The Fed allowed a rate hike to 0,9% in 2022 year due to high inflation

ФРС допустила повышение ставки до 0,9% в 2022 году из-за высокой инфляции

The Fed summed up the results of the regular meeting. The Bank will accelerate the reduction of incentives and, probably, will start raising the rate in the first half of 2022.

The rate will be raised, but not now

The regulator will accelerate the reduction of monthly purchases of bonds. So, in December, purchases will amount to $ 90 billion, in January — 60 billion. If the Fed doesn't change its policy in the future, in February, purchases will decrease by another 30 billion, and in March, the easing program will end.

After that, in the first half of 2022, the central bank may begin to raise the interest rate., which is still near zero. At the meeting, the commission voted to raise the rate in 2022 to 0,9%, in 2023 — until 1,6%. Recently, in September, the regulator planned to raise the rate in 2022 only up to 0,3%, and in June even wanted to leave it near zero..

How did the rate forecasts change in 2022

March 0,1%
June 0,1%
September 0,3%
December 0,9%

0,1%

Inflation is no longer temporary

The Fed is forced to reduce incentives and move to raise the rate due to high inflation, which in November was 6,8%. This is a record for the last 40 years level. So, compared to last year, food prices increased by 6,1%, on new cars — on 11,1%, on used cars — on 31,4%, for gasoline — for 58%.

Such an increase in prices was caused by the increased demand of consumers., lack of supply, caused by supply chain disruptions, and other factors. Since the beginning of the year FED Jerome Powell called inflation temporary, but only in December recognized, it is not so.

According to the commission, in 2021, inflation will be 5,3%, in 2022 — 2,6%. These estimates have changed a lot since March., after all, then the commission expected price increases by the end of 2021 only by 2,4%.

ФРС допустила повышение ставки до 0,9% в 2022 году из-за высокой инфляции

How inflation forecasts have changed in 2021

March 2,4%
June 3,4%
September 4,2%
December 5,3%

2,4%

What's with the stocks

The market reacted positively to the decision of the regulator. Grew more than the rest Nasdaq, which includes rate-sensitive technology companies, - on 2,2%. S indices&P 500 and Dow Jones added 1,6 and 1,1%.

  trading on the NYSE & NASDAQ 2010-05-15 10:38:58

One of the reasons for this growth is the lack of uncertainty., which was before the meeting. The Fed finally recognized the problem in the form of high inflation, but did not make radical decisions. Probably, markets could only fall hard in one case.: if the bank raised the rate now.

The bank will hold its next meeting in March, when he finishes buying bonds. And if inflation doesn't go double-digit, not excluded, that the Fed will postpone the rate hike until the June meeting..

A lot can happen in these six months.. for example, more dangerous strains of COVID-19 may appear and the economy will be closed again for quarantine. In such a situation, the Fed will not risk tightening the policy and will again postpone the decision on the rate.. This probability encourages investors to continue to invest in stocks..

And what does the bet have to do with it??

The bank's soft monetary policy is one of the main drivers of stock market growth. In March last year, the countries were closed for quarantine, a S&P 500 fell by 30%. Then the Fed lowered the rate to the level of 0-0.25% and announced a quantitative easing program.. The stock market began to grow and by August 2021 doubled..

With the rate, the yield of safe instruments such as deposits and bonds fell.. To make a profit, investors transferred savings to stock market, which led to the growth of shares. Even near-zero rates allow companies to take loans at low interest rates. It becomes easier for them to finance their growth and increase profits..

But with the growth of rates, it will be more difficult for debt-indebted companies to pay off the debt.. Yields on deposits and bonds will also grow, and the risk premium for owning expensive stocks will fall. That's why investors are following the Fed's decisions so closely..

ФРС допустила повышение ставки до 0,9% в 2022 году из-за высокой инфляции

Scroll up

ФРС допустила повышение ставки до 0,9% в 2022 году из-за высокой инфляции

ФРС допустила повышение ставки до 0,9% в 2022 году из-за высокой инфляции

Федрезерв подвел итоги очередного заседания. Банк ускорит сокращение стимулов и, вероятно, начнет поднимать ставку в первой половине 2022 года.

Ставку поднимут, но не сейчас

Регулятор ускорит сокращение ежемесячных покупок облигаций. Так, в декабре покупки составят 90 млрд долларов, в январе — 60 млрд. Если Федрезерв в дальнейшем не изменит свою политику, в феврале покупки уменьшатся еще на 30 млрд, а в марте программа смягчения закончится.

После этого в первой половине 2022 года центральный банк может начать повышать процентную ставку, которая все еще остается околонулевой. На заседании комиссия проголосовала за повышение ставки в 2022 году до 0,9%, в 2023 году — до 1,6%. Еще недавно, в сентябре, регулятор планировал поднять ставку в 2022 году лишь до 0,3%, а в июне даже хотел оставить ее околонулевой.

Как менялись прогнозы ставки в 2022 году

Март 0,1%
Июнь 0,1%
Сентябрь 0,3%
Декабрь 0,9%

0,1%

Инфляция больше не временная

Сокращать стимулы и переходить к повышению ставки Федрезерв вынужден из-за высокой инфляции, которая в ноябре составила 6,8%. Это рекордный за последние 40 лет уровень. Так, по сравнению с прошлым годом цены на еду выросли на 6,1%, на новые авто — на 11,1%, на б/у авто — на 31,4%, на бензин — на 58%.

К такому росту цен привели повышенный спрос потребителей, недостаток предложения, вызванный сбоями в цепочке поставок, и другие факторы. С начала года глава ФРС Джером Пауэлл называл инфляцию временной, но лишь в декабре признал, что это не так.

По мнению комиссии, в 2021 году инфляция составит 5,3%, в 2022 году — 2,6%. С марта эти оценки сильно изменились, ведь тогда комиссия ожидала роста цен по итогам 2021 года лишь на 2,4%.

ФРС допустила повышение ставки до 0,9% в 2022 году из-за высокой инфляции

Как менялись прогнозы инфляции в 2021 году

Март 2,4%
Июнь 3,4%
Сентябрь 4,2%
Декабрь 5,3%

2,4%

Что с акциями

Рынок позитивно отреагировал на решение регулятора. Больше остальных вырос Nasdaq, куда входят чувствительные к росту ставок технологические компании, — на 2,2%. Индексы S&P 500 и Dow Jones прибавили 1,6 и 1,1%.

  Инвестидея: Applied Materials, потому что есть еще запал

Одна из причин такого роста — отсутствие неопределенности, которая была перед заседанием. Федрезерв наконец признал проблему в виде высокой инфляции, но не стал принимать радикальных решений. Вероятно, рынки могли сильно упасть лишь в одном случае: если бы банк поднял ставку уже сейчас.

Следующее заседание банк проведет в марте, когда закончит покупку облигаций. И если инфляция не станет двузначной, не исключено, что Федрезерв отложит повышение ставки вплоть до заседания в июне.

За эти полгода может многое произойти. Например, могут появиться более опасные штаммы COVID-19 и экономику снова закроют на карантин. В такой ситуации ФРС не рискнет ужесточать политику и опять отложит решение по ставке. Эта вероятность и стимулирует инвесторов по-прежнему вкладывать в акции деньги.

И при чем здесь ставка?

Мягкая денежно-кредитная политика банка — один из главных драйверов роста фондового рынка. В марте прошлого года страны закрыли на карантин, а S&P 500 упал на 30%. Тогда Федрезерв опустил ставку до уровня в 0—0,25% и объявил о программе количественного смягчения. Рынок акций стал расти и уже к августу 2021 года удвоился.

Со ставкой упала доходность безопасных инструментов вроде вкладов и облигаций. Чтобы получить прибыль, инвесторы перевели сбережения на фондовый рынок, что и привело к росту акций. Еще околонулевые ставки позволяют компаниям брать кредиты под низкий процент. Им становится легче финансировать свой рост и увеличивать прибыль.

А вот с ростом ставок закредитованным компаниям выплачивать долг будет сложнее. Доходность вкладов и облигаций также вырастет, а премия за риск владения дорогими акциями упадет. Вот почему инвесторы так внимательно следят за решениями ФРС.

ФРС допустила повышение ставки до 0,9% в 2022 году из-за высокой инфляции

Пролистать наверх