Review of NLMK's consolidated financial statements for 2021 year

Обзор консолидированной финансовой отчетности НЛМК за 2021 год

NLMK (MCX: NLMK) — one of the world's largest producers of steel products and the first in terms of steel production in Russia. Production capacity reaches 18.5 million tons, and the assets are located in Russia, Europe and USA.

We recently reviewed the company's operating results, and now I propose to look at the key financial indicators from the consolidated financial statements.

As expected, the business posted strong financial performance on the back of record sales volumes of finished steel products and high average prices. As a result, the company recorded revenue growth of 75% and more than quadrupling net income. Besides, including recommended dividends for 4 quarter, the holding's final dividend payments based on the results of the past year may turn out to be record-breaking.

I suggest you take a look at the consolidated statements, to better understand, how business went through a difficult 2021, when high steel prices were accompanied by FAS claims and government export restrictions.

Disclaimer: if we write, that something went up or down by X%, then by default we mean a comparison with the report data for the same period last year, unless otherwise stated.

Revenue and profit

Thanks to high average steel prices, NLMK managed to record a record revenue, which grew by 75% year on year — up to 16.2 billion dollars. The main role in this was played by an increase in the share of sales of finished products with a higher added value..

Furthermore, all key business segments showed revenue growth:

  1. Flat rolled — 95%, up to $9.4 billion.
  2. Long products and hardware — 94%, up to $1.9 billion.
  3. Cast iron, slabs and billets — 42%, up to $3.8 billion.

By regions, the main income for business is still brought by home markets in Russia, USA and EU countries. At the end of 2021, the three home regions combined accounted for about 80% proceeds.

Structure of sales proceeds by types of products

Flat rolled 59,4%
Cast iron, slabs and billets 24,1%
Long products and hardware 12,2%
Coke and other chemical products 1,8%
Other products 2,5%
  Investidea: Nexstar, because the next star

Revenue structure by sales regions

Russia 41,0%
North America 21,3%
EU countries 17,5%
Near East 10,0%
Central and South America 4,4%
CIS countries 2,5%
Countries of Asia and Oceania 2,4%
Other 0,9%

Cost of sales increased by 32% - up to 7.8 billion dollars. This is due to an increase in the output of finished products and an increase in prices for raw materials and services.. At the same time, commercial, general and administrative expenses for 11% - up to 1.3 billion dollars - against the backdrop of high inflation. Besides, the company paid an additional 0.3 billion rubles of export customs duties due to temporary restrictions, who acted with 1 August 2021.

NLMK's operating profit increased by more than 3 times and amounted to 6.67 billion dollars.

The company's net income, taking into account various non-cash adjustments, was in 4 times higher than in 2020 and reached a record $5.05 billion.

Strong dynamics driven by rising steel prices in key markets. For comparison: market quotations for hot-rolled steel increased by 174%, in the EU 116%, and in Russia - 78%. If a price correction from 4 quarter of 2021 will continue into 1 half of 2022, this will have a significant impact on the financial results of the business.

NLMK's Financial Results, billion US dollars

Revenue Operating profit Net profit
2017 10,07 2,03 1,45
2018 12,05 3,01 2,24
2019 10,55 2,0 1,34
2020 9,25 2,07 1,24
2021 16,2 6,67 5,05

Dividends and debt

NLMK is one of the few Russian companies, which pays dividends 4 times a year at the end of each quarter. Payouts are made from free cash flow, and the rate depends on the level of debt load, which is determined on the basis of the ratio "net debt / EBITDA». If the coefficient does not exceed one, the company pays 100% from free cash flow.

In recent years, the company's debt load did not exceed the designated bar, although at the end of 2020 it dangerously approached it due to the crisis.

At the end of 2021, the ratio “net debt / EBITDA" decreased to 0.4×, despite an increase in net debt by 17% - up to 2.92 billion dollars. High steel prices helped to reduce the debt burden in relative terms, which allowed to increase EBITDA in 2,7 times - up to 7.26 billion dollars.

  Investidea: Concentrix, because one more time won't hurt

Free cash flow against the backdrop of overall revenue growth increased by almost 3 times up to - 3.3 billion dollars - another company record and potentially high dividends for shareholders.

Against the background of all financial results, the board of directors recommended dividends following the results 4 quarter in size 12,18 P per share. If the shareholders approve the recommendation, then the total dividend per share for 2021 will be 46,84 R.

Debt load of NLMK, billion dollars

net debt net debt / EBITDA
2017 0,92 0,35×
2018 0,89 0,25×
2019 1,79 0,70×
2020 2,5 0,94×
2021 2,92 0,40×

free cash flow, billion dollars

2017 1,27
2018 2,03
2019 1,52
2020 1,1
2021 3,3

1,27

History of dividend payments

2017 14,04 R
2018 22,81 R
2019 17,36 R
2020 21,64 R
2021 46,84 R

14,04 R

What's the bottom line?

In 2021, NLMK successfully took advantage of the situation on the steel market and increased sales of high value-added finished products, which resulted in an increase in revenue 75% year-on-year to a record $16.2 billion.

Besides, thanks to vertical integration and competent work with costs, all key financial indicators have increased many times over. Shareholders can count on high dividend payments for the reporting year. But do not forget about the growth of net debt, which will become a problem in the event of another crisis of overproduction.

A strong increase in prices for steel products is rather an anomaly. There has already been a correction in the market 4 last year's quarter, which may continue into 1 half of 2022. Therefore, one should hardly expect the same impressive dynamics of financial indicators from the company in the new year.: It will be extremely difficult for NLMK to "beat" the high base of the past year.

Scroll up

Обзор консолидированной финансовой отчетности НЛМК за 2021 год

Обзор консолидированной финансовой отчетности НЛМК за 2021 год

НЛМК (MCX: NLMK) — один из крупнейших в мире производителей стальной продукции и первый по объемам производства стали в России. Мощности производства достигают 18,5 млн тонн, а активы расположены в России, Европе и США.

Недавно мы разбирали производственные результаты компании, а теперь предлагаю взглянуть на ключевые финансовые показатели из консолидированной финансовой отчетности.

Как и ожидалось, бизнес продемонстрировал сильную динамику финансовых показателей на фоне рекордных объемов продаж готовой стальной продукции и высоких средних цен. В результате компания отразила рост выручки на 75% и более чем четырехкратный рост чистой прибыли. Кроме того, с учетом рекомендованных дивидендов за 4 квартал итоговые дивидендные выплаты холдинга по результатам прошедшего года могут оказаться рекордными.

Предлагаю заглянуть в консолидированную отчетность, чтобы лучше понять, как бизнес прошел непростой 2021 год, когда высокие цены на сталь сопровождались претензиями со стороны ФАС и ограничениями на экспорт со стороны правительства.

Дисклеймер: если мы пишем, что что-то выросло или упало на X%, то по умолчанию подразумеваем сравнение с данными отчета за аналогичный период прошлого года, если не указано другое.

Выручка и прибыль

Благодаря высоким средним ценам на сталь НЛМК удалось зафиксировать рекордную выручку, которая выросла на 75% год к году — до 16,2 млрд долларов. Основную роль в этом сыграло увеличение доли продаж готовой продукции с более высокой добавленной стоимостью.

Более того, все ключевые сегменты бизнеса продемонстрировали рост выручки:

  1. Плоский прокат — 95%, до 9,4 млрд долларов.
  2. Сортовой прокат и метизы — 94%, до 1,9 млрд долларов.
  3. Чугун, слябы и сортовая заготовка — 42%, до 3,8 млрд долларов.

В разбивке по регионам основной доход бизнесу по-прежнему приносят домашние рынки России, США и стран ЕС. По итогам 2021 года на три домашних региона совокупно пришлось около 80% выручки.

Структура выручки от продаж по видам продукции

Плоский прокат 59,4%
Чугун, слябы и сортовая заготовка 24,1%
Сортовой прокат и метизы 12,2%
Кокс и прочая химическая продукция 1,8%
Прочая продукция 2,5%
  Текущее положение

Структура выручки по регионам продаж

Россия 41,0%
Северная Америка 21,3%
Страны ЕС 17,5%
Ближний Восток 10,0%
Центральная и Южная Америка 4,4%
Страны СНГ 2,5%
Страны Азии и Океании 2,4%
Прочие 0,9%

Себестоимость реализации выросла на 32% — до 7,8 млрд долларов. Это связано с увеличением объемов выпуска готовой продукции и ростом цен на сырье и услуги. При этом выросли коммерческие, общехозяйственные и административные расходы на 11% — до 1,3 млрд долларов — на фоне высокой инфляции. Кроме того, компания дополнительно заплатила 0,3 млрд рублей экспортных таможенных пошлин из-за временных ограничений, которые действовали с 1 августа 2021 года.

Операционная прибыль НЛМК выросла более чем в 3 раза и составила 6,67 млрд долларов.

Чистая прибыль компании с учетом различных неденежных корректировок оказалась в 4 раза выше показателя 2020 года и достигла рекордных 5,05 млрд долларов.

Сильная динамика вызвана ростом цен на сталь на ключевых рынках сбыта. Для сравнения: рыночные котировки горячекатаного проката по итогам года выросли в США на 174%, в ЕС — на 116%, а в России — на 78%. Если коррекция цен с 4 квартала 2021 года продолжится и в 1 половине 2022 года, то это существенно отразится на финансовых результатах бизнеса.

Финансовые показатели НЛМК, млрд долларов США

Выручка Операционная прибыль Чистая прибыль
2017 10,07 2,03 1,45
2018 12,05 3,01 2,24
2019 10,55 2,0 1,34
2020 9,25 2,07 1,24
2021 16,2 6,67 5,05

Дивиденды и долги

НЛМК — одна из немногих российских компаний, которая платит дивиденды 4 раза в год по итогам каждого квартала. Выплаты производятся из свободного денежного потока, а норма зависит от уровня долговой нагрузки, который определяется исходя из коэффициента «чистый долг / EBITDA». Если коэффициент не превышает единицы, то компания выплачивает 100% от свободного денежного потока.

В последние годы долговая нагрузка компании не превышала обозначенную планку, хотя по итогам 2020 года опасно приблизилась к ней из-за кризиса.

По итогам 2021 года коэффициент «чистый долг / EBITDA» сократился до 0,4×, несмотря на рост чистого долга на 17% — до 2,92 млрд долларов. Снизить долговую нагрузку в относительных величинах помогли высокие цены на сталь, которые позволили увеличить показатель EBITDA в 2,7 раза — до 7,26 млрд долларов.

  Пора подумать об.......

Свободный денежный поток на фоне общего роста доходов вырос почти в 3 раза до — 3,3 млрд долларов — еще один рекорд компании и потенциально высокие дивиденды для акционеров.

На фоне всех финансовых результатов совет директоров рекомендовал дивиденды по итогам 4 квартала в размере 12,18 Р на акцию. Если акционеры утвердят рекомендацию, то общий размер дивидендов на акцию по итогам 2021 года составит 46,84 Р.

Долговая нагрузка НЛМК, млрд долларов

Чистый долг Чистый долг / EBITDA
2017 0,92 0,35×
2018 0,89 0,25×
2019 1,79 0,70×
2020 2,5 0,94×
2021 2,92 0,40×

Свободный денежный поток, млрд долларов

2017 1,27
2018 2,03
2019 1,52
2020 1,1
2021 3,3

1,27

История дивидендных выплат

2017 14,04 Р
2018 22,81 Р
2019 17,36 Р
2020 21,64 Р
2021 46,84 Р

14,04 Р

Что в итоге

В 2021 году НЛМК удачно воспользовался ситуацией на рынке стали и увеличил объемы продаж готовой продукции с высокой добавленной стоимостью, что привело к увеличению выручки на 75% год к году — до рекордных 16,2 млрд долларов.

Кроме того, благодаря вертикальной интеграции и грамотной работе с издержками все ключевые финансовые показатели многократно выросли. Акционеры могут рассчитывать на высокие дивидендные выплаты по итогам отчетного года. Но не стоит забывать о росте чистого долга, который станет проблемой в случае очередного кризиса перепроизводства.

Сильный рост цен на стальную продукцию — это скорее аномалия. На рынке уже была коррекция в 4 квартале прошлого года, которая может продолжиться и в 1 половине 2022 года. Поэтому вряд ли стоит ожидать от компании такой же впечатляющей динамики финансовых показателей в новом году: НЛМК будет крайне сложно «перебить» высокую базу прошедшего года.

Пролистать наверх