How Russian exchanges work 1 Martha

And what happens to Russian securities on foreign exchanges

Как работают российские биржи 1 марта

Moscow Exchange and SPb-Exchange clarified working hours. And MSCI announced the possible exclusion of Russian companies from its indices.

Working hours of exchanges

Moscow Exchange. Morning and evening sessions canceled until 5 Martha. The currency and money markets work with 10:00 to 19:00 in Moscow. Stock and futures markets 1 March not working. Trading mode 2 March will be announced later.

"SPb-Exchange". 1 March, the main trading in international securities will be launched in 17:00 in Moscow. The exchange did not say, which will limit trading in individual securities. 28 February, the exchange did not allow issuers listed on foreign exchanges to trade.

NYSE And Nasdaq. American stock exchanges suspended trading in Russian securities due to sanctions. This is Yandex, Ozone, Cian, HeadHunter, MTS and Mechel.

Russian companies may be excluded from MSCI indices

In response to sanctions, the Bank of Russia banned brokers from accepting orders to sell Russian securities from non-residents. According to index provider MSCI, now Russian stock market "unsuitable for investment".

MSCI fears, that investors can get stuck in Russia: “There is no point in including Russian securities in indices, if our clients cannot make transactions in the market. The next possible step is to exclude Russian securities from our indices.”.

The company will consult with institutional investors and issue an additional message before the end of the week.

One such institutional investor is exchange-traded fund provider BlackRock.. Some BlackRock funds replicate MSCI indices. For example, iShares MSCI ACWI ETF. It is a global fund of world stocks.

As of July 2021, total share of Russian shares, e.g. Sbera, "Gazprom", Inter RAO and others, at MSCI ACWI was 0,4%. Here's how BlackRock explained such a small share back in December 2021:

“Investing in Russian securities involves significant risks: Legal, Regulatory, monetary and economic, - which are specific to Russia. Besides, investing involves risks of losing the ownership of the fund.

  New game in town

A number of jurisdictions, including USA, Canada and the European Union, imposed economic sanctions on certain Russian individuals. Besides, Russia, presumably, sponsored cyberattacks on foreign companies and governments.

All this may affect the Russian economy and Russian issuers.”.

The influx of foreign investment is one of the stock market growth drivers. And the mass exodus of non-residents can negatively affect not only the ruble exchange rate, but also for the long-term stock market.

Share of countries in the MSCI ACWI index by 25 February 2022

USA 60,5%
Japan 5,5%
United Kingdom 3,8%
China 3,6%
Canada 3,1%
France 2,9%
Switzerland 2,5%
Germany 2,1%
Taiwan 1,8%
Australia 1,8%
India 1,4%
Korea 1,4%
Netherlands 1,1%
Other 8,0%

60,5%

Scroll up

Как работают российские биржи 1 марта

И что происходит с российскими ценными бумагами на зарубежных биржах

Как работают российские биржи 1 марта

Московская биржа и «СПб-биржа» уточнили режим работы. А MSCI заявила о возможном исключении российских компаний из своих индексов.

Режим работы бирж

Московская биржа. Утренние и вечерние сессии отменили до 5 марта. Валютный и денежный рынки работают с 10:00 до 19:00 по Москве. Фондовый и срочный рынки 1 марта не работают. Режим торгов 2 марта объявят позже.

«СПб-биржа». 1 марта основные торги международными бумагами запустят в 17:00 по Москве. Биржа не сказала, что ограничит торговлю отдельными бумагами. 28 февраля биржа не допустила к торгам эмитентов с листингом на зарубежных площадках.

NYSE и Nasdaq. Американские биржи в связи с санкциями приостановили торги российскими бумагами. Это Yandex, Ozon, Cian, HeadHunter, MTS и Mechel.

Российские компании могут исключить из индексов MSCI

В ответ на санкции Банк России запретил брокерам принимать заявки на продажу российских бумаг от нерезидентов. По мнению провайдера индексов MSCI, теперь российский фондовый рынок «непригоден для инвестиций».

В MSCI опасаются, что инвесторы могут «застрять» в России: «Нет смысла включать российские ценные бумаги в индексы, если наши клиенты не могут совершать сделки на рынке. Следующий возможный шаг — это исключение российских ценных бумаг из наших индексов».

Компания проконсультируется с институциональными инвесторами и выпустит дополнительное сообщение до конца недели.

Один из таких институциональных инвесторов — провайдер биржевых фондов BlackRock. Некоторые фонды BlackRock повторяют индексы MSCI. Например, iShares MSCI ACWI ETF. Это глобальный фонд мировых акций.

По данным на июль 2021 года, совокупная доля российских акций, например Сбера, «Газпрома», «Интер РАО» и остальных, в MSCI ACWI составляла 0,4%. Вот как такую маленькую долю объяснял BlackRock еще в декабре 2021 года:

«Инвестирование в российские ценные бумаги включает значительные риски: юридические, нормативные, валютные и экономические, — которые специфичны для России. Кроме того, инвестирование сопряжено с рисками потери права собственности фонда.

  Инвестидея: Entegris, потому что не туда смотрят

Ряд юрисдикций, включая США, Канаду и Европейский союз, ввел экономические санкции в отношении некоторых российских лиц. Кроме того, Россия, предположительно, спонсировала кибератаки на иностранные компании и правительства.

Все это может повлиять на российскую экономику и российских эмитентов».

Приток иностранных инвестиций — это один из драйверов роста фондового рынка. И массовый исход нерезидентов может негативно повлиять не только на курс рубля, но и на долгосрочную перспективу рынка акций.

Доля стран в индексе MSCI ACWI на 25 февраля 2022 года

США 60,5%
Япония 5,5%
Великобритания 3,8%
Китай 3,6%
Канада 3,1%
Франция 2,9%
Швейцария 2,5%
Германия 2,1%
Тайвань 1,8%
Австралия 1,8%
Индия 1,4%
Корея 1,4%
Нидерланды 1,1%
Остальные 8,0%

60,5%

Пролистать наверх