Buffett in his annual letter to shareholders: no attractive promotions today

Баффетт в ежегодном письме акционерам: сегодня нет привлекательных акций

At the end of February, Berkshire Hathaway CEO Warren Buffett wrote an annual letter to the company's shareholders.. The manager told, how he chooses stocks and why he holds a large stake in cash.

About stock selection

“Our goal is to invest in businesses with long-term economic benefits and first-class management. note, we select stocks based on our expectations of long-term performance, not market movements. Important: we don't pick stocks, we choose business.

About core business

"The insurance business will never get old, and the sales volume, usually, grows with the economy and inflation. Our company can and will conduct itself with integrity. Certainly, there are other insurers with excellent business models and prospects. But it will be almost impossible to repeat Berkshire.”.

About the amount of cash

Berkshire's balance sheet is $144 billion in cash and cash equivalents. Of these, $120 billion are US Treasury bills with a maturity of less than a year.. Charlie and I promised, that we will always keep at least $30 billion in cash and cash equivalents. We want, that the company be financially unassailable and not dependent on the kindness of strangers or even friends. We love to sleep peacefully and want, so that our creditors, insurers and customers could also.

But $144 billion? I assure, such an impressive amount is not some crazy patriotism. We still prefer to own the business and keep at least 80% equity capital. But right now we can't find companies, that meet our long-term criteria. We've seen this in the past. These periods are not pleasant., but they don't last forever. Fortunately, in 2020 and 2021 we had attractive capital placement opportunities.”.

About interest rates

“One of the ways to increase the money of our shareholders is to buy shares in good companies. Many of these companies trade at attractive prices from time to time.. But today we have little interest. Low interest rates are pushing up the prices of various assets: stock, apartments, farms, oil wells and so on. Other factors also affect prices, but interest rates are the most".

About the structure of assets

“Many people see Berkshire as a large and strange collection of financial assets.. Really, Berkshire manages a large number of infrastructure assets, than any other American corporation. This was not our goal., but it became a fact. At the end of last year, domestic infrastructure assets on Berkshire's balance sheet exceeded $158 billion.. Berkshire will always build".

  Analyst outlines the future of bitcoin in light of the current correction

Berkshire Hathaway and S stock returns&P 500 since 1965

Berkshire Hathaway S&P 500
Average annual 20,1% 10,5%
Total 3 641 613% 30 209%

News, that concern everyone, - in our telegram channel. Subscribe, to keep abreast of what's happening: @tinkoffjournal.

Scroll up

Баффетт в ежегодном письме акционерам: сегодня нет привлекательных акций

Баффетт в ежегодном письме акционерам: сегодня нет привлекательных акций

В конце февраля глава Berkshire Hathaway Уоррен Баффетт написал ежегодное письмо акционерам компании. Управляющий рассказал, как выбирает акции и почему держит большую долю в наличных.

Про выбор акций

«Наша цель — инвестировать в предприятия с долгосрочными экономическими преимуществами и первоклассным руководством. Обратите внимание, мы выбираем акции исходя из наших ожиданий долгосрочной эффективности, а не движений на рынке. Важно: мы не выбираем акции, мы выбираем бизнес».

Про основной бизнес

«Страховой бизнес никогда не устареет, а объем продаж, как правило, растет вместе с экономикой и инфляцией. Наша компания может и будет вести себя честно. Конечно, есть и другие страховщики с отличными бизнес-моделями и перспективами. Но повторить Berkshire будет почти невозможно».

Про объем наличных

«Баланс Berkshire — 144 млрд долларов наличных и их эквивалентов. Из них 120 млрд долларов — казначейские векселя США со сроком погашения менее года. Мы с Чарли пообещали, что всегда будем держать не меньше 30 млрд долларов наличными и их эквивалентами. Мы хотим, чтобы компания была финансово неприступной и не зависела от доброты незнакомцев или даже друзей. Мы любим спать спокойно и хотим, чтобы наши кредиторы, страховщики и клиенты тоже могли.

Но 144 млрд долларов? Уверяю, такая внушительная сумма — это не какой-то безумный патриотизм. Мы по-прежнему предпочитаем владеть бизнесом и держим не менее 80% капитала в акциях. Но сейчас мы не можем найти компании, которые соответствуют нашим долгосрочным критериям. В прошлом мы уже сталкивались с этим. Такие периоды не бывают приятными, но они не вечны. К счастью, в 2020 и 2021 годах у нас были привлекательные возможности для размещения капитала».

Про процентные ставки

«Один из способов приумножить деньги наших акционеров — это покупка акций хороших компаний. Время от времени множество таких компаний торгуется по привлекательным ценам. Но сегодня нас мало что интересует. Низкие процентные ставки толкают вверх цены на разные активы: акции, квартиры, фермы, нефтяные скважины и так далее. Другие факторы тоже влияют на цены, но процентные ставки — больше всего».

Про структуру активов

«Многие люди видят Berkshire как большую и странную коллекцию финансовых активов. Действительно, Berkshire управляет большим количеством инфраструктурных активов, чем любая другая американская корпорация. Это не было нашей целью, но стало фактом. В конце прошлого года внутренние инфраструктурные активы на балансе Berkshire превысили сумму в 158 млрд долларов. Berkshire всегда будет строить».

  SIRI

Доходность акций Berkshire Hathaway и S&P 500 с 1965 года

Berkshire Hathaway S&P 500
Среднегодовая 20,1% 10,5%
Всего 3 641 613% 30 209%

Новости, которые касаются всех, — в нашем телеграм-канале. Подписывайтесь, чтобы быть в курсе происходящего: @tinkoffjournal.

Пролистать наверх