Facebook's ETF twin makes money from inattentive investors

Confusion over the new name Facebook Inc. was good news for one exchange-traded fund with a good ticker.

Facebook's ETF twin makes money from inattentive investors

Roundhill Ball Metaverse ETF with capital $142 million, traded under the ticker symbol META, received an influx of $12,5 million after, how the social media giant changed its name to META on Thursday. This was the largest inflow of funds to the fund since the beginning of September., data show, compiled by Bloomberg, and ETF stock trading volume jumped to record highs after the announcement..

"Although the ETF is related to Facebook, because it keeps its shares in its portfolio, some investors should have been more careful.", – wrote in an email to Todd Rosenblut, Head of ETF and Mutual Fund Research at CFRA. "We'll see., how long will erroneous investments linger in this exchange-traded fund".

On Thursday, Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg announced, that his company is being renamed Meta Platforms Inc. and from December will use ticker MVRS. Experts were quick to point out the confusion, which this title can create, since the word "meta"" has many meanings in different languages. At the same time, Twitter users were quick to ridicule this rebranding., noting, that he questions the popular abbreviation FAANG, used to describe the largest tech giants – Facebook, Amazon, Apple, Netflix и Google.

Cases of misdiagnosing are not new in the world of finance – traders often confuse similar-sounding names and tickers. For example, when Elon Musk tweeted about the Signal app, shares of a tiny medical device company with a similar name jumped on 5000%. Such cases are quite common, that's why, it is necessary to treat your investment activities with great attention and double-check the facts. Mentioned Signal application, by the way, does not have a public offering at all.

  Investor Calendar: Airbnb, eBay and DoorDash To Release Reports

Based on materials from Bloomberg

Scroll to Top

ETF-двойник Facebook зарабатывает деньги на невнимательных инвесторах

Путаница вокруг нового названия Facebook Inc. стала хорошей новостью для одного биржевого фонда с удачным тикером.

ETF-двойник Facebook зарабатывает деньги на невнимательных инвесторах

Roundhill Ball Metaverse ETF с капиталом $142 млн, торгующийся под тикером META, получил приток в размере $12,5 млн после того, как в четверг гигант социальных медиа сменил название на META. Это был самый большой приток средств в фонд с начала сентября, свидетельствуют данные, собранные Bloomberg, а объем торгов акциями ETF после объявления подскочил до рекордно высокого уровня.

"Хотя ETF имеет отношение к Facebook, так как держит её акции в своём портфеле, некоторым инвесторам следовало быть более внимательными", — написал в электронном письме Тодд Розенблут, руководитель отдела исследований ETF и взаимных фондов в CFRA. "Посмотрим, как долго ошибочные инвестиции задержатся в этом биржевом фонде".

В четверг генеральный директор Facebook Марк Цукерберг объявил, что его компания переименовывается в Meta Platforms Inc. и с декабря будет использовать тикер MVRS. Эксперты поспешили указать на путаницу, которую может создать это название, поскольку слово "мета" имеет множество значений в разных языках. В то же время пользователи Twitter поспешили высмеять этот ребрендинг, отметив, что он ставит под сомнение популярное сокращение FAANG, используемое для описания крупнейших технологических гигантов — Facebook, Amazon, Apple, Netflix и Google.

Случаи ошибочной идентификации не новы в мире финансов — трейдеры часто путают схожие по звучанию имена и тикеры. Например, когда Илон Маск написал в Твиттере о приложении Signal, акции крошечной компании по производству медицинского оборудования с похожим названием подскочили на 5000%. Такие случаи бывают достаточно часто, поэтому, стоит с большим вниманием относиться к своей инвестиционной деятельности и перепроверять факты. Упомянутое приложение Signal, к слову, вовсе не имеет публичного размещения.

  what to trade?

По материалам Bloomberg

Пролистать наверх