Google will reduce commission for cloud developers

Google снизит комиссию для разработчиков облачных приложений

According to the representative Google, the company can reduce the commission, which it charges to developers of cloud applications, from 20 to 3%.

“Our goal is to offer partners the best platform in the industry. Changes in terms of commission fees on our site are under development, and we will tell you more about it soon ", - said a Google employee.

Similar to mobile applications, developers can host their cloud solutions on the Google Cloud Marketplace platform. Companies enter into an agreement with Google and pay a certain percentage of sales.

Due to pressure from regulators and high competition, large tech companies are forced to reduce the size of commissions at their sites.

So, in July, Google lowered its commission from 30 to 15% for mobile app developers, who earn less than a million dollars a year on Google Play. Apple did the same earlier.. The court also decided that Apple will no longer be able to prevent developers from directing users to their own stores bypassing the App Store..

Another tech giant, Microsoft, since July has allowed Windows software developers to use their own stores and pick up 100% proceeds. PC game developers also pay less starting in August: 12% from sales instead of 30%.

Microsoft recently slashed transaction fees on its Azure cloud platform from 20 to 3%. Cloud services market leader Amazon charges a commission in 5%, according to UBS estimates. So it’s a matter of time before Google’s decision to reduce its Cloud Marketplace fees..

Reducing commissions, companies are deprived of a high-margin source of income. It's necessary, to retain old customers and attract new ones, after all, the cloud services market is still growing at double-digit rates.

According to Canalys, in the second quarter of 2021, companies' spending on cloud infrastructure increased by 36%, up to $ 47 billion. Of these, Amazon took 31%, Microsoft — 22%, Google — 8%.

According to Alphabet report, parent company Google, in the last quarter, revenue in the Google Cloud segment grew by 53%, up to $ 4.6 billion. Google's cloud business is growing faster than the industry, but still unprofitable: operating loss for the quarter amounted to 0.6 billion.

Google снизит комиссию для разработчиков облачных приложений

Scroll up

Google снизит комиссию для разработчиков облачных приложений

Google снизит комиссию для разработчиков облачных приложений

По словам представителя Google, компания может уменьшить комиссию, которую взимает с разработчиков облачных приложений, с 20 до 3%.

«Наша цель — предложить партнерам лучшую платформу в индустрии. Изменения по части комиссионных сборов на нашей площадке находятся в разработке, и скоро мы расскажем об этом подробнее», — сообщил сотрудник Google.

По аналогии с мобильными приложениями разработчики могут размещать свои облачные решения на платформе Google Cloud Marketplace. Компании заключают с Google договор и платят определенный процент с продаж.

Из-за давления со стороны регуляторов и высокой конкуренции крупные технологические компании вынуждены сокращать размер комиссий на своих площадках.

Так, в июле Google снизила комиссию с 30 до 15% для разработчиков мобильных приложений, которые зарабатывают в Google Play меньше миллиона долларов в год. Чуть раньше то же самое сделала Apple. По решению суда Apple также больше не сможет запрещать разработчикам направлять пользователей в собственные магазины в обход App Store.

Другой технологический гигант, Microsoft, с июля разрешил разработчикам программ для Windows использовать собственные магазины и забирать до 100% выручки. Начиная с августа разработчики игр для ПК также начали платить меньше: 12% с продаж вместо 30%.

Недавно Microsoft сократила комиссию за транзакции на своей облачной платформе Azure с 20 до 3%. Лидер рынка облачных услуг Amazon взимает комиссию в 5%, согласно оценкам UBS. Так что решение Google уменьшить сборы в Cloud Marketplace — вопрос времени.

Сокращая комиссии, компании лишаются высокомаржинального источника доходов. Это необходимо, чтобы удержать старых клиентов и привлечь новых, ведь рынок облачных услуг по-прежнему растет двузначными темпами.

По данным Canalys, во втором квартале 2021 года расходы компаний на облачную инфраструктуру выросли на 36%, до 47 млрд долларов. Из них Amazon забрал 31%, Microsoft — 22%, Google — 8%.

Согласно отчету Alphabet, материнской компании Google, в последнем квартале выручка в сегменте Google Cloud выросла на 53%, до 4,6 млрд долларов. Облачный бизнес Google растет быстрее индустрии, но пока остается убыточным: операционный убыток за квартал составил 0,6 млрд.

Google снизит комиссию для разработчиков облачных приложений

Пролистать наверх