Review of Novatek's production results for 9 months 2021 of the year

Обзор производственных результатов «Новатэка» за 9 месяцев 2021 года

Novatek (MCX: NVTK) — one of the largest producers of natural gas in Russia. The company sells the bulk of natural gas on the domestic market, transporting Gazprom's unified gas supply system through the pipeline. Moreover, in December 2017, the company launched the Yamal LNG plant for liquefied natural gas and entered the international LNG market.

11 October Novatek published its operating results for the first 9 months of 2021. Compared to the same period last year, natural gas production volumes increased slightly, but sales in foreign markets collapsed by 16%. I propose to consider the key operating data of the company and understand, how it responds to new challenges for the oil and gas industry.

Disclaimer: if we write, that something has risen or fallen by X%, then by default we mean comparison with the report data for the same period last year, unless otherwise stated.

Industry position

Since the middle of this year, the gas industry has been in the spotlight. Gas prices at major gas hubs in Europe began to grow rapidly and at some point exceeded 1900 $ per 1,000 cubic meters amid reports of insufficient filling of European gas storage facilities ahead of the heating season.

But since October, there has been a correction in the quotations of gas contracts on major European exchanges.. So, on 2 November 2021, prices during the auction fell to 750 $ per 1000 cubic meters. Even after correction, prices remain historically high amid risk, that Europe may face energy shortages, if the coming winter turns out to be no less severe, than was the past.

Обзор производственных результатов «Новатэка» за 9 месяцев 2021 года

The main reason, through which Europe did not have time to pump gas in sufficient volumes, the cold and long winter season 2020-2021 has become, which led to the consumption of natural gas above normal. Moreover, for a while the weather was practically calm, which led to a drop in the volume of wind generation. As a result, European storage facilities were filled by about 74% before the start of the heating season at a historical rate of 85-90%.

  Investidea: Dun & Bradstreet, because it has already gotten better

Imbalance between supply and demand in the gas market, as well as fears, that European countries will not be able to overcome the heating season, took advantage of speculators, who dispersed prices at gas hubs.

In the domestic market, natural gas consumption has also grown markedly this year from the low level of 2020., when a pandemic came after a warm winter and the authorities introduced restrictive measures. Gas prices within Russia are regulated by the state, therefore, such strong volatility has not been observed in our country, and prices for Russian consumers turned out to be much lower, than for European.

Mining

behind 9 months of 2021, the volume of hydrocarbon production by Novatek increased by 4% - up to 464.3 million barrels of oil equivalent - against the backdrop of an increase in production capacity, as well as the recovery of demand in the oil and gas market.

Average daily production during this period amounted to 1.7 million barrels of oil equivalent per day, which was a record result for business.

Production volume natural gas increased by 4% - up to a record 59.11 billion cubic meters.

Production of liquid hydrocarbons increased by 3% and reached 9.3 million tons.

Volume of gas condensate processing at the Purovsky plant grew by 10% - up to 9.4 million tons. At the Ust-Luga complex, processing volumes decreased by less than 1% - up to 5.2 million tons of stable gas condensate.

Dynamics of hydrocarbon production for 9 months of 2021, million BOE

2017 383,3
2018 402,2
2019 441,3
2020 445,9
2021 464,3

383,3

Dynamics of the average daily production for 9 months of 2021, million boe per day

2017 1,40
2018 1,47
2019 1,62
2020 1,63
2021 1,70

1,40

Natural gas production dynamics for 9 months of 2021, billion m³

2017 47,34
2018 50,31
2019 55,88
2020 56,71
2021 59,11

47,34

Dynamics of production of liquid hydrocarbons for 9 months of 2021, million tons

2017 8,8
2018 8,8
2019 9,1
2020 9,0
2021 9,3

8,8

Sales

49.73 billion cubic meters of natural gas sold in Russia, What's on 6% more results from the previous year. As a result, total sales increased by 3% - up to 55.7 billion cubic meters.

Sales in foreign markets collapsed by 16% - up to 5.97 billion cubic meters. The main reason is, that the company began to sell less LNG directly at exchange prices on an immediate delivery basis and more through the Yamal LNG joint venture under long-term contracts. The transition to long-term contracts is associated with, that it is easier for the company to predict the volumes of supplies in the future and it is less dependent on fluctuations in exchange prices.

  First goal

It is worth noting, that in May of this year Novatek launched the fourth stage of Yamal LNG, which made it possible to increase the total design capacity from 16.5 to 17.4 million tons of LNG per year.

Natural gas sales dynamics for 9 months of 2021 by markets, billion m³

Russia International General
2017 47,02 47,02
2018 47,57 3,43 51,00
2019 47,55 10,11 57,66
2020 47,03 7,12 54,15
2021 49,73 5,97 55,70

Dividends

In December 2020, the Board of Directors of Novatek approved a new version of the dividend policy. The document provides for the direction of dividends at least 50% from adjusted profit under IFRS.

1 October 2021, an extraordinary general meeting of shareholders of the holding approved interim dividends based on the results 1 half of 2021 in the amount of 27,67 P per share under the current dividend policy.

Amount of dividends per share based on the results of the reporting period

2015 13,5 Р
2016 13,9 Р
2017 14,95 Р
2018 26,06 Р
2019 32,33 Р
2020 35,56 Р
1п2021 27,67 Р

13,5 Р

What is the bottom line

Novatek demonstrated strong operating performance following the first 9 months of 2021 amid favorable market conditions in the oil and gas market. The volume of hydrocarbon production during this period exceeded the pre-crisis results and reached a record level.

Natural gas sales in Russia also peaked, but export sales fell to the lowest in recent years. The drop in export sales was caused by the transition to long-term direct contracts for the Yamal LNG project, which in the long term will allow the company to reduce risks, associated with the volatility of demand and prices in the international LNG market.

On the eve of the new winter season, energy prices on world markets have increased. High prices for natural gas and liquid hydrocarbons, combined with record production results of Novatek, portend strong financial results of the business - not only in the first 3 quarters, but by the end of the whole 2021.

Scroll up

Обзор производственных результатов «Новатэка» за 9 месяцев 2021 года

Обзор производственных результатов «Новатэка» за 9 месяцев 2021 года

«Новатэк» (MCX: NVTK) — один из крупнейших производителей природного газа в России. Основной объем природного газа компания продает на внутреннем рынке, транспортируя по трубопроводу единой системы газоснабжения «Газпрома». Кроме того, в декабре 2017 года компания запустила завод «Ямал СПГ» по сжижению природного газа и вышла на международный рынок СПГ.

11 октября «Новатэк» опубликовал операционные результаты бизнеса за первые 9 месяцев 2021 года. По сравнению с аналогичным периодом прошлого года объемы добычи природного газа незначительно выросли, но продажи на внешних рынках рухнули на 16%. Предлагаю рассмотреть ключевые операционные данные компании и разобраться, как она реагирует на новые вызовы для нефтегазовой отрасли.

Дисклеймер: если мы пишем, что что-то выросло или упало на X%, то по умолчанию подразумеваем сравнение с данными отчета за аналогичный период прошлого года, если не указано другое.

Положение в отрасли

С середины текущего года газовая отрасль оказалась в центре внимания. Цены на газ на крупных газовых хабах в Европе начали стремительно расти и в какой-то момент превысили 1900 $ за 1000 кубометров на фоне сообщений о недостаточной заполненности европейских газовых хранилищ в преддверии отопительного сезона.

Но с октября на крупных европейских биржах наблюдается коррекция котировок газовых контрактов. Так, на 2 ноября 2021 года цены в ходе торгов опускались до 750 $ за 1000 кубометров. Даже после коррекции цены остаются исторически высокими на фоне риска, что Европа может столкнуться с дефицитом энергоресурсов, если предстоящая зима окажется не менее суровой, чем была прошлая.

Обзор производственных результатов «Новатэка» за 9 месяцев 2021 года

Основной причиной, по которой Европа не успела закачать газ в достаточных объемах, стал холодный и продолжительный зимний сезон 2020—2021, что привело к потреблению природного газа выше нормы. Кроме того, на какое-то время погода была практически безветренной, что привело к падению объемов ветрогенерации. В результате европейские хранилища оказались заполнены примерно на 74% перед началом отопительного сезона при исторической норме в 85—90%.

  Новые ценные бумаги на Мосбирже за июль 2021

Дисбалансом спроса и предложения на газовом рынке, а также страхами, что европейские страны не сумеют преодолеть отопительный сезон, воспользовались спекулянты, которые разогнали цены на газовых хабах.

На внутреннем рынке объемы потребления природного газа в этом году также заметно выросли от низкого уровня 2020 года, когда после теплой зимы пришла пандемия и власти ввели ограничительные меры. Цены на газ внутри России регулируются государством, поэтому в нашей стране не наблюдалось такой сильной волатильности, а цены для российских потребителей оказались значительно ниже, чем для европейских.

Добыча

За 9 месяцев 2021 года объем добычи углеводородов «Новатэком» вырос на 4% — до 464,3 млн баррелей нефтяного эквивалента — на фоне увеличения производственных мощностей, а также восстановления спроса на нефтегазовом рынке.

Среднесуточная добыча за этот период составила 1,7 млн баррелей нефтяного эквивалента в сутки, что стало рекордным результатом для бизнеса.

Объем добычи природного газа вырос на 4% — до рекордных 59,11 млрд кубометров.

Добыча жидких углеводородов увеличилась на 3% и достигла 9,3 млн тонн.

Объем переработки газового конденсата на Пуровском заводе вырос на 10% — до 9,4 млн тонн. В комплексе в Усть-Луге объемы переработки сократились менее чем на 1% — до 5,2 млн тонн стабильного газового конденсата.

Динамика добычи углеводородов за 9 месяцев 2021 года, млн БНЭ

2017 383,3
2018 402,2
2019 441,3
2020 445,9
2021 464,3

383,3

Динамика среднесуточной добычи за 9 месяцев 2021 года, млн БНЭ в сутки

2017 1,40
2018 1,47
2019 1,62
2020 1,63
2021 1,70

1,40

Динамика добычи природного газа за 9 месяцев 2021 года, млрд м³

2017 47,34
2018 50,31
2019 55,88
2020 56,71
2021 59,11

47,34

Динамика добычи жидких углеводородов за 9 месяцев 2021 года, млн тонн

2017 8,8
2018 8,8
2019 9,1
2020 9,0
2021 9,3

8,8

Продажи

В России реализовано 49,73 млрд кубометров природного газа, что на 6% больше результатов предыдущего года. В результате общие объемы продаж увеличились на 3% — до 55,7 млрд кубометров.

Продажи на внешних рынках рухнули на 16% — до 5,97 млрд кубометров. Основная причина в том, что компания стала меньше продавать СПГ напрямую по биржевым ценам на условиях немедленной поставки и больше — через совместное предприятие «Ямал СПГ» по долгосрочным контрактам. Переход на долгосрочные контракты связан с тем, что компании проще прогнозировать объемы поставок в будущем и она меньше зависит от колебаний биржевых цен.

  Акции торговой компании Lululemon (NASDAQ: LULU)(Производитель спортивной одежды) выросли на 14% процентов после квартального отчета

Стоит отметить, что в мае текущего года «Новатэк» запустил четвертую очередь «Ямала СПГ», что позволило увеличить общую проектную мощность с 16,5 до 17,4 млн тонн СПГ в год.

Динамика продаж природного газа за 9 месяцев 2021 года по рынкам, млрд м³

Россия Международные Общие
2017 47,02 47,02
2018 47,57 3,43 51,00
2019 47,55 10,11 57,66
2020 47,03 7,12 54,15
2021 49,73 5,97 55,70

Дивиденды

В декабре 2020 года совет директоров «Новатэка» утвердил новую редакцию дивидендной политики. Документ предполагает направление на дивиденды не менее 50% от скорректированной прибыли по МСФО.

1 октября 2021 года внеочередное общее собрание акционеров холдинга утвердило промежуточные дивиденды по итогам 1 половины 2021 года в размере 27,67 Р на одну акцию в рамках действующей дивидендной политики.

Размер дивидендов на акцию по итогам отчетного периода

2015 13,5 Р
2016 13,9 Р
2017 14,95 Р
2018 26,06 Р
2019 32,33 Р
2020 35,56 Р
1п2021 27,67 Р

13,5 Р

Что в итоге

«Новатэк» продемонстрировал сильные операционные показатели по результатам первых 9 месяцев 2021 года на фоне благоприятной рыночной конъюнктуры на нефтегазовом рынке. Объем добычи углеводородов за этот период превысил докризисные результаты и достиг рекордного уровня.

Продажи природного газа в России также оказались на максимуме, но экспортные продажи упали до минимума последних лет. Падение экспортных продаж вызвано переходом на долгосрочные прямые контракты проекта «Ямал СПГ», что в долгосрочной перспективе позволит компании снизить риски, связанные с волатильностью спроса и цен на международном рынке СПГ.

В преддверии нового зимнего сезона цены на энергоресурсы на мировых рынках выросли. Высокие цены на природный газ и жидкие углеводороды совокупно с рекордными производственными результатами «Новатэка» предвещают сильные финансовые результаты бизнеса — не только по итогам первых 3 кварталов, но и по итогам всего 2021 года.

Пролистать наверх