Delisting of Chinese companies from American exchanges began. The first is DiDi

Начался делистинг китайских компаний с американских бирж. Первая — DiDi

Chinese carrier DiDi, providing taxi and car sharing services, in the morning 3 December announced his departure from the New York Stock Exchange to the Hong Kong.

Rumors were confirmed

A possible delisting became known a week ago. Media learned, that the Chinese regulators "asked" the company to draw up a plan to leave the American site.

Rumored, the authorities offered DiDi two options: stop being public, that is, leave the stock exchange altogether, or transfer shares to a local site. In the first case, the company would have to return to shareholders 14 $ for paper. It was at this price that the recent IPO took place. DiDi chose the second option, only her shares, probably, will be even cheaper on the Hong Kong stock exchange, than now - 7,8 $.

Not only minority shareholders are losing due to negative news about delisting, but also large shareholders of DiDi. About a third of the company's shares are held by Japanese SoftBank and American Uber.

How it all started

DiDi IPO on the New York Stock Exchange at the end of June. The next day, the securities rose by 16%, from 14 to 16,4 $, and just a couple of days later, the China Cyberspace Authority began an audit of the company. At the time of checking DiDi was banned from registering new users. A week after the IPO, the company's shares fell by 21%, in three weeks - on 43%, to 8 $.

DiDi is the largest taxi-ordering service in China. The service stores a large amount of data about routes and users. The authorities were worried, what a public company, traded on the American stock exchange, may leak this data. Regulators offered to postpone the IPO and first conduct an audit, but DiDi refused.

This year, the Chinese authorities tightened control over the largest companies. In February, the government published new antitrust rules, and in August began drafting a data protection law. As a result, such companies suffered from the actions of the authorities., like Alibaba, Tencent, DiDi, VALLEY and Meituan. All this negatively affected the shares.. Index Nasdaq Golden Dragon China, which includes securities of companies traded in the USA, since the beginning of the year fell by 37%.

  AMX : America Movil S.A.B de C.V

Press on both sides

DiDi filed for delisting hours after, as the US Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) obliged all Chinese companies to provide correct accounting data. SEC made amendments to the law and can now exclude unfair foreign issuers from the exchange. The head of the commission warned about such a scenario back in August..

More often, the need for such amendments was talked about last year.. Became known: management of Luckin Coffee, the Chinese equivalent of Starbucks, artificially inflates sales in reports. As a result, Luckin Coffee shares fell by 96%, and later they were completely removed from the exchange.

Probably, Chinese companies, who conduct their business honestly, would like to share the results of audits. Only the Chinese authorities prohibit it by law.. Investment in such companies is no longer a financial issue., but the political. As a result, the issuers themselves suffer, as well as ordinary investors. Especially those, what do they buy ADR on American exchanges.

Homecoming

maybe, most Chinese companies will start IPOs on local, not foreign exchanges. Chinese President Xi Jinping even promised to create another site in Beijing. Now there are three exchanges in the country: in Shanghai, Shenzhen and Hong Kong.

In the situation with DiDi, China made it clear, what is not interested, for its large companies to trade on foreign exchanges. It is not excluded, that DiDi will be followed by the rest.

If the company's securities are traded only on the US stock exchange, in case of delisting to an investor, most likely, have to sell them. And if the company is located at different sites, e.g. New York and Hong Kong, like Alibaba, broker will be able to transfer securities from one exchange to another. But Russian investors, who buy shares on local markets, probably, also have to get rid of them: nor "SPb-Exchange", nor Moscow's direct access to China still has.

Capitalization of the largest Chinese companies, which are only traded in the USA, billion dollars

Pinduoduo 83,3
Nio 67,5
DiDi 36,8
KE 23,8
Lufax 15,7
Full Truck Alliance 13,6
Kanzhun 13,1
Tencent Music 12,2
get in 7,0
Vipshop 6,6
  Nice glitch when splitting FBP shares

83,3

Scroll up

Начался делистинг китайских компаний с американских бирж. Первая — DiDi

Начался делистинг китайских компаний с американских бирж. Первая — DiDi

Китайский перевозчик DiDi, предоставляющий услуги такси и каршеринга, утром 3 декабря объявил об уходе с Нью-Йоркской биржи на Гонконгскую.

Слухи подтвердились

О возможном делистинге стало известно неделю назад. СМИ узнали, что китайские регуляторы «попросили» компанию составить план по уходу с американской площадки.

По слухам, власти предложили DiDi два варианта: перестать быть публичной, то есть уйти с биржи совсем, или же перевести акции на местную площадку. В первом случае компании пришлось бы вернуть акционерам 14 $ за бумагу. Именно по такой цене прошло недавнее IPO. DiDi выбрала второй вариант, только вот ее акции, вероятно, на бирже Гонконга будут стоить еще дешевле, чем сейчас — 7,8 $.

Из-за негативных новостей о делистинге теряют не только миноритарные, но и крупные акционеры DiDi. Примерно треть акций компании держат японский SoftBank и американский Uber.

С чего все началось

DiDi провела IPO на бирже Нью-Йорка в конце июня. На следующий день бумаги выросли на 16%, с 14 до 16,4 $, а всего через пару дней Управление киберпространства Китая начало проверку компании. На время проверки DiDi запретили регистрировать новых пользователей. Через неделю после IPO акции компании подешевели на 21%, через три недели — на 43%, до 8 $.

DiDi — крупнейший сервис по заказу такси в Китае. Сервис хранит большое количество данных о маршрутах и пользователях. Власти обеспокоились, что публичная компания, торгующаяся на американской бирже, может допустить утечку этих данных. Регуляторы предлагали отложить IPO и сначала провести аудит, но DiDi отказалась.

В этом году власти Китая усилили контроль за крупнейшими компаниями. В феврале правительство опубликовало новые антимонопольные правила, а в августе начало разработку закона о защите данных. В результате от действий властей пострадали такие компании, как Alibaba, Tencent, DiDi, TAL и Meituan. Все это негативно сказалось на акциях. Индекс Nasdaq Golden Dragon China, куда входят бумаги торгующихся в США компаний, с начала года упал на 37%.

  Hot Keys. Горячие клавиши и их использование в дейтрейдинге

Давят с двух сторон

DiDi заявила о делистинге через несколько часов после того, как Комиссия по ценным бумагам и биржам США (SEC) обязала все китайские компании предоставлять корректные бухгалтерские данные. SEC сделала поправки в законе и теперь может исключать с биржи недобросовестных иностранных эмитентов. О таком сценарии глава комиссии предупреждал еще в августе.

Чаще о необходимости таких поправок заговорили в прошлом году. Стало известно: начальство Luckin Coffee, китайского аналога Starbucks, в отчетах искусственно завышает продажи. В результате за три месяца акции Luckin Coffee упали на 96%, а позже их совсем убрали с биржи.

Вероятно, китайские компании, которые ведут свой бизнес честно, были бы не против делиться результатами аудиторских проверок. Только вот власти Китая законодательно это запрещают. Вопрос инвестиций в такие компании становится уже не финансовым, а политическим. В итоге страдают как сами эмитенты, так и обычные инвесторы. Особенно те, что покупают АДР на американских биржах.

Возвращение домой

Возможно, большинство компаний из Китая начнет проводить первичное размещение на местных, а не иностранных биржах. Председатель КНР Си Цзиньпин даже пообещал создать еще одну площадку в Пекине. Сейчас в стране работает три биржи: в Шанхае, Шэньчжэне и Гонконге.

В ситуации с DiDi Китай дал понять, что не заинтересован, чтобы его крупные компании торговались на иностранных площадках. Не исключено, что за DiDi последуют и остальные.

Если бумаги компании торгуются лишь на бирже в США, в случае делистинга инвестору, скорее всего, придется их продать. А если компания расположена на разных площадках, например в Нью-Йорке и Гонконге, как Alibaba, брокер сможет перевести ценные бумаги с одной биржи на другую. Но российским инвесторам, которые покупают акции на местных площадках, вероятно, тоже придется от них избавиться: ни «СПб-биржа», ни Московская прямого доступа к Китаю все еще не имеют.

Капитализация крупнейших китайских компаний, которые торгуются только в США, млрд долларов

Pinduoduo 83,3
Nio 67,5
DiDi 36,8
KE 23,8
Lufax 15,7
Full Truck Alliance 13,6
Kanzhun 13,1
Tencent Music 12,2
Futu 7,0
Vipshop 6,6
  Итоги экспериментов

83,3

Пролистать наверх