Disney reports weak growth in Disney + subscribers

Disney отчиталась о слабом росте числа подписчиков Disney+

Disney Media Releases Q4 2021 Financial Results. Disney + Streaming Service Subscribers Grow Less, what analysts expected. Total revenue was also lower than expected: 18,5 against $ 18.8 billion. After the report, Disney shares fell by 5%, to 166 $.

Disney has two operating segments in total. Here are the results for each.

"Media and entertainment"

Compared to the previous, Third Quarter, Disney + Subscribers Increased 2M, from 116 to 118 million. Analysts expected, that about 9 million new users will subscribe to the service. For comparison: in the third quarter the number of subscribers grew by 12 million.

Disney warned of slower growth back in September. The company said, that due to the spread of the coronavirus, there were disruptions to the production of content, so the service has nothing to attract new customers.

Among other things, Disney + Growth Impacted by Easing Quarantine Restrictions. People are spending more time outside the home., for example travel. Airbnb Releases Strong Third Quarter Report Last Week: revenue increased by 36 and 67% for 2019 and 2020. The company expects, that in the near future the demand for short-term rental housing will continue to recover.

Disney reaffirms long-term goal of 230 million to 260 million Disney + subscribers by 2024. According to the company, expansion into foreign markets and new content will help achieve this goal.

Disney's total subscribers, including ESPN + and Hulu, reached 179 million at the end of the quarter. Streaming revenue increased by 38%, up to $ 4.6 billion. Operating loss increased from $ 374 to $ 630 million.

License revenue increased by 9%, up to $ 2 billion: the company has released more films, than a year ago. for example, this quarter came out "Black Widow", "The protagonist" and "Shang-Chi". Due to expenses on advertising and promotion of future films, the operating loss of this direction amounted to 65 million dollars.. A year ago, profit was 86 million.

Revenue in the segment "Media and entertainment", million dollars

TV 6698 (−4%)
Streaming 4560 (+38%)
Licenses 2047 (+9%)
  Baidu Company - How it works ?

6698 (−4%)

"Parks and consumer goods"

Disney Parks Increase Traffic Due To Eased Restrictions And Increased Vaccinations. All parks were open during the quarter. Compared to last year, revenue here has doubled, up to 5.5 billion dollars. Operating profit in the segment amounted to 640 million dollars - against a loss of 945 million a year earlier.

And also 8 November, the USA opened the borders for vaccinated travelers from other countries. For the first time since March last year. The company considers, that it will also have a positive effect on the attendance of parks.

Revenue in the segment "Parks and consumer goods", million dollars

Parks and entertainment 4166 (+196%)
Goods and souvenirs 1284 (−3%)

4166 (+196%)

Scroll up

Disney отчиталась о слабом росте числа подписчиков Disney+

Disney отчиталась о слабом росте числа подписчиков Disney+

Медиакомпания Disney опубликовала финансовые результаты за четвертый квартал 2021 года. Количество подписчиков на стриминговый сервис Disney+ выросло меньше, чем ожидали аналитики. Общая выручка также оказалась меньше ожиданий: 18,5 против 18,8 млрд долларов. После отчета акции Disney упали на 5%, до 166 $.

Всего у Disney два операционных сегмента. Вот результаты по каждому.

«Медиа и развлечения»

По сравнению с предыдущим, третьим кварталом количество подписчиков Disney+ увеличилось на 2 млн, с 116 до 118 млн. Аналитики же ожидали, что на сервис подпишется примерно 9 млн новых пользователей. Для сравнения: в третьем квартале число подписчиков выросло на 12 млн.

О более медленных темпах роста Disney предупреждала еще в сентябре. В компании сказали, что из-за распространения коронавируса возникли сбои с производством контента, так что сервису нечем привлечь новых клиентов.

Кроме прочего, на темпах роста Disney+ сказалось смягчение карантинных ограничений. Люди стали проводить больше времени вне дома, например путешествовать. На прошлой неделе Airbnb опубликовала сильный отчет за третий квартал: выручка увеличилась на 36 и 67% относительно 2019 и 2020 годов. Компания ожидает, что в ближайшее время спрос на краткосрочную аренду жилья продолжит восстанавливаться.

Disney еще раз подтвердила свою долгосрочную цель — набрать 230—260 млн подписчиков Disney+ к 2024 году. По мнению компании, экспансия на зарубежные рынки и новый контент помогут достичь этой цели.

Общее число подписчиков Disney с учетом сервисов ESPN+ и Hulu в конце квартала составило 179 млн. Доход от стриминга вырос на 38%, до 4,6 млрд долларов. Операционный убыток увеличился с 374 до 630 млн долларов.

Доход с лицензий вырос на 9%, до 2 млрд долларов: компания выпустила в прокат больше фильмов, чем год назад. Например, в этом квартале вышли «Черная вдова», «Главный герой» и «Шан-Чи». Из-за расходов на рекламу и продвижение будущих фильмов операционный убыток этого направления составил 65 млн долларов. Год назад прибыль составила 86 млн.

Выручка в сегменте «Медиа и развлечения», млн долларов

Телевидение 6698 (−4%)
Стриминг 4560 (+38%)
Лицензии 2047 (+9%)
  Цифровой банк FinWise Bancorp из штата Юта обнародовал условия IPO

6698 (−4%)

«Парки и потребительские товары»

Посещаемость парков Disney увеличилась благодаря смягчению ограничений и росту числа вакцинаций. В течение квартала все парки были открыты. По сравнению с прошлым годом здесь выручка выросла вдвое, до 5,5 млрд долларов. Операционная прибыль в сегменте составила 640 млн долларов — против убытка в 945 млн годом ранее.

А еще 8 ноября США открыли границы для привитых путешественников из других стран. Впервые с марта прошлого года. В компании считают, что это также позитивно скажется на посещаемости парков.

Выручка в сегменте «Парки и потребительские товары», млн долларов

Парки и развлечения 4166 (+196%)
Товары и сувениры 1284 (−3%)

4166 (+196%)

Пролистать наверх