Facebook hints at NFT support in the digital metaverse

Facebook and its CEO Mark Zuckerberg unveil ambitious plans to create a 3D virtual world during an important presentation, known as the metaverse

Facebook hints at NFT support in the digital metaverse

Part of this vision includes non-fungible tokens (NFT), representing digital objects, works of art, etc.., displayed in a unique piece of data in the blockchain.

Facebook unveils a series of new projects to support its vision of the metaverse, including a fund of $150 millions to popularize the idea among its client base. As noted, Facebook made it clear, that he plans to spend billions of dollars to bring his plans for 3D worlds to life. It is not yet entirely clear, how exactly NFTs fit into this vision. Zuckerberg himself called digital goods part of the user experience.

Earlier, Facebook CFO David Marcus said, that NFTs can become part of the Novi offer, which appeared thanks to the efforts of Facebook in the field of cryptocurrency and stablecoins.

“It's too early to talk about our plans, but we are definitely looking at a number of steps to get involved in the NFT space, because we have good opportunities for this ", - said Markus in an interview with Bloomberg.

After the announcement of working with NFT, Facebook announces name change to Meta, once again hinting at the company's desire to create its own version of the metaverse. How much it will differ from open metauniverses like Decentraland and Cryptovoxels remains to be determined..

With 1 December, the company's shares will be traded under the ticker MVRS.

  Investidea: Amphenol, because one more time
Scroll to Top

Facebook намекнула на поддержку NFT в цифровой метавселенной

Facebook и ее исполнительный директор Марк Цукерберг в ходе важной презентации обнародовали амбициозные планы по созданию виртуального 3D-мира, известного как метавселенная

Facebook намекнула на поддержку NFT в цифровой метавселенной

Часть этого видения включает в себя невзаимозаменяемые токены (NFT), являющиеся представлением цифровых объектов, произведений искусства и т.д., отображенные в уникальном фрагменте данных в блокчейне.

Facebook представила серию новых проектов в поддержку своего видения метавселенной, включая фонд объемом $150 миллионов для популяризации идеи среди своей клиентской базы. Как отмечается, Facebook дала ясно понять, что планирует потратить миллиарды долларов на воплощение в жизнь своих планов 3D-миров. Пока что не совсем ясно, как именно NFT впишутся в это видение. Сам Цукерберг назвал цифровые товары частью пользовательского опыта.

Ранее финансовый директор Facebook Дэвид Маркус заявил, что NFT могут стать частью предложения Novi, появившегося благодаря усилиям Facebook в области криптовалюты и стейблкоинов.

«Пока еще рано говорить о наших планах, но мы определенно рассматриваем ряд шагов по участию в сфере NFT, так как у нас для этого имеются хорошие возможности», – сообщил Маркус в интервью Bloomberg.

После анонса работы с NFT, Facebook сообщила об изменении названия на Meta, еще раз намекнув на стремление компании создать свою версию метавселенной. Насколько она будет отличаться от открытых метавселенных вроде Decentraland и Cryptovoxels еще предстоит определить.

С 1 декабря акции компании будут торговаться под тикером MVRS.

  Terra проведет сожжение токенов на $4,5 миллиарда
Пролистать наверх