Investidea: Onto Innovation, because on innovation

Инвестидея: Onto Innovation, потому что на инновации

Today we have a speculative idea: take shares of the semiconductor business Onto Innovation (NYSE: ONTO), in order to make money on his growth.

Growth potential and validity: 14% behind 14 Months; 9% per annum during 15 years.

Why stocks can go up: because semiconductors are a hot industry.

How do we act: take now 86,51 $.

When creating the material, sources were used, inaccessible to users from the Russian Federation. We hope, Do you know, what to do.

No guarantees

Our reflections are based on the analysis of the company's business and the personal experience of our investors, but remember: not a fact, that the investment idea will work like this, as we expect. Everything, what we write, are forecasts and hypotheses, not a call to action. To rely on our reflections or not – it's up to you.

And what is there with the author's forecasts

Research, like this and this, talk about, that the accuracy of target price predictions is low. And that's ok: there are always too many surprises on the stock exchange and accurate forecasts are rarely realized. If the situation were reversed, then funds based on computer algorithms would show results better than people, but alas, they work worse.

So we're not trying to build complex models.. The profitability forecast in the article is the author's expectations. We specify this forecast for the landmark. As with the investment idea in general, readers decide for themselves, it is worth trusting the author and focusing on the forecast or not.

We love, appreciate,
Investment editorial office

What the company makes money on

The company still hasn't bothered to upload a detailed 2021 results report to its website., so we will have to use the 2020 report to analyze her business. There, where it will be possible, we will refer to her 2021 figures.

The company is engaged in the design and manufacture of equipment and software for the production of microelectronics, essentially semiconductors. The company's solutions are used both at the stage of chip production, as well as in the testing phase., assembly and packaging.

According to the company's 2020 annual report, revenue is divided as follows:

  1. Systems and software — 80%. The equipment itself and various programs for work.
  2. Spare parts - 12%.
  3. Services - 8%. Maintenance as equipment, as well as software.

Revenue by country and region:

  1. PRC - 22%.
  2. Taiwan - 22%.
  3. South Korea - 16%.
  4. USA - 15%.
  5. Japan - 15%.
  6. Europe - 9%.
  7. Southeast Asia - 5%.
  INFOGRAPHICS: How many years do you need to work, to become a genius?

Инвестидея: Onto Innovation, потому что на инновации

Инвестидея: Onto Innovation, потому что на инновации

Arguments in favor of the company

Fell down. The company's shares fell this year from 105.96 to 86,51 $. Means, we can pick them up waiting for the rebound.

Semiconductors. Chip makers around the world are stepping up investment in capital renewal, as the semiconductor business has suddenly become very marginal. So,, all these multi-billion dollar investments will lead to more orders for companies like Onto Innovation.

Clean accounting. The company is not burdened with heavy debts: She has just $511 million in her accounts, which is more than enough to cover all her debts., as long-term, as well as short term. In an era of higher interest rates and more expensive loans, this is a big plus.

Not very expensive. P / S company about 5,46 - below, than its major competitor KLA - 7,66. P / E from Onto Innovation is not the smallest - 30,29, but still not shamelessly brazen. Finally, Capitalization of Onto Innovation is very small - the company is worth $4.31 billion.

Considering all this, as well as the previously listed advantages of the company, I think, that KLA may well buy Onto Innovation, especially after her recent fall. Certainly, the buyer may be someone else. I just see KLA as the most likely buyer due to the presence of motivation for expansion.: the position of the largest company in the semiconductor equipment sector must be protected.

What can get in the way

Concentration. According to 2020 annual report, the company's two large customers account for a disproportionate percentage of its revenue: 15% — Samsung и 14% — Taiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing. A change in relationship with one of them can have an extremely negative impact on Onto Innovation's reporting..

COMPLAIN. Compared to the huge KLA, the small Onto does not look so cool: its gross margin is smaller and revenue growth is not as fast. On an annualized basis, Onto's gross margin is 55%, and in KLA - 60%. It is basically understandable.: due to its large size, KLA has the ability to dictate its prices to customers. This is problem, if KLA doesn't buy Onto Innovation, how I would like:

  1. Investors will prefer 'cooler' KLA and ignore Onto Innovation.
  2. Onto Innovation will be motivated to expand, to compete with KLA. And because of this, probably, get into debt, which could negatively affect its quotes.
  Shares of Adobe and other companies fell after the rating downgrade from J. P. Morgan

The supply chain ate up my homework. The company has business all over the world: it is an exporter and a significant part of its production facilities and assets are located outside the United States. It means, that her business could suffer from logistical problems, faced by all businesses today..

However, the most recent company report on the situation as of 1 January 2022 says, that its performance compared to the same period a year earlier not only does not worsen, but even getting better.. Gross margin increased from 49 to 55%, and the operating room 9 to 22%. So that, may be, I overestimate the possible threat.

China. The company carries out a significant percentage of deliveries to China, and if the US continues to crush the Chinese tech sector, then this can have an extremely negative impact on the business of Onto Innovation.

What's the bottom line?

We take shares now by 86,51 $. And then there are two options:

  1. wait for the shares to return to 100 $. This is an acceptable premium to the current price of the company, and I think, that we will wait for this price during the next 14 Months;
  2. keep shares next 15 years. Over such a long distance, the probability of someone buying a company greatly increases.

Scroll up

Инвестидея: Onto Innovation, потому что на инновации

Инвестидея: Onto Innovation, потому что на инновации

Сегодня у нас спекулятивная идея: взять акции полупроводникового бизнеса Onto Innovation (NYSE: ONTO), дабы заработать на его росте.

Потенциал роста и срок действия: 14% за 14 месяцев; 9% годовых в течение 15 лет.

Почему акции могут вырасти: потому что полупроводники — горячая отрасль.

Как действуем: берем сейчас по 86,51 $.

При создании материала использовались источники, недоступные пользователям из РФ. Надеемся, вы знаете, что делать.

Без гарантий

Наши размышления основаны на анализе бизнеса компании и личном опыте наших инвесторов, но помните: не факт, что инвестидея сработает так, как мы ожидаем. Все, что мы пишем, — это прогнозы и гипотезы, а не призыв к действию. Полагаться на наши размышления или нет — решать вам.

И что там с прогнозами автора

Исследования, например вот это и вот это, говорят о том, что точность предсказаний целевых цен невелика. И это нормально: на бирже всегда слишком много неожиданностей и точные прогнозы реализовываются редко. Если бы ситуация была обратная, то фонды на основе компьютерных алгоритмов показывали бы результаты лучше людей, но увы, работают они хуже.

Поэтому мы не пытаемся строить сложные модели. Прогноз доходности в статье — это ожидания автора. Этот прогноз мы указываем для ориентира. Как и с инвестидеей в целом, читатели решают сами, стоит доверять автору и ориентироваться на прогноз или нет.

Любим, ценим,
Инвестредакция

На чем компания зарабатывает

Компания все еще не удосужилась загрузить подробный отчет с результатами 2021 года на свой сайт, поэтому нам придется для анализа ее бизнеса использовать отчет за 2020 год. Там, где это будет возможно, мы будем ссылаться на ее показатели 2021 года.

Компания занимается проектированием и производством оборудования и ПО для производства микроэлектроники, по сути полупроводников. Решения компании используются как на стадии производства чипа, так и на стадии тестирования, сборки и упаковывания.

Согласно годовому отчету компании за 2020 год, выручка делится следующим образом:

  1. Системы и ПО — 80%. Само оборудование и различные программы для работы.
  2. Запчасти — 12%.
  3. Услуги — 8%. Обслуживание как оборудования, так и ПО.

Выручка компании по странам и регионам:

  1. КНР — 22%.
  2. Тайвань — 22%.
  3. Южная Корея — 16%.
  4. США — 15%.
  5. Япония — 15%.
  6. Европа — 9%.
  7. Юго-Восточная Азия — 5%.
  ФРС против Трампа. Последствия для фондового рынка

Инвестидея: Onto Innovation, потому что на инновации

Инвестидея: Onto Innovation, потому что на инновации

Аргументы в пользу компании

Упало. Акции компании упали в этом году с 105,96 до 86,51 $. Значит, мы можем их подобрать в ожидании отскока.

Полупроводники. Производители чипов по всему миру наращивают инвестиции в обновление основных фондов, поскольку полупроводниковый бизнес внезапно стал очень маржинальным. А значит, все эти многомиллиардные инвестиции приведут к росту заказов для компаний типа Onto Innovation.

Чистая бухгалтерия. Компания не отягощена тяжелыми долгами: одних лишь 511 млн долларов у нее на счетах с лихвой хватит на покрытие всех ее задолженностей, как долгосрочных, так и краткосрочных. В эпоху повышения ставок и подорожания займов это большой плюс.

Не очень дорого. P / S у компании около 5,46 — ниже, чем у ее крупного конкурента KLA — 7,66. P / E у Onto Innovation не самый маленький — 30,29, но все же не бесстыдно наглый. Наконец, капитализация у Onto Innovation очень небольшая — компания стоит 4,31 млрд долларов.

Учитывая все это, а также ранее перечисленные достоинства компании, я думаю, что KLA вполне может купить Onto Innovation, особенно после ее недавнего падения. Конечно, покупателем может оказаться и кто-то еще. Просто KLA видится мне наиболее вероятным покупателем ввиду наличия мотивации для расширения: положение крупнейшей компании в секторе оборудования для полупроводников нужно защищать.

Что может помешать

Концентрация. Согласно годовому отчету за 2020 год, два крупных клиента компании дают непропорционально большой процент ее выручки: 15% — Samsung и 14% — Taiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing. Изменение отношений с кем-то из них может крайне негативно сказаться на отчетности Onto Innovation.

KLA. В сравнении с огромной KLA небольшая Onto выглядит не так круто: валовая маржа у нее поменьше и рост выручки не такой шустрый. В годовом выражении валовая маржа у Onto — 55%, а у KLA — 60%. Оно в принципе и понятно: из-за крупных размеров у KLA есть возможность диктовать покупателям свои цены. Это проблема, если KLA не будет покупать Onto Innovation, как мне бы хотелось:

  1. Инвесторы будут предпочитать «более крутую» KLA и игнорировать Onto Innovation.
  2. Onto Innovation будет мотивирована расширятся, чтобы конкурировать с KLA. И из-за этого, скорее всего, залезет в долги, что может негативно повлиять на ее котировки.
  Торговые идеи: SWS Group Inc. (SWS)

Цепочка снабжения съела мою домашнюю работу. У компании бизнес по всему миру: она экспортер и значительная часть ее производственных мощностей и активов расположена за пределами США. Это означает, что ее бизнес может пострадать от логистических проблем, с которыми сталкиваются нынче все бизнесы.

Впрочем, самый свежий отчет компании о ситуации по состоянию на 1 января 2022 говорит, что ее показатели по сравнению с аналогичным периодом годом ранее не только не ухудшаются, но и даже улучшаются. Валовая маржа выросла с 49 до 55%, а операционная — с 9 до 22%. Так что, может быть, я переоцениваю возможную угрозу.

Китай. Компания значительный процент поставок осуществляет в КНР, и если США продолжат давить китайский технологический сектор, то это может крайне негативно сказаться на бизнесе Onto Innovation.

Что в итоге

Берем акции сейчас по 86,51 $. А дальше есть два варианта действий:

  1. ждать возврата акций к 100 $. Это приемлемая премия к текущей цене компании, и я думаю, что мы дождемся этой цены в течение следующих 14 месяцев;
  2. держать акции следующие 15 лет. На столь длинной дистанции вероятность покупки компании кем-то сильно увеличивается.

Пролистать наверх