Investidea: Teradata, because it's cheaper

Investidea: Teradata, because it's cheaper

TeradataTDC$34.87BuyService in partnership with Tinkoff Investments. Quotes are updated every 15 minutes

Today we have an idea at the intersection of conservatism and speculation: take shares in software and IT services provider Teradata (NYSE: TDC), to capitalize on the undervaluation of this company.

Growth potential and validity: 24% behind 19 Months; 71,5% behind 4 of the year; 14% per year for 9 years.

Why stocks can go up: because they are criminally underrated.

How do we act: we take shares now by 34,30 $.

When creating the material, sources were used, inaccessible to users from the Russian Federation. We hope, Do you know, what to do.

No guarantees

Our reflections are based on the analysis of the company's business and the personal experience of our investors, but remember: not a fact, that the investment idea will work like this, as we expect. Everything, what we write, are forecasts and hypotheses, not a call to action. To rely on our reflections or not – it's up to you.

And what is there with the author's forecasts

Research, like this and this, talk about, that the accuracy of target price predictions is low. And that's ok: there are always too many surprises on the stock exchange and accurate forecasts are rarely realized. If the situation were reversed, then funds based on computer algorithms would show results better than people, but alas, they work worse.

So we're not trying to build complex models.. The profitability forecast in the article is the author's expectations. We specify this forecast for the landmark. As with the investment idea in general, readers decide for themselves, it is worth trusting the author and focusing on the forecast or not.

We love, appreciate,
Investment editorial office

What the company makes money on

Teradata makes cloud-based enterprise data analytics software with customers from a wide range of industries.

Last year we published a successful idea for this company and described in detail its business, so we won't repeat ourselves here.. Here's what's important: most of the company's revenue is renewable - in the form of subscriptions or renewable service contracts.

Investidea: Teradata, because it's cheaper

Arguments in favor of the company

Fell down. The company's shares have fallen sharply this year.: with 58 to 34,30 $. The main reason for the fall was quarterly results and the forecast is slightly worse than expected. Ukrainian events also influenced: the company left the Russian Federation and at once lost $60 million in revenue in this market. News, certainly, unpleasant, but not fatal to Teradata.

  New securities on the Moscow Exchange for June 2021

It seems to me, investor panic is not entirely justified and we can count on a rebound in these shares.

Relevant. The company's solutions are super relevant in our time, when the corporate sector is looking for an answer to the problem of increasing productivity at a time of rising costs.

Cheap. The company is cheap, especially against the background of IT colleagues: its capitalization is 3.6 billion dollars, P / S — 1,9 and P / E — 29,5.

Can buy. Teradata's business is profitable and quite stable - don't forget most of the revenue is in the form of projected revolving revenues. It seems to me, it may well be bought by some large technology company, especially in light of the strong fall in Teradata quotes.

What can get in the way

Hotels. Whatever analysts' attempts to draw reporting numbers from the future look like, in which, in their opinion, the company must comply, investors, Unfortunately, take all this information to heart. That's why, when a company does not fit into these out-of-the-box forecasts, stocks can suffer.

Teradata earnings per share in dollars

2к20213к20214к20211к20222к2022
Current0,740,430,570,65
Forecast0,480,330,270,630,29

Teradata revenue figures, million dollars

2к20213к20214к20211к20222к2022
Current491460475496
Forecast472,96455,45477,46488,99441,48

Accounting. The company has a lot of debt - almost 1.658 billion, of which 993 million must be repaid within a year. There is not much money at Teradata's disposal: there are 404 million in accounts and 30 million debts of counterparties.

Such a large debt may scare away some investors from the company due to higher interest rates and higher cost of servicing loans.. However, the company's debt is gradually decreasing. The relatively high level of debt is offset by the, that Teradata is profitable - unlike most colleagues in the shop.

What's the bottom line?

You can buy shares now 34,30 $. And then there are the following options for the development of events.:

  1. wait for stocks to return to level 42 $. Here it is better to rely on 19 Months;
  2. hold until the stock returns to the level 58 $. Here you should be prepared to wait for the next 4 of the year;
  3. if last time you took stocks with an eye on the long term, you can buy now after the drawdown.
  Merck has developed a cure for COVID 19 Molnupiravir Molnupiravir

Scroll to Top

Инвестидея: Teradata, потому что дешевле некуда

Инвестидея: Teradata, потому что дешевле некуда

TeradataTDC34,87 $

Сегодня у нас идея на стыке консерватизма и спекуляций: взять акции поставщика программного обеспечения и ИТ-услуг Teradata (NYSE: TDC), чтобы заработать на недооцененности этой компании.

Потенциал роста и срок действия: 24% за 19 месяцев; 71,5% за 4 года; 14% в год на протяжении 9 лет.

Почему акции могут вырасти: потому что они преступно недооценены.

Как действуем: берем акции сейчас по 34,30 $.

При создании материала использовались источники, недоступные пользователям из РФ. Надеемся, вы знаете, что делать.

Без гарантий

Наши размышления основаны на анализе бизнеса компании и личном опыте наших инвесторов, но помните: не факт, что инвестидея сработает так, как мы ожидаем. Все, что мы пишем, — это прогнозы и гипотезы, а не призыв к действию. Полагаться на наши размышления или нет — решать вам.

И что там с прогнозами автора

Исследования, например вот это и вот это, говорят о том, что точность предсказаний целевых цен невелика. И это нормально: на бирже всегда слишком много неожиданностей и точные прогнозы реализовываются редко. Если бы ситуация была обратная, то фонды на основе компьютерных алгоритмов показывали бы результаты лучше людей, но увы, работают они хуже.

Поэтому мы не пытаемся строить сложные модели. Прогноз доходности в статье — это ожидания автора. Этот прогноз мы указываем для ориентира. Как и с инвестидеей в целом, читатели решают сами, стоит доверять автору и ориентироваться на прогноз или нет.

Любим, ценим,
Инвестредакция

На чем компания зарабатывает

Teradata делает облачное ПО для аналитики данных на предприятии — клиенты к ней приходят из самых разных отраслей.

В прошлом году мы публиковали успешную идею по этой компании и в ней подробно описывали ее бизнес, так что здесь повторяться не будем. Важно вот что: большая часть выручки у компании относится к разряду возобновляемой — в форме подписок или продлеваемых контрактов на обслуживание.

Инвестидея: Teradata, потому что дешевле некуда

Аргументы в пользу компании

Упало. За этот год акции компании сильно упали: с 58 до 34,30 $. Главной причиной падения стали квартальные результаты и прогноз чуть хуже ожиданий. Также повлияли украинские события: компания ушла из РФ и разом потеряла 60 млн долларов выручки на этом рынке. Новости, конечно, неприятные, но не фатальные для Teradata.

  Обучение торговле с Bano Tiem (Sobano)

Как мне кажется, паника инвесторов не вполне оправданна и мы можем рассчитывать на отскок этих акций.

Актуально. Решения компании сверхактуальны в наше время, когда корпоративный сектор ищет ответ на проблему повышения продуктивности труда в период растущих издержек.

Дешево. Компания стоит дешево, особенно на фоне ИТ-коллег: капитализация у нее 3,6 млрд долларов, P / S — 1,9 и P / E — 29,5.

Могут купить. Бизнес Teradata прибылен и достаточно стабилен — не забываем про большую часть выручки в форме прогнозируемых возобновляемых поступлений. Как мне кажется, ее вполне может купить какая-нибудь крупная технологическая компания, особенно в свете сильного падения котировок Teradata.

Что может помешать

Хотелки. Как бы ни выглядели попытки аналитиков рисовать числа отчетности из будущего, в которые, по их мнению, компания обязана укладываться, инвесторы, к сожалению, принимают всю эту информацию близко к сердцу. Поэтому, когда компания не укладывается в эти взятые с потолка прогнозы, акции могут страдать.

Показатели прибыли на акцию Teradata в долларах

2к2021 3к2021 4к2021 1к2022 2к2022
Текущий 0,74 0,43 0,57 0,65
Прогноз 0,48 0,33 0,27 0,63 0,29

Показатели выручки Teradata, млн долларов

2к2021 3к2021 4к2021 1к2022 2к2022
Текущий 491 460 475 496
Прогноз 472,96 455,45 477,46 488,99 441,48

Бухгалтерия. У компании немало задолженностей — почти 1,658 млрд, из которых 993 млн нужно погасить в течение года. Денег в распоряжении Teradata не так много: есть 404 млн на счетах и 30 млн задолженностей контрагентов.

Такой большой долг может отпугивать от компании часть инвесторов ввиду повышения ставок и подорожания обслуживания займов. Впрочем, сумма задолженностей у компании постепенно снижается. Относительно высокий уровень долга нивелируется тем, что Teradata прибыльная — в отличие от большинства коллег по цеху.

Что в итоге

Можно брать акции сейчас по 34,30 $. А дальше есть следующие варианты развития событий:

  1. ждать возвращения акций к уровню 42 $. Здесь лучше рассчитывать на 19 месяцев;
  2. держать до возвращения акций к уровню 58 $. Тут следует приготовиться ждать следующие 4 года;
  3. если в прошлый раз вы взяли акции с прицелом на долгий срок, то можете сейчас докупить после просадки.
  Обзор ПИК СЗ: крупнейший российский девелопер

Пролистать наверх