Can't handle inflation: Walmart and Target stocks crash after reports

Can't handle inflation: Walmart and Target stocks crash after reports

TargetTGT $152.86 Buy

Can't handle inflation: Walmart and Target stocks crash after reports

Wal-Mart StoresWMT$119.77BuyService in partnership with Tinkoff Investments. Quotes are updated every 15 minutes

Quarterly results of American retailers upset investors. Companies have increased spending on transport and personnel, and their profits fell.

Walmart and Target report first quarter results, which is over 30 April. That's how they did it.

Target (TGT)

Compared to the same quarter last year:

  • sales — $25.2 billion (+4%);
  • cost of sales - $18.5 billion (+10,4%);
  • net profit - billion dollars (−51,9%).

Target sales were slightly better than analysts' expectations. This result was not easy to show due to the high base effect.: a year ago, stimulus checks were handed out to Americans and the retailer's revenue then grew by 23%.

But Target's profitability disappointed investors. The company reported, that its logistics costs have increased greatly. This is not surprising., because the supply failures are still not fixed, and US gas prices rose to record highs 1,1 $ per liter.

Target also expanded staff and reported high staff costs. She also raised salaries.. The U.S. has a record low unemployment rate 50 years, so the company has to attract workers with higher pay.

As a result, Target's operating margin fell by half compared to last year., with 9,8 to 5,3%. And with it the profit of the company. Retailer expects, that in the current quarter and at the end of 2022 the margin will be approximately the same - about 5-6%.

Target reported 18 May before the main session. As a result of trading, the company's shares fell by 25%, to 162 $. This is the fall 2020 level.

Walmart (WMT)

Financial results year on year:

  • sales - $141.6 billion (+2,4%);
  • cost of sales - $106.8 billion (+3,5%);
  • net profit - $ 2 billion (−24,8%).

Walmart quarterly results slightly different from Target: higher-than-expected sales and poor margins due to inflation and costs.

According to Walmart, at the end of the year, its revenue will increase by 4%, while profits fall by 1%.

Walmart reported a day before Target, 17 May. During the day, the company's papers fell by 11,4% - maximum since 1987. 18 May, for the company with Target, they fell another 6,8%, to 122 $.

  Investidea: Evonik, because the Germans know how and can

Drop more than 10% in a day for a "boring" and value beta company 0,5 - it's a lot. Beta is a measure of a stock's volatility compared to the broad market.. If it rises or falls on 1%, then Walmart stocks usually change in price by half - only by 0,5%.

Not protected from inflation

Retailers are often referred to as hedge against inflation., because they sell the necessary goods and can pass their costs on to buyers.

This is controversial for at least two reasons.: attention of regulators to rising food prices and high competition. Walmart and Target said this themselves back in the fall of 2021.. They declared, that they won't raise prices, to keep loyal customers. All this companies have confirmed and now.

Retail is a low-margin business. Retail chains receive the main profit due to high turnover, Therefore, even a small increase in cost leads to a drop in profitability. And if Walmart and Target still can't handle inflationary pressures, then their margin together with the shares, probably, will continue to fall.

Can't handle inflation: Walmart and Target stocks crash after reports

Market reaction

Walmart and Target are the face of American retail and a mirror of consumer sentiment. Analysts follow the reports of these companies, to determine the financial well-being of buyers.

The head of Walmart said, that customers began to take small packages more often. For example, half a gallon of milk instead of one. They also cut spending on non-essential items.: clothes and electronics.

Food is a low-margin commodity. Therefore, a large share of such products in total sales reduces the retailer's margin.. And to sell essential goods, stores have to give a discount, which also affects profits..

According to Walmart, over the year, the average check in supermarkets grew by 3% only due to inflation, as the volume of the basket has decreased. Seems, the consumer - the main driver of economic growth - is waiting for the economy to slow down and begins to spend money wiser.

Among other things, and for this reason, the major stock indices had their worst session since June 2020. Investors are afraid, that the margins of other companies may also fall. S indices&P 500, Nasdaq и Dow Jones 18 May fell by 4-5%, shares of discounters Dollar General and Dollar Tree - by 11-14%.

  Fall of the Nasdaq, Katie Wood Foundation and the Growth of Oil and Banks: results of the first trading week

News, which concern investors, - in our telegram channel. Subscribe, to keep abreast of what's happening: @investnique.

Scroll to Top

Не справились с инфляцией: акции Walmart и Target обрушились после отчетов

Не справились с инфляцией: акции Walmart и Target обрушились после отчетов

TargetTGT152,86 $Купить

Не справились с инфляцией: акции Walmart и Target обрушились после отчетов

Wal-Mart StoresWMT119,77 $

Квартальные результаты американских ретейлеров огорчили инвесторов. Компании увеличили траты на транспорт и персонал, а их прибыль упала.

Walmart и Target отчитались за первый квартал, который закончился 30 апреля. Вот как они это сделали.

Target (TGT)

По сравнению с аналогичным кварталом прошлого года:

  • продажи — 25,2 млрд долларов (+4%);
  • себестоимость продаж — 18,5 млрд долларов (+10,4%);
  • чистая прибыль — миллиард долларов (−51,9%).

Продажи Target оказались чуть лучше ожиданий аналитиков. Такой результат было непросто показать из-за эффекта высокой базы: год назад американцам раздали стимулирующие чеки и выручка ретейлера выросла тогда на 23%.

А вот рентабельность Target разочаровала инвесторов. Компания сообщила, что ее расходы на логистику сильно увеличились. Это неудивительно, так как сбои с поставками все еще не устранили, а цены на бензин в США подросли до рекордных 1,1 $ за литр.

Также Target расширила штат и сообщила о высоких расходах на персонал. А еще она подняла зарплаты. В США рекордно низкий уровень безработицы за 50 лет, так что компании приходится привлекать работников более высокими выплатами.

В итоге операционная маржа Target по сравнению с прошлым годом упала вдвое, с 9,8 до 5,3%. А вместе с ней и прибыль компании. Ретейлер ожидает, что в текущем квартале и по итогам 2022 года маржа будет примерно такой же — около 5—6%.

Target отчиталась 18 мая до основной сессии. По итогу торгов акции компании упали на 25%, до 162 $. Это уровень осени 2020 года.

Walmart (WMT)

Финансовые результаты год к году:

  • продажи — 141,6 млрд долларов (+2,4%);
  • себестоимость продаж — 106,8 млрд долларов (+3,5%);
  • чистая прибыль — 2 млрд долларов (−24,8%).

Квартальные результаты Walmart немногим отличаются от Target: продажи выше прогноза и плохая рентабельность в связи с инфляцией и затратами.

Как считает Walmart, по итогам года ее выручка увеличится на 4%, тогда как прибыль упадет на 1%.

Walmart отчиталась за сутки до Target, 17 мая. В течение дня бумаги компании подешевели на 11,4% — максимально с 1987 года. 18 мая за компанию с Target они упали еще на 6,8%, до 122 $.

  Дивиболезнь.

Падение более чем на 10% за день для «скучной» и стоимостной компании с бета-коэффициентом 0,5 — это много. Бета — это мера волатильности акции по сравнению с широким рынком. Если он растет или падает на 1%, то акции Walmart обычно меняются в цене вдвое меньше — всего на 0,5%.

Не защитили от инфляции

Ретейлеров часто называют защитой от инфляции, поскольку они продают необходимые товары и могут перекладывать свои расходы на покупателей.

Это спорно как минимум по двум причинам: внимание регуляторов к росту цен на продукты и высокая конкуренция. Об этом Walmart и Target сказали сами еще осенью 2021 года. Они заявили, что не будут задирать цены, чтобы сохранить лояльных клиентов. Все это компании подтвердили и сейчас.

Розничная торговля — это низкомаржинальный бизнес. Основную прибыль торговые сети получают за счет высоких оборотов, поэтому даже небольшой рост себестоимости приводит к падению рентабельности. И если Walmart и Target так и не справятся с инфляционным давлением, то их маржа вместе с акциями, скорее всего, продолжит падать.

Не справились с инфляцией: акции Walmart и Target обрушились после отчетов

Реакция рынка

Walmart и Target — лицо американского ретейла и зеркало потребительских настроений. Аналитики следят за отчетами этих компаний, чтобы определить финансовое благосостояние покупателей.

Глава Walmart сообщил, что клиенты стали чаще брать небольшие упаковки. Например, полгаллона молока вместо одного. Еще они уменьшили расходы на товары второй необходимости: одежду и электронику.

Продукты питания — это низкомаржинальные товары. Поэтому большая доля таких товаров в общем объеме продаж уменьшает маржу ретейлера. А чтобы продать товары второй необходимости, магазинам приходится давать скидку, что тоже сказывается на прибыли.

По данным Walmart, за год средний чек в супермаркетах вырос на 3% только за счет инфляции, так как объем корзины уменьшился. Кажется, потребитель — главный драйвер экономического роста — ждет замедления экономики и начинает разумнее тратить деньги.

Кроме всего прочего, и по этой причине основные фондовые индексы провели худшую с июня 2020 года сессию. Инвесторы опасаются, что маржинальность других компаний также может упасть. Индексы S&P 500, Nasdaq и Dow Jones 18 мая упали на 4—5%, акции дискаунтеров Dollar General и Dollar Tree — на 11—14%.

  Обзор Affirm: инвестируем в рассрочки

Пролистать наверх