Обзор Intercept Pharmaceuticals: so that the liver does not hurt

Обзор Intercept Pharmaceuticals: so that the liver does not hurt

Intercept Pharmaceuticals (NASDAQ: ICPT) - a biotechnology company from the USA, which in her research focuses on solving the problems of liver diseases. The business was founded in 2002 and listed its shares on the Nasdaq in 2012 - now they are trading close to the all-time low in the area 15 $.

Обзор Intercept Pharmaceuticals: so that the liver does not hurt

Where does the money come from

Как и большая часть биотехов, the company develops medicines and prepares them for commercialization in the US markets, Canada and Europe. Intercept Pharmaceuticals plans to produce synthetic analogs of bile acids, which will be used in the treatment of chronic liver diseases, such as primary biliary cholangitis, non-alcoholic steatohepatitis, cirrhosis of the liver and others.

Обзор Intercept Pharmaceuticals: so that the liver does not hurt

Portfolio of drugs under development

The main developments of the company are based on obeticholic acid (OCA). The drug "Okaliva" based on it was approved by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) in May 2016 and is prescribed by prescription for the treatment of primary biliary cholangitis.

Intercept Pharmaceuticals plans to expand its sales market:

  • filed for FDA approval for fibrosis, associated with non-alcoholic steatohepatitis;
  • the third phase of clinical trials of the drug for use in the treatment of cirrhosis is underway, caused by non-alcoholic steatohepatitis;
  • the second phase of clinical trials is underway for the combination of obeticholic acid and bezofibrate in the treatment of primary biliary cholangitis.

The company has also begun preclinical development of a new generation of farnesoid receptor agonists. (FXR).

Обзор Intercept Pharmaceuticals: so that the liver does not hurt

Обзор Intercept Pharmaceuticals: so that the liver does not hurt

What's wrong

Volume of short positions in company shares, according to Finviz, exceeds 30%, which puts strong pressure on prices, which have reached historic lows this year.

Commitments have been growing since 2019 and as of August 2021 are 139% from business assets. The greater the debt, the more money will be spent on servicing it - in the event of an increase in the interest rate in the United States, this will create additional financial problems for Intercept.

Joe Biden's administration plans to cut the cost of prescription drugs, what page 24 of the 2022 budget plan is talking about.

Prospects for approval of the company's drug for the treatment of other liver diseases, except cholangitis, Many Consider Doubtful - August 20 Goldman Sachs Downgrades Intercept Pharmaceuticals Share Price Forecast from 17 to 10 $. Bank analyst thinks, that the future of Okaliva remains vague and the issuer's shares lack short-term growth drivers.

  How Forex works and is it needed?

Обзор Intercept Pharmaceuticals: so that the liver does not hurt

What good

У компании есть выручка, and it keeps growing. In August, the company announced a share buyback program at 16,75 $, on which he will spend 75 million dollars. This will positively affect the share price of Intercept Pharmaceuticals.

Demand for Okaliva is growing. The percentage of patients with primary biliary cholangitis in the United States is increasing every year, which ultimately increases the number of prescribed prescriptions for the company's drug.

US $ 6 Trillion 2022 Budget Plan Imposes Significant Increases in Healthcare Spending, what is good for everyone in the sector, including drug manufacturers.

Обзор Intercept Pharmaceuticals: so that the liver does not hurt

What's the bottom line?

Intercept Pharmaceuticals is a rather speculative investment idea. Despite the fact that the company is growing revenue, есть хорошие перспективы и одобренный препарат, in its shares, at the same time, you can find an alarming volume of short positions, а политика, новостной фон и периодические прогнозы не всегда добавляют оптимизма.

On the other hand, you can always hope for the success of medical research, approval of new drugs or even that, that the Wallstreetbets community will be interested in the company and decide to organize a short squeeze, significantly accelerating the share price, - but these are all just assumptions, not guarantees.

Scroll to Top

Обзор Intercept Pharmaceuticals: чтобы печень не болела

Обзор Intercept Pharmaceuticals: чтобы печень не болела

Intercept Pharmaceuticals (NASDAQ: ICPT) — биотехнологическая компания из США, которая в своих исследованиях ориентируется на решение проблем заболеваний печени. Бизнес основан в 2002 году и в 2012 разместил свои акции на Nasdaq — сейчас они торгуются близко к историческому минимуму в области 15 $.

Обзор Intercept Pharmaceuticals: чтобы печень не болела

Откуда деньги

Как и большая часть биотехов, компания разрабатывает медицинские препараты и готовит их к коммерциализации на рынках США, Канады и Европы. Intercept Pharmaceuticals планирует производить синтетические аналоги желчных кислот, которые будут применяться в терапии хронических заболеваний печени, таких как первичный билиарный холангит, неалкогольный стеатогепатит, цирроз печени и прочие.

Обзор Intercept Pharmaceuticals: чтобы печень не болела

Портфель разрабатываемых препаратов

Основные разработки компании создаются на базе обетихолиевой кислоты (OCA). Препарат «Окалива» на ее основе был одобрен управлением по санитарному надзору за качеством пищевых продуктов и медикаментов (FDA) в мае 2016 года и назначается по рецепту врача при лечении первичного билиарного холангита.

Intercept Pharmaceuticals планирует расширять рынок сбыта:

  • поданы документы на одобрение препарата FDA для терапии фиброза, связанного с неалкогольным стеатогепатитом;
  • идет третья фаза клинических испытаний препарата для использования его в лечении цирроза, вызванного неалкогольным стеатогепатитом;
  • идет вторая фаза клинических испытаний для сочетания обетихолиевой кислоты и безофибрата в терапии первичного билиарного холангита.

Компания также начала доклиническую стадию разработки нового поколения агонистов фарнезоидного рецептора (FXR).

Обзор Intercept Pharmaceuticals: чтобы печень не болела

Обзор Intercept Pharmaceuticals: чтобы печень не болела

Что плохого

Объем коротких позиций в акциях компании, по данным Finviz, превышает 30%, что оказывает сильное давление на цены, которые в этом году достигли исторического минимума.

Обязательства растут с 2019 года и на август 2021 составляют 139% от активов бизнеса. Чем значительнее долг, тем больше денег будет уходить на его обслуживание — в случае повышения процентной ставки в США это создаст дополнительные финансовые проблемы для Intercept.

Администрация Джо Байдена планирует снижение стоимости рецептурных лекарств, о чем говорит страница 24 бюджетного плана на 2022 год.

Перспективы одобрения лекарства компании для лечения других заболеваний печени, кроме холангита, многие считают сомнительными — 20 августа Goldman Sachs понизил прогноз цены акций Intercept Pharmaceuticals c 17 до 10 $. Аналитик банка считает, что будущее препарата «Окалива» остается туманным и у акций эмитента отсутствуют драйверы роста в краткосрочной перспективе.

  Пачка инвестновостей: солнечные панели, Halo и Bungie

Обзор Intercept Pharmaceuticals: чтобы печень не болела

Что хорошего

У компании есть выручка, и она продолжает расти. В августе компания объявила программу обратного выкупа своих акций по цене 16,75 $, на которую потратит 75 миллионов долларов. Это позитивно скажется на цене акций Intercept Pharmaceuticals.

Спрос на препарат «Окалива» растет. Процент пациентов с первичным билиарным холангитом в США увеличивается каждый год, что в итоге увеличивает количество выписанных рецептов на препарат компании.

План бюджета США на 2022 год размером 6 триллионов долларов предполагает значительное увеличение расходов на здравоохранение, что хорошо для всех участников сектора, включая производителей медицинских препаратов.

Обзор Intercept Pharmaceuticals: чтобы печень не болела

Что в итоге

Intercept Pharmaceuticals — довольно спекулятивная идея для вложений. Несмотря на то что у компании растет выручка, есть хорошие перспективы и одобренный препарат, в ее акциях в то же время можно обнаружить устрашающий объем коротких позиций, а политика, новостной фон и периодические прогнозы не всегда добавляют оптимизма.

С другой стороны, всегда можно надеяться на успех медицинских исследований, одобрение новых препаратов или даже на то, что компанией заинтересуется сообщество Wallstreetbets и решит организовать шорт-сквиз, значительно разогнав цену акций, — но все это лишь предположения, а не гарантии.

Пролистать наверх