Delta Air Lines reported profit, but the stock still fell

Delta air lines отчиталась о прибыли, но акции все равно упали

Авиакомпания Delta Air Lines (FROM THE) published a report for the third quarter of 2021. The carrier reported profits and warned of high fuel costs in the next quarter..

The company's total revenue amounted to 9.2 billion dollars. Operating revenue, that is, excluding fuel sales, amounted to 8.3 billion — by 34% less, than in pre-crisis 2019. The airline industry was hit hard by the coronavirus a year ago., therefore, the company compares its financial results with 2019.

Revenue from flights within the country fell by 28%, up to 5.8 billion. This is the main source of income for the company.. With flights abroad worse: here the revenue fell by 58%, up to 1.4 billion. Revenue from corporate flights fell by 60%. The company forecasts a gradual recovery of business travel in the fourth quarter to 50% from the level of 2019.

Aircraft occupancy decreased with 88 to 80%, and with it the size of operating revenue per mile - from 16.5 to 15.3 cents.

Net profit amounted to 1.2 billion. In the third quarter, the company received from the state 1.8 billion to pay benefits to dismissed and furloughed employees., therefore, adjusted profit was only 0.2 billion. In 2019, that profit was nearly eight times higher at 1.5 billion.. Operating cash flow also fell sharply - from 2.2 billion to 150 million.

According to company forecasts, in the fourth quarter passenger traffic will grow, and total revenue will decrease by about 25-30% compared to 2019. Instead of profit, the company expects a small loss. Due to rising oil prices, the cost of a gallon of fuel may increase from 2 up to 2,25—2,4 $.

Delta Air Lines' financial results beat analysts' expectations, but due to a weak outlook, the stock fell by 5,8%. Shares of American and United Airlines also fell by 3,3 and 3,6%. These airlines will report as early as next week..

Passenger transportation by destinations, million dollars

RevenueThe change
Domestic5759−28%
Atlantic730−65%
Latin America564−16%
Pacific138−80%
Total7191−37%

total revenues, million dollars

RevenueThe change
Passenger transportation7191−37%
Cargo transportation26239%
Rest170177%
Total9154−27%
Scroll up

Delta Air Lines отчиталась о прибыли, но акции все равно упали

Delta air lines отчиталась о прибыли, но акции все равно упали

Авиакомпания Delta Air Lines (DAL) опубликовала отчет за третий квартал 2021 года. Авиаперевозчик сообщил о прибыли и предупредил о высоких расходах на топливо в следующем квартале.

Общая выручка компании составила 9,2 млрд долларов. Операционная выручка, то есть без учета продаж топлива, составила 8,3 млрд — на 34% меньше, чем в докризисном 2019 году. Авиаотрасль сильно пострадала от коронавируса год назад, поэтому свои финансовые результаты компания сравнивает с 2019 годом.

Выручка от полетов внутри страны упала на 28%, до 5,8 млрд. Это основной для компании источник доходов. С полетами за рубеж хуже: здесь выручка упала на 58%, до 1,4 млрд. Выручка от корпоративных полетов упала на 60%. Компания прогнозирует постепенное восстановление деловых поездок в четвертом квартале до 50% от уровня 2019 года.

Заполняемость самолетов уменьшилась с 88 до 80%, а вместе с ней и размер операционной выручки на милю — с 16,5 до 15,3 цента.

Чистая прибыль составила 1,2 млрд. В третьем квартале компания получила от государства 1,8 млрд на выплату пособий уволенным и отправленным в отпуск сотрудникам, поэтому скорректированная прибыль составила всего 0,2 млрд. В 2019 году эта прибыль была почти в восемь раз выше — 1,5 млрд. Операционный денежный поток тоже сильно упал — с 2,2 млрд до 150 млн.

По прогнозам компании, в четвертом квартале пассажиропоток вырастет, а общая выручка уменьшится примерно на 25—30% относительно 2019 года. Вместо прибыли компания ожидает небольшой убыток. Из-за роста цен на нефть стоимость галлона топлива может увеличиться с 2 до 2,25—2,4 $.

Финансовые результаты Delta Air Lines превзошли ожидания аналитиков, но из-за слабого прогноза акции в течение дня упали на 5,8%. Акции American и United Airlines также упали на 3,3 и 3,6%. Эти авиакомпании отчитаются уже на следующей неделе.

Пассажироперевозки по направлениям, млн долларов

ВыручкаИзменение
Domestic5759−28%
Atlantic730−65%
Latin America564−16%
Pacific138−80%
Всего7191−37%

Общая выручка, млн долларов

ВыручкаИзменение
Пассажироперевозки7191−37%
Грузоперевозки26239%
Остальное170177%
Всего9154−27%
Пролистать наверх