Investidea: Prologis, because the warehouse of ideas

Инвестидея: Prologis, потому что склад идей

Today we have a speculative idea: take shares of REIT Prologis (NYSE: PLD), in order to make money on the frenzied growth in demand for warehouses.

Growth potential and validity: 15% behind 17 months excluding dividends; 9% per annum during 15 years including dividends.

Why stocks can go up: because the company is well established – and at the same time is engaged in business diversification.

How do we act: take now 145,5 $.

When creating the material, sources were used, inaccessible to users from the Russian Federation. We hope, Do you know, what to do.

No guarantees

Our reflections are based on the analysis of the company's business and the personal experience of our investors, but remember: not a fact, that the investment idea will work like this, as we expect. Everything, what we write, are forecasts and hypotheses, not a call to action. To rely on our reflections or not – it's up to you.

And what is there with the author's forecasts

Research, like this and this, talk about, that the accuracy of target price predictions is low. And that's ok: there are always too many surprises on the stock exchange and accurate forecasts are rarely realized. If the situation were reversed, then funds based on computer algorithms would show results better than people, but alas, they work worse.

So we're not trying to build complex models.. The profitability forecast in the article is the author's expectations. We specify this forecast for the landmark. As with the investment idea in general, readers decide for themselves, it is worth trusting the author and focusing on the forecast or not.

We love, appreciate,
Investment editorial office

What the company makes money on

Prologis is a REIT, which invests in warehouses and logistics infrastructure. REIT is obliged to distribute most of the profits in the form of dividends to shareholders. We published an investment idea for the company, in which her business is analyzed in detail. And in principle, there is nothing to repeat here - we have already received the main information.: Prologis is "warehouses with dividends".

Инвестидея: Prologis, потому что склад идей

Arguments in favor of the company

Fell down. Since December, the stock has fallen significantly from 168 to 145,5 $. In view of the circumstances described below, I think, that we can expect a rebound.

Again on the new. Our last investment idea was a success, giving more 60% in the absolute without taking into account dividends less than for 15 Months. And it is quite reasonable to invest in the company again.

  Notes 14 September

The logistics boom has not only not weakened, but even intensified. Recent events with a ban on flights in the airspace of the Russian Federation will also increase the demand for storage capacity. But even without this, the demand for warehouses grew., is growing and will continue to grow both due to the growth of e-commerce, and in connection with the restructuring of logistics chains by companies in the context of an eternal pandemic.

The company's shares may well grow due to the withdrawal of investors from office or retail lease projects and their transition to the field of logistics. The world has fallen deep into the hell of an eternal pandemic., and doubtful, that offices and shops will be a good investment of capital. But in the case of REITs like Prologis, there are real prospects for growth in dividend yields..

Инвестидея: Prologis, потому что склад идей

Stability. The level of occupancy of the leased space at the company is 97,4%. This gives its business stability..

Diversification. Now the largest client of the company in the lease — Amazon. He gives very little - only 7% from the company's rental revenue. The next big customer, FedEx, only gives 2,1% rental proceeds. In total, the largest 10 customers of the company give it only 16,7% Rental. And the largest 25 customers are given to her only 22,5% Rental. In general, we can say, that the company has a very high level of diversification of customers and only the departure of Amazon can create real problems for it.

If you forget about Amazon, then prologis' negotiating position looks very strong – and allows us to hope for a tangible increase in its profits due to an increase in rents..

A little more diversification. The main income of the company is rent. But approximately 12% revenue is brought by services for the maintenance of leased areas. Prologis recently reported, what plans to develop the services segment, among other things, through the installation of solar panels and automation.

These are all highly relevant initiatives.: solar energy will be stimulated by the growth of prices for traditional hydrocarbon energy sources, and automation is an extremely relevant topic for the United States and Europe due to the unprecedented increase in the cost of labor there..

Do not hope for a powerful growth in the services segment at Prologis here and now, but over long distances, this will distinguish the company from other REITs., a simple business model that rests on the principle of "let's just rent out warehouses and do nothing". I think, that in the future 7-8 years the "service" business of the company, may be, it will even be possible to allocate a separate issuer, which will bring a lot of joy to Prologis shareholders.

  Review of Magnit results for 2021 year

What can get in the way

Logistic boom. Now a lot of money is invested in the construction of warehouses. Demand here will be ahead of supply for a long time., and the very fact of growth in supply in this market will slow down the growth rate of rents..

The main danger here seems to me to be, surprisingly, a powerful drop in income from office rent: a lot of capital is concentrated in this area and its owners have a great temptation to withdraw it from the unpromising and stagnant office business into the construction of warehouses.. "You're renting out offices., my mother's friend's son invested in the warehouse, and he's doing well.". This will greatly increase the volume of supply in the logistics market and negatively affect the growth of Prologis' financial performance..

Dividends. Even after the recent increase in payments by 25%, which was up to 3.16 $ per share per year, the dividend yield of Prologis shares is only 2,16% per annum. Basically, it's not so little. But, Considering, that most of the company's space has already been commissioned, and the potential for rent increases for current customers is somewhat limited., don't be hopeful, that in the coming year the company will be able to dramatically increase profits and, respectively, Dividends. In terms of passive profitability, now Prologis does not give so much.

Accounting. The company has a huge amount of debts - 20.744 billion, but there is only 556.1 million money in the accounts. Such a large debt will scare off investors – and after all, it, probably, will grow, because the company needs to repair existing warehouses. She also invests a lot in expanding the business..

All in all, the amount of Prologis debts will remain at a high level for a long time and, probably, grow. That's a worry in an era of rising rates.: the company's ability to pay dividends may be at risk.

Not that cheap. Even after the drop in quotations, the company is worth a lot.: P / E in her neighborhood 36. But in the case of REIT, it is better to look at the following parameter - the ratio of the value of shares and profit from operations.. This indicator in Prologis — 34,07: 145,5 by 4.27 $ per share. It's not crazy much., but a lot. All in all, the company is not cheap and the shares here can be a little shocking.

What's the bottom line?

Shares can be taken now by 145,5 $. And then there are two options:

  1. wait for the stock to return to the level 168 $. Think, that it we will achieve in the next 17 Months;
  2. keep shares next 15 years.
  Flag Pattern - Continue Explosive Movement

Scroll up

Инвестидея: Prologis, потому что склад идей

Инвестидея: Prologis, потому что склад идей

Сегодня у нас спекулятивная идея: взять акции REIT Prologis (NYSE: PLD), дабы заработать на бешеном росте спроса на склады.

Потенциал роста и срок действия: 15% за 17 месяцев без учета дивидендов; 9% годовых в течение 15 лет с учетом дивидендов.

Почему акции могут вырасти: потому что компания хорошо устроилась — и при этом занимается диверсификацией бизнеса.

Как действуем: берем сейчас по 145,5 $.

При создании материала использовались источники, недоступные пользователям из РФ. Надеемся, вы знаете, что делать.

Без гарантий

Наши размышления основаны на анализе бизнеса компании и личном опыте наших инвесторов, но помните: не факт, что инвестидея сработает так, как мы ожидаем. Все, что мы пишем, — это прогнозы и гипотезы, а не призыв к действию. Полагаться на наши размышления или нет — решать вам.

И что там с прогнозами автора

Исследования, например вот это и вот это, говорят о том, что точность предсказаний целевых цен невелика. И это нормально: на бирже всегда слишком много неожиданностей и точные прогнозы реализовываются редко. Если бы ситуация была обратная, то фонды на основе компьютерных алгоритмов показывали бы результаты лучше людей, но увы, работают они хуже.

Поэтому мы не пытаемся строить сложные модели. Прогноз доходности в статье — это ожидания автора. Этот прогноз мы указываем для ориентира. Как и с инвестидеей в целом, читатели решают сами, стоит доверять автору и ориентироваться на прогноз или нет.

Любим, ценим,
Инвестредакция

На чем компания зарабатывает

Prologis — это REIT, который инвестирует в склады и логистическую инфраструктуру. REIT обязан большую часть прибыли распределять в виде дивидендов среди акционеров. Мы публиковали инвестидею по компании, в которой подробно разобран ее бизнес. И в принципе здесь повторять нечего — основную информацию мы уже получили: Prologis — это «склады с дивидендами».

Инвестидея: Prologis, потому что склад идей

Аргументы в пользу компании

Упало. С декабря акции ощутимо упали с 168 до 145,5 $. Ввиду описанных ниже обстоятельств я думаю, что мы можем рассчитывать на отскок.

Еще раз по новой. Наша прошлая инвестидея увенчалась успехом, дав больше 60% в абсолюте без учета дивидендов меньше чем за 15 месяцев. И вполне резонно инвестировать в компанию еще раз.

  Инвестидея: компания Cryoport, потому что заморозка

Логистический бум не только не ослаб, но и даже усилился. Недавние события с запретом на полеты в воздушном пространстве РФ тоже повысят спрос на складские мощности. Но и без этого спрос на склады рос, растет и будет расти как в связи с ростом интернет-коммерции, так и в связи с перестройкой логистических цепочек компаниями в условиях вечной пандемии.

Акции компании вполне могут вырасти за счет выхода инвесторов из проектов офисной или розничной аренды и их перехода в сферу логистики. Мир провалился глубоко в ад вечной пандемии, и сомнительно, что офисы и магазины будут хорошим вложением капитала. А вот в случае REIT типа Prologis есть реальные перспективы роста дивидендной доходности.

Инвестидея: Prologis, потому что склад идей

Стабильность. Уровень занятости сдаваемых площадей у компании составляет 97,4%. Это придает ее бизнесу стабильности.

Диверсификация. Сейчас самый крупный клиент компании в аренде — Amazon. Дает он очень мало — всего 7% от арендной выручки компании. Следующий крупный клиент — FedEx — дает всего лишь 2,1% арендной выручки. В сумме крупнейшие 10 клиентов компании дают ей только 16,7% аренды. А крупнейшие 25 клиентов дают ей лишь 22,5% аренды. В целом можно сказать, что у компании очень высокий уровень диверсификации клиентов и реальные проблемы ей может создать только уход Amazon.

Если забыть про Amazon, то переговорная позиция Prologis выглядит очень сильной — и позволяет надеяться на ощутимый рост ее прибыли за счет повышения арендной платы.

Еще немного диверсификации. Основные доходы компании — это аренда. Но примерно 12% выручки ей приносят услуги по обслуживанию сдаваемых в аренду площадей. Недавно Prologis сообщила, что планирует развивать сегмент услуг, кроме всего прочего, за счет установки солнечных панелей и автоматизации.

Все это крайне актуальные инициативы: солнечную энергетику будет стимулировать рост цен на традиционные углеводородные источники энергии, а автоматизация — это крайне актуальная тема для США и Европы в связи с беспрецедентным ростом там стоимости труда.

Не стоит надеяться на мощный рост сегмента услуг у Prologis здесь и сейчас, но на длинных дистанциях это будет выгодно отличать компанию от других REIT, нехитрая бизнес-модель которых покоится на принципе «давайте просто сдавать склады в аренду и ничего не делать». Я думаю, что в перспективе 7—8 лет «услуговый» бизнес компании, может быть, даже получится выделить в отдельного эмитента, что принесет много радости акционерам Prologis.

  мелкие шалости и работа над ошибками

Что может помешать

Логистический бум. Сейчас в строительство складов вкладываются огромные деньги. Спрос тут еще долго будет опережать предложение, а сам факт роста предложения на этом рынке будет тормозить темпы роста арендной платы.

Главной опасностью тут мне видится, как ни странно, мощное падение доходов с офисной аренды: капитала в этой сфере сконцентрировано очень много и у его владельцев есть большое искушение вывести его из бесперспективного и стагнирующего офисного бизнеса в строительство складов. «Ты чего офисы сдаешь, вон сын маминой подруги в склад инвестировал, и все у него хорошо». Это сильно увеличит объем предложения на рынке логистики и негативно повлияет на рост финансовых показателей Prologis.

Дивиденды. Даже после недавнего повышения выплат на 25%, что составило до 3,16 $ на акцию в год, дивидендная доходность акций Prologis составляет всего 2,16% годовых. В принципе, это не так уж и мало. Но, учитывая, что большая часть площадей у компании уже сдана, а потенциал увеличения арендной платы для текущих клиентов несколько ограничен, не стоит надеяться, что в ближайший год компания сможет резко нарастить прибыль и, соответственно, дивиденды. В плане пассивной доходности сейчас Prologis дает не так много.

Бухгалтерия. У компании огромный объем задолженностей — 20,744 млрд, а вот денег на счетах только 556,1 млн. Такой большой долг будет отпугивать инвесторов — и ведь он, скорее всего, будет расти, поскольку компании нужно ремонтировать имеющиеся склады. Также она немало инвестирует в расширение бизнеса.

В общем, сумма задолженностей Prologis будет долго оставаться на высоком уровне и, вероятно, расти. Это не может не беспокоить в эпоху повышения ставок: под угрозой может оказаться способность компании платить дивиденды.

Не так дешево. Даже после падения котировок компания стоит немало: P / E у нее в районе 36. Но в случае с REIT лучше смотреть на следующий параметр — соотношение стоимости акций и прибыли от операций. Этот показатель у Prologis — 34,07: 145,5 на 4,27 $ на акцию. Это не безумно много, но очень немало. В общем, компания недешевая и акции тут может немного потрясти.

Что в итоге

Акции можно взять сейчас по 145,5 $. А дальше есть два варианта действий:

  1. дождаться возвращения акций к уровню 168 $. Думаю, что его мы достигнем в течение следующих 17 месяцев;
  2. держать акции следующие 15 лет.
  Летняя группа по торговле на фондовой бирже США(NYSE, NASDAQ, AMEX)

Пролистать наверх