Dividend paper: Overview of the packaging manufacturer International Paper

Dividend paper: Overview of the packaging manufacturer International Paper

International PaperIP42,00 $BuyService in partnership with Tinkoff Investments. Quotes are updated every 15 minutes

International Paper (NYSE: IP) - American paper manufacturer. The company was supposed to be the beneficiary of the pandemic, but something went wrong. Let's figure it out, does it make sense to count on stable dividend payments?.

When creating the material, sources were used, inaccessible to users from the Russian Federation. We hope, Do you know, what to do.

What do they earn

IP produces paper. According to the company's annual report, its revenue is divided as follows:

  1. Industrial Packaging — 84,31%. This is the paper for packaging. Segment operating margin — 10,03% from its proceeds. By type of paper, the products of the segment are divided as a percentage of the volume of delivered goods of the segment:
    • corrugated packaging — 60,36%;
    • containerboard — 16,19%;
    • by-products — 12,44%;
    • packing paper — 1,04%;
    • drywall — 1,3%;
    • sales of different types of paper in other regions — 8,67%.
  2. Cellulose fiber — 15,69%. Materials (edit), which are used for consumer products like diapers, products in the field of feminine hygiene, Napkins. The segment's products are in demand in industrial production. Segment operating margin – minus 0,1% from its proceeds, unprofitable segment.

Previously, there was also a third segment – printed paper, but it was spun off as a separate issuer, Sylvamo..

Revenue by country and region:

  1. USA - 86,6%.
  2. Europe, Middle East and Africa - 8,31%.
  3. Asian countries - 1,06%.
  4. Unnamed countries in the Americas — 4,03%.

Dividend paper: Overview of the packaging manufacturer International Paper

Arguments in favor of the company

Paydemic. Ongoing pandemic will drive demand for paper from online commerce and food delivery workers. And let there sometimes be moments of "thaw" with the easing of the regime of restrictions, in general, the situation with the pandemic will become a more or less standard state of affairs.

How was Camus: «... The plague microbe never dies, never disappears, that he can sleep for decades somewhere in the curls of furniture or in a stack of laundry, that he is patiently waiting in the bedroom, in the basement, in a suitcase, in handkerchiefs and papers and that, maybe, such a day will come to the mountain and in the instruction of people, when the plague awakens the rats and sends them to take to the streets of a happy city.".

  Correlation between cryptocurrency and traditional market

Pay-to-pay. IP pays 1,85 $ dividend per share per year, what gives 3,81% per annum. The profitability is quite high and may well attract fans of payments to the stock.

Dividend paper: Overview of the packaging manufacturer International Paper

What can get in the way

Raise. About a third of the company's employees are members of trade unions.. With a shortage of supply in the U.S. labor market and rising wages there, I would expect major strikes by IP workers., what will sag its financial performance. Also, the company will have to agree to a salary increase in these conditions., from which its margin will suffer even more.

Dividend paper: Overview of the packaging manufacturer International Paper

Buy. 11 In March, there were reports that, that the company wants to sell its stake in 50% in Russian assets — in Ilim. Something tells me, that at a favorable price for IP this will not work.

Sisyphus margin. Unfortunately, the company has not yet become a bright beneficiary of the pandemic: the attendant logistical difficulties hit her business hard and are hitting her business hard, offsetting the growth in demand for packaging paper. Recent revenue growth has been offset by rising costs – and rising costs are to blame..

Dividend paper: Overview of the packaging manufacturer International Paper

Profit indicators of the company, usd per share

2к20213к20214к20211к20222к2022
Current1,001,350,780,76
Forecast1,001,430,890,521,12

Indicators of the company's revenue, billion dollars

2к20213к20214к20211к20222к2022
Current5,625,715,095,24
Forecast5,625,845,065,025,32

Accounting. Company, maybe, and dumped some of the debts on Sylvamo, but its debt burden has not diminished.. It has over $16 billion in debt., of which 4.142 billion need to be repaid within a year.

Basically, to repay urgent debts, the company should have enough money: there are 1.11 billion in accounts and 3.363 billion in counterparty debts. But in general, large debt in the face of rising rates is, certainly, additional weight on the legs of any issuer: it becomes harder to service debts.

In combination with the above-mentioned problems of rising costs, this increases the risks of the company cutting dividends and the resulting fall in shares..

The future has not yet arrived. Periodically, the pandemic will be replaced by periods of "thaw" - so that workers do not become angry and do not begin to commit illegal acts.. Now we live in just such a period.: in the same US, there is an increase in consumer activity at a level almost as before the pandemic. In such periods, IP revenue growth will stall, what, certainly, will not have a good effect on its quotes.

  Retail investors keep the stock market from falling, According to Morgan Stanley

Dividend paper: Overview of the packaging manufacturer International Paper

Resume

If you take these stocks now, then only for the sake of dividends. But a high debt burden greatly increases the risks of their reduction.. As for the rest, I can't say it., to a strongly outstanding business: the beneficiary of the pandemic is considered a company only conditionally.

Scroll to Top

Дивидендная бумага: обзор производителя упаковок International Paper

Дивидендная бумага: обзор производителя упаковок International Paper

International PaperIP42,00 $

International Paper (NYSE: IP) — американский производитель бумаги. Компания должна была стать бенефициаром пандемии, но что-то пошло не так. Разберемся, имеет ли смысл рассчитывать на стабильные выплаты дивидендов.

При создании материала использовались источники, недоступные пользователям из РФ. Надеемся, вы знаете, что делать.

На чем зарабатывают

IP производит бумагу. Согласно годовому отчету компании, ее выручка делится следующим образом:

  1. Промышленная упаковка — 84,31%. Это бумага для упаковки. Операционная маржа сегмента — 10,03% от его выручки. По типам бумаги продукция сегмента делится в процентах от объема поставленного товара сегмента:
    • гофроупаковка — 60,36%;
    • тарный картон — 16,19%;
    • продукты переработки — 12,44%;
    • упаковочная бумага — 1,04%;
    • гипсокартон — 1,3%;
    • продажи разных типов бумаги в других регионах — 8,67%.
  2. Целлюлозное волокно — 15,69%. Материалы, которые используются для потребительских товаров вроде подгузников, товаров в сфере женской гигиены, салфеток. Продукция сегмента востребована в промышленном производстве. Операционная маржа сегмента — минус 0,1% от его выручки, сегмент убыточный.

Раньше был еще и третий сегмент — печатная бумага, но его выделили в отдельного эмитента Sylvamo.

Выручка по странам и регионам:

  1. США — 86,6%.
  2. Европа, Ближний Восток и Африка — 8,31%.
  3. Страны Азии — 1,06%.
  4. Неназванные страны в Америках — 4,03%.

Дивидендная бумага: обзор производителя упаковок International Paper

Аргументы в пользу компании

Paydemic. Непрекращающаяся пандемия будет стимулировать спрос на бумагу со стороны онлайн-коммерции и работающего на доставку общепита. И пусть иногда будут случаться моменты «оттепели» с облегчением режима ограничений, в целом ситуация с пандемией станет более-менее стандартным положением дел.

Как там было у Камю: «…Микроб чумы никогда не умирает, никогда не исчезает, что он может десятилетиями спать где-нибудь в завитушках мебели или в стопке белья, что он терпеливо ждет своего часа в спальне, в подвале, в чемодане, в носовых платках и в бумагах и что, возможно, придет на горе и в поучение людям такой день, когда чума пробудит крыс и пошлет их околевать на улицы счастливого города».

Плати-плати. IP платит 1,85 $ дивидендов на акцию в год, что дает 3,81% годовых. Доходность выходит довольно высокая и вполне может привлечь в акции любителей выплат.

  American Express

Дивидендная бумага: обзор производителя упаковок International Paper

Что может помешать

Повышай. Примерно треть работников компании состоит в профсоюзах. В условиях нехватки предложения на рынке труда в США и роста там зарплат я бы ожидал крупных забастовок работников IP, от чего просядут ее финансовые показатели. Также компании придется согласиться в этих условиях на повышение зарплат, от чего ее маржа пострадает еще больше.

Дивидендная бумага: обзор производителя упаковок International Paper

Покупай. 11 марта появились сообщения о том, что компания хочет продать свою долю в 50% в российских активах — в «Илиме». Что-то мне подсказывает, что по выгодной для IP цене этого сделать не получится.

Сизифова маржа. К сожалению, компания пока не стала ярким бенефициаром пандемии: сопутствующие логистические сложности сильно били и бьют по ее бизнесу, нивелируя рост спроса на упаковочную бумагу. Рост выручки в последнее время нивелируется ростом расходов — и виной всему именно растущие издержки.

Дивидендная бумага: обзор производителя упаковок International Paper

Показатели прибыли компании, долларов на акцию

2к2021 3к2021 4к2021 1к2022 2к2022
Текущая 1,00 1,35 0,78 0,76
Прогноз 1,00 1,43 0,89 0,52 1,12

Показатели выручки компании, млрд долларов

2к2021 3к2021 4к2021 1к2022 2к2022
Текущая 5,62 5,71 5,09 5,24
Прогноз 5,62 5,84 5,06 5,02 5,32

Бухгалтерия. Компания, может, и спихнула часть задолженностей на Sylvamo, но ее долговое бремя меньше не стало. У нее свыше 16 млрд задолженностей, из которых 4,142 млрд нужно погасить в течение года.

В принципе, для погашения срочных задолженностей денег у компании должно хватить: есть 1,11 млрд на счетах и 3,363 млрд задолженностей контрагентов. Но в целом крупный долг в условиях повышения ставок — это, конечно, дополнительная гирька на ногах любого эмитента: обслуживать долги становится тяжелее.

В сочетании с указанными выше проблемами роста издержек это увеличивает риски урезания компанией дивидендов и вытекающего из этого падения акций.

Будущее еще не наступило. Периодически пандемия будет сменяться периодами «оттепели» — дабы трудящиеся не озверели и не начали совершать противоправные действия. Сейчас мы живем как раз в такой период: в тех же США происходит рост активности потребителей на уровне почти как до пандемии. В такие периоды рост выручки IP будет буксовать, что, конечно, не будет хорошо влиять на ее котировки.

  Инвестидея: Insight Enterprises, так как повышение инвестиционной активности в ИТ

Дивидендная бумага: обзор производителя упаковок International Paper

Резюме

Если брать эти акции сейчас, то только ради дивидендов. Но высокая долговая нагрузка сильно увеличивает риски их урезания. А в остальном это не сказать, чтобы сильно выдающийся бизнес: бенефициаром пандемии компания считается лишь условно.

Пролистать наверх