European stock market giants are fighting for primacy in passive investing

There are two management companies in Europe, who have crossed or approached the barrier in $1 trillion assets under management – this is the French Amundi SA (€1.8 trillion) and German DWS GmbH (€880 B). And the competition between them is only growing..

Европейские гиганты фондового рынка сражаются за первенство в пассивном инвестировании

In recent years, Amundi has confidently led over DWS., from quarter to quarter, double the amount of assets under management. On Thursday, the Paris-based company announced an increase in 9% compared to last year the volume of assets under its management, to more than €1.8 trillion ($2 trillion) at the end of the III quarter. That's twice as much., than €880 billion from DWS.

First 2019 both companies increased their assets under management by about a 25%. But it is worth considering, that the French company was helped by last year's purchase of the stock division of the Spanish bank Banco de Sabadell SA, which added €22 billion. Its German competitor relied on organic growth to expand the business..

Now competition in the fast-growing market for low-cost passive products is intensifying.. Valerie Bodson, who took over as CEO of Amundi this year, built the company's exchange-traded funds business from scratch. She will oversee the integration of Societe Generale SA's Lyxor division., which Amundi agreed to buy in April and expects to complete the acquisition by the end of the year.

Lyxor's assets amount to about € 124 billion, including about €100 billion in exchange-traded funds, according to Bloomberg Intelligence. Reported, that DWS also claims a division of SocGen. Amundi's triumph will take it to second place in the European market of exchange-traded products, ahead of DWS and losing first place to BlackRock Inc.

DWS also missed an opportunity to acquire the asset management division of Dutch insurer NN Group NV, and Goldman Sachs Group Inc. in August, acquired NN Investment Partners and its assets in the amount of $355 billion.

  Emotion and trade

Based on materials from Bloomberg

Scroll up

Европейские гиганты фондового рынка сражаются за первенство в пассивном инвестировании

В Европе есть две управляющих компании, которые преодолели или приблизились к барьеру в $1 трлн активов под управлением – это французская Amundi SA (€1,8 трлн) и немецкая DWS GmbH (€880 млрд). И конкуренция между ними только растет.

Европейские гиганты фондового рынка сражаются за первенство в пассивном инвестировании

В последние годы Amundi уверенно лидирует над DWS, из квартала в квартал вдвое превышая объем активов под управлением. В четверг парижская компания объявила об увеличении на 9% по сравнению с прошлым годом объема активов находящихся под ее управлением, до более чем €1,8 трлн евро ($2 трлн) на конец III квартала. Это вдвое больше, чем €880 млрд у DWS.

С начала 2019 года обе компании увеличили свои активы под управлением примерно на 25%. Но стоит учитывать, что французской компании помогла прошлогодняя покупка фондового подразделения испанского банка Banco de Sabadell SA, которая добавила €22 млрд. Ее немецкий конкурент полагался на органический рост для расширения бизнеса.

Теперь конкуренция на быстрорастущем рынке недорогих пассивных продуктов обостряется. Валери Бодсон, которая в этом году заняла пост генерального директора Amundi, построила бизнес биржевых фондов компании с нуля. Она будет следить за интеграцией подразделения Lyxor компании Societe Generale SA, которое Amundi договорилась купить в апреле и рассчитывает завершить поглощение к концу года.

Активы Lyxor составляют около €124 млрд, включая около €100 млрд в биржевых фондах, по данным Bloomberg Intelligence. Сообщалось, что DWS также претендует на подразделение SocGen. Триумф Amundi выведет ее на второе место на европейском рынке биржевых продуктов, опередив DWS и уступив первое место BlackRock Inc.

DWS также упустила возможность приобрести подразделение по управлению активами голландского страховщика NN Group NV, а Goldman Sachs Group Inc. в августе приобрела NN Investment Partners и ее активы на сумму $355 млрд.

  Сравнение доходностей S&P500 и RTSI на периоде 10 и 20 лет

По материалам Bloomberg

Пролистать наверх