Bespoleznoe povyshenie kljuchevoj stavki naskolko effektivny sredstva borby s infljaciej kotorye predlagaet bank rossii 9f09a6f бесполезное повышение ключевой ставки: насколько эффективны средства борьбы с инфляцией

Useless increase in the key rate: how effective are the means of combating inflation, offered by the Bank of Russia

Board of Directors of the Central Bank of the Russian Federation 10 september 2021 r. decided to raise the key rate by 25 basis points — up to 6,75% annual. This decision was motivated by the theme, that annual inflation in August rose to 6,68%, and increased the main annual and monthly (adjusted for seasonality) indicators of stable price dynamics.

Factors of inflation growth

The data published by the Central Bank indicate a gradual increase in inflation in 2021 r. from 5,38% in March until 6,68% in August.

According to the Central Bank, this is because, that "demand for goods continued to expand faster than supply., which, along with rising producer costs, exerted pro-inflationary pressures.".

Бесполезное повышение ключевой ставки: насколько эффективны средства борьбы с инфляцией, которые предлагает банк россии

Rice. 1. Inflation rate in Russia. A source: data of the Central Bank of the Russian Federation Rice. 1. Inflation rate in Russia. A source: data of the Central Bank of the Russian Federation

The Central Bank claims, that the growth of inflation was facilitated by emergency spending to combat the pandemic and support the economy in the context of sanitary measures, temporary closure of borders and other factors. As a result, the budget deficit of the Russian Federation in 2020 r. made up 4,1 trillion rub. (3,9% GDP), and in 2021 r. the expected deficit will be about 1% GDP. The assessment was given in June by the Minister of Finance of the Russian Federation Anton Siluanov during the St. Petersburg International Economic Forum. Earlier when approving the budget 2021 r. it contained a deficit 2,75 RUB trillion, or 2,4% GDP. But this was done in anticipation of a fall in GDP in 2021 r. by about 10% from level 2020 r. In fact, the pace of recovery of the Russian economy was higher, it has almost already recouped the pandemic-induced decline and, according to Siluanov, "the actual execution of the budget was better than expected. This result was achieved primarily due to a more dynamic flow of non-oil and gas revenues".

Non-monetary inflation

According to many experts, inflation in Russia is non-dollar in nature. First of all, this applies to imported goods., as consumer, and components. If there is a shortage of chips on the world market and the electronics used in the automotive industry have risen in price, costs of Russian automakers will increase under any monetary policy of the Central Bank. Moreover, if, with access to cheap credit, individual participants can fight for market share to reduce their margins, in the situation of raising the key rate and rising prices of loans, such behavior becomes less likely. At the same time, the cost of domestic lending in Russia for production is too high, and most of our companies do not have the opportunity to lend abroad, or such a possibility is limited by sanctions and fears, that are associated with them.

Why prices are rising?

If the global market has risen prices for some goods, they are beginning to rise within the country.. And the government has to take extraordinary measures., to break this dependence (eg, impose restrictions on the export of gasoline or grain). At the same time, the logic of the actions of private companies is quite understandable.: they seek to maximize profits and, if exports yield greater profitability, prefer to redirect their products abroad. Or raise prices within the country in accordance with the world situation. They are pushed to this by the need to obtain international ratings for listing their shares on foreign exchanges and for obtaining loans from Western banks.. If they do not raise the prices of products within the country, the assessment of the profitability of their assets will be lower, than foreign competitors, and this will affect the quotations of shares and the value of the loans they attract. (and it is more profitable to lend abroad - Russian loans are too expensive because of the Central Bank's policy).

Monetary inflation

Let's look at inflation indicators from this angle., calculated without taking into account 20% the most volatile components, that is, without taking into account raw materials and industrial products, which are most strongly dependent on the situation on world markets. Share in these 20% Commodities, the price of which is associated with the situation on the domestic market and is not related to the global situation, - Mala. According to the Central Bank of the Russian Federation, inflation, calculated on stable commodity items (Appreciably lower, than general inflation), Reduced, since June 2021 r. It can be assumed, that it is determined largely by monetary factors., which means, in the recent actions of the Central Bank to raise the rate was not such an urgent need.

What will the increase in the key rate lead to??

Raising the key rate will not lead to a decrease in inflation. But it will have a negative impact on economic growth., which should already slow down after the Russian economy reaches the pre-pandemic level and the opening of foreign resorts.

On the other hand, critical braking will not occur. The main obstacles to growth in the Russian economy are lack of investment and limited domestic market.. In the foreign market, Russian companies have to face unfair competition in the form of political sanctions, anti-dumping investigations, the upcoming introduction of a carbon tax and the possible recognition of Russia as a country with a non-market economy.

Under these conditions, the mechanisms for stimulating economic growth will be non-monetary in nature and should not depend heavily on the monetary policy of the Central Bank.. And the role of the Central Bank will be limited to the stabilization of the ruble exchange rate and supervision of the banking sector.. At the same time, the banking sector no longer needs to be "cleansed", as a result of which a huge number of small and medium-sized banks were deprived of licenses, and in creating conditions for meaningful participation of banks in the investment process. But so far, the proposed measures of the Central Bank against the creation of banks of their own ecosystems prevent banking investment in the economy..

What are the actions of the Central Bank of the Russian Federation aimed at??

In the II quarter 2021 r. the Russian economy has reached pre-pandemic levels and, according to the Bank of Russia, returns to balanced growth. The contribution to inflation from sustainable factors remains significant due to the faster expansion of demand compared to the possibility of increasing output. Under these conditions and taking into account high inflation expectations, the balance of risks for inflation is shifted towards pro-inflationary. This can lead to a longer upward deviation of inflation from the target.. The monetary policy pursued by the Bank of Russia is aimed at limiting this risk and returning inflation to 4%.

Scroll up

Bespoleznoe povyshenie kljuchevoj stavki naskolko effektivny sredstva borby s infljaciej kotorye predlagaet bank rossii 9f09a6f бесполезное повышение ключевой ставки: насколько эффективны средства борьбы с инфляцией

Бесполезное повышение ключевой ставки: насколько эффективны средства борьбы с инфляцией, которые предлагает Банк России

Совет директоров ЦБ РФ 10 сентября 2021 г. принял решение повысить ключевую ставку на 25 базисных пунктов — до 6,75% годовых. Это решение мотивировалось тем, что годовая инфляция в августе возросла до 6,68%, а также увеличились основные годовые и месячные (с поправкой на сезонность) показатели устойчивой ценовой динамики.

Факторы роста инфляции

Опубликованные Центробанком данные свидетельствуют о постепенном росте инфляции в 2021 г. с 5,38% в марте до 6,68% в августе.

По мнению ЦБ, это происходит потому, что «спрос на товары продолжил расширяться быстрее предложения, что наряду с ростом издержек производителей оказывало проинфляционное давление».

Бесполезное повышение ключевой ставки: насколько эффективны средства борьбы с инфляцией, которые предлагает банк россии

Рис. 1. Уровень инфляции в России. Источник: данные ЦБ РФ Рис. 1. Уровень инфляции в России. Источник: данные ЦБ РФ

В Центробанке утверждают, что росту инфляции способствовали экстренные расходы на борьбу с пандемией и поддержку экономики в условиях санитарных мер, временного закрытия границ и прочих факторов. В результате дефицит бюджета РФ в 2020 г. составил 4,1 трлн руб. (3,9% ВВП), а в 2021 г. ожидаемый дефицит составит около 1% ВВП. Оценка дана в июне министром финансов РФ Антоном Силуановым в ходе Петербургского международного экономического форума. Ранее при утверждении бюджета 2021 г. в него был заложен дефицит 2,75 трлн руб., или 2,4% ВВП. Но это делалось в ожидании падения ВВП в 2021 г. примерно на 10% от уровня 2020 г. В действительности темпы восстановления российской экономики оказались выше, она практически уже отыграла вызванное пандемией падение и, по словам Силуанова, «фактическое исполнение бюджета оказалось лучше ожидаемого. Такой результат был достигнут в первую очередь благодаря более динамичному поступлению ненефтегазовых доходов».

Немонетарная инфляция

По мнению многих экспертов, инфляция в России носит немонетарный характер. В первую очередь это касается импортируемых товаров, как потребительских, так и комплектующих. Если на мировом рынке возник дефицит чипов и подорожала применяемая в автомобилестроении электроника, издержки российских автопроизводителей возрастут при любой монетарной политике ЦБ. Более того, если в условиях доступа к дешёвым кредитам отдельные участники могут в борьбе за долю на рынке пойти на уменьшение своей маржи, в ситуации повышения ключевой ставки и подорожания кредитов такое поведение становится менее вероятным. При этом стоимость внутреннего кредитования в России для производства оказывается слишком высока, а большинство наших компаний не имеет возможности кредитоваться за рубежом, или такая возможность ограничена санкциями и опасениями, которые связаны с ними.

Почему растут цены?

Если на глобальном рынке поднялись цены на какие-то товары, они начинают повышаться и внутри страны. И правительству приходится принимать экстраординарные меры, чтобы разорвать такую зависимость (например, вводить ограничения на экспорт бензина или зерна). При этом логика действий частных компаний вполне понятна: они стремятся максимизировать прибыль и, если экспорт даёт бо́льшую доходность, предпочитают перенаправлять свою продукцию за рубеж. Или повышать цены внутри страны в соответствии с мировой конъюнктурой. На это их толкает необходимость получения международных рейтингов для листинга своих акций на зарубежных биржах и для получения кредитов в западных банках. Если они не повысят цены на продукцию внутри страны, оценка доходности их активов окажется ниже, чем у зарубежных конкурентов, а это скажется на котировках акций и на стоимости привлекаемых ими кредитов (а кредитоваться выгоднее за рубежом — российские кредиты из-за политики ЦБ слишком дорогие).

Монетарная инфляция

Посмотрим под этим углом на показатели инфляции, посчитанной без учёта 20% наиболее волатильных компонент, то есть без учёта сырья и промышленной продукции, которые наиболее сильно зависят от конъюнктуры мировых рынков. Доля в этих 20% товарных позиций, цена которых связана с ситуацией именно на внутреннем рыке и не связана с глобальной конъюнктурой, — мала. Согласно данным ЦБ РФ, инфляция, рассчитанная по стабильным товарным позициям (значительно более низкая, чем общая инфляция), снижается, начиная с июня 2021 г. Можно предположить, что именно она и определяется во многом монетарными факторами, а значит, в последних действиях ЦБ по повышению ставки не было такой острой необходимости.

К чему приведёт повышение ключевой ставки?

Повышение ключевой ставки не приведёт к снижению инфляции. Зато негативным образом отразится на экономическом росте, который и так должен замедлиться после выхода российской экономики на допандемийный уровень и открытия зарубежных курортов.

С другой стороны, критического торможения не произойдёт. У российской экономики главными препятствиями для роста являются недостаток инвестиций и ограниченность внутреннего рынка. На внешнем рынке российским компаниям приходится сталкиваться с недобросовестной конкуренцией в виде политических санкций, антидемпинговых расследований, грядущего введения углеродного налога и возможного признания России страной с нерыночной экономикой.

В этих условиях механизмы стимулирования экономического роста будут носить немонетарный характер и не должны сильно зависеть от монетарной политики Центробанка. А роль ЦБ будет ограничена стабилизацией курса рубля и надзором за банковской сферой. При этом банковская сфера нуждается уже не в «очищении», в результате которого огромное количество мелких и средних банков было лишено лицензий, а в создании условий для осмысленного участия банков в инвестиционном процессе. Но пока предлагаемые меры ЦБ против создания банками собственных экосистем препятствуют банковским инвестициям в экономику.

На что направлены действия ЦБ РФ?

В II квартале 2021 г. российская экономика достигла допандемийного уровня и, по оценкам Банка России, возвращается к сбалансированному росту. Вклад в инфляцию со стороны устойчивых факторов остаётся существенным в связи с более быстрым расширением спроса по сравнению с возможностями наращивания выпуска. В этих условиях и с учётом высоких инфляционных ожиданий баланс рисков для инфляции смещён в сторону проинфляционных. Это может привести к более продолжительному отклонению инфляции вверх от цели. Проводимая Банком России денежно-кредитная политика направлена на ограничение этого риска и возвращение инфляции к 4%.

Пролистать наверх