» производит два основных вида удобрений: фосфорные и азотные, которые применяются в сельском хозяйстве для повышения урожайности.

  Как оценивать долги компании

Объем выпуска азотных удобрений увеличился менее чем на 1% — до 2,41 млн тонн — из-за снижения производства карбамида в связи с плановым ремонтом оборудования в 3 квартале 2021 года. Объем производства фосфорсодержащих удобрений и кормовых фосфатов вырос на 4% — до рекордных 7,89 млн тонн — благодаря увеличению объемов выпуска основных фосфорных удобрений: DAP, MAP и NPK.

Также росту производства поспособствовал запуск первой очереди нового завода в Волхове с проектной мощностью в 300 тысяч тонн в год.

При производстве «Фосагро» самостоятельно обеспечивает себя всем необходимым сырьем. Компания выпускает апатитовые и нефелиновые концентраты на собственном горно-обогатительном комбинате «Апатит», которые используются при производстве удобрений и кормовых добавок.

Объем выпуска сырья увеличился на 6% — до 12,49 млн тонн — благодаря росту производства фосфорной кислоты на 9% и серной на 8% на фоне модернизации оборудования. Общий объем выпуска апатитового и нефелинового концентратов обновил исторический максимум ростом на 1% — до 11,8 млн тонн, — несмотря на слабую динамику.

Объем производства удобрений, млн тонн

Фосфорные Азотные Всего
2017 6,61 1,73 8,34
2018 6,85 2,12 8,98
2019 7,26 2,25 9,51
2020 7,58 2,40 9,98
2021 7,89 2,41 10,31

Объем производства сырья и концентратов, млн тонн

Сырье Концентраты
2017 9,36 10,53
2018 10,14 11,05
2019 10,75 11,69
2020 11,8 11,7
2021 12,49 11,8

Продажи

Продажи «Фосагро» тоже не отстали от производственных рекордов.

Благодаря высокому спросу на основных рынках сбыта общий объем реализации удобрений увеличился на 3% — до 10,26 млн тонн.

Фосфорные удобрения. Продажи выросли лишь на 1% — до 7,76 млн тонн — на фоне стабильного спроса в России и Латинской Америке.

Азотные удобрения. Рост продаж составил 9% — они увеличились до 2,49 млн тонн. Основная причина — газовый кризис в Европе на фоне роста цен. Природный газ — ключевой компонент в себестоимости производства азотных удобрений. Благодаря этому «Фосагро» удалось увеличить свое присутствие на европейских рынках.

Объемы продаж удобрений, млн тонн

Фосфорные Азотные Всего
2017 6,49 1,62 8,11
2018 6,63 2,2 8,83
2019 7,26 2,2 9,45
2020 7,67 2,29 9,95
2021 7,76 2,49 10,26

Выручка и прибыль

Выручка. «Фосагро» в 2021 году увеличила выручку на 66% — до 420,5 млрд рублей. Из них 110,5 млрд рублей пришлись на внутренний рынок, а 310 млрд рублей — на экспортные продажи. Основной причиной роста дохода стали рекордные объемы продаж удобрений на фоне восстановление спроса и цен на основных рынках сбыта.

Экспорт удобрений остается ключевым направлением бизнеса с точки зрения доходов. Основные регионы продаж:

  1. Европа: +76%, до 116,8 млрд рублей.
  2. Южная Америка: +148%, до 103,9 млрд рублей.
  3. Северная Америка: +159%, до 31,8 млрд рублей.
  4. Азия: +114%, до 7,7 млрд рублей.
  эффективность рынка

Азиатскому росту поспособствовали экспортные ограничения в Китае, которые вынудили сельхозпроизводителей искать альтернативные источники поставок удобрений в 4 квартале этого года.

Структура экспортной выручки по географическим регионам в 2021 году

Европа 37,7%
Южная Америка 33,5%
Северная Америка 10,2%
Индия 6,4%
Африка 5,8%
СНГ 3,9%
Азия 2,5%

Себестоимость. Рост себестоимости реализованной продукции составил 31%, или 206,1 млрд рублей. Основные причины: рост цен на сырье, работу, портовые и фрахтовые услуги на фоне роста инфляции. Кроме того, бизнес увеличил коммерческие, хозяйственные и административные расходы, а также заплатил почти в 4 раза больше налогов на добычу полезных ископаемых из-за инициативы Минфина по повышению доходов бюджета за счет увеличения ставки НДПИ, кроме всего прочего и для производителей удобрений.

Операционная прибыль. Компания увеличила операционную прибыль почти в 3 раза за прошедший год — до 164,1 млрд рублей — благодаря рекордному объему продаж на фоне высоких цен на удобрения.

При стабильном курсе рубля «Фосагро» сократила убыток от курсовых разниц по финансовой деятельности с 26,4 до 0,5 млрд рублей. Кроме того, компания снизила коронавирусные расходы с 1,4 до 0,5 млрд рублей благодаря завершению наиболее острой фазы эпидемиологического кризиса.

Чистая прибыль. В результате чистая нескорректированная прибыль компании выросла в 7,7 раза — до 129,7 млрд рублей. В пресс-релизе данные по чистой прибыли скорректированные, чтобы нивелировать эффект от переоценки различных неденежных статей финансовой отчетности. Рост скорректированной чистой прибыли гораздо скромнее, но все равно впечатляет: компания заработала в 3 раза больше, чем годом ранее, и обновила исторический максимум — 130,2 млрд рублей.

Финансовые показатели «Фосагро», млрд рублей

Выручка Операционная прибыль Чистая прибыль до корректировок Чистая прибыль после корректировок
2017 181,4 36 25,3 21,2
2018 233,3 54 22,1 41,7
2019 248,1 51,7 49,4 37,1
2020 253,9 59 16,9 43,4
2021 420,5 164,1 129,7 130,2

Дивиденды и долги

Дивиденды. В последние годы «Фосагро» выплачивает дивиденды 4 раза в год по итогам каждого отчетного квартала. Свободный денежный поток принят за базу рассчета дивидендных выплат.

В 2021 году свободный денежный поток увеличился на 80% — до рекордных 77,9 млрд рублей. Только за 4 квартал бизнес сгенерировал 22,9 млрд рублей свободного денежного потока — то есть база для дивидендных выплат более чем внушительная.

Норма выплат зависит от уровня долговой нагрузки, которая определяется по коэффициенту «чистый долг / EBITDA». При этом в документе есть условие, что дивиденды компании не могут быть меньше 50% от скорректированной чистой прибыли.

Динамика свободного денежного потока, млрд рублей

2017 −5,9
2018 20,5
2019 28,3
2020 42,5
2021 77,9
  Новости фондового рынка США – NYSE, NASDAQ на 23.06.2017

−5,9

Долги. Несмотря на инвестиционную программу в размере 50 млрд рублей, чистый долг «Фосагро» за 12 месяцев незначительно снизился — до 153,7 млрд рублей — благодаря сокращению объема краткосрочных займов и росту объема денег и их эквивалентов на счетах.

При этом показатель EBITDA увеличился за год в 2,2 раза — до рекордных 191,8 млрд рублей, — а коэффициент «чистый долг / EBITDA» снизился с 1,9 до 0,8×. Это говорит о хорошей финансовой устойчивости бизнеса и снижает риски для дивидендов.

В результате совет директоров «Фосагро» рекомендовал направить на выплаты по итогам 4 квартала 390 Р на обыкновенную акцию, кроме прочего и из нераспределенной чистой прибыли прошлых лет. Дивидендная доходность на дату выхода новости составляла почти 6% к цене акций на бирже, что привело к росту котировок эмитента в определенный момент на 6%.

Динамика долговой нагрузки, млрд рублей

Чистый долг 12мEBITDA Чистый долг / 12мEBITDA
2017 120,0 50,8 2,4×
2018 135,3 74,9 1,8×
2019 131,6 75,6 1,7×
2020 156,9 85,7 1,9×
2021 153,7 191,8 0,8×

Размер дивидендных выплат на акцию

2016 165 Р
2017 81 Р
2018 192 Р
2019 192 Р
2020 297 Р
2021 885 Р

165 Р

Что в итоге

Благодаря грамотной инвестиционной стратегии бизнес «Фосагро» демонстрирует выдающиеся результаты. Напомню, что долгие годы на мировом рынке удобрений был кризис перепроизводства, который давил на спрос и цены. Но компания, вопреки краткосрочному тренду, все эти годы проводила в жизнь масштабную инвестиционную программу по увеличению объемов производства удобрений и повышению вертикальной интеграции бизнеса.

Теперь, когда тренд на циклическом рынке изменился, «Фосагро» в полной мере воспользовалась благоприятной ценовой ситуацией и добилась рекордных объемов выпуска в момент наиболее высоких цен. Особенно ударным для компании оказался 4 квартал, когда сильный спрос со стороны сельхозпроизводителей наложился на ограничение экспорта со стороны производителей в Китае и Европе.

Не стоит забывать, что «Фосагро» оказалась в выигрышном положении в условиях европейского энергетического кризиса. В России цены на электроэнергию и природный газ привязаны к тарифам, которые регулируются государством. Следовательно, цены выросли гораздо меньше, чем в странах Европы. Это позволило отечественным производителям получить конкурентное преимущество за счет низкой стоимости производства удобрений в условиях, когда многие зарубежные игроки вынуждены закрывать производства из-за низкой рентабельности.

Такой дисбаланс на мировом рынке удобрений заставляет российские власти вмешиваться в ситуацию, чтобы не допустить дальнейшего роста цен и дефицита предложения на внутреннем рынке. Вероятно, в 1 половине 2022 года на рынке произойдет коррекция цен на удобрения — снижение от пиковых значений 4 квартала 2021 года по мере стабилизации ситуации на рынке, но пока нет никаких предпосылок, что цены вернутся к докризисным значениям.

Пролистать наверх